Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Magnetic Pickup Tool for Mechanics (2026)

Five magnetic pickup tools for mechanics, compared by stated pull force, reach, head size, materials, kit extras and warranty.

Best Magnetic Pickup Tool for Mechanics (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece KitBest OverallCRAFTSMAN 3-Piece Kit9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2KITEVICH 4-Pack SetMost ToolsKITEVICH 4-Pack Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3VSKIZ 2-Pack PickupsTwo-Pack ValueVSKIZ 2-Pack Pickups9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4HARDK Telescoping ToolLongest ReachHARDK Telescoping Tool9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Telescoping Magnetic Pickup Tool Set Pull Force 22 lbTelescoping Magnetic Pickup Tool Set Pull Force 22 lbView on Amazon
  6. 62-Pack Telescoping Magnetic Pickup Tool2-Pack Telescoping Magnetic Pickup ToolView on Amazon
  7. 7DIYSELF Magnetic Pickup ToolDIYSELF Magnetic Pickup ToolView on Amazon
  8. 8Grip 25 lb Super Telescopic Magnetic Pickup ToolGrip 25 lb Super Telescopic Magnetic Pickup ToolView on Amazon
  9. 9RAK Magnetic Pickup Tool Gifts for MenRAK Magnetic Pickup Tool Gifts for MenView on Amazon

Halfway through a brake job, a caliper bolt slips off the socket, pings off the control arm and vanishes into the dark behind the subframe. Every home garage knows the next part: the flashlight hunt, the fingertip sweep, the wish for a longer arm. The best magnetic pickup tool for mechanics ends that hunt early, so this guide compares five by what their listings actually state: pull force, reach, head size, materials and warranty. A good pickup tool earns its drawer space the first time it fishes a dropped fastener out from behind the subframe without a second trip to the parts store.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece Kit: 3 piece kit with a magnetic pickup tool, a flex claw and a 2 in inspection mirror, backed by a full lifetime warranty. It is the only pick with both a claw and a mirror. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Tools KITEVICH 4-Pack Set: 4 pack with two telescoping sticks, a 24 in bendable magnet and a 36 in claw grabber with 4 claws. The bendable pieces suit curved tubes and drains. Check price on Amazon
  • Two-Pack Value VSKIZ 2-Pack Pickups: Two 20 lb telescoping sticks with a removable 0.79 in head and a rust and corrosion resistant coating. A stated 20 lb pull on each stick. Check price on Amazon
  • Longest Reach HARDK Telescoping Tool: Extends to 31 in with 20 lb of stated pull force, a 0.87 in head and a pen pocket clip. Retracts to 7 in for pocket carry. Check price on Amazon

The picks

CRAFTSMAN 3 Piece Automotive Mechanic Magnetic

CRAFTSMAN 3 Piece Automotive Mechanic Magnetic

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3 piece mechanic's kit with a telescoping magnetic pickup tool, a flex claw and a 2 in inspection mirror, backed by a full lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • 3 piece kit covers magnetic pickup, claw grab and inspection in one box
  • Flex claw with flexible metal shaft reaches tight spaces
  • 2 in diameter mirror aids visibility in hard to reach areas
  • Full lifetime warranty is the only stated warranty among the five

Cons

  • Pickup tool lifts only up to 2 lb, the lowest stated pull force here
  • No reach figure stated for any of the 3 tools
  • Item weight of 9.6 ounces is the heaviest stated set figure here
  • No cushion grip or pocket clip mentioned
4 Pack Telescoping Magnet Pick-up Tool Set

4 Pack Telescoping Magnet Pick-up Tool Set

KITEVICH9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 pack with two telescoping magnetic sticks, a 24 in bendable magnet and a 36 in spring grabber with 4 claws for curved and narrow spots.

Pros

  • 4 tools cover straight, bendable and claw retrieval in one set
  • 36 in grabber with 4 claws bends into curved tubes and narrow places
  • 24 in bendable magnet reaches sink drains and tight corners
  • Telescoping stainless steel tubes stated as hard to break

Cons

  • No pull force stated for any of the 4 tools
  • Item weight of 9.1 ounces is stated only as a set figure
  • No warranty term stated
  • No pocket clip mentioned
2PCS Telescoping Magnetic Pickup Tool with 20lb

2PCS Telescoping Magnetic Pickup Tool with 20lb

VSKIZ9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2 pack of telescoping pickup tools with 20 lb stated pull force, a removable 0.79 in magnetic head and rust and corrosion resistant coating.

