Best Spark Plug Gap Tool (2026): 5 Picks for the Tune-Up
Five spark plug gap tools compared by range, dual-unit stamping, adjusting features and warranty, from coin gappers to a 32-blade feeler kit.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallOEMTOOLS 25352 Ramp Gauge9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Most VersatilePQY 32-Blade Gap Kit9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Simple Coin PickCTA Tools 3235 Coin Gapper9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Wire Gauge PickCTA Tools 3238 9-Wire Gauge9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
Pocket PickKastar 4450A E-Z Grip Gauge9.3/10View on Amazon
A fresh set of plugs is only half the tune-up: the gap decides how the spark behaves, and a plug gapped wrong runs rough no matter how new it is. The best spark plug gap tool for a home garage measures the gap you have and helps set the gap you want, without a trip back to the parts counter. This guide compares five, from coin gappers to a 32-blade feeler kit, on what their listings state.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall OEMTOOLS 25352 Ramp Gauge: Ramp gauge with SAE and metric stamping, electrode adjuster and 30-day warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Most Versatile PQY 32-Blade Gap Kit: 32-blade feeler set plus aluminum adjuster for 10 to 16 mm plugs. Check price on Amazon
- Simple Coin Pick CTA Tools 3235 Coin Gapper: Coin-style gapper covering 0.020 to 0.100 in in plated steel. Check price on Amazon
- Wire Gauge Pick CTA Tools 3238 9-Wire Gauge: Nine wire blades from 0.025 to 0.060 in for precise checks. Check price on Amazon
- Pocket Pick Kastar 4450A E-Z Grip Gauge: Pocket-clip gauge with metric scale and electrode recess. Check price on Amazon
The picks

OEMTOOLS 25352 Ramp Style Spark Plug Gap Gauge
Ramp-style gap gauge with SAE and metric stamping, an electrode adjuster and a keychain hole, with a stated 30-day warranty.
Pros
- SAE stamped on the front, metric on the back
- Doubles as an electrode adjuster
- Keychain hole keeps it in reach
- 30-day warranty stated, the only term here
Cons
- Range contradicts itself: 0.020 in to 1 in vs 0.50 to 2.5 mm
- Blend material, not steel
- 1 x 1 x 1 in; small to handle
- 30 days is a short warranty

Universal Spark Plug Gap Gapping Tool with 32
Red aluminum gap adjuster with a 32-blade stainless feeler set for 10 to 16 mm plugs.
Pros
- 32 manganese steel blades, 0.0015 to 0.035 in
- Brass blade for electronic ignitions
- Aluminum adjuster with screw knob
- Fits 10, 12, 14 and 16 mm plugs
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Not for 18 mm or long/short reach plugs
- 9.07 g; small parts to keep track of
- Electrode spring-back needs the 0.42 for 0.44 trick
Pros
- 0.020 to 0.100 in range
- Plated steel, professional grade per listing
- Quick-check reference design
- Fits any vehicle per listing
Cons
- Title says coin-style, components say ramp-type
- Table lists an implausible 0.27 g weight
- No concrete warranty term stated
- Thin listing: four generic bullets

CTA Tools 3238 9 Wire Spark Plug Gap Gauge
Nine-wire gap gauge from 0.025 to 0.060 in, heavy-duty build.
Pros
- Nine wires: 0.025 to 0.060 in
- Wire gauges give precise go/no-go checks
- Heavy-duty construction per listing
- Covers common plug gaps
Cons
- Table lists plastic as the material
- No concrete warranty term stated
- Prop 65 warning on the listing
- Fixed steps; no in-between sizes

