Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Extension Cord Reel Under 50 (2026)

Five extension cord reels under 50 compared by cord length, outlets, circuit breakers, weight and mounting for garage and shop use.

Best Extension Cord Reel Under 50 (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1BLACK+DECKER ReelBest OverallBLACK+DECKER Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2DEWENWILS Auto ReelBest RetractableDEWENWILS Auto Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3DEWENWILS Hand ReelBest PortableDEWENWILS Hand Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Woods Cord WrapBest Simple StorageWoods Cord Wrap9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Amazon Basics ReelBest CapacityAmazon Basics Reel9.3/10View on Amazon

There is a special kind of Saturday that starts with a brake job and ends with an extension cord snaking across the garage floor, under the creeper, around the jack stands, and right where everyone steps. A cord on the floor is a trip hazard and a damaged cord waiting to happen. The best extension cord reel under 50 gets the cord off the floor and back on a reel, and the five below show the three ways to do it: retractable, hand-wind, and simple storage.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall BLACK+DECKER Reel: 4 outlets, 2 USB ports, ETL certified, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best Retractable DEWENWILS Auto Reel: 30 ft cord, 3 outlets, UL listed, 180-degree swivel mount Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable DEWENWILS Hand Reel: 25 ft cord, 4 outlets, 13A breaker, 3.12 lb Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Storage Woods Cord Wrap: H-frame wrap, holds 100 ft of cord, 180-day warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best Capacity Amazon Basics Reel: 150 ft capacity, impact-resistant, 495 g Check price on Amazon

The picks

BLACK+DECKER 25 Ft. Retractable Extension Cord

BLACK+DECKER 25 Ft. Retractable Extension Cord

BLACK+DECKER9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A retractable 25 ft cord reel with 4 grounded outlets, 2 USB ports, a built-in circuit breaker, ETL certification and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 4 grounded outlets plus 2 USB ports at 2.1A
  • ETL certified with a built-in circuit breaker
  • 3-year limited warranty, the longest here
  • Retractable rewind wheel keeps the cord neat

Cons

  • Title says 25 ft but the spec table says 20 ft
  • No weight is stated
  • Marketed for small appliances and apartments
  • No mounting method is stated
DEWENWILS Retractable Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS Retractable Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An automatic retractable metal cord reel with a 30 ft 16/3 SJTW cord, 3-outlet pigtail, 10A breaker, UL listing and a 180-degree swivel mount.

Pros

  • Automatic retractable rewind with cord lock
  • 30 ft 16/3 SJTW cord with 3-outlet pigtail
  • UL listed with a 10A circuit breaker
  • Ceiling or wall mount with 180-degree swivel

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 7 lb needs solid mounting structure
  • Only 3 outlets
  • Stopper is not adjustable
DEWENWILS 25FT Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS 25FT Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand-wind 25 ft 16/3 SJTW cord reel with 4 grounded outlets, a 13A breaker, UL listing and a portable 3.12 lb build.

Pros

  • 25 ft 16/3 SJTW cord with 4 grounded outlets
  • 13A circuit breaker, the highest rating here
  • UL listed
  • 3.12 lb with a carry handle for job sites

Cons

  • Hand-wind crank instead of auto rewind
  • Warranty field reads 1 with no unit, not a term
  • For dry locations only
  • PVC case, not metal
Woods Light Duty Extension Cord Wrap

Woods Light Duty Extension Cord Wrap

Woods9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A light-duty H-frame cord wrap that holds up to 100 ft of 16/3 cord, with a wall-mount option and a 180-day warranty.

Pros

  • Holds up to 100 ft of 16/3 cord
  • 3.2 oz, the lowest weight pick here
  • Wall-mount option with a carry handle
  • 180-day limited warranty stated

Cons

  • No cord, outlets or breaker included
  • Light duty storage only
  • No safety certification is stated
  • First listed February 24, 2010, an old design
Amazon Basics Extension Cord Reel

Amazon Basics Extension Cord Reel

Amazon Basics9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A manual 150 ft capacity extension cord reel in impact-resistant plastic, 13.19 x 13 x 5.12 inches and 495 g.

Pros

  • 150 ft capacity, the largest here
  • Impact-resistant plastic build
  • Ergonomic center handle with a knob
  • Freestanding for job sites

Cons

  • No cord, outlets or breaker included
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Manual winding only

Compare the picks

Reel Cord Outlets Circuit breaker Weight Mount
BLACK+DECKER Reel 25 ft (title); 20 ft (spec) 4 + 2 USB Built-in Not stated Not stated
DEWENWILS Auto Reel 30 ft (26 + 4 lead-in) 3 pigtail 10A 7 lb Ceiling/wall, 180-degree swivel
DEWENWILS Hand Reel 25 ft 4 13A 3.12 lb Portable, crank handle
Woods Cord Wrap Holds 100 ft (no cord) 0 None 3.2 oz Wall mount option
Amazon Basics Reel 150 ft capacity (no cord) 0 None 495 g Freestanding

Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure. Only listings that include a cord are rated for power; the two storage reels carry no cord, so they carry no rating.

