Best Metal Bar Clamp (2026): 5 Steel F-Clamps Compared
5 steel bar clamps compared by opening, throat depth, load limit and pack size for garage and metalworking work.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
36-Inch PickVEVOR 36-Inch Clamp9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
24-Inch PickJorgensen 24-Inch Clamp9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
12-Inch 4-PackSHALL 600-Lb Clamp9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Spreader PickSOUJOY 12-Inch Clamp9.6/10View on Amazon - 5
SHALL 6-Inch Steel Bar Clamps SetView on Amazon - 6
HORUSDY 4-Pack 12-Inch Bar Clamp SetView on Amazon - 7
Amazon Basics Adjustable Metal Face Clamps for WoodworkingView on Amazon - 8
Bench ViseView on Amazon
A frame joint slips while glue sets, a panel needs holding square while a weld cools, and a bench project needs hands free. A clamp that holds metal and wood without slipping turns those jobs from a struggle into steady work. This guide compares the best metal bar clamp options by opening, throat depth, load limit and pack size.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- 36-Inch Pick VEVOR 36-Inch Clamp: 36-inch opening, 600 lbs load limit, 2-1/2 inch throat depth and a 2-pack. Check price on Amazon
- 24-Inch Pick Jorgensen 24-Inch Clamp: 24-inch opening, 600 lbs load limit, 2-1/2 inch reach and a multiple-disc clutch. Check price on Amazon
- 12-Inch 4-Pack SHALL 600-Lb Clamp: 12-inch opening, 600 lbs load limit, 2-1/2 inch throat depth and soft jaw pads in a 4-pack. Check price on Amazon
- Spreader Pick SOUJOY 12-Inch Clamp: 12-inch opening, 450 lbs load limit, 3 inch throat depth and a sliding arm that reverses to a spreader. Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

VEVOR 36" Bar Clamps for Woodworking, 2-Pack
A 36-inch bar clamp pair with cast iron jaws, a carbon steel slide bar, a 600 lbs load limit and a 2-1/2 inch throat depth.
Pros
- 36-inch opening for wide workpieces
- 600 lbs load limit for large assemblies
- Cast iron jaws and carbon steel bar for durability
- Lockable F-clamp design with an extended rod
Cons
- Warranty term not stated
- Throat depth limited to 2-1/2 inches
- Spec table lists Number of Items as 1, while the set name states a 2-pack
- 36-inch bar needs more bench space than a 12-inch clamp

Jorgensen 24" Medium-Duty Steel Bar Clamp Set
A 24-inch steel bar clamp pair with a 600 lbs load limit, a 2-1/2 inch reach, a plated high-carbon steel bar and a multiple-disc clutch.
Pros
- 24-inch opening with a 600 lbs load limit
- Multiple-disc clutch holds the sliding head at any point along the bar
- Rust-resistant zinc-plated steel bar
- Comfort grip handle
Cons
- Warranty term not stated
- Opening limited to 24 inches
- Jaw pads not listed
- Pack holds 2 clamps, not 4

SHALL 12-Inch Steel Bar Clamps Set
A 12-inch steel bar clamp 4-pack with a 600 lbs load limit, a 2-1/2 inch throat depth, quick-release latches and soft jaw pads.
Pros
- 600 lbs load limit in a 12-inch clamp
- Quick-release latches for adjustment and locking
- Dual-sided grooves help grip the bar and limit sliding
- Soft jaw pads distribute pressure and limit workpiece damage
Cons
- Warranty term not stated
- Opening limited to 12 inches
- Throat depth limited to 2-1/2 inches
- Set of 4 needs more storage space than a 2-pack

SOUJOY 4 Pack Bar Clamp for Welding
A 12-inch drop forged steel bar clamp 4-pack with a 450 lbs load limit, a 3 inch throat depth, non-marring pads and a sliding arm that reverses to a spreader.
Pros
- 3 inch throat depth for deeper reach
- Sliding arm reverses to a spreader with a removable end-stop
- Drop forged steel frame with nickel-plated coating
- Non-marring pads limit damage to the work surface
Cons
- Warranty term not stated
- Load limit of 450 lbs, below the 600 lbs picks
- Opening limited to 12 inches
- Spec table lists Included Components as No, while the bullets state a 4 pack

