Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Socket Set for Truck Owners (2026)

Five socket sets for truck owners compared: impact-rated master sets, a 308-piece shop kit and a lifetime-warranty starter, by drive, coverage and rating.

Best Socket Set for Truck Owners (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1NEIKO 02471A 67-PcTop pickNEIKO 02471A 67-Pc9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2AMM 123-Pc ImpactCoverage pickAMM 123-Pc Impact9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3CRAFTSMAN 308-PcShop pickCRAFTSMAN 308-Pc9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4CRAFTSMAN 57-PcWarranty pickCRAFTSMAN 57-Pc9.3/10View on Amazon
  5. 51/2 29PC Socket Set Shallow1/2 29PC Socket Set ShallowView on Amazon
  6. 61/2" Impact Socket Set1/2" Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  7. 7DEWALT Socket SetDEWALT Socket SetView on Amazon
  8. 8CASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 55PCS 1/4-Inch Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon
  9. 9CASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetCASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket SetView on Amazon

A truck asks more of a socket set than a sedan does: bigger fasteners, rusted hardware, longer reaches into the engine bay, and jobs where the socket meets an impact wrench instead of a hand ratchet. The best socket set for truck owners covers metric and SAE in shallow and deep, runs impact-rated steel where the air tools live, and carries the drive sizes and accessories the job actually needs. Five sets here, from a 67-piece impact master set to a 308-piece shop kit.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Top pick NEIKO 02471A 67-Pc: 67-piece 3/8-inch impact master set in Cr-V and Cr-Mo, metric and SAE. Check price on Amazon
  • Coverage pick AMM 123-Pc Impact: 123-piece impact set with plug sockets, bits and 1/4 plus 3/8 drive. Check price on Amazon
  • Shop pick CRAFTSMAN 308-Pc: 308 pieces with 166 sockets, 23 wrenches and 3 ratchets. Check price on Amazon
  • Warranty pick CRAFTSMAN 57-Pc: Full lifetime warranty on mechanics tools, limited on hand tools. Check price on Amazon

The picks

NEIKO 02471A Impact Socket Set, 3/8” Drive

NEIKO 02471A Impact Socket Set, 3/8” Drive

NEIKO9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 67-piece 3/8-inch drive impact master set in Cr-V and Cr-Mo, metric and SAE, shallow, deep and swivel, with a 72T ratchet.

Pros

  • Impact-rated Cr-V and Cr-Mo with black phosphate coating stated
  • 8-19mm metric and 5/16-3/4 in SAE, shallow and deep stated
  • 12 metric and 8 SAE swivel sockets included
  • Low-profile 72T ratchet with 10-inch extension and adapters

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • 3/8-inch drive only, no 1/2-inch stated
  • No safety feature stated
  • No storage case detailed beyond the set
AMM 123Pcs Impact socket set,1/4”3/8”Drive

AMM 123Pcs Impact socket set,1/4”3/8”Drive

AMM9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 123-piece impact set in 1/4 and 3/8 inch drive, deep and shallow, metric and SAE, with spark plug sockets, bits and a 72T ratchet.

Pros

  • Impact-rated Cr-V with black phosphated finish stated
  • 4-22mm metric and 5/32-3/4 in SAE, deep and shallow stated
  • Spark plug sockets 13/16 and 5/8 included
  • Quick-release 72T ratchets, 40 bits and extensions included

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No 1/2-inch drive stated
  • No safety feature stated
  • 13 pounds, heavier than the NEIKO set
DEKOPRO 228 Piece Socket Wrench Auto Repair Tool

DEKOPRO 228 Piece Socket Wrench Auto Repair Tool

DEKOPRO9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 228-piece mixed tool kit with 1/4 and 3/8 inch sockets, hand tools and a blow-molded case, meeting or exceeding ANSI standards.

Pros

  • 228 pieces with 1/4 and 3/8 inch metric sockets stated
  • Meets or exceeds ANSI standards stated
  • 72-tooth ratchet with 5-degree swing stated
  • Blow-molded case, 12.78 lb, portable stated

Cons

  • Not stated as impact rated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Hand tools dilute the socket count
  • No safety feature stated
CRAFTSMAN 308 Piece Mechanics Tool Set

CRAFTSMAN 308 Piece Mechanics Tool Set

CRAFTSMAN9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 308-piece mechanics set with 166 sockets, 23 wrenches, 3 ratchets, hex keys and bits in full polish chrome.

