Best Portable Sawhorse (2026): 5 Models Compared
Five portable sawhorses compared by capacity, height, top size and warranty, from a 5.7 lb single to a 3,600 lb adjustable pair.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallCRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best CapacityBORA Speedhorse XT9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best WorkbenchBORA Workhorse9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Value PairAmazon Basics Sawhorse9.6/10View on Amazon - 5
Best Light DutyFORUP Folding Sawhorse9.4/10View on Amazon - 6
Pony Portable Folding Work TableView on Amazon - 7
Saw Horses 2 Pack FoldingView on Amazon - 8
Adjustable Folding Saw Horses 2 PackView on Amazon
Cutting plywood on the garage floor is a backache waiting to happen, and the best portable sawhorse turns any driveway or shop corner into a cutting station. We compared five folding sawhorses by stated capacity, height, top size, weight and warranty. Every figure below comes from the Amazon listings, not from our own measurements.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse: Limited lifetime warranty, 5.7 lb carry weight, 1,000 lb pair capacity Check price on Amazon
- Best Capacity BORA Speedhorse XT: 3,600 lb pair capacity, 30 to 36 in adjustable height, 45 in top Check price on Amazon
- Best Workbench BORA Workhorse: Pre-drilled top for a sacrificial 2×4, 2,400 lb total per bullets Check price on Amazon
- Best Value Pair Amazon Basics Sawhorse: 900 lb pair capacity, folding 2-pack with hooks and stoppers Check price on Amazon
- Best Light Duty FORUP Folding Sawhorse: 275 lb each per title, 8 lb carry weight, twin pack Check price on Amazon
The picks

CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse, Folding (CMST11154)
A single folding metal sawhorse rated for 1,000 lbs per pair, weighing 5.7 lbs with a limited lifetime warranty.
Pros
- Limited lifetime warranty stated
- 1,000 lb load capacity per pair
- Weighs 5.7 lbs for easy carrying
- Side latches stack two units for compact storage
Cons
- Sold as a single sawhorse, not a pair
- No working height stated
- Spec table lists blade and power specs that do not fit a sawhorse
- No certification stated

BORA Speedhorse XT Saw Horses 2 Pack Adjustable
A 2-pack of adjustable steel sawhorses with 3,600 lb pair capacity, 30 to 36 in height range and a 45 in pre-drilled top.
Pros
- 3,600 lb capacity per pair, 1,800 lbs each
- Height adjusts 30 to 36 in in 1 in increments
- 45 in pre-drilled top with 2x4 bracket
- Lever quick-release legs fold in any order
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification stated
- 20.14 kg is the heaviest listed weight here
- Long 45 in top needs more shop space

BORA Workhorse Saw Horses 2 Pack Folding Heavy
A 2-pack of folding steel sawhorses with 2,400 lb total capacity per the bullets and a pre-drilled top for a sacrificial 2x4.
Pros
- 2,400 lb total capacity per the bullets
- Pre-drilled top accepts a sacrificial 2x4
- Folding steel legs with secure latches
- 30 in standard working height
Cons
- Title claims 2700-lb capacity while bullets and spec table give 2,400 lbs total
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification stated
- No adjustable height stated

Amazon Basics Rectangular Folding Sawhorse
A folding 2-pack of metal sawhorses with 900 lb pair capacity, locking braces and hooks for materials and cords.
Pros
- 900 lb capacity per pair
- Folds flat for carrying and storage
- 4 top hooks and 2 bottom hooks per sawhorse
- Fold-out stoppers double as a light storage shelf
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification stated
- 29.5 in fixed height, no adjustment
- Spec table lists 31.05 x 1.97 x 23.62 in while the bullets give 23.2 x 16.5 x 29.5 in

