Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Oil Change Kit Under 40 (2026): 4 Picks

Best oil change kit under 40: four kits compared on OEM fit, oil grade, box contents and warranties.

Best Oil Change Kit Under 40 (2026): 4 Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Subaru 2-Pack KitBest OverallSubaru 2-Pack Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Power Performance KitBest ValuePower Performance Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Kawasaki 10W-40 KitOEM PickKawasaki 10W-40 Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4KTM 10W-50 KitFull SyntheticKTM 10W-50 Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5KTM Oil Change KIT 1L 10W/50 OEM U6921040KTM Oil Change KIT 1L 10W/50 OEM U6921040View on Amazon
  6. 6Engine Oil Funnel KitEngine Oil Funnel KitView on Amazon
  7. 7Briggs & Stratton 5430K Oil Extractor KitBriggs & Stratton 5430K Oil Extractor KitView on Amazon

Verdict. The Subaru 2-pack is the most complete pick, with genuine OEM filters and a stated 1 year warranty. The Power Performance kit is the value pick with a funnel, pad and fuel treatment. The Kawasaki kit is the OEM pick. The KTM kit is the full-synthetic pick.

Best oil change kit under 40 is about getting everything in one box: the right filter, the right oil, and the small extras that keep the job clean. All four listings here are vehicle-specific kits with the filter and oil matched.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Subaru Engine Oil Filter & Crush Washer Kit

Subaru Engine Oil Filter & Crush Washer Kit

Subaru9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A genuine Subaru 2-pack oil filter and crush washer kit with a stated 1 year warranty and M16 x 1.5 thread.

Pros

  • Genuine OEM stated
  • 1 year warranty stated
  • 2 filters and washers
  • M16 x 1.5 thread stated

Cons

  • No oil included
  • Car only, not bikes
  • 2-pack, no single
  • Heavier than stated
Power Performance 10W-40 Oil Change Kit

Power Performance 10W-40 Oil Change Kit

Power Performance9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Power Performance 10W-40 kit for Kawasaki with a filter, 2 quarts of synthetic blend oil, a fuel treatment, a funnel and an absorbent pad.

Pros

  • Funnel and pad included
  • Fuel treatment included
  • 2 quarts synthetic blend
  • Filter replaces OEM stated

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Aftermarket, not OEM
  • 10W-30 in table, 10W-40 title
  • Fuel treatment, not needed
10W-40 Kawasaki Oil Change Kit, (1)

10W-40 Kawasaki Oil Change Kit, (1)

Kawasaki9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Kawasaki 10W-40 oil change kit with an OEM filter and 2 quarts of oil, for motorcycles and ATVs.

Pros

  • OEM filter stated
  • 2 quarts 10W-40
  • Motorcycle and ATV stated
  • Simple, matched kit

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No funnel stated
  • 2 quarts, check capacity
  • No crush washer stated
KTM/Motorex Oil Change Kit 10W/50 (1.2L)

KTM/Motorex Oil Change Kit 10W/50 (1.2L)

KTM9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A KTM 10W-50 oil change kit with 1.2 liters of Motorex full synthetic, an OEM filter and a crush washer.

Pros

  • Full synthetic stated
  • OEM filter and washer
  • 1.2 L Motorex oil
  • KTM fitment stated

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • 1.2 L, check capacity
  • 16 oz, small kit
  • No funnel stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Factor Subaru 2-Pack Power Performance Kawasaki Kit KTM Kit
Contents 2 filters, washers Filter, oil, funnel, pad Filter, 2 qt oil Oil, filter, washer
Oil None 10W-40, 2 qt 10W-40, 2 qt 10W-50, 1.2 L
Fitment Subaru cars Kawasaki Kawasaki KTM bikes
OEM Genuine stated Replaces stated OEM stated OEM stated
Extras None Funnel, pad, treatment None None
Warranty 1 year Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. Only the Subaru states a warranty term.

How we scored them

Each kit is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The Subaru scores on build for genuine OEM parts and on warranty for the stated 1 year; the Power Performance scores on value for its extras; the Kawasaki scores on build for OEM fit; the KTM scores on performance for full synthetic oil.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Subaru 2-Pack Kit 9.4 29 19 19 0 3
Power Performance Kit 9.4 32 20 20 0 0
Kawasaki 10W-40 Kit 9.4 29 19 19 0 0
KTM 10W-50 Kit 9.4 28 19 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Buying guide: the best oil change kit under 40

OEM vs aftermarket

The Subaru states a genuine OEM filter, part 15208AA21A, with a crush washer, M16 x 1.5 thread, in a 2-pack. The Kawasaki states an OEM filter 49065-7010 with 2 quarts of 10W-40 oil. The KTM states an OEM oil filter and crush washer with 1.2 liters of Motorex Cross Power 4T 10W-50 full synthetic. The Power Performance states a filter that replaces Kawasaki 49065-0721 and 49065-0736. OEM kits guarantee the fit; aftermarket kits add extras.

Oil grade and volume

The Kawasaki and Power Performance kits state 10W-40, 2 quarts each; the KTM states 10W-50 full synthetic, 1.2 liters. The Subaru kit is filter and washer only, with no oil. Check the owner’s manual for the grade and volume; the Subaru states a 6-month or 7,500-mile change interval as a guide.

