Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Impact Socket Set Under $50 (2026): 4 Sets Compared

Four impact socket sets under $50 for automotive work, compared by piece count, sizes, drives, materials and extras.

Best Impact Socket Set Under $50 (2026): 4 Sets Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1NEIKO 02476ABest OverallNEIKO 02476A9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2KIRXST USKRXT1234ABest MetricKIRXST USKRXT1234A9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3DEWALT DWMT74737Best Small KitDEWALT DWMT747379.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Klein Tools 33809Best PortableKlein Tools 338099.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 51/2" Impact Socket Set1/2" Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  6. 6CASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  7. 7CASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  8. 8HORUSDY 1/2" Drive Shallow Impact Socket SetHORUSDY 1/2" Drive Shallow Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  9. 913+1 Piece Impact Bolt & Nut Remover Set13+1 Piece Impact Bolt & Nut Remover SetView on Amazon
  10. 1011-Piece 1/2-Inch Drive Deep Impact Socket Set11-Piece 1/2-Inch Drive Deep Impact Socket SetView on Amazon

The lug nuts on the truck have not moved in years, the impact wrench is charged, and the only sockets in the drawer are chrome ones that were never meant for hammering. One cracked socket later, the job is dead until new tools arrive. The best impact socket set under 50 keeps that from happening: impact-rated sockets in the sizes a home garage actually uses, without spending more than the wrench they run on. This guide compares four sets by piece count, sizes, drives, materials and extras, so you can pick the one that fits your garage.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall NEIKO 02476A: 14-piece SAE deep set in Cr-V steel with a heavy-duty case. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Metric KIRXST USKRXT1234A: 14-piece metric deep set with color bands and a 1/2 to 1/4 adapter. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Small Kit DEWALT DWMT74737: 7-piece metric deep set in CR-440 steel with a locking Tough Box. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable Klein Tools 33809: 10-piece SAE set with carabiner and color-coded Cr-Mo sockets. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Neiko 02476A 1/2" Impact Socket Set

Neiko 02476A 1/2" Impact Socket Set

NEIKO9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14-piece 1/2" drive deep impact socket set in SAE sizes from 3/8 to 1-1/4 inch, in drop-forged chrome vanadium steel with a black phosphate coating, in a heavy-duty custom case with a size index. The 6-point hex design resists round-off under hammering from an impact wrench, and high-contrast laser etched markings keep sizes readable.

Pros

  • 14 deep sockets, SAE 3/8" to 1-1/4"
  • Drop-forged Cr-V steel, black phosphate coating
  • Laser etched size markings
  • Heavy-duty case with size index

Cons

  • 9.8 pounds, the heaviest set
  • SAE only, no metric
  • No warranty term stated
  • No safety listing stated
14-Piece 1/2" Drive Impact Socket Set

14-Piece 1/2" Drive Impact Socket Set

KIRXST9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14-piece 1/2" drive impact socket set: 13 deep metric sockets from 10 to 24mm plus a 1/2 to 1/4 impact wrench adapter, in heat-forged CR-V steel with color bands, in a heavy-duty custom case. The 6-point design increases gripping force on stubborn fasteners, and distinct color bands make each size identifiable at a glance.

Pros

  • 14 pieces including a 1/2 to 1/4 adapter
  • Color bands for instant size ID
  • Heat-forged CR-V steel
  • Heavy-duty case with size index

Cons

  • Spec table contradicts title on drive, count and range
  • No warranty term stated
  • Metric only, no SAE
  • Item weight not stated
DEWALT DWMT74737 Tough Box 7PC mm 1/2 Deep Drive

DEWALT DWMT74737 Tough Box 7PC mm 1/2 Deep Drive

DEWALT9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-piece 1/2" drive deep metric impact socket set in heat treated CR-440 steel with DirectTorque geometry, black oxide coating, and a locking Tough Box case. DirectTorque geometry gives greater contact with fastener flats, and high-visibility laser etched markings stay readable.