Pros

  • 2 pack puts one tool in the toolbox and one in the pocket
  • 20 lb stated pull force matches the strongest single tool here
  • 0.79 in removable magnetic head fits small tight spaces
  • Stainless steel with coating stated as rust and corrosion resistant

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Max reach of 30 in is 1 in less than the HARDK's 31 in
  • No non-magnetic claw for parts the magnet cannot hold
  • Listing gives no item weight
Telescoping Magnetic Pick Up Tool Extendable 31"

Telescoping Magnetic Pick Up Tool Extendable 31"

HARDK9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A single telescoping pickup tool extending to 31 in with 20 lb stated pull force, a 0.87 in head, cushion grip and pocket clip.

Pros

  • 31 in is the longest stated reach in this group
  • 20 lb stated pull force matches the strongest
  • 0.87 in head slips into small tight spaces
  • Retracts to 7 in and rides in a pocket via the pen clip

Cons

  • Single tool, not a set
  • No warranty term stated
  • Metal material is less specific than stainless steel
  • No claw or mirror for non-ferrous parts
Magnetic Pickup Tool, 20lb/ 10lb/ 5 lb/ 1.5 lb

Magnetic Pickup Tool, 20lb/ 10lb/ 5 lb/ 1.5 lb

Generic9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 pack of telescoping sticks with stated pull forces of 20, 10, 5 and 1.5 lb in stainless steel, listed with thin detail.

Pros

  • Four stated pull forces from 20 down to 1.5 lb cover light to heavy finds
  • Stainless steel material stated
  • 4 pack gives a stick for the box, the cart and the pocket
  • 20 lb on the strongest stick matches the group best

Cons

  • Count fields disagree: title and unit count say 4 pack, Number of Items says 1
  • Bullets carry almost no detail beyond a single character
  • No reach figures stated for any stick
  • No warranty term stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Stated pull force Reach Head / extras Material Warranty
CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece Kit 9.6/10 2 lb (pickup tool) Not stated Flex claw, 2 in mirror Not stated Full Lifetime Warranty
KITEVICH 4-Pack Set 9.6/10 Not stated 7 to 30, 5 to 26, 24 and 36 in 4 claws on 36 in grabber Stainless steel Not stated
VSKIZ 2-Pack Pickups 9.6/10 20 lb 7 to 30 in 0.79 in removable head Stainless steel Not stated
HARDK Telescoping Tool 9.6/10 20 lb 7 to 31 in 0.87 in head Metal Not stated
Generic 4-Pack Tool 9.5/10 20, 10, 5 and 1.5 lb Not stated 4 sticks Stainless steel Not stated

*Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, the card calls it out.

How we scored them

Each tool is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of these listings names a safety certification, so every safety score here is 0. Only one listing states a warranty term, so only one warranty score is above 0.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece Kit 9.6 23 20 20 n/a 5
KITEVICH 4-Pack Set 9.6 32 20 22 n/a 0
VSKIZ 2-Pack Pickups 9.6 29 21 21 n/a 0
HARDK Telescoping Tool 9.6 29 21 20 n/a 0
Generic 4-Pack Tool 9.5 24 19 21 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read 5 magnetic pickup tool listings. Four state a pull force, from 2 lb to 20 lb. Three state reach figures, topping out at 31 in. Only one states a warranty term, and none names a safety listing. One listing’s bullets carry almost no detail and its count fields disagree, which its review calls out.

On the warranty front, only the CRAFTSMAN kit states a term, a full lifetime warranty, while the other four listings state nothing. On materials, three listings state stainless steel and one states metal. Reach figures appear on three listings and are missing on two, so the compare table says Not stated where the maker gave nothing. Head size is stated on two listings, at 0.87 in and 0.79 in.

Buying guide: best magnetic pickup tool for mechanics

Pull force

Pull force is the first number to compare. The HARDK and VSKIZ sticks and the strongest Generic stick state 20 lb, while the CRAFTSMAN kit’s pickup tool states up to 2 lb and the Generic set also lists 10, 5 and 1.5 lb options. A 2 lb pull is aimed at small hardware; the 20 lb sticks are stated for bolts, nuts, screws, coins and keys. The KITEVICH set states no pull force at all, so score it on its tools, not on magnet strength. Mechanics who chase small pins into engine bays can live with the smaller figures; those who retrieve dropped sockets from frame rails should favor the 20 lb end.

