Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Rolling Tool Bag Under $150 (2026): 5 Picks for the Jobsite

The best rolling tool bag under $150: five bags and totes compared on wheels, pockets, fabric and water resistance, with scores on performance, build and value.

Best Rolling Tool Bag Under $150 (2026): 5 Picks for the Jobsite
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1AIRAJ Rolling Bag SetRolling + BackpackAIRAJ Rolling Bag Set9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WELKINLAND Rolling BagBig-Wheel RollerWELKINLAND Rolling Bag9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3DEWALT 20-Inch ToteJobsite ToteDEWALT 20-Inch Tote9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4AWP Rolling Tool BagCompact RollerAWP Rolling Tool Bag9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Carhartt 14-Inch BagFramed ToteCarhartt 14-Inch Bag9.5/10View on Amazon
  6. 6AWP Tool BagsAWP Tool BagsView on Amazon
  7. 7Dewalt 15" Medium Heavy Duty Contractor Tool BagDewalt 15" Medium Heavy Duty Contractor Tool BagView on Amazon
  8. 8Coreflex 12-Inch Heavy Duty Tool BagCoreflex 12-Inch Heavy Duty Tool BagView on Amazon
  9. 9Makita Heavy-Duty 14" Contractor Tool Bag 14-Inch LengthMakita Heavy-Duty 14" Contractor Tool Bag 14-Inch LengthView on Amazon
  10. 10BLACK+DECKER Tool BagBLACK+DECKER Tool BagView on Amazon

The job calls for every tool, and the walk to the truck is long. A bag that rolls beats a bag that drags, which is what this guide to the best rolling tool bag under $150 is about: five bags and totes with wheels, handles, pockets and stated fabrics, compared on what their listings publish and scored on performance, build and value. The listings range from 14-pocket totes to 55-pocket rolling sets, so the right bag is the one that matches the kit, not the biggest one. Rolling bags save the shoulders; the listings prove it with casters, treaded wheels and telescoping handles.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Rolling + Backpack AIRAJ Rolling Bag Set: 21 in rolling bag plus 18 in backpack, 55 pockets and a USB charging port. Check price on Amazon
  • Big-Wheel Roller WELKINLAND Rolling Bag: 4 in treaded wheels, 46 pockets plus 38 Molle loops, 120 lbs max load. Check price on Amazon
  • Jobsite Tote DEWALT 20-Inch Tote: 33 pockets, 1680 denier fabric, IP54 compartment and waterproof base. Check price on Amazon
  • Compact Roller AWP Rolling Tool Bag: Wheels and telescoping handle on a 600 denier, 14-pocket bag. Check price on Amazon
  • Framed Tote Carhartt 14-Inch Bag: Internal metal frame holds 26 pockets open; 1200-denier Rain Defender shell. Check price on Amazon

The picks

AIRAJ 21" Rolling Tool Bag with Wheels & 18" Tool

AIRAJ 21" Rolling Tool Bag with Wheels & 18" Tool

AIRAJ9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 21 in rolling tool bag with wheels plus an 18 in tool backpack, with 55 pockets, a 17-42 in telescoping handle and a USB charging port. The listing states 1680D high-density Oxford cloth, reflective safety strips and a PVC hard plate bottom.

Pros

  • 55 pockets, the most of the five, including a laptop compartment and power bank pocket
  • 21 in rolling bag plus a detachable 18 in backpack for two ways to carry
  • 17-42 in three-section telescoping handle with smooth casters
  • Built-in bidirectional USB charging port in the backpack

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 21 x 16 x 42 in is the largest footprint of the five
  • No safety certification is stated
  • No maximum load figure is stated
WELKINLAND 46Pockets Rolling Tool Bag

WELKINLAND 46Pockets Rolling Tool Bag

WELKINLAND9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18 in rolling tool bag with 4 in treaded wheels, a titanium telescoping handle, 46 pockets and 38 Molle loops. The listing states 1680D ballistic Oxford fabric, a rugged base and a 120 lbs maximum load.

Pros

  • 4 in treaded wheels for rough terrain, the largest wheels stated
  • 46 pockets plus 38 Molle loops for organization
  • 120 lbs maximum load, the highest stated figure
  • Titanium telescoping handle with gun-metal hardware

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Water resistant, not waterproof like the AIRAJ
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 18 x 22 x 10 in is wide for narrow van aisles
DEWALT Tool Bag, Water Resistant, Hard Bottom

DEWALT Tool Bag, Water Resistant, Hard Bottom

DEWALT9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20 in tool tote with 33 pockets, 1680 denier fabric, an IP54 water-resistant compartment and a waterproof base. The listing states a padded shoulder strap, a hi-vis yellow interior and a 55.1 lbs maximum load.