Pros

  • Heat treated CR-440 steel
  • DirectTorque geometry
  • O-ring and retaining pin compatible
  • Locking Tough Box case

Cons

  • Only 7 pieces
  • No warranty term stated
  • Metric only, no SAE
  • 14.24 ounces, the lightest set here
Klein Tools 33809 Grab-And-Go Impact Socket Set

Klein Tools 33809 Grab-And-Go Impact Socket Set

KLEIN TOOLS9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-piece 3/8" drive SAE impact socket set: nine sockets from 1/4 to 3/4 inch plus a sleeve and carabiner, in cold forged, heat-treated chrome molybdenum steel with color-coded rings. Optimized wall thickness and hex pockets maximize access, and long-lasting color-coded rings with bold stamped markings speed up size ID.

Pros

  • Cold forged, heat-treated Cr-Mo steel
  • Carabiner and sleeve for portability
  • Color-coded rings, stamped markings
  • 1.2 pounds, easy to carry

Cons

  • "Call vendor for warranty" is not a term
  • Only 9 sockets, 1/4" to 3/4"
  • 3/8" drive only
  • No case, sleeve only

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Pieces Sizes Drive Material Extras
NEIKO 02476A 14 SAE 3/8″ to 1-1/4″ 1/2″ Cr-V steel Heavy-duty case; laser etched markings
KIRXST USKRXT1234A 14 (13 sockets + adapter) Metric 10-24mm 1/2″ CR-V steel Color bands; 1/2 to 1/4 adapter; storage case
DEWALT DWMT74737 7 Metric (mm) 1/2″ CR-440 steel Locking Tough Box; O-ring/pin compatible
Klein Tools 33809 10 (9 sockets + sleeve) SAE 1/4″ to 3/4″ 3/8″ Cr-Mo steel Carabiner; color-coded rings

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. None of the four states a safety listing or a concrete warranty term, so every set scores zero on those two criteria and the ranking comes down to coverage, materials and extras.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NEIKO 02476A 9.5 30 21 21 0 0
KIRXST USKRXT1234A 9.5 29 20 21 0 0
DEWALT DWMT74737 9.4 28 21 20 0 0
Klein Tools 33809 9.4 28 21 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the best impact socket set under 50 listings tell you

We read 4 impact socket listings. Piece counts run 7, 10 and 14. 3 state a 1/2-inch drive and 1 states a 3/8-inch drive. 3 state a storage case, 2 state SAE sizes and 2 state metric. Materials run chrome vanadium, CR-440 and chrome molybdenum steels. No listing states a concrete warranty term, and one listing’s spec table contradicts its own title on drive, piece count and size range.

Buying guide: picking an impact socket set

Piece count and what is actually in the box

Count sockets, not just pieces. The NEIKO set states 14 deep sockets; the KIRXST states 13 sockets plus a 1/2 to 1/4 adapter for 14 pieces; the DEWALT states 7 sockets; and the Klein set states 9 sockets plus a sleeve and carabiner for 10 pieces. An adapter or a sleeve is useful, but it is not a socket, so read the parts list before comparing piece counts.

SAE or metric

Match the set to the fasteners on your vehicles. The NEIKO and Klein sets state SAE sizes, the KIRXST and DEWALT state metric. The NEIKO runs SAE from 3/8 to 1-1/4 inch, the Klein from 1/4 to 3/4 inch, the KIRXST metric from 10 to 24mm, and the DEWALT a 7-piece metric deep range. If your driveway is all one system, half the field drops out immediately.

Drive size

The drive has to match your wrench. The NEIKO, KIRXST and DEWALT state a 1/2-inch drive, the Klein a 3/8-inch drive. A 1/2-inch drive suits full-size impact wrenches and lug work; a 3/8-inch drive keeps the set compact for smaller tools and tighter engine bays. The KIRXST throws in a 1/2 to 1/4 impact wrench adapter, which helps when a job calls for a smaller drive without buying another set. Note the KIRXST spec table lists a 3/8-inch drive against the title’s 1/2-inch; the title and bullets win, but confirm with the seller if the drive matters to your wrench.

