Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Clamp Lights for Workshop (2026): 4 Compared

Four clamp lights for workshops compared by brightness, cord length and safety certification, from 2-pack clamp lamps to LED work lights.

Best Clamp Lights for Workshop (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1VIVOSUN 2-Pack Clamp LampBest OverallVIVOSUN 2-Pack Clamp Lamp9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2ZONE 1200 Lumen Work LightBest Bright LEDZONE 1200 Lumen Work Light9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Cable Matters 800 Lumen LightBest Compact LEDCable Matters 800 Lumen Light9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Simple Deluxe 2-Pack ClampBest Value 2-PackSimple Deluxe 2-Pack Clamp9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 52-Pack 800LM Rechargeable LED Clamp Work Light2-Pack 800LM Rechargeable LED Clamp Work LightView on Amazon
  6. 6LED Work Bench Light with ClampLED Work Bench Light with ClampView on Amazon
  7. 7LED Rechargeable Work Light with ClampLED Rechargeable Work Light with ClampView on Amazon
  8. 8YXQUA 2 Pack Under Hood Work LightYXQUA 2 Pack Under Hood Work LightView on Amazon
  9. 9YXQUA Under Hood Work LightYXQUA Under Hood Work LightView on Amazon
  10. 104 Pack Led Garage Lights4 Pack Led Garage LightsView on Amazon

Working under a car or at a bench in a dim garage turns every bolt into a guessing game. The best clamp lights for workshop use fix that by putting light exactly where you need it, clamped to a shelf, hood or workbench, without taking up floor space. This guide compares four clamp lights by brightness, power, cord length and safety certification, so you can light your workspace right.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

VIVOSUN 2 Pack Clamp Lamp Light with Detachable

VIVOSUN 2 Pack Clamp Lamp Light with Detachable

VIVOSUN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of clamp lamps with 8.5 inch aluminum reflectors and ball joint adjustment, rated for up to 150W E26 bulbs (not included), with 6 ft cords, detachable metal shrouds and UL Listing.

Pros

  • 8.5 inch aluminum reflector
  • Rated for up to 150W E26 bulbs
  • UL Listed
  • 2-pack covers two work areas

Cons

  • No bulb included
  • Not water resistant
  • Clamp is hard to open per listing
  • 2 pounds for the pair
ZONE 1200 Lumens LED Clamp Work Light, 10W 5000K

ZONE 1200 Lumens LED Clamp Work Light, 10W 5000K

ZONE INDUSTRY CORP.9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1200 lumen LED clamp work light with a 10W 5000K daylight LED, sturdy metal jaw clamp and adjustable head, ETL Listed and wet rated for indoor and outdoor use, with a 5 ft 120V cord.

Pros

  • 1200 lumens, the brightest here
  • ETL Listed
  • Wet rated for indoor and outdoor
  • 5000K daylight

Cons

  • 1-pack only
  • 5 ft cord is the least long here
  • 10W fixed output, no bulb choice
  • Heavier than the Cable Matters
[ETL Listed] Cable Matters Portable LED Clamp

[ETL Listed] Cable Matters Portable LED Clamp

Cable Matters9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 800 lumen portable LED clamp light with a 9.5W 5000K daylight LED, full metal clamp with vinyl sleeves, ETL Listed for electrical safety, weighing 12.5 oz with a 6 ft cord with strain relief.

Pros

  • 800 lumens for close work
  • ETL Listed
  • 12.5 oz, the lightest here
  • 6 ft cord with strain relief

Cons

  • 1-pack only
  • 800 lumens is less than the ZONE
  • Fixed LED, no bulb swap
  • Table mount suits tables more than poles
Simple Deluxe Clamp Light with 8.5 Inch Adjustable

Simple Deluxe Clamp Light with 8.5 Inch Adjustable

Simple Deluxe9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of clamp lights with 8.5 inch adjustable aluminum reflectors and 360-degree adjustment, rated for max 150W E26 lamps (not included), with 6 ft 18/2 SPT-2 cords and non-marring clamps.

Pros

  • 8.5 inch aluminum reflector
  • Max 150W E26 lamp rating
  • 2-pack for two stations
  • 1.8 pounds, lightweight

Cons

  • No safety certification stated
  • No bulb included
  • Plastic socket
  • No warranty term stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Light Shop Score Type Brightness Cord Certification
VIVOSUN 2-Pack Clamp Lamp 9.6/10 Clamp lamp (bulb separate) Up to 150W 6 ft UL Listed
ZONE 1200 Lumen Work Light 9.5/10 LED work light 1200 lumens 5 ft ETL Listed
Cable Matters 800 Lumen Light 9.5/10 LED work light 800 lumens 6 ft ETL Listed
Simple Deluxe 2-Pack Clamp 9.5/10 Clamp lamp (bulb separate) Up to 150W 6 ft Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety scores reflect stated certifications: UL Listed or ETL Listed earns points; no stated certification earns zero. None of the four listings states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
VIVOSUN 2-Pack Clamp Lamp 9.6 30 21 21 8 0
ZONE 1200 Lumen Work Light 9.5 28 21 18 8 0
Cable Matters 800 Lumen Light 9.5 26 20 18 8 0
Simple Deluxe 2-Pack Clamp 9.5 29 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best clamp lights for workshop

Clamp lamp versus LED work light

The VIVOSUN and Simple Deluxe are clamp lamps: you supply the bulb (up to 150W E26), and the 8.5 inch aluminum reflector directs it. The ZONE and Cable Matters are integrated LED work lights: the LEDs are built in, so there is no bulb to replace, but you cannot swap for a different brightness. Clamp lamps give you bulb choice; LED work lights give you grab-and-go simplicity. For a workshop where you already stock E26 bulbs, the 2-packs make sense. For a light you toss in a toolbox, the integrated LEDs win.

