Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best 3/8 Socket Set Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared

Five 3/8-inch socket sets under $50 compared by stated piece count, material, kit contents and warranty, ranked by score, with an impact vs chrome buying guide.

Best 3/8 Socket Set Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1CRAFTSMAN 10-Pc Mechanics SetBest WarrantyCRAFTSMAN 10-Pc Mechanics Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2INGJER 50-Pc Impact SetMost PiecesINGJER 50-Pc Impact Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3VEVOR 48-Pc Impact SetMetal ToolboxVEVOR 48-Pc Impact Set9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4EACELIY 44-Pc Impact SetWith RatchetEACELIY 44-Pc Impact Set9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5DEWALT Socket SetDEWALT Socket SetView on Amazon
  6. 6CASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  7. 7CASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  8. 8Neiko 02476A 1/2" Impact Socket SetNeiko 02476A 1/2" Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  9. 9HORUSDY 1/2" Drive Shallow Impact Socket SetHORUSDY 1/2" Drive Shallow Impact Socket SetView on Amazon

Best 3/8 socket set under 50 dollars comes down to piece count, material and warranty. A 3/8-inch drive set is the home mechanic’s workhorse: big enough for lug nuts and suspension bolts, small enough for engine bays. This guide compares five 3/8-inch socket sets by stated piece count, drive, material, kit contents and warranty, ranked by their scores. No listing here states a price, so the under $50 budget is the keyword’s frame, not a listed figure.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Warranty CRAFTSMAN 10-Pc Mechanics Set: Full lifetime warranty with a 90-tooth low-profile ratchet. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Pieces INGJER 50-Pc Impact Set: 50 pieces with a stated 36-month warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Metal Toolbox VEVOR 48-Pc Impact Set: 48 pieces in CR-V with a metal toolbox. Check price on Amazon
  • With Ratchet EACELIY 44-Pc Impact Set: 44 pieces including a 3/8-inch ratchet handle. Check price on Amazon

The picks

CRAFTSMAN 10 Pc Mechanics Tool Set with 90-tooth

CRAFTSMAN 10 Pc Mechanics Tool Set with 90-tooth

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

10-piece SAE mechanics set with a 90-tooth low-profile ratchet and a full lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Full lifetime warranty stated
  • 90-tooth ratchet with 5-degree arc swing
  • Low-profile head for tight spaces
  • 2.3 lb compact set

Cons

  • Only 10 pieces
  • SAE only, no metric
  • Chrome; not for impact wrenches
  • No case details stated
Impact Socket Set, 3/8 Socket Sets 50 Piece SAE

Impact Socket Set, 3/8 Socket Sets 50 Piece SAE

INGJER9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

50-piece 3/8-inch impact socket set with 6-point CR-V sockets and a stated 36-month warranty.

Pros

  • 50 pieces, the most here
  • Stated 36-month warranty
  • Deep and shallow metric plus SAE
  • Extensions, universal joint and adapter included

Cons

  • Title says Cr-MO but bullets say CR-V
  • No ratchet included
  • No weight stated
  • Heavy-duty case adds bulk
VEVOR Impact Socket Set 3/8" Drive

VEVOR Impact Socket Set 3/8" Drive

VEVOR9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

48-piece 3/8-inch impact socket set in CR-V with a metal toolbox, deep and shallow sockets.

Pros

  • 48 pieces with deep and shallow
  • Metal toolbox included
  • Laser-etched size markings
  • 6-point hex design resists rounding

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • No 20mm socket included
  • No ratchet included
  • No weight in pounds stated
3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set

3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set

SEDY9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

49-piece 3/8-inch impact socket set in CR-V with a plastic packout case and laser markings.

Pros

  • 49 pieces, deep and shallow
  • Plastic packout case
  • Black phosphate finish
  • Laser markings for identification

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • No ratchet included
  • No weight stated
  • Painted finish may chip
EACELIY 44pcs 3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set,Drive

EACELIY 44pcs 3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set,Drive

EACELIY9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

44-piece 3/8-inch impact socket set with a ratchet handle, extensions and universal joint.

