Best Long Reach Digital Calipers (2026): 5 Compared
Five long reach digital calipers compared by range, jaw depth, resolution, accuracy and warranty, from a 20 in steel model to an 8 in plastic model.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallMxmoonfree LS-209.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Best 12 InchMxmoonfree LS-99.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best WaterproofSpriour 12 Inch9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Fraction UnitsHARDELL DC-129.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best PlasticSCITOOLS 8 Inch9.4/10View on Amazon
A brake job stalls when the rotor measures different across its face, and the best long reach digital calipers reach past the hub and the spokes to put the jaws on the part that matters. We compared five digital calipers by range, jaw depth, resolution, accuracy and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Mxmoonfree LS-20: 0-20 in range with 6 in long jaws, 0.0005 in resolution Check price on Amazon
- Best 12 Inch Mxmoonfree LS-9: 0-12 in range, 6 in long jaws, hardened 3CR13 stainless steel Check price on Amazon
- Best Waterproof Spriour 12 Inch: IP54 waterproof rating, 3.5 in jaws, 0.0005 in resolution Check price on Amazon
- Best Fraction Units HARDELL DC-12: 12 in range, fraction units, 2 batteries included Check price on Amazon
- Best Plastic SCITOOLS 8 Inch: Plastic carbon fiber jaws that avoid scratching the measured object Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

Mxmoonfree 20 Inch Digital Caliper with 6" Long
A 20 in digital caliper with 6 in long jaws, a hardened 3CR13 stainless steel frame and 0.0005 in resolution, for measuring large workpieces.
Pros
- Longest range here: 0-20 in, 0-500 mm
- 6 in, 150 mm long jaws reach into large workpieces
- Hardened 3CR13 stainless steel frame with lock screw
- Fine adjustment and preset, absolute and incremental measurement
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- About 3 lb, the heaviest caliper here
- Shares part number LS-20-6 with the 12 in Mxmoonfree
- No safety listing is stated

Mxmoonfree 12 Inch Digital Caliper with 6" Long
A 12 in digital caliper with 6 in long jaws, a hardened 3CR13 stainless steel frame and 0.0005 in resolution, in a hard shell case.
Pros
- 6 in, 150 mm long jaws for inside and outside dimensions
- 0-12 in range with 0.0005 in resolution and ±0.001 in accuracy
- Hardened 3CR13 stainless steel frame with lock screw
- Fine adjustment and preset, absolute and incremental measurement
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Part number LS-20-6 matches the 20 in Mxmoonfree, while the model is LS-9
- No safety listing is stated
- No stated battery type or count

12 Inch Digital Caliper Long Jaw Caliper with 3.5"
A 12 in stainless steel digital caliper with 3.5 in long jaws, an IP54 waterproof rating and 0.0005 in resolution.
Pros
- IP54 waterproof rating is stated
- 0-12 in range with 0.0005 in resolution and ±0.001 in accuracy
- Stainless steel frame with large LCD and unit switching
- Auto shutdown after 5 minutes of inactivity, with a sturdy storage case
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 3.5 in jaw depth is the smallest jaw depth here
- No weight is stated
- No stated battery type or count

HARDELL Digital Caliper 12 Inch
A 12 in stainless steel digital caliper with inch, mm and fraction units, four measurement modes and a 1 year warranty, with 2 batteries included.
Pros
- 0-12 in range with 0.0005 in resolution and ±0.0015 in accuracy
- Three units: inches, millimeters and fraction, plus a zero button
- Four modes: depth, step, outside and inside diameter
- 1 year warranty, with 2 batteries and a screwdriver included
Cons
- No jaw depth is stated
- Accuracy of ±0.0015 in is coarser than the ±0.001 in on the Mxmoonfree and Spriour calipers
- Battery covers are screwed on some units, per the listing tip
- Waterproof is stated without an IP rating