The socket matters too. Both clamp lamps use an E26 socket, the standard medium base found on most household bulbs, so you can screw in any E26 LED, CFL or incandescent up to 150W. The VIVOSUN lists a phenolic plastic lamp holder rated for the heat, while the Simple Deluxe notes the holder gets hot and warns not to touch it after use. If you run high-wattage bulbs for hours, let the lamp cool before adjusting it. The integrated LEDs (ZONE at 10W, Cable Matters at 9.5W) draw far less power and stay cooler, but when the LED eventually dims with age, you replace the whole light, not a bulb.

Bulb choice for clamp lamps

If you buy the VIVOSUN or Simple Deluxe, the bulb you choose decides the brightness, color and heat. An E26 LED bulb draws a fraction of the 150W rating while putting out the lumens of a much hotter incandescent: a 15W LED can match a 100W incandescent in brightness with far less heat on the reflector and socket. For workshop tasks, a 5000K daylight LED matches the color of the ZONE and Cable Matters integrated lights, which both list 5000K. Avoid enclosed-rated bulbs only if the listing warns against them; neither clamp lamp listing restricts bulb type beyond the 150W max and E26 base. Stock a spare bulb with the lamp so a burnout does not stop the job.

Brightness and what it means

Brightness is stated two ways here. The clamp lamps list max wattage (150W), which tells you the socket rating, not the light output: a 150W-equivalent LED bulb and a 150W incandescent draw the same socket rating but produce very different lumens. The LED work lights list lumens directly: 1200 for the ZONE, 800 for the Cable Matters. If you want to compare across types, look for the lumen rating on the bulb you plan to use in the clamp lamps. For close work like wiring or detailing, 800 lumens is plenty; for lighting a whole engine bay, the ZONE’s 1200 lumens covers more area.

Cord length and placement

Three of the four list a 6 ft cord (VIVOSUN, Simple Deluxe, Cable Matters); the ZONE lists a 5 ft cord. Six feet reaches from a wall outlet to a workbench or from a bench to a car hood, but measure your space: if the outlet is across the garage, you will need an extension cord regardless. The Cable Matters lists strain relief on its 6 ft cord, which helps where the cord gets yanked during repositioning. The VIVOSUN and Simple Deluxe use an 18/2 SPT-2 cord (per the Simple Deluxe listing), a standard lamp cord gauge for this wattage. All four are corded electric; none is battery powered, so plan for outlet access. If you need light away from outlets, look at battery work lights instead; these four all need 120V.

Safety certifications

The VIVOSUN is UL Listed, and the ZONE and Cable Matters are ETL Listed. The Simple Deluxe lists no safety certification. For a workshop with sawdust, solvents and occasional sparks, a listed light is worth preferring: it means an independent lab verified the electrical safety. UL and ETL both indicate the product met the same safety standards; the difference is which lab certified it. The ZONE is also wet rated, so it handles damp garages and outdoor use; the VIVOSUN and Simple Deluxe list indoor use, and the Cable Matters does not specify, so keep them dry. If your shop sees moisture from open doors or washing, the wet rating matters more than raw brightness.

Where to clamp in a workshop

The clamp decides where the light can go. The VIVOSUN lists a spring-powered steel clamp for shelves, poles and similar edges, with a ball joint for aiming. The Simple Deluxe lists non-marring clamps that grip without marking surfaces, useful on painted shelves or finished benches. The ZONE has a sturdy metal jaw for garages and job sites, built for rougher handling. The Cable Matters uses a full metal clamp with scratch-resistant vinyl sleeves, designed for tables and shelves. Match the clamp to your surfaces: a metal jaw on a thin shelf edge can dent it, while a light spring clamp may slip on a thick workbench top. If you clamp to a car hood or fender, the vinyl sleeves on the Cable Matters protect paint; bare metal clamps can scratch.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure your clamp surface: the VIVOSUN lists a spring clamp for shelves and poles; the Cable Matters has a full metal clamp with vinyl sleeves for tables.
  • Check the bulb: the VIVOSUN and Simple Deluxe need E26 bulbs (not included); the ZONE and Cable Matters have built-in LEDs.
  • None of the four states a warranty term; keep your receipt.
  • The ZONE is wet rated; the others are for dry or unspecified locations.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are clamp lights?

Clamp lights are portable lights with a spring-loaded clamp that grips a shelf, table edge, pole or hood. They put light where you need it without a stand or floor space. All four picks here use a clamp mount.

Do the clamp lamps include bulbs?

No. The VIVOSUN and Simple Deluxe listings state no bulb is included; you supply an E26 bulb up to 150W. The ZONE and Cable Matters have integrated LEDs, so there is no bulb to buy.

Can I use these outdoors?

The ZONE is wet rated for indoor and outdoor use. The others do not list a wet rating, so keep them dry or check the listing before outdoor use.

How bright is 1200 lumens?

The ZONE lists 1200 lumens, which is bright enough to light a workbench or engine bay. The Cable Matters lists 800 lumens, better for close tasks. Clamp lamp brightness depends on the bulb you install.

What does wet rated mean?

The ZONE listing says wet rated, which means it is built for damp and wet locations, including outdoor use. The other three do not list a wet rating. Do not assume an unrated light is safe in rain or washdown areas.

Can I dim these lights?

None of the four listings mentions dimming. The clamp lamps dim only if you install a dimmable E26 bulb with a compatible dimmer; the integrated LED work lights have a simple on/off button with no dimming stated.

See our garage upgrades hub for more workshop lighting.

More buying guides