Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Plasma Cutter for Home Use: 4 Picks for Garages

Four plasma cutters for home garages, compared by cut capacity, power needs, pilot arc and warranty.

Best Plasma Cutter for Home Use: 4 Picks for Garages
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1YESWELDER CUT-55DSYESWELDER CUT-55DSYESWELDER CUT-55DS9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2PRIMEWELD 3-in-1 50APRIMEWELD 3-in-1 50APRIMEWELD 3-in-1 50A9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3SILATU STC650P 65ASILATU STC650P 65ASILATU STC650P 65A9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4FEMEROL Plasma Cutter Welder Combo 200A Gas MIG/GaslessFEMEROL Plasma Cutter Welder Combo 200A Gas MIG/GaslessView on Amazon
  5. 5ARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Prolux Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Prolux Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  6. 6ARCCAPTAIN 60A Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN 60A Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  7. 7SILATU 55A Plasma CutterSILATU 55A Plasma CutterView on Amazon
  8. 850A Plasma Cutter Machine50A Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  9. 9Bestarc Plasma Cutter MachineBestarc Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon

The best plasma cutter for home use runs on your garage’s power, cuts the metal you actually work with, and starts its arc without touching the tip to the metal. For home garages that means dual 110V/220V input, a non-touch pilot arc, and a clean cut around 1/2 inch or more. The four listings here are compared on cut capacity, power needs and warranty. Listings were collected 20 October 2026.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

YESWELDER CUT-55DS 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

YESWELDER CUT-55DS 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

YESWELDER9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

55A plasma cutter, dual 110V/220V, non-touch pilot arc, PT/2T/4T, IP21, 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 55A with 20-55A output
  • Non-touch pilot arc
  • IP21 water rating stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Heaviest home pick at 20.9 lb
  • 5.6 KW rated draw
  • Odd 17/24 in max-cut fraction
  • No TIG/stick combo
PrimeWeld Pilot Arc 50A Plasma Cutter

PrimeWeld Pilot Arc 50A Plasma Cutter

PRIMEWELD9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

50A plasma plus 200A TIG and 200A stick welder combo with 1/2 inch clean cut, 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3-in-1: plasma, TIG and stick
  • 1/2 in clean cut stated
  • 3-year warranty stated
  • 60% duty cycle at max amps

Cons

  • Heaviest here at 32 lb
  • No stated safety certification
  • 1/2-foot typo in bullet
  • No 2T/4T stated
SILATU Plasma Cutter, 65A Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU Plasma Cutter, 65A Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

65A plasma cutter, dual 110V/220V, non-touch pilot arc, air sensor, 1-year warranty and lifetime support.

Pros

  • 65A is the top amperage here
  • Built-in air sensor stated
  • Lightest full cutters at 13.45 lb
  • 1-year warranty plus lifetime support

Cons

  • Needs 40A breaker on dedicated circuit
  • PT cooling 3-15 seconds stated as manual
  • Air compressor bought separately
  • Title cut figures differ from bullets
GZ GUOZHI Plasma Cutter, 50 Amp Air Inverter

GZ GUOZHI Plasma Cutter, 50 Amp Air Inverter

GZ GUOZHI9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

50A plasma cutter, dual 110V/220V, pilot arc, 13 lb, overheat and over-current protection, 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Lightest here at a stated 13 lb
  • Overheat and over-current protection stated
  • 60% duty cycle
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • Lowest max cut stated of the four
  • 40A@110V / 30A@220V breaker needs
  • No trial function beyond 2T/4T stated
  • No TIG/stick combo

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Plasma Cutter Shop Score Cut Weight Warranty
YESWELDER CUT-55DS 9.6/10 25/64 in @220V 20.9 lb 2 years
PRIMEWELD 3-in-1 50A 9.6/10 1/2 in 32 lb 3 years
SILATU STC650P 65A 9.6/10 20mm @65A 13.45 lb 1 year
GUOZHI CUT-50 50A 9.6/10 3/4 in @220V 13 lb 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.