SHALL 4-Pack Bar Clamps Set
A 12-inch drop forged steel bar clamp 4-pack with a 450 lbs load limit, a 3 inch throat depth and a nickel-plated coating.
Pros
- 3 inch throat depth
- Drop forged steel for impact and high temperature resistance
- Nickel-plated coating with anti-corrosion performance
- 4-pack size
Cons
- Warranty term not stated
- Load limit of 450 lbs, below the 600 lbs picks
- Opening limited to 12 inches
- Title states light-duty while the bullets call it medium-duty
Other tools worth a look
SHALL 6-Inch Steel Bar Clamps SetCheck price on Amazon
HORUSDY 4-Pack 12-Inch Bar Clamp SetCheck price on Amazon
Amazon Basics Adjustable Metal Face Clamps for WoodworkingCheck price on Amazon
Bench ViseCheck price on Amazon
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Opening | Throat depth | Load limit | Pack | Material | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VEVOR 36-Inch Clamp | 9.7/10 | 36 inches | 2-1/2 inches | 600 lbs | 2-pack | Cast iron, carbon steel | Not stated |
| Jorgensen 24-Inch Clamp | 9.6/10 | 24 inches | 2-1/2 inches | 600 lbs | 2-pack | Alloy steel, zinc | Not stated |
| SHALL 600-Lb Clamp | 9.6/10 | 12 inches | 2-1/2 inches | 600 lbs | 4-pack | Alloy steel | Not stated |
| SOUJOY 12-Inch Clamp | 9.6/10 | 12 inches | 3 inches | 450 lbs | 4-pack | Steel | Not stated |
| SHALL 450-Lb Clamp | 9.5/10 | 12 inches | 3 inches | 450 lbs | 4-pack | Alloy steel | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
Each clamp is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. None states a safety listing, so all score zero on safety, and none states a warranty term.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VEVOR 36-Inch Clamp | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| Jorgensen 24-Inch Clamp | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| SHALL 600-Lb Clamp | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| SOUJOY 12-Inch Clamp | 9.6 | 27 | 20 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| SHALL 450-Lb Clamp | 9.5 | 26 | 21 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
What the listings tell you
The set covers 5 listings. All 5 state a load limit and a throat depth, while none states a warranty term or a safety listing. Pack sizes run from a 2-pack to a 4-pack, and openings run from 12 inches to 36 inches.
Best metal bar clamp buying guide
Opening
Opening is the distance a clamp can span. A 12-inch opening suits smaller frames and panels, a 24-inch opening covers wider cabinet and frame work, and a 36-inch opening covers the widest work in this set. Match the opening to the workpiece before ordering.
Throat depth
Throat depth is how far in from the edge a clamp can reach. Picks here give 2-1/2 inches or 3 inches. A deeper throat reaches further from the edge, while a shallower throat suits work close to the edge.
Load limit
Load limit is the clamping force a listing states. Picks here state 600 lbs or 450 lbs. A higher limit holds heavier work, while a lower limit still covers lighter clamping jobs.
Grip and pads
Grip and pads affect how a clamp feels and how it treats a surface. The SHALL 12-inch 600 lbs pick lists a rubber handle and soft jaw pads, the Jorgensen pick lists a comfort grip handle, and the SOUJOY pick lists non-marring pads. Check the handle and pads on the pick you choose.
Pack size
Pack size is how many clamps arrive in a set. Picks here arrive as a 2-pack or a 4-pack. A 4-pack covers more clamping points at once, while a 2-pack suits a smaller set of jobs.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Space: openings run from 12 inches to 36 inches, so measure the workpiece and the bench space before ordering.
- Power: Not stated for any pick, as these are manual clamps with no motor, cord or battery listed.
- Storage: a 4-pack needs more room than a 2-pack, so keep the jaw pads with the clamps they belong to.
- Check before a job: throat depth, load limit and pack size, plus the SOUJOY end-stop if spreading is planned.
FAQ: garage tools
What opening should I choose for a metal bar clamp?
Choose by the workpiece: 12 inches for smaller work, 24 inches for wider frames, and 36 inches for the widest work in this set. All 5 picks are listed above with their openings.
What does throat depth mean on a bar clamp?
Throat depth is how far a clamp reaches in from the edge of a workpiece. Picks here give 2-1/2 inches or 3 inches, with the 3-inch picks reaching further in from the edge.
Is a 600 lbs load limit stronger than a 450 lbs load limit?
Yes, on the stated figures. The VEVOR, Jorgensen and SHALL 600 lbs picks state 600 lbs, while the SHALL 450 lbs and SOUJOY picks state 450 lbs.
Do these clamps work for welding?
Two picks name welding in their titles: the SHALL 450 lbs pick and the SOUJOY pick. The other picks name metalworking and woodworking, so check the title of the pick you choose for the job.
Can a bar clamp also spread?
The SOUJOY pick states that its sliding arm can be reversed, with a removable end-stop, to form a spreader. Use that pick if spreading is part of the job.
Related: best welding clamps for metal, best hose clamp pliers for home mechanics, best C clamp ball joint press and best welding ground clamp.




