Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Fire Extinguisher for Garage (2026)

A UL class, agent weight, body size, mounting and warranty comparison for choosing a fire extinguisher for a home garage.

Best Fire Extinguisher for Garage (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1First Alert HOME2PROBest OverallFirst Alert HOME2PRO9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Kidde KD143Discharge Detail PickKidde KD1439.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Kidde FA110GCompact PickKidde FA110G9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4First Alert HOME1Rechargeable PickFirst Alert HOME19.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeKidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon
  6. 6First Alert Fire ExtinguisherFirst Alert Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
  7. 7Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherKidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
  8. 8Kidde Pro 340 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherKidde Pro 340 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
  9. 9Kidde Auto 5 Fire Extinguisher for Cars and TrucksKidde Auto 5 Fire Extinguisher for Cars and TrucksView on Amazon

A brake job leaves rags, cleaners and fuel in a garage, and a small flame near a bench can grow while a driver looks for a hose. Keeping an extinguisher mounted on the wall near the door turns a panic search into a quick grab. This guide to the best fire extinguisher for garage use compares listings by UL class, agent weight, body size, mounting and warranty.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall First Alert HOME2PRO: 2-A:10-B:C UL class, rechargeable, wall hook and a 12-year limited warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Discharge Detail Pick Kidde KD143: Discharge range of 12-18 feet and a discharge time of 13-15 seconds, with a 6-year limited warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Compact Pick Kidde FA110G: 2.5 lb agent in a 15.5 inch body with a 6-year limited warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Rechargeable Pick First Alert HOME1: Rechargeable by a certified professional, with a metal bracket bundle. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

First Alert Fire Extinguisher

First Alert Fire Extinguisher

First Alert9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rechargeable extinguisher with a UL 2-A:10-B:C class, all-metal construction with a commercial-grade metal valve and trigger, a wall hook and a 12-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • UL 2-A:10-B:C class, meeting minimum 2-A:10-B:C code requirements stated in the listing
  • Rechargeable by certified professionals after use
  • All-metal construction with a commercial-grade metal valve and trigger
  • 12-year limited warranty with a wall hook included

Cons

  • 9.6 pound body weight, heavier than the 2.5 pound Kidde FA110G body weight
  • No discharge time stated in the listing
  • No discharge range stated in the listing
  • Mono ammonium phosphate agent only, with no agent weight stated
Kidde Living Area Fire Extinguisher for Home

Kidde Living Area Fire Extinguisher for Home

Kidde9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A residential extinguisher with a UL 2-A:10-B:C class, 4 lbs of dry chemical agent, a discharge time of 13-15 seconds, a discharge range of 12-18 feet and a 6-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • UL 2-A:10-B:C class for small to medium household fires
  • Discharge time of 13-15 seconds with a discharge range of 12-18 feet
  • Pressure of 100 PSI stated in the listing
  • 12-year service-free design with a 6-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Residential, single-use only, with no recharge stated
  • 4.0 pound body weight, heavier than the 2.5 pound Kidde FA110G body weight
  • Plastic wall hanger rather than a metal bracket
  • No agent type beyond dry chemical stated
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for Home

Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for Home

Kidde9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact residential extinguisher with a UL 1-A:10-B:C class, 2.5 lbs of dry chemical agent, all-metal construction and a 6-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • UL 1-A:10-B:C class for small household fires
  • 2.5 lbs of agent in a 2.5 pound body, easy to store and use
  • Easy-to-read pressure indicator showing charge level in the green
  • 12-year service-free design with a 6-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Residential, single-use only, with no recharge stated
  • 1-A:10-B:C class, lower than the 2-A:10-B:C class in this guide
  • Plastic strap bracket rather than a metal bracket
  • No discharge time stated in the listing
First Alert Fire Extinguisher, Standard Home Use

First Alert Fire Extinguisher, Standard Home Use

First Alert9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rechargeable home extinguisher with a UL 1-A:10-B:C class, all-metal construction with a commercial-grade metal valve and trigger, and a metal bracket bundle.

Pros

  • UL 1-A:10-B:C class for wood, paper, trash, plastics, gasoline, oil and electrical-equipment fires
  • Rechargeable by a certified professional after use, allowing for reuse
  • All-metal construction with a commercial-grade metal valve and trigger
  • Metal bracket bundle with a metal pull pin and safety seal

Cons

  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • 1-A:10-B:C class, lower than the 2-A:10-B:C class in this guide
  • No discharge time stated in the listing
  • No discharge range stated in the listing
Ougist ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home & Vehicle

Ougist ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home & Vehicle

Ougist9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A dry chemical extinguisher with a 1-A:10-B:C class, a quick-release handle and thick-wall steel construction, listed for home, garage and car use.

