Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Rivet Gun for Auto Body Work Under $35 (2026)

Five rivet guns for auto body work under $35 compared by rivet count, head sizes, drill bits, weight and warranty. All figures from the listings.

Best Rivet Gun for Auto Body Work Under $35 (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1KOOPOOL Rivet Gun KitBest OverallKOOPOOL Rivet Gun Kit9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2NEU MASTER Rivet GunBest ComfortNEU MASTER Rivet Gun9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet GunBest KitValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4KLRStec Professional Rivet GunBest CompactKLRStec Professional Rivet Gun9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5BEETRO Heavy Duty Hand RiveterBEETRO Heavy Duty Hand RiveterView on Amazon
  6. 6Rivet Gun Set with 3 Sizes Nylon Blind RivetsRivet Gun Set with 3 Sizes Nylon Blind RivetsView on Amazon

Body panels don’t hold themselves together. A rivet gun pulls the stem, the rivet mushrooms, and two panels become one, with no sparks and no weld bead to grind. A hand riveter costs little and works anywhere the panel reaches. This guide to the best rivet gun for auto body work under 35 compares five kits by what their listings state: rivet count, head sizes, included bits, weight and warranty.

Reading the listings takes some care. Makers count rivets, heads and drill bits in different places, and some listings skip the warranty line entirely. The comparisons below use only what each listing publishes, measured against the best rivet gun for auto body work under 35, so you can see which kit fits your body work and your budget.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall KOOPOOL Rivet Gun Kit: 3 year warranty, 200 rivets and 30 percent less effort. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Comfort NEU MASTER Rivet Gun: 2 year warranty with 200 rivets and one-hand design. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Kit ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun: 200 rivets, 4 drill bits and a removal nozzle in the box. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Compact KLRStec Professional Rivet Gun: 1.76 lb compact gun with 120 rivets and 4 drill bits. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Rivet Gun Kit, Manual Pop Rivet Tool with 200pcs

Rivet Gun Kit, Manual Pop Rivet Tool with 200pcs

KOOPOOL9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rivet gun kit with 200 rivets, 4 tool-free heads, 4 drill bits and a sturdy case, with an adjustable stroke and a 3 year warranty.

Pros

  • 3 year warranty, the longest of the five
  • 200 rivets plus 4 drill bits in the box
  • Adjustable stroke for power or ease
  • Sets small stainless steel rivets

Cons

  • No safety certification stated on the listing
  • Stainless rivet fit tops out at 5/32 in
  • No rivet storage bottle on the handle
  • Adjustable stroke needs setup before first use
NEU MASTER Rivet Gun, Pop Rivet Tool Kit with 200

NEU MASTER Rivet Gun, Pop Rivet Tool Kit with 200

NEU MASTER9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rivet gun kit with 200 rivets, 4 color-coded heads and a BMC hard case, with a one-hand design and a 2 year warranty.

Pros

  • 2 year warranty stated on the listing
  • 200 rivets with 4 color-coded heads
  • One-hand design for 20 percent less effort
  • BMC hard case included in the box

Cons

  • No drill bits included in the box
  • No safety certification stated on the listing
  • No stainless rivet compatibility stated
  • 2.74 lb is heavier than the KLRStec
ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun

ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun

ValueMax9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-in-1 rivet gun kit with 200 rivets, 4 nosepieces, 4 HSS drill bits and a removal nozzle in a blow-molded case.

Pros

  • 200 rivets plus 4 HSS drill bits
  • Removal nozzle included in the box
  • Handle lock for compact storage
  • Ergonomic curved handle for comfort

Cons

  • No warranty term stated on the listing
  • No safety certification stated on the listing
  • No stainless rivet compatibility stated
  • 2.82 lb is the second-heaviest of the five
KLRStec Professional Pop Rivet Gun Kit with 120

KLRStec Professional Pop Rivet Gun Kit with 120

KLRS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact rivet gun kit with 120 rivets, 4 quick-change nozzles and 4 HSS drill bits in a storage case, at 1.76 lb.