Pros

  • 166 sockets with 23 wrenches and 3 ratchets stated
  • 44 hex keys and 42 specialty bits included
  • Full polish chrome with corrosion resistance stated
  • Plastic trays for organization stated

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Not stated as impact rated
  • 20.5 kg, the heaviest kit here
  • No safety feature stated
CRAFTSMAN 57 Piece Mechanics Tool Set Home Tool

CRAFTSMAN 57 Piece Mechanics Tool Set Home Tool

CRAFTSMAN9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 57-piece 1/4-inch drive home tool set with 11 sockets, ratchet, hand tools and a full lifetime warranty on mechanics tools.

Pros

  • Full lifetime warranty on mechanics tools stated
  • Limited lifetime warranty on hand tools stated
  • Low-profile 72-tooth ratchet with 5-degree arc swing
  • Blow-mold case for storage stated

Cons

  • 1/4-inch drive only, 11 sockets
  • Not stated as impact rated
  • Narrowest socket coverage here
  • No safety feature stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Drive (stated) Pieces (stated) Impact rated (stated) Warranty (stated)
NEIKO 02471A 67-Pc 3/8 in 67 Yes Not stated
AMM 123-Pc Impact 1/4 and 3/8 in 123 Yes Not stated
CRAFTSMAN 308-Pc Mixed 308 Not stated Not stated
CRAFTSMAN 57-Pc 1/4 in 57 Not stated Full lifetime (mechanics)
DEKOPRO 228-Pc Kit 1/4 and 3/8 in 228 Not stated Not stated

20 October 2026

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 20 October 2026. Piece counts and socket ranges are per the listings.

How we scored them

Each set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. A listing that states no safety feature or warranty term gets zero in that slot. The weights are published on our How We Pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NEIKO 02471A 67-Pc 9.5 32 21 20 0 0
AMM 123-Pc Impact 9.5 30 20 21 0 0
DEKOPRO 228-Pc Kit 9.4 27 19 20 3 0
CRAFTSMAN 308-Pc 9.4 30 20 20 0 0
CRAFTSMAN 57-Pc 9.3 24 18 19 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Drive sizes split the group. The NEIKO is 3/8-inch drive throughout, the AMM spans 1/4 and 3/8 inch, the CRAFTSMAN 57 is 1/4-inch drive, and the DEKOPRO and CRAFTSMAN 308 mix drives across their kits. Socket ranges are widest on the impact sets: the NEIKO covers 8 to 19mm metric and 5/16 to 3/4 inch SAE in shallow and deep, and the AMM covers 4 to 22mm metric and 5/32 to 3/4 inch SAE in shallow and deep with spark plug sockets.

Impact rating is stated on two: the NEIKO and AMM are built for impact wrenches with 6-point hex designs and black finishes. The other three are hand-tool sets, with the DEKOPRO meeting or exceeding ANSI standards stated. Warranties are thin: the CRAFTSMAN 57 states a full lifetime warranty on mechanics tools and a limited lifetime warranty on hand tools, the only concrete term here.

Buying guide: best socket set for truck owners

Impact-rated for truck work

Trucks mean impact wrenches, and only two sets here are built for them. The NEIKO 67-piece set is a 3/8-inch drive impact master set in chrome vanadium and chrome molybdenum with black phosphate coating, and the AMM 123-piece set is an impact master set in drop-forged chrome vanadium with a black phosphated finish. Both use 6-point hex designs that the listings say prevent round-off under high torque. If your truck work runs on air or battery impacts, start with one of these two.

The hand-tool sets are not stated as impact rated, which matters the first time a socket meets a rusted lug nut on an impact gun. The DEKOPRO states its tools meet or exceed ANSI standards, a build claim rather than an impact rating. Never run a non-impact socket on an impact wrench: the listings only rate the NEIKO and AMM for it.

Metric and SAE coverage

Trucks mix metric and SAE hardware, especially older ones. The NEIKO covers 8 to 19mm and 5/16 to 3/4 inch in shallow and deep, the AMM covers 4 to 22mm and 5/32 to 3/4 inch in shallow and deep, and the DEKOPRO and CRAFTSMAN 308 include both systems across their kits. The CRAFTSMAN 57 is the narrowest here with 11 sockets on 1/4-inch drive. For a truck, shallow and deep in both systems is the coverage that keeps you from borrowing sockets.

Range edges tell you who each set serves. The AMM reaches down to 4mm and 5/32 inch for small fasteners and up to 22mm for larger ones, the widest stated span here. The NEIKO’s 8 to 19mm and 5/16 to 3/4 inch covers the common truck sizes without the extremes. Match the range to your truck’s hardware before you buy.