Pros

  • Ratchet handle included
  • 44 pieces with deep and shallow
  • 3 and 6 inch extensions plus universal joint
  • Laser-etched markings

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Metric tops out at 19mm
  • No weight stated
  • Smallest impact set here

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Verdict Pieces Drive Material Warranty
CRAFTSMAN 10-Pc Best warranty 10 3/8″ Alloy steel Lifetime
INGJER 50-Pc Most pieces 50 3/8″ CR-V 36-month
VEVOR 48-Pc Metal toolbox 48 3/8″ CR-V Not stated
SEDY 49-Pc Packout case 49 3/8″ CR-V Not stated
EACELIY 44-Pc With ratchet 44 3/8″ CR-V Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. Warranty terms below are as stated; none of the listings states a safety certification, so safety scores are zero across the board.

How we scored them

Each set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Piece count and kit completeness drive performance; stated warranty length drives the warranty score.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CRAFTSMAN 10-Pc Mechanics Set 9.6 32 22 20 0 3
INGJER 50-Pc Impact Set 9.6 34 21 21 0 2
VEVOR 48-Pc Impact Set 9.5 33 21 20 0 0
SEDY 49-Pc Impact Set 9.5 33 20 20 0 0
EACELIY 44-Pc Impact Set 9.5 32 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Piece counts run from 10 to 50. The INGJER leads on count at 50 pieces with a stated 36-month warranty; the SEDY follows at 49 pieces in a plastic packout case; the VEVOR offers 48 pieces in a metal toolbox; the EACELIY gives 44 pieces with a ratchet included; the CRAFTSMAN is a compact 10-piece set with a 90-tooth low-profile ratchet and a full lifetime warranty. All five are 3/8-inch drive, and all state chrome vanadium or alloy steel with 6-point sockets.

Impact-rated vs chrome matters here. The VEVOR, EACELIY, SEDY and INGJER are impact socket sets for impact wrenches; the CRAFTSMAN is a chrome mechanics set for hand ratchets. Do not use chrome sockets on an impact wrench. On warranty, the CRAFTSMAN states full lifetime, the INGJER states 36 months, and the other three state no term.

Adapters and extras differ. The VEVOR includes a 1/2-inch F to 3/8-inch M reducer; the SEDY and INGJER include 3/8 to 1/2 inch adapters; the EACELIY and VEVOR include 3 and 6 inch extension bars, as do the SEDY and INGJER. The INGJER adds a 1/4 inch extension bar. None of the impact sets includes a ratchet except the EACELIY, so plan on using your own 3/8-inch ratchet or impact wrench with the rest.

Buying guide: best 3/8 socket set under 50

Impact vs chrome

Match the set to the tool. Impact sets (VEVOR, EACELIY, SEDY, INGJER) use softer, thicker walls that survive impact wrenches; the CRAFTSMAN chrome set is for hand ratchets only. If you own an impact wrench, pick an impact set. If you work by hand, the CRAFTSMAN’s 90-tooth ratchet with a 5-degree arc swing is the refined choice.

Piece count and coverage

Count is not everything, but coverage is. The INGJER’s 50 pieces span 14 deep metric, 15 shallow metric and 16 SAE sockets; the VEVOR’s 48 cover metric 8-22mm (minus 20mm) and SAE 5/16 to 3/4 inch; the SEDY’s 49 cover metric 8-22mm and SAE 5/16 to 3/4 inch; the EACELIY’s 44 cover metric 8-19mm and SAE 5/16 to 3/4 inch. Check the sizes you actually use before chasing the biggest number.

Deep vs shallow

All four impact sets include deep and shallow sockets. Deep sockets reach nuts on long studs; shallow sockets fit tight spaces with less wobble. The shallow vs deep sockets comparison covers the trade-off in detail.

Cases and organization

The VEVOR ships in a metal toolbox, the SEDY in a plastic packout case, the EACELIY and INGJER in sturdy storage boxes, and the CRAFTSMAN as a compact 10-piece set at 2.3 pounds. A case that keeps sockets sorted saves more time than any single feature.

6-point vs 12-point

All five sets use 6-point sockets. The listings agree on why: 6-point grips the flat sides of a fastener and resists rounding, while 12-point fits in tighter swing arcs but risks rounding stubborn bolts. For a budget set you will reach for on rusted hardware, 6-point is the right default, and it is what every listing here offers.

Markings you can read

Three listings call out their markings: the VEVOR uses laser-etched and rolled size marks, the EACELIY uses laser-etched high-contrast marks, and the SEDY uses laser marking. In a dim garage, etched marks you can read beat stamped ones you cannot. If you work under cars, weigh this alongside piece count.