Pros

  • 1.76 lb, the least weight of the five
  • Compact 8 in x 3.5 in design
  • 4 quick-change nozzles stored on the gun
  • Carbon steel body with TPU grip

Cons

  • Only 120 rivets, the fewest of the five
  • No warranty term stated on the listing
  • No safety certification stated on the listing
  • No stainless rivet compatibility stated
Dorman 743-100 Hand Rivet Gun

Dorman 743-100 Hand Rivet Gun

Dorman9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand rivet gun with 13.5 in handles for leverage, a 1.5 in nose reach, and an open-end wrench and rivets included.

Pros

  • 13.5 in handles for extra leverage
  • 1.5 in nose reach for deep spots
  • Open-end wrench included in the box
  • Rivet storage bottle on the handle

Cons

  • No rivet count stated on the listing
  • No head sizes stated on the listing
  • No warranty term stated on the listing
  • 3 lb is the heaviest of the five

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Rivets Heads Drill Bits Warranty
KOOPOOL Rivet Gun Kit 200 4 4 3 years
NEU MASTER Rivet Gun 200 4 Not included 2 years
ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun 200 4 4 Not stated
KLRStec Professional Rivet Gun 120 4 4 Not stated
Dorman 743-100 Not stated Not stated Not included Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure. Where a listing contradicts itself, the table uses the figure backed by the most listing evidence.

How we scored them

Each rivet gun is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the five listings states a safety certification, so every gun scores zero on safety, which pulls all scores down. Two listings state a warranty term: 3 years on the KOOPOOL and 2 years on the NEU MASTER. The scoring rewards what the listings state; unstated figures earn nothing, which is why the most detailed listings rise to the top.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
KOOPOOL Rivet Gun Kit 9.7 32 22 20 n/a 4
NEU MASTER Rivet Gun 9.7 30 21 20 n/a 3
ValueMax 4-in-1 Rivet Gun 9.6 29 20 20 n/a 0
KLRStec Professional Rivet Gun 9.5 27 21 19 n/a 0
Dorman 743-100 9.4 23 19 18 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read the five rivet gun listings under $35. Rivet counts run from 120 to 200. Four listings include 4 interchangeable heads covering 3/32 in to 3/16 in; the Dorman states no head sizes. Three include 4 drill bits; two do not. Weights run from 1.76 lb to 3 lb. Two list a warranty: 3 years and 2 years. Three state no warranty term. That spread is typical of this price band: some listings give every figure, and some give barely enough to order. Read the listing like a parts list, not a brochure.

The gaps matter. The Dorman is the outlier: long 13.5 in handles and a 1.5 in nose reach for window regulator work, with no stated rivet count or head sizes. The KOOPOOL lists an adjustable stroke and stainless steel rivet compatibility that none of the others claim. The NEU MASTER lists a one-hand design for 20 percent less effort. When a listing skips a figure, buy on the strength of what it does state. Either way, the head sizes and the rivet count matter more than the brand name. A kit that states every figure is easier to trust than one that leaves you guessing.

Buying guide: best rivet gun for auto body work under 35

Rivet sizes and head count

Four of the five kits include 4 interchangeable heads covering 3/32 in to 3/16 in, which covers the rivet sizes body work uses. The heads are color-coded on the NEU MASTER and the KLRStec, and all four swap without tools. The Dorman states no head sizes, so match it to the rivets you already own. For auto body work, the 1/8 in head does most of the duty. Keep the heads on the gun between jobs, since a loose head is a lost head. Our hand vs pneumatic rivet gun guide covers the jump to air power when hand riveting runs out of steam.

Rivets, drill bits and the box

Three kits include 200 rivets: the NEU MASTER, the ValueMax and the KOOPOOL, all 50 of each size. The KLRStec includes 120, 30 of each size. The Dorman includes rivets without a stated count. Three kits include 4 drill bits: the ValueMax, the KLRStec and the KOOPOOL. The ValueMax also includes a removal nozzle. A kit with drill bits in the box means you start drilling and riveting the same day, which matters when the panel is already off the car. Buying rivets separately costs more per rivet, so the 200-rivet kits win on refills too.