Deep sockets and markings

Three of the four state deep sockets, which clear long studs and recessed nuts; the Klein set does not state deep. For finding the right size fast, the NEIKO and DEWALT state laser etched markings, while the KIRXST states color bands and the Klein color-coded rings with stamped markings.

Markings: laser etching, color bands and stamping

You will reach for these sockets in bad light under a car, so the markings matter. The NEIKO and DEWALT listings state high-contrast laser etched markings on every piece, which stay readable through shop grime. The KIRXST takes a different approach with distinct color bands on each deep socket, so the size reads at a glance without squinting. The Klein set states color-coded painted rings plus bold stamped size markings, a belt-and-suspenders approach that survives even if the paint wears. Whichever system you prefer, check that the listing states one: unmarked impact sockets all look the same in a drawer.

Materials and finish

The listings state drop-forged chrome vanadium (NEIKO, KIRXST), heat treated CR-440 (DEWALT) and cold forged, heat-treated chrome molybdenum (Klein). Finishes run black phosphate on the NEIKO, black oxide on the DEWALT, powder coat on the KIRXST and brushed on the Klein. The DEWALT adds DirectTorque geometry for greater contact on fastener flats, and the NEIKO states a 6-point hex design that resists round-off under hammering. None of it matters if the listing is vague, so favor the sets that name their steel and treatment outright.

O-ring, retaining pin and the impact details

Impact sockets live on a retaining system, so check what the listing states. The DEWALT set is O-ring and retaining pin compatible, which keeps the socket on the anvil under hammering. The Klein set states its Cr-Mo sockets are impact rated for the torque of the toughest jobs, and the NEIKO states its 6-point hex design withstands hammering stress from an impact wrench or electric wrench. The KIRXST states its heat-forged CR-V build withstands greater torque from impact tools. If a listing does not mention impact rating or a retaining system, that silence is worth noting before it meets your wrench.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Storage: the NEIKO states a heavy-duty custom case with a size index, the KIRXST the same style of case, and the DEWALT a locking Tough Box; the Klein brings a sleeve and carabiner instead of a case.
  • Weight: the NEIKO states 9.8 pounds, the DEWALT 14.24 ounces, and the Klein 1.2 pounds; the KIRXST states no weight, so plan for a full case.
  • Drive match: 1/2-inch or 3/8-inch, check the wrench before the set, not after.
  • Sizes: SAE or metric, check the fasteners you touch most before the first job.

Frequently Asked Questions

What drive size do I need: 1/2-inch or 3/8-inch?

Match your impact wrench. The NEIKO, KIRXST and DEWALT sets state a 1/2-inch drive, the Klein a 3/8-inch drive. A 1/2-inch drive is the common choice for lug nuts and suspension work; a 3/8-inch drive keeps things compact for smaller fasteners.

Do these sets include a case?

Three do: the NEIKO states a heavy-duty custom case with a size index, the KIRXST a heavy-duty custom case with a size index, and the DEWALT a locking Tough Box. The Klein set states a sleeve and carabiner instead of a case.

What is the difference between the SAE and metric sets here?

The NEIKO (3/8 to 1-1/4 inch) and Klein (1/4 to 3/4 inch) state SAE sizes; the KIRXST (10 to 24mm) and DEWALT (7-piece metric) state metric. Pick the system your vehicles use; the wrong system is dead weight.

Are these deep sockets?

Three listings say yes: the NEIKO, KIRXST and DEWALT all state deep sockets. The Klein listing does not state deep, so treat those as standard depth.

What do the color bands do?

They speed up size ID. The KIRXST states color bands on each deep socket, and the Klein states color-coded rings with stamped size markings. The NEIKO and DEWALT use laser etched markings instead.

Related: our picks for the best impact socket set for trucks, the best deep socket set, the best air impact wrench for beginners and our tool storage hub.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.