Finishes and corrosion

The VEVOR and EACELIY use polished chrome vanadium, the SEDY uses a black phosphate finish, the INGJER uses a black phosphoric acid coating, and the CRAFTSMAN uses full polish chrome. Black finishes hide grime and resist corrosion on impact sets; polished chrome wipes clean on hand tools. None of the listings states a salt-spray rating, so treat finish as a tiebreaker, not a decider.

Ratchets and adapters in the box

Only two of the five sets include a ratchet. The EACELIY 44-piece includes a 3/8-inch ratchet handle alongside its 30 sockets, so it is the only impact set here that turns fasteners out of the box. The CRAFTSMAN 10-piece pairs its SAE sockets with a 90-tooth low-profile ratchet that the listing says delivers a 5-degree arc swing with a head up to 25 percent thinner than the compared model, which matters when you work in tight engine bays. The VEVOR, SEDY and INGJER are socket-only sets, but they compensate with adapters: the VEVOR includes a 1/2-inch female to 3/8-inch male reducer, the SEDY a 3/8 to 1/2-inch impact adapter, and the INGJER a 3/8 to 1/2-inch adapter plus a 1/4-inch extension bar. If you already own a 1/2-inch drive ratchet or impact wrench, those adapters let these 3/8-inch sockets slot into your existing kit. If you own no ratchet at all, the EACELIY or CRAFTSMAN saves you a separate purchase.

Weight, size and portability

The listings give enough to compare heft. The VEVOR set weighs 5.6 kg in its metal toolbox, the heaviest stated figure, which reflects the 48-piece count and steel case; it is the set to keep in the garage rather than carry to a job. The CRAFTSMAN is the featherweight at 2.3 pounds and 8.5 inches long, a 10-piece kit that fits a glovebox or a small tool roll. The INGJER ships in a heavy-duty storage case with every socket fixed in place, and the SEDY in a durable plastic packout case that also holds point driver bits and a hex nut holder. If the set travels with you, the CRAFTSMAN or the cased INGJER and SEDY make more sense than the VEVOR toolbox. If it lives on a bench, weight stops mattering and piece count takes over.

Warranty as the tiebreaker

When piece counts and finishes look similar, the stated warranty separates them. The CRAFTSMAN lists a full lifetime warranty, the strongest term in this group by far. The INGJER lists a 36-month warranty with a contact-anytime support promise. The VEVOR, EACELIY and SEDY listings state no warranty term at all. A lifetime term on a 10-piece SAE set versus 36 months on a 50-piece impact set is a real trade-off: the CRAFTSMAN covers fewer jobs but backs them longer, while the INGJER covers more jobs for three years. If you break sockets often, weight the warranty; if you rarely do, weight the coverage.

Size gaps worth knowing before you buy

None of these sets covers every size, and the listings are honest about the gaps. The VEVOR explicitly notes it does not include a 20mm socket, even though its metric range runs 8 to 22mm. The EACELIY tops out at 19mm metric, so its range is 8 to 19mm plus SAE 5/16 to 3/4 inch. The INGJER splits the difference: its 14 deep metric sockets skip 20mm, but its 15 shallow metric sockets include it, giving a full 8 to 22mm in shallow. The SEDY lists a complete 8 to 22mm metric and 5/16 to 3/4-inch SAE range with no stated gaps. The CRAFTSMAN is SAE-only and 10 pieces, so it is not a coverage play at all. Check the fasteners you touch most; a missing 20mm only matters if your car uses one.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use these on an impact wrench?

The VEVOR, EACELIY, SEDY and INGJER are impact-rated sets. The CRAFTSMAN is a chrome mechanics set for hand use only; do not use chrome sockets on an impact wrench.

Which set has the best warranty?

The CRAFTSMAN states a full lifetime warranty. The INGJER states 36 months. The VEVOR, EACELIY and SEDY state no warranty term.

What sizes do these cover?

Metric 8-22mm and SAE 5/16 to 3/4 inch across the four impact sets, with small gaps (the VEVOR notes no 20mm socket; the EACELIY tops out at 19mm metric). The CRAFTSMAN is a 10-piece SAE set.

Do any include a ratchet?

The EACELIY includes a 3/8-inch ratchet handle. The CRAFTSMAN includes a 90-tooth low-profile ratchet. The VEVOR, SEDY and INGJER are socket-only sets with extensions and adapters.

Socket set or torque wrench for final tightening?

Both. Sockets do the turning; a torque wrench sets the final spec. The socket set vs torque wrench comparison explains when each matters.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.