What is in the box

The Power Performance kit states the most extras: oil filter, 2 quarts of synthetic blend oil, a fuel treatment bottle, an oil funnel and an absorbent pad. The KTM states oil, OEM filter and crush washer. The Kawasaki states filter and 2 quarts of oil. The Subaru states the 2-pack filter and crush washer. For a beginner, the funnel and pad in the Power Performance kit save a second purchase.

Fitment

The Subaru states fitment for the Ascent, Crosstrek, Outback, Legacy, Impreza and Forester from 2011 to 2026 with superseded part numbers listed. The KTM states fitment for 2014 to 2024 KTM XCF-W and 450 SX-F, XC-F and SMR models. The Kawasaki and Power Performance state motorcycle and ATV fitment. Confirm the part number against your vehicle before buying.

Warranties

Only the Subaru states a warranty: 1 year. The other three state no warranty term. On a sub-40 kit, the fit and contents matter more than the warranty.

Part numbers: the match that matters

Every kit here is vehicle-specific, so the part number is the buying decision. The Subaru kit centers on filter part 15208AA21A with crush gasket 803916010, and the listing names four superseded numbers, 15208AA160, 15208AA15A, SOA6351520815 and 15208AA20A, all now replaced by 15208AA21A. The listing warns that the filter you remove may not look like the one currently available, because Subaru updated the design. The Kawasaki kit pairs filter 49065-7010 with oil 99969-6296. The Power Performance kit states its filter replaces Kawasaki 49065-0721 and 49065-0736, which matters if your bike lists the older number. The KTM kit lists three part numbers: U6921041 for the Motorex oil, 77338005100 for the OEM filter and 58038022000 for the crush washer. Write down the numbers from your owner’s manual and match them before ordering; a filter that almost fits does not filter.

Synthetic blend vs full synthetic

Two kits name their oil type. The Power Performance kit states SAE 10W-40 synthetic blend engine oil in 2 quarts, while the KTM kit states Motorex Cross Power 4T 10W-50 full synthetic in 1.2 liters. The Kawasaki kit states 10W-40 with a 10W-40 SAE J300 viscosity grade and 2 quarts of liquid volume. The Subaru kit contains no oil at all, filter and gasket only, so the oil choice stays with you and the owner’s manual. Do not mix grades across changes without checking the manual; the grade on the bottle should match the grade the vehicle asks for.

The crush washer is not optional

Two kits include a crush washer, and the listings treat it as part of the job. The Subaru kit includes the crush gasket 803916010 with an M16 x 1.5 thread, and the KTM kit includes drain bolt crush washer 58038022000. A crush washer deforms when torqued to seal the drain bolt, which is why it is replaced at every oil change rather than reused. The Kawasaki and Power Performance kits state no crush washer, so add one that matches your drain bolt if your vehicle uses one. A weeping drain bolt is almost always a reused washer.

Motorcycle kits vs car kits

These four split by vehicle type. The Subaru kit is the car kit, listing compatibility with cars and sport utility vehicles across the Ascent, Crosstrek, Outback, Legacy, Impreza and Forester from 2011 to 2026. The other three are motorcycle and ATV kits: the Kawasaki and Power Performance list motorcycle and ATV compatibility, and the KTM lists motorcycle fitment for specific models from 2014 to 2024. The volumes tell the same story: 2 quarts for the Kawasaki kits and 1.2 liters for the KTM, against a car sump that takes far more. Buy the kit for your vehicle type; the filter threads and oil volumes do not cross over.

Volume: 2 quarts vs 1.2 liters

Check the volume against the sump. The Kawasaki kit and the Power Performance kit each state 2 quarts of 10W-40, and the KTM kit states 1.2 liters of 10W-50, described as the perfect amount for its listed models. The Power Performance kit’s spec table also lists 66 fluid ounces as the unit count, which matches 2 quarts plus the 2 oz fuel treatment bottle. The Subaru kit states no oil volume because it ships filter and gasket only. If your vehicle takes more than the kit holds, buy the extra quart of the same grade before you start; running short mid-change is how mistakes happen.

The 6-month or 7,500-mile clock

The Subaru listing is the only one to state a change interval: every 6 months or every 7,500 miles depending on conditions, with a reminder to check the owner’s manual for the right schedule. The other three kits state no interval. Use the Subaru figure as a reminder that time matters as much as mileage, especially for motorcycles that sit through winter; oil degrades sitting still. Set the reminder when you close the hood, not when the next change feels overdue.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

Match the kit to the vehicle: car kits do not fit motorcycles, and motorcycle kits do not fit cars. Check the oil grade and volume in the owner’s manual. Keep a crush washer with every filter change; the Subaru, KTM and Power Performance kits include one.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a crush washer for?

The Subaru and KTM kits include a crush washer with the oil filter. It seals the drain bolt and deforms on installation, so it is replaced at every oil change.

How often should I change the oil?

The Subaru listing states every 6 months or every 7,500 miles depending on conditions. Check the owner’s manual for the schedule that fits your vehicle.

Do these kits include a funnel?

Only the Power Performance kit states an oil funnel and an absorbent pad. The other three state no funnel.

Which of these states a warranty?

Only the Subaru, with a 1 year warranty. The other three state no warranty term.

Related: the strap vs cap oil filter wrench comparison, the best creeper for oil changes and the best oil extractor pump for motorcycles.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…