Effort, stroke and handles

The NEU MASTER lists 20 percent less effort through lever mechanics; the KOOPOOL lists 30 percent less effort through its leverage system, with an adjustable stroke for more power or an easier squeeze. The Dorman takes the opposite route: 13.5 in handles for leverage, with a storage bottle for rivets on the handle. Long handles help on stiff rivets; a shorter gun reaches tight spots. The KLRStec at 1.76 lb is the least weight here, against 3 lb for the Dorman. Either approach works; pick the one that matches your hands and your panels. On a full day of riveting, the effort rating matters more than the weight.

Warranty and the first panel

Two listings state a warranty: 3 years on the KOOPOOL with 24/7 customer assistance, and 2 years on the NEU MASTER. The other three state no warranty term. Before the first panel, set a rivet in scrap: the KOOPOOL listing notes adjusting stroke and tension first. Check the stem break is clean, then start on the body. A trial run on scrap is the cheapest insurance against a bad rivet in a visible panel. Keep the receipt and the warranty terms with the case, so a broken jaw does not become a new purchase.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Match the heads: 4 heads covering 3/32 in to 3/16 in on four of the five kits.
  • Count the rivets: 120 to 200 across the listings that state a count.
  • Check the bits: three kits include 4 drill bits; two do not.
  • Mind the effort: 20 percent less on the NEU MASTER, 30 percent on the KOOPOOL.
  • Read the warranty: 3 years on the KOOPOOL, 2 years on the NEU MASTER.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size rivets does a rivet gun kit include?

Four of the five kits cover 3/32 in to 3/16 in, with 4 interchangeable heads that swap without tools. The Dorman states no head sizes. For auto body work, the 1/8 in head does most of the duty, and the kits include 50 rivets of each size where stated. A tape measure and two minutes beat a return shipment. Measure twice, rivet once, and keep a few spare rivets of each size in the case for repairs.

Do rivet gun kits include drill bits?

Three do: the ValueMax, the KLRStec and the KOOPOOL each include 4 drill bits matched to the rivet sizes. The NEU MASTER and the Dorman do not list drill bits, so buy them separately if you need them. The grooved heads need the right bit, so match the bit to the head size. A dull bit wanders and ovalizes the hole, which no rivet can fix afterward.

Can a hand rivet gun set stainless steel rivets?

The KOOPOOL listing states compatibility with small stainless steel rivets in 3/32 in, 1/8 in and 5/32 in, through its high-leverage mechanism. The other listings state aluminum rivets only, so check the listing before buying stainless rivets. Stainless takes more force, so the adjustable stroke helps. For most body panels, aluminum rivets are the right call anyway.

How do I reduce hand fatigue when riveting?

The NEU MASTER lists 20 percent less effort through lever mechanics, and the KOOPOOL lists 30 percent less effort with an adjustable stroke. Take breaks on long runs, and the Dorman’s 13.5 in handles give more leverage per squeeze. A non-slip grip keeps the gun from twisting in your hand. Sore hands make bad rivets, so pace the job like a long drive.

What is the adjustable stroke for?

The KOOPOOL listing states an adjustable stroke: extend it for stronger pulling force with fewer squeezes, or shorten it for an easier squeeze. Users with less hand strength should use the shorter stroke setting. If the stems lodge, a gentle shake clears them per the listing.

Related: the best rivet gun for auto body work, the best rivet gun for beginners, the best rivet gun kit and the electric vs pneumatic rivet gun guide.

More buying guides

Air Tools ·

Best 1/2 Inch Air Impact Wrench (2026)

Five 1/2-inch air impact wrenches compared by working torque, breakaway power, free speed, air consumption, weight and warranty terms.