Pros

  • 33 pockets including a dedicated cordless drill and battery pocket
  • IP54 water-resistant compartment with a waterproof base
  • 1680 denier fabric with dirt-repellant tarpaulin
  • Hi-vis yellow interior for clear tool visibility

Cons

  • No wheels are stated; it carries by strap, not rolling
  • The spec table lists only "Warranty" with no term
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 5.4 lbs empty weight before tools go in
AWP Tool Bags, Premium Tool Bag, Black

AWP Tool Bags, Premium Tool Bag, Black

AWP9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15 x 11 x 17 in tool bag with wheels and a telescoping handle per the listing highlight, 14 pockets and 600 denier polyester. The listing states a water-resistant build with reinforced stitching and a 10 lbs maximum load.

Pros

  • Wheels and telescoping handle for rolling transport
  • 14 pockets with a large main compartment for bulky items
  • 600 denier polyester, water-resistant with reinforced stitching
  • Zip-top opening for wide-open, easy access

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 10 lbs maximum load, the lowest stated figure
  • 600 denier is the lightest fabric of the five
  • No safety certification is stated
Carhartt Utility Medium Tool Bag Black Onsite

Carhartt Utility Medium Tool Bag Black Onsite

Carhartt9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14 in tool bag with 26 pockets and an internal metal frame that holds it open, built from 1200-denier polyester with Rain Defender. The listing states a Duravax abrasion-resistant base and a 10 lbs maximum load.

Pros

  • Internal metal frame keeps the bag open and upright while working
  • 26 pockets: 16 exterior and 10 interior, each with a dedicated spot
  • 1200-denier polyester with Rain Defender DWR and Duravax base
  • Dual haul handles plus a removable padded shoulder strap

Cons

  • No wheels are stated; it is a carry bag
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 10 lbs maximum load, tied for the lowest stated figure
  • The spec table contradicts the bullets on dimensions, pocket count and material

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Size Pockets Wheels Water resistance
AIRAJ Rolling Bag Set 9.7/10 21 x 16 x 42 in 55 Casters Waterproof
WELKINLAND Rolling Bag 9.6/10 18 x 22 x 10 in 46 + 38 Molle loops 4 in treaded Water resistant
DEWALT 20-Inch Tote 9.6/10 18.72 x 11.31 x 12.09 in 33 Not stated IP54 compartment, waterproof base
AWP Rolling Tool Bag 9.5/10 15 x 11 x 17 in 14 Wheels, telescoping handle Water resistant
Carhartt 14-Inch Bag 9.5/10 14 in (title) 26 Not stated Water repellent

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.

How we scored them

Each bag is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the five listings states a safety certification or a warranty term with a concrete length, so every bag scores zero on safety and warranty. The AIRAJ set leads on stated versatility, while the WELKINLAND leads on stated load at 120 lbs. Scores reward stated features: wheels and handles for performance, denier and bases for build, pocket count and extras for value. A bag that clearly delivers its stated job earns most of each criterion.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
AIRAJ Rolling Bag Set 9.7 30 21 22 n/a 0
WELKINLAND Rolling Bag 9.6 29 21 21 n/a 0
DEWALT 20-Inch Tote 9.6 28 21 20 n/a 0
AWP Rolling Tool Bag 9.5 27 19 20 n/a 0
Carhartt 14-Inch Bag 9.5 26 20 19 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read five tool bag listings under $150. Three list wheels: the AIRAJ with casters, the WELKINLAND with 4 in treaded wheels, and the AWP with wheels and a telescoping handle in its highlight; the DEWALT and Carhartt state no wheels. Pocket counts run 14 to 55, and fabrics run 600 to 1680 denier. None of the five states a warranty term with a concrete length, and the Carhartt spec table contradicts its bullets on dimensions, pocket count and material, which the review notes. Two listings bundle extras: the AIRAJ with its backpack and USB port, the WELKINLAND with Molle loops. The DEWALT backstrap hangs on a telescopic handle, which is not the same as built-in wheels.

