Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

1/0 vs 2/0 Welding Cable: Which One Should You Buy?

1/0 vs 2/0 welding cable explained through the 1/0 listings in this guide, with lengths, terminals, voltage and temperature ratings to check before choosing a gauge.

1/0 vs 2/0 Welding Cable: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 12 Gauge 2 AWG 20 Feet Black Welding Battery Pure Copper2 Gauge 2 AWG 20 Feet Black Welding Battery Pure Copper9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2YESWELDER TIG Welding Torch WP-20F Flexible Head Water-CooledYESWELDER TIG Welding Torch WP-20F Flexible Head Water-Cooled9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3YESWELDER Tig Welding Torch WP-17FV Gas-Valve Head FlexibleYESWELDER Tig Welding Torch WP-17FV Gas-Valve Head Flexible9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4EWCS 1/0 Gauge Premium Extra Flexible Welding Cable 600 VoltEWCS 1/0 Gauge Premium Extra Flexible Welding Cable 600 VoltView on Amazon
  5. 5EWCS 2 Gauge Premium Extra Flexible Welding Cable 600 VoltEWCS 2 Gauge Premium Extra Flexible Welding Cable 600 VoltView on Amazon
  6. 6Spartan Power 1/0 AWG Bulk Welding CableSpartan Power 1/0 AWG Bulk Welding CableView on Amazon
  7. 7Spartan Power 2 AWG Bulk Welding CableSpartan Power 2 AWG Bulk Welding CableView on Amazon
  8. 8Welding Cable Quick Connector Pair DINSE-Style 10-25 2SetWelding Cable Quick Connector Pair DINSE-Style 10-25 2SetView on Amazon
  9. 950 Amp Welder Extension Cord SOOW Cable 6/3 Welder Extension50 Amp Welder Extension Cord SOOW Cable 6/3 Welder ExtensionView on Amazon

A cable run in a garage usually starts with a simple job: a battery lead that needs replacing, an inverter lead that needs routing, or a welding lead that needs to reach across a bench without a join in the middle. Getting the gauge, the length and the terminals right matters more than the brand on the jacket, and that is where the 1/0 vs 2/0 welding cable question comes in. The direct answer from the listings covered here is narrower than the question sounds: every cable in this guide is a 1/0 cable, so this guide shows what 1/0 cable looks like in detail, and it states plainly what to check on a 2/0 listing before choosing that gauge instead, because no 2/0 listing is included here and no 2/0 figure is stated in these listings.

Other tools worth a look

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Below: the direct answer in full, what the 1/0 listings state about construction, voltage and temperature, the gear covered in this guide, and how to choose between the gauges without guessing at a figure the listing does not state.

1/0 vs 2/0 welding cable: the direct answer

The labels 1/0 and 2/0 name different gauges, and the gauge label alone does not tell you the voltage rating, the temperature range, the strand count, the insulation or the length. Those details come from the listing for the cable in front of you, and they differ from listing to listing even within the same gauge. That is why this guide works from stated figures only: a cable that fits one job may not fit another job simply because the gauge label matches.

For a garage job, the practical check is a short one. Read the gauge on the listing, read the length, read whether terminals are already fitted and what size they take, and read the voltage and temperature ratings the listing states. If any of those figures is missing from a listing, treat it as not stated for that cable, not as a figure you can borrow from a different cable.

What the 1/0 listings state

All four cables in this guide are 1/0 AWG cables with pure copper conductors, and all four listings describe a fine-strand build: 1703 strands of 0.2mm copper wire. The insulation is EPDM rubber in each listing, and the temperature range stated across the listings is -58°F to 221°F, also given as -50°C to 105°C. Voltage ratings differ by listing, so they are shown per cable in the table, not as a single rating for the gauge.

Cable Length in the listing Voltage stated Terminals stated
Shirbly 1/0 Gauge Battery Cable, red and black pair 20FT red plus 20FT black Up to 600 volts Not stated
WotyWire 1/0 Gauge Wire, red and black pair 20FT red plus 20FT black 450/750V Not stated
Shirbly 1/0 AWG Flexible Battery Cable with terminals 2FT red and black pair Up to 600 volts 3/8 inch terminals, already crimped
WotyWire 1/0 Gauge Wire Battery Cable with lugs 10FT red plus 10FT black AC 450V and DC 750V 10 tinned copper lugs, 5 at 3/8 inch and 5 at 5/16 inch

The table shows why a gauge label is not a full specification. Two cables can share the 1/0 label and still state different voltage ratings, different lengths and different terminal arrangements. The same applies in the other direction: a 2/0 listing must be read on its own figures, not assumed to match any figure in this table.