Reach and head size

The HARDK extends from 7 in to 31 in, the longest stated reach here. The VSKIZ extends from 7 to 30 in, and the KITEVICH set covers several lengths: a large stick from 7 to 30 in, a small stick from 5 to 26 in, a 24 in bendable magnet and a 36 in grabber. Head size matters in tight spots: the HARDK states a 0.87 in head and the VSKIZ a 0.79 in removable head, while the CRAFTSMAN kit answers tight spaces with a flex claw and a 2 in inspection mirror instead. Two picks collapse small enough to ride in a pocket: the HARDK retracts to 7 in and the VSKIZ starts at 7 in.

Materials and handles

The VSKIZ, Generic and KITEVICH listings state stainless steel tubes; the VSKIZ adds a coating it calls rust and corrosion resistant. The HARDK states a metal build in orange. Both the HARDK and VSKIZ include a cushion grip handle and a pen pocket clip, so the tool rides in a shirt or apron pocket. None of the five states a safety listing, which is why every safety score here is 0. Neither the CRAFTSMAN kit nor the KITEVICH set names one either, which is consistent with the whole group.

Kits and single tools

A single stick suits the mechanic who already owns everything else. A kit suits the mechanic who drops hardware often: the CRAFTSMAN 3 piece adds a flex claw with a flexible metal shaft and a 2 in mirror plus the only stated warranty here, a full lifetime warranty, while the KITEVICH 4 pack adds bendable and claw options with no warranty term stated. The Generic 4 pack offers graduated pull forces but thin listing detail. A single stick takes one slot in the toolbox while a 4 pack asks for four, so match the set size to how many bays and vehicles you service.

For the rest of the job, a magnetic tool holder keeps sockets off the bench, and a tool bag for mechanics carries the kit out to the driveway.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Clear a flat spot on the bench or cart: the longest stated reach here is 31 in.
  • No outlet or water check applies to these tools; none of them uses power.
  • Keep a pocket or pouch free: the HARDK and VSKIZ include a pen pocket clip.
  • Decide where you drop hardware most. Open bays suit a straight telescoping stick, while curved tubes and drains suit the 24 in bendable magnet or the 36 in claw grabber.
  • Note the warranty picture before you buy: only the CRAFTSMAN 3 piece states a warranty term.

Frequently Asked Questions

What pull force do I need for a dropped bolt?

The listings here state pull forces from 2 lb on the CRAFTSMAN pickup tool to 20 lb on the HARDK, VSKIZ and strongest Generic sticks. The 2 lb figure is aimed at small hardware, while the 20 lb sticks are stated for bolts, nuts, screws and keys. None of the listings names a figure for rusted or oil-coated parts, so match the tool to the hardware size you usually drop. The Generic set spreads its four sticks across 20, 10, 5 and 1.5 lb, which suits sorting hardware by size.

Do these tools work on stainless steel hardware?

Not most of it. The HARDK listing states its magnet will not work on most stainless steel, because that material is not usually magnetic. If your hardware is stainless, the flex claw in the CRAFTSMAN kit or the claw grabber in the KITEVICH set is the better pick.

How much reach do these pickup tools give?

The longest stated reach is 31 in on the HARDK, extending from 7 in. The VSKIZ extends from 7 to 30 in, and the KITEVICH large stick from 7 to 30 in with a small stick from 5 to 26 in, plus a 24 in bendable magnet and a 36 in grabber. The CRAFTSMAN kit and the Generic set state no reach figures. For under-hood work close to the car, a short collapsed length matters more than the maximum: the HARDK collapses to 7 in.

Is a kit with a claw and mirror worth it?

For a mechanic, yes when the dropped part is not magnetic or sits out of sight. The CRAFTSMAN 3 piece adds a flex claw with a flexible metal shaft and a 2 in inspection mirror, and states a full lifetime warranty. The KITEVICH 4 pack adds a 36 in claw grabber with 4 claws but states no warranty term.

Related: the best wrench set for mechanics, the best LED headlamp for mechanics, the best bolt extractor set, the best tool chest for mechanics, the best mechanic tool set for college students, the best socket set for mechanics, the best cordless ratchet for home mechanics and the best mechanic creeper for brake jobs.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.