Pros

  • 1-A:10-B:C class for Class A, B and C fires, including grease, electric and fuel fires
  • Quick-release handle design that removes the safety pin without twisting
  • Thick-wall steel construction for garage and car use
  • 4.4 pound body weight with dimensions of 5.71 inches x 3.74 inches x 14.17 inches

Cons

  • No UL listing stated in the listing
  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • Title lists 2.5 lb while the bullets state weighing 4.4 lb, leaving the weight figure unclear
  • No discharge time stated in the listing

Other tools worth a look

Compared on paper

Pick Shop Score UL class Agent Weight Mounting Warranty
First Alert HOME2PRO 9.7/10 2-A:10-B:C Mono ammonium phosphate 9.6 pounds Wall hook 12-year limited
Kidde KD143 9.7/10 2-A:10-B:C 4 lbs dry chemical 4.0 pounds Plastic wall hanger 6-year limited
Kidde FA110G 9.6/10 1-A:10-B:C 2.5 lbs dry chemical 2.5 pounds Plastic strap bracket 6-year limited
First Alert HOME1 9.6/10 1-A:10-B:C Not stated 4.0 pounds Metal bracket Not stated
Ougist FF1KG 9.4/10 1-A:10-B:C Dry chemical 4.4 pounds Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing, collected 1 November 2026.

How the points were given

Each extinguisher is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are published on the How We Pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
First Alert HOME2PRO 9.7 30 22 20 9 4
Kidde KD143 9.7 32 21 21 9 3
Kidde FA110G 9.6 28 21 21 8 3
First Alert HOME1 9.6 28 22 20 8 0
Ougist FF1KG 9.4 28 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Some listings state a 2-A:10-B:C class while others state a 1-A:10-B:C class, and each listing states a dry chemical agent for wood, paper, trash, liquids, gases and electrical equipment fires. Mounting varies across the listings, with a wall hook, a metal bracket, a plastic strap bracket and a plastic wall hanger stated across the group. The Ougist listing lists 2.5 lb in the title and states weighing 4.4 lb in the bullets, while the spec table lists 4.4 pounds. The First Alert HOME1 listing states no warranty term, and the Ougist listing states no UL listing and no warranty term, so those fields read as Not stated in the comparison.

Choosing the best fire extinguisher for garage use

UL class

A 2-A:10-B:C class covers a higher class A figure than a 1-A:10-B:C class, while both classes cover trash, wood, paper, liquids, gases and electrical equipment fires in the listings here. For a garage with fuel, oil and electrical equipment, the class letters matter more than the brand name on the body.

Agent weight and body weight

Agent weight and body weight are different figures in these listings. The Kidde FA110G listing states 2.5 lbs of agent and a 2.5 pound body weight, while the Kidde KD143 listing states 4 lbs of agent and a 4.0 pound body weight. The First Alert HOME2PRO listing states a 9.6 pound body weight with no agent weight stated, so body weight alone does not describe how much agent a unit holds.

Mounting and reach

Mounting hardware decides whether an extinguisher stays within reach. The listings state a wall hook, a metal bracket, a plastic strap bracket and a plastic wall hanger, each for wall mounting. The Kidde KD143 listing also states a discharge range of 12-18 feet, which describes the stated discharge distance.

Rechargeable or single-use

The First Alert HOME1 and HOME2PRO listings state rechargeable use by a certified professional after use, while the Kidde FA110G and Kidde KD143 listings state residential, single-use only. A rechargeable unit can return to service after a certified professional recharge, while a single-use unit needs replacement after use.

Warranty and service-free design

Warranty terms vary across the listings. The First Alert HOME2PRO listing states a 12-year limited warranty, while the Kidde FA110G and Kidde KD143 listings state a 6-year limited warranty. The Kidde listings also state a 12-year service-free design, which is a separate figure from the warranty term.

Garage Fit Check

  • Wall space for the body size stated in the listing, with the tallest body here at 17.0 inches for the First Alert HOME2PRO listing.
  • Mounting hardware included in the listing, such as a wall hook, a metal bracket or a plastic wall hanger.
  • Gauge visibility for the charge check, with an easy-to-read gauge stated on several listings.
  • Agent class for the garage contents, with wood, paper, trash, liquids, gases and electrical equipment covered by the listings here.
  • Warranty term stated in the listing, since the First Alert HOME1 and Ougist listings state no warranty term.
Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: garage tools

Which UL class suits a garage with fuel and electrical equipment?

Both the 1-A:10-B:C and 2-A:10-B:C classes in these listings cover trash, wood, paper, liquids, gases and electrical equipment fires. The 2-A:10-B:C listings state a higher class A figure, while the 1-A:10-B:C listings state a lower class A figure for the same fire types.

Where should a garage extinguisher mount?

The listings state wall mounting through a wall hook, a metal bracket, a plastic strap bracket and a plastic wall hanger. Wall mounting keeps the unit visible and within reach.

Can a home extinguisher be recharged after use?

The First Alert HOME1 and HOME2PRO listings state rechargeable use by a certified professional after use. The Kidde FA110G and Kidde KD143 listings state residential, single-use only, so those units are not listed as rechargeable.

How long does discharge last on the Kidde KD143?

The Kidde KD143 listing states a discharge time of 13-15 seconds, a discharge range of 12-18 feet and a pressure of 100 PSI.

What does a green gauge arrow mean?

The Kidde listings state that if the arrow is in the green, the unit is charged. An easy-to-read gauge shows the charge level on those listings.

Also see our best fire blanket for welding. Also see our best air compressor for home garage. Also see our best bench vise for garage.

More buying guides

Garage Upgrades ·

Best Anti Fatigue Mat 3×5 (2026)

Five 3' x 5' anti fatigue mats compared by thickness, construction, weight, cut-to-fit setup and cleaning, for long hours at the workbench.