Buying guide: best rolling tool bag under 150

Wheels and handles: who actually rolls

Only three listings state wheels. The AIRAJ rolls on smooth casters with a 17-42 in three-section telescoping handle, and adds an 18 in backpack for the stairs. The WELKINLAND rolls on 4 in treaded wheels with a titanium telescoping handle for rough terrain. The AWP lists wheels and a telescoping handle in its highlight. The DEWALT has a backstrap that can hang on a telescopic handle but states no wheels of its own, and the Carhartt carries by dual haul handles or a shoulder strap. If the load is heavy and the ground is long, pick a true roller. The AIRAJ handle adjusts 17 to 42 in across three sections; the WELKINLAND handle is titanium. A telescoping handle that locks at the right height beats dragging.

Pockets and organization

Pocket counts run 14 to 55. The AIRAJ lists 55 pockets including a laptop compartment and a power bank pocket; the WELKINLAND lists 46 pockets plus 38 Molle loops; the DEWALT lists 33 pockets with a dedicated drill and battery pocket; the Carhartt lists 26 pockets with an internal metal frame that holds the bag open; the AWP lists 14 pockets around a large main compartment. Count the tools you carry daily, then match the pocket count. The Carhartt interior ID tag keeps the bag identifiable on shared job sites; the DEWALT metal carabiner and tape clip keep small gear handy.

Fabric and water resistance

Fabrics run 600 to 1680 denier. The DEWALT, AIRAJ and WELKINLAND list 1680 denier fabrics; the Carhartt lists 1200-denier polyester with Rain Defender DWR; the AWP lists 600 denier polyester. For water, the listings use four different words: the DEWALT states an IP54 water-resistant compartment with a waterproof base, the AIRAJ states waterproof, the AWP and WELKINLAND state water resistant, and the Carhartt states water repellent. Read the exact words: a waterproof base is not a waterproof bag. The AIRAJ adds reflective safety strips for night work; the WELKINLAND rugged base guards against mud and water.

Size and load limits

Sizes run from the 14 in Carhartt to the 21 x 16 x 42 in AIRAJ set. Maximum loads run 10 lbs on the AWP and Carhartt, 55.1 lbs on the DEWALT and 120 lbs on the WELKINLAND; the AIRAJ states no maximum. Weigh the loaded kit once, then buy the bag whose stated limit clears it. The AIRAJ backpack detaches for the climb when wheels will not go; the WELKINLAND rigid base keeps the bag upright and fully opened for access.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • The AIRAJ set measures 21 x 16 x 42 in with a 17-42 in handle; measure the truck bed or van shelf first.
  • Maximum loads run 10 lbs (AWP, Carhartt) to 120 lbs (WELKINLAND); the DEWALT lists 55.1 lbs.
  • The WELKINLAND 4 in treaded wheels suit rough terrain; the DEWALT and Carhartt state no wheels.
  • No listing states a warranty term with a concrete length, so buy on pockets, fabric and wheels.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need wheels on a tool bag?

It depends on the load and the distance. The AIRAJ, WELKINLAND and AWP listings state wheels; the DEWALT and Carhartt do not. Heavy kits and long walks favor a roller; a tote works for the van-to-bench carry. The 4 in treaded WELKINLAND wheels suit rough ground; smooth casters suit shop floors. The AWP highlight lists wheels and a telescoping handle, making three rollers in total.

How many pockets is enough?

The five listings range from 14 to 55 pockets. The DEWALT adds a dedicated drill and battery pocket, the AIRAJ a laptop compartment, and the WELKINLAND 38 Molle loops on top of 46 pockets. Match the count to the kit you carry daily. The Carhartt 26 pockets each get a dedicated spot per the listing; the AWP 14 pockets center on a large main compartment.

What do the water ratings mean here?

Only what the listings state: the DEWALT claims an IP54 water-resistant compartment with a waterproof base, the AIRAJ claims waterproof, the AWP and WELKINLAND claim water resistant, and the Carhartt claims water repellent with Rain Defender DWR. None of the listings defines these beyond the words. The Carhartt Rain Defender DWR is stated to shed light rain on the way to and from the site.

Can these bags hold a cordless drill?

The DEWALT lists a dedicated drill and battery pocket, and the Carhartt main compartment is large enough to hold a cordless drill. The other three listings do not name a drill fit. The AIRAJ laptop compartment fits a laptop per the listing, not tools.

What is the weight limit?

The WELKINLAND states 120 lbs, the DEWALT 55.1 lbs, and the AWP and Carhartt 10 lbs each. The AIRAJ states no maximum load. The AWP and Carhartt 10 lbs limits suit hand tools; the 120 lbs WELKINLAND suits the full kit.

Related: the rolling tool bag vs tool cart comparison, the roll up vs rolling tool bag comparison, the best tool bag for mobile mechanic picks and the tool backpack vs tool bag comparison.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.