The gear in this guide

Shirbly 1/0 Gauge Battery Cable, 20FT pair. This pair is a red cable and a black cable, each 20FT long, made from pure copper wire with an EPDM rubber insulation sheath. The listing states a rating of up to 600 volts, a temperature range from -58°F to 221°F, and resistance to most solvents, with a fire resistant polyolefin material noted in the listing. It is described for automotive, battery, solar and generator use, and for DC applications where pure copper is recommended. No terminals are stated for this pair.

WotyWire 1/0 Gauge Wire, 20FT pair. This pair is also a red cable and a black cable, each 20FT long, built from oxygen-free annealed copper with 1703 strands of 0.2mm wire. The listing states 2.2mm EPDM insulation with an additional PET film layer, a rating of 450/750V, and operation from -50°C to 105°C, given as -58°F to 221°F. It is described for welding, battery use, inverters and energy storage, and for solar, automotive, RV, marine and industrial power setups. No terminals are stated for this pair.

Shirbly 1/0 AWG Flexible Battery Cable with 3/8 inch terminals, 2FT pair. This is the short, ready-ended option in the guide: a red cable and a black cable, each 2FT long, with 3/8 inch round center hole terminals already crimped on both ends and 3:1 dual wall adhesive heat shrink tubing. The listing states pure copper cable lugs with a tin coating for corrosion protection, a closed end design to protect the cable from moisture, acid and solvents, a rating of up to 600 volts, and a temperature range from -58°F to 221°F. The short length suits a close battery or inverter connection where a long run is not needed.

WotyWire 1/0 Gauge Wire Battery Cable with lugs, 10FT pair. This kit pairs a 10FT red cable and a 10FT black cable with 10 tinned copper lugs, 5 at 3/8 inch and 5 at 5/16 inch, plus 2 pieces of 20cm glue-lined heat shrink tubing for insulation and moisture protection. The listing states 1703 strands of 0.2mm annealed oxygen-free copper, a 53.49mm² cross-section, 2.2mm thick insulation, a rating of AC 450V and DC 750V, and operation from -50°C to 105°C, given as -58°F to 221°F. It is described for heavy-duty welding, battery cables, inverters and energy storage, and it is RoHS certified in the listing.

How to choose between the gauges

Start with the job, not the label. Measure the run the cable must cover, check the stud size the terminals must fit, and check the voltage and temperature ratings the listing states for the exact cable you are considering. A cable that is too short for the run, or fitted with terminals that do not match the stud, is the wrong cable for that job whatever the gauge label says.

Then read the 2/0 listing the same way, figure by figure. Do not carry a voltage rating, a temperature range, a strand count or a length across from a 1/0 listing to a 2/0 listing. If the 2/0 listing does not state a figure you need, that figure is not stated for that cable, and check the manual for the equipment it will feed.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: garage tools

What is welding cable made of?

On the evidence of these listings, welding cable here is made from pure copper conductors with EPDM rubber insulation. All four listings describe 1703 strands of 0.2mm copper wire, and the WotyWire listings add a PET film layer. Lugs, where stated, are tinned copper.

How are welding cables rated?

In these listings, cables are rated by voltage and by temperature range, and the figures differ by listing. Shirbly listings state up to 600 volts, WotyWire listings state 450/750V or AC 450V and DC 750V, and all four listings state operation from -58°F to 221°F, also given as -50°C to 105°C. Read the rating on the exact listing, not on the gauge label alone.

What gauge welding cable do I need?

These listings do not state a gauge selection rule, so this guide does not give one. Choose from the gauge, length, terminals, voltage rating and temperature rating stated on the listing for the cable you plan to buy, and check the manual for the equipment it will feed. If a figure you need is not stated, treat it as not stated rather than guessing.

How much does welding cable weigh per foot?

No weight per foot is stated in these listings, so this guide does not state one. Lengths stated here are 20FT, 10FT and 2FT pairs, but length alone does not give weight, and no weight figure is stated to work from.

How much is welding cable per foot?

No price is stated in these listings, and this guide does not list prices. Check the listing for the cable, length and terminal arrangement you need.

Related: our engine and shop equipment hub for more garage gear guides.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

Best Spray Gun for Coating (2026)

Five spray guns for truck bed liner coating, rubberized undercoat, rust proofing and automotive spot refinishing, compared by feed, cup, nozzles and warranty.

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

Best Hydraulic Ram Kit with Pump (2026)

Four hydraulic ram kits with pumps compared by capacity, hose reach, kit pieces and warranty for auto body and frame work.