Shallow, deep and swivels

Deep sockets reach lug studs and recessed bolts; swivels reach around corners. The NEIKO includes 12 metric and 8 SAE swivel sockets plus deep sockets in both systems, and the AMM includes deep and shallow across its ranges with 3 and 6 inch extension bars. The CRAFTSMAN 308’s 166 sockets span the shop. For truck suspension and exhaust work, deep sockets and extensions are not optional.

Extension bars multiply a socket set. The NEIKO lists 2, 3, 6 and 10 inch extensions with a U-joint, and the AMM lists 3 and 6 inch bars. The U-joint on the NEIKO reaches fasteners the straight bars cannot. For exhaust manifolds and bell housings, the extensions matter as much as the sockets.

Ratchets and accessories

Count the ratchets and the extras. The NEIKO brings a low-profile 72-tooth 3/8-inch ratchet with a 10-inch extension and adapters, the AMM brings quick-release 72-tooth ratchets with a spinner handle and 40 bits, and the CRAFTSMAN 308 brings three ratchets with 23 wrenches and 44 hex keys. The DEKOPRO adds pliers, screwdrivers, a hammer and a tape measure in a blow-molded case. For a truck owner starting out, the kit with ratchets, extensions and bits covers more jobs.

The 72-tooth ratchet is the common thread: the NEIKO, AMM, CRAFTSMAN 308 and DEKOPRO all state 72-tooth ratchets with a 5-degree arc swing for tight spaces, and the CRAFTSMAN 57’s low-profile head is stated as up to 25 percent thinner for access. In a crowded engine bay, the tooth count and head profile decide whether the ratchet fits.

Warranty and weight

The CRAFTSMAN 57 states the only real warranty here: full lifetime on mechanics tools, limited lifetime on hand tools. The other four state no warranty term. Weights are stated on three: 13 pounds for the AMM, 12.78 pounds for the DEKOPRO, and 2.97 kg for the CRAFTSMAN 57. The CRAFTSMAN 308 lists 20.5 kg, the heaviest kit here by a wide margin, which suits a shop cart rather than a truck box.

Storage follows the kit. The NEIKO and AMM include storage cases that hold each socket, the DEKOPRO and CRAFTSMAN 57 use blow-mold cases, and the CRAFTSMAN 308 packs its tools into plastic trays. A case that keeps sockets sorted is worth more than it looks the first time you reach for a size in the dark.

Matching the set to your truck

For a daily driver with basic maintenance, the NEIKO 67-piece impact set covers the fasteners you will meet with the impact rating to back it. For a project truck with rust and mixed hardware, the AMM 123-piece adds wider ranges, plug sockets and bits. For a home shop that services the truck and everything else, the CRAFTSMAN 308 or DEKOPRO 228 bring the wrenches and hand tools around the sockets. The CRAFTSMAN 57 is the odd one out for truck work, but its lifetime warranty makes it the set you hand to a new driver.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What drive size do I need for truck work?

3/8-inch drive covers most truck fasteners, and both impact sets here are built around it. The AMM adds 1/4-inch drive for small work, and the bigger kits mix drives. For heavy suspension bolts, add 1/2-inch drive separately.

Do I need impact sockets for a truck?

If you run an impact wrench, yes. The NEIKO and AMM are the impact-rated sets here with 6-point designs for high torque. The hand-tool sets are not stated as impact rated.

How many pieces do I need?

It depends on the work. The NEIKO 67-piece and AMM 123-piece cover sockets deeply; the DEKOPRO 228-piece and CRAFTSMAN 308-piece add hand tools, wrenches and bits for the whole shop. The CRAFTSMAN 57-piece is a starter set.

Metric or SAE for trucks?

Both. Modern trucks are largely metric, older American trucks mix in SAE. The NEIKO, AMM, DEKOPRO and CRAFTSMAN 308 all cover both systems; the CRAFTSMAN 57 is the narrowest here.

Which set has a warranty?

The CRAFTSMAN 57-piece states a full lifetime warranty on mechanics tools and a limited lifetime warranty on hand tools. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Should I get 6-point or 12-point sockets for a truck?

The NEIKO and AMM state 6-point hex designs, which their listings tie to preventing round-off under high torque. For rusted truck fasteners, 6-point is the safer grip; the other listings state no point count.

Related: browse our engine and shop equipment hub for more truck shop gear.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…