SCITOOLS Digital Caliper 0-8" Measuring Tool
An 8 in plastic carbon fiber digital caliper with insulating jaws, for woodworking, jewelry and DIY measurement without scratching the workpiece.
Pros
- Plastic carbon fiber jaws avoid scratching the measured object
- Insulating plastic feet for higher safety on charged objects
- Measures inside and outside diameter, depth and step
- Auto on and auto off after 5 minutes of use
Cons
- No warranty term is stated; return service within one year is stated instead
- 0-8 in range is the smallest range here
- Resolution of 0.01 in and accuracy of ±0.01 in are the coarsest here
- Listing says to buy professional tools for industrial-grade use
Compared on paper
| Caliper | Shop Score | Range | Jaw depth | Resolution | Accuracy | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mxmoonfree LS-20 | 9.5/10 | 0-20 in | 6 in | 0.0005 in | ±0.001 in | Not stated |
| Mxmoonfree LS-9 | 9.5/10 | 0-12 in | 6 in | 0.0005 in | ±0.001 in | Not stated |
| Spriour 12 Inch | 9.5/10 | 0-12 in | 3.5 in | 0.0005 in | ±0.001 in | Not stated |
| HARDELL DC-12 | 9.5/10 | 0-12 in | Not stated | 0.0005 in | ±0.0015 in | 1 year |
| SCITOOLS 8 Inch | 9.4/10 | 0-8 in | Not stated | 0.01 in | ±0.01 in | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 2 November 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
The Shop Score weighs performance (range, jaw depth, resolution and accuracy), build, value, safety and warranty. For a caliper, safety means a stated safety-relevant feature such as an IP rating or insulating jaws; the Spriour states IP54 and the SCITOOLS states insulating plastic feet. Only HARDELL states a warranty term, 1 year from the date of purchase. How We Pick explains the weights.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mxmoonfree LS-20 | 9.5 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Mxmoonfree LS-9 | 9.5 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Spriour 12 Inch | 9.5 | 26 | 21 | 19 | 4 | 0 |
| HARDELL DC-12 | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| SCITOOLS 8 Inch | 9.4 | 24 | 18 | 20 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We read five caliper listings. Two state a 6 in jaw depth, one states 3.5 in, and two state no jaw depth. Three state 0.0005 in resolution, one states 0.01 in, and one states an IP54 rating. Only one states a warranty term, and two state a hard shell case.
How to choose the best long reach digital calipers
Jaw depth
Jaw depth is the number that makes a caliper long reach. Both Mxmoonfree calipers state 6 in, 150 mm jaws, the Spriour states 3.5 in, 90 mm jaws, and the HARDELL and SCITOOLS state no jaw depth. Long jaws reach into large workpieces for inside and outside dimensions, so check the stated depth before you buy if reach is the reason you are shopping. A shorter jaw still measures the same way, it just reaches less far into the part.
Range and resolution
Range decides the largest part you can measure. The Mxmoonfree LS-20 covers 0-20 in, the Mxmoonfree LS-9, HARDELL and Spriour cover 0-12 in, and the SCITOOLS covers 0-8 in. Resolution is finer on the metal calipers at 0.0005 in, 0.01 mm, while the plastic SCITOOLS reads 0.01 in, 0.1 mm. Pick the range for the largest job on your bench, then check the resolution against the tolerance you work to. For the finer end of the same job, see our best digital micrometer with case.
Accuracy
Accuracy is stated as a plus or minus figure, and it varies more than resolution here. The Mxmoonfree calipers and the Spriour state ±0.001 in, ±0.03 mm, the HARDELL states ±0.0015 in, ±0.04 mm, and the SCITOOLS states ±0.01 in, ±0.2 mm. Treat each figure as the maker’s claim and compare like with like: a caliper with a finer stated accuracy suits closer work, while a coarser one suits rough layout and woodworking. See micrometer vs caliper for when a micrometer replaces a caliper entirely.
Battery and auto-off
All five calipers shut down automatically after 5 minutes without operation, which saves the battery between jobs. Only HARDELL states what comes with the tool: 2 batteries and a screwdriver, plus a ruler. The other four state no battery type or count, so check the listing and keep a spare battery in the case. A caliper that wakes with a dead battery costs you the first measurement of the day.
Cases and storage
Both Mxmoonfree calipers come in a hard shell snap-lock storage case that the listing says safeguards against impacts and drops. The Spriour comes in a sturdy storage case, and the HARDELL case is stated as resistant to pressure, shock and drop. The SCITOOLS listing states no case. A caliper lives or dies by its jaws, so a case that keeps it from rattling around the toolbox is worth having.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Check the range before the first job: the 20 in Mxmoonfree measures 20.0 by 6.0 by 0.1 in, while the 12 in models measure 12.0 by 6.0 by 0.1 in.
- Check the battery: only HARDELL states 2 batteries included, while the other four state no battery type or count.
- Store the caliper in its case: both Mxmoonfree calipers come in a hard shell snap-lock case, and the Spriour comes in a sturdy storage case.
- Confirm the jaw depth: the Mxmoonfree calipers state 6 in jaws, the Spriour states 3.5 in, and the HARDELL and SCITOOLS state no jaw depth.
- Check the part number on the Mxmoonfree listings: both share part number LS-20-6, so confirm the range before ordering.
FAQ: garage tools
What is a digital caliper?
A digital caliper is a measuring tool with jaws and an LCD that reads inside, outside, depth and step dimensions. The calipers here cover ranges from 0-8 in to 0-20 in, with resolutions from 0.01 in to 0.0005 in.
How do you use a digital caliper?
Set zero with the zero button, then open the jaws around the workpiece for an outside dimension or inside it for an inside dimension, and read the LCD. The HARDELL lists a zero button, the SCITOOLS sets zero at any point on the scale, and the Mxmoonfree calipers offer a preset function.
What is the longest range here?
The Mxmoonfree LS-20 covers 0-20 in, 0-500 mm, the longest range in this group. The Mxmoonfree LS-9, HARDELL and Spriour cover 0-12 in, and the SCITOOLS covers 0-8 in.
How do you reset a digital caliper to zero?
Use the zero button, as the HARDELL listing states, or set zero at any point on the scale, as the SCITOOLS listing states. The Mxmoonfree calipers also list a preset function for absolute and incremental measurement.
Do any of these state a warranty?
Only HARDELL states one: a warranty within one year from the date of purchase. The SCITOOLS listing states return service within one year, which is not a warranty term, and the other three state no warranty term.
Related: the best digital micrometer with case, the dial caliper vs digital caliper comparison, our engine and shop equipment hub and our garage safety notes. Also see our best dial indicator for engine work.