Forup Portable Folding Sawhorse
A twin pack of folding metal sawhorses rated 275 lb each per the title, with anti-slip EVA work surface and grip handle.
Pros
- Twin pack, fully assembled
- Anti-slip EVA work surface
- Grip handle and 8 lb carry weight each
- Folds to 1.4 x 4 x 39.2 in for storage
Cons
- Title states 275 lb each while the bullets say 265 lbs
- Lowest capacity of the five
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification stated
More options to compare
Pony Portable Folding Work TableCheck price on Amazon
Saw Horses 2 Pack FoldingCheck price on Amazon
Adjustable Folding Saw Horses 2 PackCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Sawhorse | Shop Score | Capacity | Height | Top | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse | 9.6/10 | 1,000 lbs (pair) | Not stated | Not stated | 5.7 lbs | Limited lifetime |
| BORA Speedhorse XT | 9.6/10 | 3,600 lbs (pair) | 30-36 in | 45 in | 20.14 kg | Not stated |
| BORA Workhorse | 9.6/10 | 2,400 lbs (total) | 30 in | 34 in | 11 kg | Not stated |
| Amazon Basics Sawhorse | 9.6/10 | 900 lbs (pair) | 29.5 in | 23.2 in | 2.21 kg | Not stated |
| FORUP Folding Sawhorse | 9.4/10 | 275 lbs (each) | 30.7 in | 39.2 in | 8 lbs (each) | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How we scored them
Each sawhorse is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the five names a safety certification, so all score zero on safety, and only the CRAFTSMAN states a warranty term.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse | 9.6 | 27 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 4 |
| BORA Speedhorse XT | 9.6 | 34 | 22 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| BORA Workhorse | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| Amazon Basics Sawhorse | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| FORUP Folding Sawhorse | 9.4 | 23 | 18 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
What the listings tell you
We read five sawhorse listings. Pair capacities run from 900 to 3,600 lbs, and four state a working height between 29.5 and 36 inches. Only one states a warranty term, and none names a safety certification. Two listings contradict themselves on capacity or dimensions, and both are flagged in their reviews.
Buying guide: best portable sawhorse
Capacity: per pair or each
Sawhorse capacity is stated per pair or per horse, and the two do not mix. The BORA Speedhorse XT lists 3,600 lbs per pair (1,800 each), the Amazon Basics 900 lbs per pair, and the FORUP 275 lbs each per its title. The CRAFTSMAN lists 1,000 lbs per pair but ships as a single, so a working pair needs two units. Compare like with like before deciding.
Height and top size
Four of the five state a working height: 30 to 36 inches adjustable on the Speedhorse XT, and fixed 30, 29.5 and 30.7 inches on the Workhorse, Amazon Basics and FORUP. Match the height to your saws and your back, not to a rule. Top length matters too: the Speedhorse XT’s 45-inch top holds long stock, while the Amazon Basics’ 23.2-inch top suits shorter cuts.
Weight, folding and the 2×4 top
Portable means carried, so check the listed weight: 5.7 lbs for the CRAFTSMAN, 8 lbs each for the FORUP, 2.21 kg for the Amazon Basics and 20.14 kg for the Speedhorse XT. All five fold, and both BORA picks add pre-drilled tops that take a sacrificial 2×4 for a flat, replaceable work surface. Only the CRAFTSMAN states a warranty term, a limited lifetime warranty. Our mobile workbench picks cover the next step up when sawhorses are not enough.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Pull the levers on the Speedhorse XT to fold; the legs fold in any order.
- The FORUP folds to 1.4 x 4 x 39.2 inches for leaning against a wall.
- Stack two CRAFTSMAN units with the side latches for one compact carry.
- The Amazon Basics folds flat and arrives fully assembled.
- Check the 45-inch Speedhorse XT top against the shop space before ordering.
Frequently Asked Questions
How tall should sawhorses be?
The listings here state 29.5 to 36 inches. The Speedhorse XT adjusts 30 to 36 inches; the others are fixed. Match the height to the work, not to a rule.
How do you use a sawhorse to cut wood?
Set a level pair, lay the stock across both tops and cut between them. The BORA pre-drilled tops accept a sacrificial 2×4 to protect the horses.
What is a sawhorse?
A portable frame with a top beam and folding legs that holds lumber, plywood or a work top at working height.
Can one sawhorse hold a workbench top?
A pair is the stable setup. Both BORA picks are 2-packs with pre-drilled tops for a 2×4 work surface, while the CRAFTSMAN ships as a single.
Related: the mobile workbench vs rolling tool chest comparison, our tool storage hub and our small workbench for garage guide. Also see our best mobile workbench under 150. Also see our best LED lights for garage workbench.