The picks: best plasma cutter for home use

How we scored them

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
YESWELDER CUT-55DS 9.6 30 21 20 4 3
PRIMEWELD 3-in-1 50A 9.6 33 21 21 0 4
SILATU STC650P 65A 9.6 30 20 21 4 3
GUOZHI CUT-50 50A 9.6 28 20 21 4 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Cut capacity and power

Amps run 50 to 65 here. The SILATU is the top-amperage pick: 65A with a 15 to 40A range at 110V and 15 to 65A at 220V, cutting 12mm at 40A and 60PSI on 110V and 20mm at 65A and 70PSI on 220V. The YESWELDER is 55A with a 20 to 55A output: ideal clean cut 19/64 in at 110V and 25/64 in at 220V, max cut 9/16 in at 110V and 17/24 in at 220V. The PRIMEWELD is a 50A plasma side of a 3-in-1 combo with a stated 1/2 inch clean cut, plus 200A TIG and 200A stick welders. The GUOZHI is 50A with a recommended max of 1/4 in (12mm) at 35A 110V 50PSI and 3/4 in (20mm) at 50A 220V 65PSI. Three state a 60% duty cycle: the SILATU, the PRIMEWELD and the GUOZHI.

Power supply needs

All four run dual 110V/220V. The SILATU listing requires a circuit breaker rated at 40 amps or higher and a dedicated circuit at 220V, or the breaker will trip. The GUOZHI lists breakers up to 40A at 110V and up to 30A at 220V. The YESWELDER is rated 5.6 KW. All four need dry compressed air: the GUOZHI states it connects in about 1 minute with a 1/4 in industrial D-type plug, and the SILATU states its built-in air sensor with a quick-connect 1/4 NPT fitting, with the compressor bought separately. Weights run 13 to 32 pounds: the GUOZHI states 13 lb, the SILATU 13.45 lb, the YESWELDER 20.9 lb and the PRIMEWELD 32 lb.

Listing notes and contradictions

A few stated oddities. The YESWELDER states a max cut of 17/24 in at 220V, an unusual fraction; take it as stated. The PRIMEWELD bullet says it can cut metals “up to 1/2-foot thick”, a clear typo for 1/2 inch; the clean cut figure of 1/2 inch wins. The SILATU title states a 4/5 in max cut and 9/16 in clean cut, while the bullets state 12mm and 20mm figures; the bullet figures win. Warranty: the PRIMEWELD states a 3-year warranty, the YESWELDER 2 years, and the SILATU and GUOZHI 1 year each. The SILATU also states lifetime technical support.

Duty cycle and current ranges

What the 60 percent figure covers

Three of the four listings state a 60 percent duty cycle: the SILATU, the PRIMEWELD and the GUOZHI. The SILATU states 15 to 40A at 110V and 15 to 65A at 220V, so its 60 percent duty cycle applies across those ranges. The PRIMEWELD states 60 percent duty cycle at max amps for all functions, meaning the plasma side and the welder sides share the same rating. The GUOZHI states 60 percent duty cycle with 50/60Hz high-frequency output. The YESWELDER states no duty cycle figure, so treat its continuous-run limits as not stated.

Current ranges and what they mean

The stated current ranges differ per voltage. The YESWELDER outputs 20 to 55A across its range. The SILATU runs 15 to 40A at 110V and 15 to 65A at 220V, the widest span here. The PRIMEWELD is 50A plasma plus 200A on the TIG and stick sides. The GUOZHI is 50A with recommended settings of 35A at 110V and 50A at 220V. Lower current suits thinner stock: the SILATU’s 15A bottom end at 110V is the lowest starting point of the four, while the YESWELDER’s 20A bottom is the highest.

Pilot arc and torch differences

Pilot arc is stated on all four, but the details differ. The YESWELDER states a non-touch pilot arc on the AG60 torch that cuts rough, painted and rusty surfaces without touching the tip to the metal, plus PT/2T/4T function with a recommended 5 to 8 second post-time cooling period. The SILATU states a high-frequency non-contact pilot arc with a PA adjustable function that extends pilot arc maintenance time, and PT adjustable between 3 and 15 seconds with 4 to 10 seconds generally recommended. The GUOZHI states pilot arc function with 2T/4T and a trial function. The PRIMEWELD states pilot arc cutting as part of its 3-in-1. Longer post-time cooling extends consumable life per the YESWELDER and SILATU listings, so the adjustable PT on those two is the consumable-life feature here.