How we scored them

Each reel is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page. For cord reels, safety means stated electrical certifications and circuit breakers: UL or ETL listings score, and so do built-in breakers.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BLACK+DECKER Reel 9.6 28 20 20 6 4
DEWENWILS Auto Reel 9.6 32 21 21 7 0
DEWENWILS Hand Reel 9.6 30 20 21 7 0
Woods Cord Wrap 9.4 23 18 20 0 3
Amazon Basics Reel 9.3 24 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Three of the five include a cord: the BLACK+DECKER and the two DEWENWILS reels, all in 16 gauge with three or four outlets. Two are storage only, the Woods wrap and the Amazon Basics reel, with no cord, no outlets and no breaker. The powered reels are rated 10A/125V/1250W or 13A/125V/1625W, and all three state a circuit breaker. Two listings state UL, one states ETL, and two state a warranty term. Dimensions tell the rest of the story: the DL-600A3 is 10.98 x 10 x 4.3 inches of alloy steel, the BLACK+DECKER is a compact 8.98 by 3.78 inches, the Amazon Basics is 13.19 x 13 x 5.12 inches of impact-resistant plastic, and the Woods is an 18 x 0.75 x 4 inch frame. The CR-031 case is polyvinyl chloride, and its cord is rated for dry locations only. The Woods has been listed since February 24, 2010, the oldest design here by far.

Buying guide: best extension cord reel under 50

Retractable, hand-wind or storage wrap

The rewind mechanism is the first decision. The DEWENWILS DL-600A3 is automatic retractable: pull the cord, the ratcheting system locks it at any length, and the auto-guide rewinds it without kinks. The BLACK+DECKER is also retractable, with a rewind wheel to keep the cord neat. The DEWENWILS CR-031 is hand-wind, with a swivel triangular grip crank handle for tangle-free winding. The Woods is an H-frame wrap you wind by hand, and the Amazon Basics is a manual spool with a knob. Retractable costs more and does the work for you; a wrap is the simplest thing in the garage and cannot break.

Cord length and gauge

The DL-600A3 lists a 30 ft power cord, described in the bullets as 26 ft of 16/3 SJTW cord plus a 4 ft lead-in cord. The CR-031 lists 25 ft of 16/3 SJTW cord for indoor and outdoor dry-location use. The BLACK+DECKER title says 25 ft of 16 AWG SJT cable, but its spec table says 20 ft: the title and bullets win over the table, so read it as 25 ft with a note of doubt. The Woods holds up to 100 ft of 16/3 cord you supply yourself, and the Amazon Basics holds up to 150 ft of 16/3 SJT cord. Match the length to the garage: a 25 or 30 ft cord reaches across a two-car garage from a wall or ceiling mount, while the storage reels suit a long cord you already own.

Outlets and circuit breakers

The DL-600A3 has a 3-outlet grounded pigtail with an indicator light that shows when the reel is powered. The CR-031 has 4 built-in grounded outlets. The BLACK+DECKER has 4 grounded outlets plus 2 USB ports at 2.1A, handy for charging a phone or a work light battery while you work. All three powered reels state a circuit breaker: 10A on the DL-600A3, 13A on the CR-031, and a built-in breaker on the BLACK+DECKER that trips if the rated current or voltage is exceeded. A breaker is the difference between a tripped reel and a damaged tool, so the storage reels score nothing here.

Certifications and warranties

Both DEWENWILS reels state UL, and the BLACK+DECKER states ETL certified. The BLACK+DECKER also states a 3-year limited warranty, the longest here, and the Woods states a 180-day limited warranty. The DL-600A3, CR-031 and Amazon Basics listings state no warranty term; the CR-031 spec table reads “1” with no unit, which is not a term. A certification means an independent lab checked the reel against a safety standard; a warranty means the maker will stand behind it. Neither is a substitute for the other.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Mounting: the DL-600A3 mounts on a ceiling or wall with a 180-degree swivel bracket; the Woods offers a wall-mount option. Check what the mount fastens to before buying.
  • Amperage: the DL-600A3 is rated 10A/125V/1250W and the CR-031 13A/125V/1625W. Add up the tools you will plug in and stay within the rating.
  • Storage reels need your own cord: the Woods and Amazon Basics ship with no cord, so buy a 16/3 cord to go with them.
  • Weight: the DL-600A3 is 7 lb on its mount, the CR-031 is 3.12 lb portable, the Woods is 3.2 oz and the Amazon Basics is 495 g. Hang the heavy ones on solid structure.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do these cord reels come with an extension cord?

Three do: the BLACK+DECKER, the DEWENWILS DL-600A3 and the DEWENWILS CR-031 all include a cord. The Woods and Amazon Basics are storage reels only, with no cord in the box.

What is the difference between retractable and hand-wind?

A retractable reel winds the cord itself: the DL-600A3 uses an auto-guide rewind, and the BLACK+DECKER uses a rewind wheel. A hand-wind reel like the CR-031 uses a crank handle, and the Woods and Amazon Basics are wound by hand. Retractable is faster; manual is simpler.

Which of these reels have a circuit breaker?

The DL-600A3 has a built-in 10A circuit breaker, the CR-031 has a 13A breaker with a lighted rocker switch, and the BLACK+DECKER has a built-in breaker that trips on overcurrent. The two storage reels have no breaker.

Which reels are UL or ETL listed?

Both DEWENWILS reels state UL, and the BLACK+DECKER states ETL certified. The Woods and Amazon Basics listings state no certification.

Can I mount a cord reel on the garage ceiling?

The DEWENWILS DL-600A3 is made for it: a ceiling or wall mount with a 180-degree swivel bracket. The Woods offers a wall-mount option. The others are portable or freestanding.

Which reel has USB ports?

The BLACK+DECKER: 2 USB ports at 2.1A alongside its 4 grounded outlets. None of the other four listings states a USB port.

See every garage upgrade guide. Also see our best cordless shop vacuum for garage. Also see our best electrical contact cleaner. Also see our cordless vs corded grease gun. Also see our steel vs plastic garage shelving. Also see our best garage storage cabinets for workshop. Also see our window fan vs exhaust fan for garage.

More buying guides