Air supply details

Pressure and flow per listing

Stated air needs differ. The SILATU states 60PSI at 40A on 110V and 70PSI at 65A on 220V, with a recommended flow rate of 250 liters per minute and a quick-connect 1/4 NPT fitting; the air compressor is bought separately. The GUOZHI states 50PSI at 35A 110V and 65PSI at 50A 220V, with a 1/4 in industrial D-type plug connecting in about 1 minute. The YESWELDER includes an air compressor filter and gas hose in the box, plus a PC10-02 air connector. Dry, non-hazardous compressed air is stated on the YESWELDER and GUOZHI listings; moisture in the line hurts cut quality, which is why the included filter on the YESWELDER and the internal filter on the SILATU matter.

Digital displays and error codes

All four state a digital display. The YESWELDER states its display shows air pressure, voltage and current with an error code system. The SILATU states a large digital display showing air pressure, voltage and current, with error codes for troubleshooting. The GUOZHI states a digital display. The PRIMEWELD states no display type but does state full-bridge design and soft-switching technology for stable arcs at low temperatures. For a first-time buyer, the error-code displays on the YESWELDER and SILATU are the diagnostic feature; the GUOZHI and PRIMEWELD state no such system.

Home wiring reality check

What 110V buys you

All four run dual 110V/220V, and all four cut on 110V at reduced output. The SILATU cuts 12mm at 40A and 60PSI on 110V. The YESWELDER’s stated clean cut of 19/64 in is the 110V figure. The GUOZHI’s 1/4 in (12mm) figure is at 35A 110V 50PSI. A 110V circuit tops out in current: the YESWELDER is rated 5.6 KW, and the SILATU demands a 40-amp-or-higher breaker on a dedicated circuit at 220V. If the garage only has 110V, the SILATU’s 15A bottom end and the YESWELDER’s 20 to 55A output still give real cutting without rewiring.

When 220V is worth it

The full output needs 220V: 65A on the SILATU, 55A on the YESWELDER, 50A on the PRIMEWELD and GUOZHI. The GUOZHI states breakers up to 40A at 110V 35A and up to 30A at 220V 50A, so the 220V setting actually asks for a smaller breaker than its 110V setting. The PRIMEWELD states AC 110/220 plus or minus 15 percent, which is the widest stated input tolerance here. Factor a licensed electrician into the cost before buying if the garage has no 220V circuit; the full-output performance costs real wiring money.

What each listing suits

The YESWELDER suits the buyer who wants the longest warranty here with full pilot-arc and consumable features. The PRIMEWELD suits the buyer who wants one machine for cutting and welding, with the 3-year warranty as the tiebreaker. The SILATU suits the buyer chasing the thickest cuts at 65A with an air sensor and the widest current span. The GUOZHI suits the buyer who wants the lightest unit at 13 lb with 2T/4T controls. Match the pick to the thickest metal the garage actually cuts and the power it already has.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which cuts the thickest?

By stated amps, the SILATU at 65A cuts 20mm at 65A and 70PSI on 220V. The YESWELDER states a max cut of 9/16 in at 110V and 17/24 in at 220V.

Which also welds?

The PRIMEWELD CT520DP: a 3-in-1 with 50A plasma, 200A TIG and 200A stick welders, plus stated aluminum stick welding.

What power does the garage need?

All four run 110V/220V. The SILATU needs a 40-amp-or-higher breaker on a dedicated circuit at 220V. The GUOZHI lists up to 40A at 110V and 30A at 220V.

Which are lightest?

The GUOZHI at a stated 13 lb and the SILATU at 13.45 lb. The YESWELDER is 20.9 lb and the PRIMEWELD 32 lb.

Which state the longest warranty?

The PRIMEWELD at 3 years, the YESWELDER at 2 years. The SILATU and GUOZHI state 1 year each.

Related: the best plasma cutter for 1/2 steel, the best air compressor filter for plasma cutting and the best air die grinder for weld cleanup.

More picks: browse engine and shop equipment.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…