A & E Hand Tools 4450A E-Z Grip Spark Plug Gap
Pocket-clip gap gauge with a metric scale on the reverse and an electrode recess.
Pros
- Pocket clip for the shirt pocket
- Metric scale on the reverse
- Recess designed to adjust electrodes
- 0.8 ounces, light
Cons
- No gap range stated
- No warranty stated
- Thin listing, few details
- First listed 2007; old design
Compare the picks
| Model | Shop Score | Type | Range | Extras | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OEMTOOLS 25352 Ramp Gauge | 9.5/10 | Ramp gauge | 0.020 in to 1 in stated | SAE+metric, keychain hole | 30 days |
| PQY 32-Blade Gap Kit | 9.5/10 | Feeler + adjuster | 0.0015 to 0.035 in | 32 blades, brass blade | Not stated |
| CTA Tools 3235 Coin Gapper | 9.4/10 | Coin gapper | 0.020 to 0.100 in | Plated steel | Not stated |
| CTA Tools 3238 9-Wire Gauge | 9.4/10 | Wire gauge | 0.025 to 0.060 in | 9 wires, heavy-duty | Not stated |
| Kastar 4450A E-Z Grip Gauge | 9.3/10 | Pocket gauge | Not stated | Pocket clip, metric reverse | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
Each tool is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Stated range, dual-unit stamping and adjusting features carry the performance score; warranty only scores when the listing states a concrete term.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OEMTOOLS 25352 Ramp Gauge | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| PQY 32-Blade Gap Kit | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| CTA Tools 3235 Coin Gapper | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
| CTA Tools 3238 9-Wire Gauge | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
| Kastar 4450A E-Z Grip Gauge | 9.3 | 24 | 18 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We read five gap tool listings. Two are coin or ramp gauges, one is a wire gauge, one is a 32-blade feeler kit with an adjuster, and one is a pocket gauge. Stated ranges run from 0.0015 to 0.035 in on the PQY blades to 0.020 to 0.100 in on the CTA coin gapper, with the OEMTOOLS listing contradicting itself on its own range. Only the OEMTOOLS states a warranty term: 30 days. Three listings carry contradictions between title, bullets and spec table, flagged in each review.
best spark plug gap tool: buying guide
Coin, wire or feeler blades
Three measuring styles appear here. Coin and ramp gauges (CTA 3235, OEMTOOLS 25352) read a continuous range: slide the plug along the ramp and read the stamped size. Wire gauges (CTA 3238) give nine fixed sizes from 0.025 to 0.060 in for go/no-go checks, which suits anyone who distrusts reading a stamped number. Feeler blades (PQY, 32 blades from 0.0015 to 0.035 in) stack to the exact thickness and double as general shop feelers. Pick the style you will actually read correctly in a dim garage.
Range and the listing contradictions
Read the stated range twice, because three listings disagree with themselves. The OEMTOOLS states 0.020 inch to 1 inch (0.50 to 2.5 mm), and 1 inch is not 2.5 mm. The CTA 3235 title says coin-style while its components say ramp-type, and its table lists an implausible 0.27 g weight. The CTA 3238 claims heavy-duty construction while its table lists plastic. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table, and treat the metric figure as the listing’s intent where the two disagree.
Adjusters, not just gauges
Measuring is half the job; three of these also adjust. The OEMTOOLS uses a small hole to pull the electrode up and the tool body to press it down. The Kastar has a recess specifically designed to adjust electrodes. The PQY turns a screw knob against the chosen feeler blade. The CTA coin and wire gauges are measure-only per their listings. If you gap plugs often, an adjuster in the same tool saves the hunt for a second one.
Warranty fine print
Only the OEMTOOLS states a warranty term: 30 days. The two CTA listings say only Warranty with no term, and the PQY and Kastar state nothing. Score warranty accordingly: a stated term, even a short one, beats a blank.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Gap tool types: coin, wire and feeler
The five picks cover three tool types. The CTA 3235 and OEMTOOLS 25352 are coin-style ramp gauges: the CTA spans 0.020 to 0.100 inch in plated steel, and the OEMTOOLS spans 0.020 inch to 1 inch (0.50 to 2.5 mm) with SAE stamped on the front and metric on the back. The CTA 3238 is a 9-wire gauge with fixed wires at 0.025, 0.030, 0.035, 0.040, 0.044, 0.045, 0.050, 0.055 and 0.060 inches. The Kastar 4450A is a pocket gauge with a clip and a metric scale on the reverse. The PQY kit pairs an aluminum gapper with a 32-blade feeler gauge spanning 0.0015 inch (0.04 mm) to 0.035 inch (0.88 mm), including a 0.010 inch (0.25 mm) brass blade stated for electronic ignitions.
Adjusting the gap, per the listings
Three listings describe how to move the electrode. The OEMTOOLS states you widen the gap with the small hole in the top of the coin gauge to pull the metal up, and close it by pressing the metal against the tool; the same hole lets the gauge ride on a keychain. The Kastar states a recess specifically designed to adjust electrodes. The PQY states you place the plug on the gapper, pick your feeler, and screw the knob slowly to the target, with a tip for spring-back: aim 0.42 mm to land at 0.44 mm after the electrode springs back. Never pry against the center electrode or the insulator, and check the gap again after adjusting.
Fitment: thread sizes and reach
The PQY is the only pick that states fitment limits: it fits most 10, 12, 14 and 16 mm standard spark plugs, but not 18 mm thread, and it states it cannot work for long reach or short reach plugs, so check the plug size before buying. The CTA 3235 spec table states an M14 thread size and compatibility with any vehicle. The other three listings state no fitment limits, which is typical for simple gauges but worth noting.
Warranties stated
Warranty statements are thin here. The OEMTOOLS states 30 days. The CTA 3235 and 3238 spec tables state only the word Warranty with no term, which the guide does not score as a term. The Kastar and PQY listings state no warranty at all. On tools this simple, the warranty rarely decides, but the 30-day statement is the only concrete one.
Garage Fit Check
- The PQY kit’s 32 blades are small parts at 9.07 g total: keep them in the box, not loose in the drawer.
- The OEMTOOLS gauge has a keychain hole: hang it where the tune-up tools live so it is there at plug time.
- The CTA 3238 is the bulkiest here at 2.25 x 2.75 x 6 inches; the Kastar rides in a shirt pocket on its clip.
- Check the plug size first: the PQY fits 10, 12, 14 and 16 mm plugs but not 18 mm thread or long/short reach plugs.
Frequently Asked Questions
What gap should my spark plugs be?
The vehicle sets the spec, not the tool: check the owner’s manual or the underhood sticker. These tools measure and adjust to that spec; none of the listings states a gap figure for your engine.
Do I need to gap pre-gapped plugs?
Many mechanics check them anyway. Plugs can take knocks in shipping, and a quick pass with any of these gauges confirms the gap before the plug goes in.
Can I adjust the gap with the gauge itself?
With three of these, yes. The OEMTOOLS has an electrode adjuster hole, the Kastar has an adjusting recess, and the PQY turns a screw knob against the feeler. The CTA coin and wire gauges are measure-only per their listings.
Wire gauge or coin gauge?
Wires give go/no-go at fixed sizes: the CTA 3238 covers 0.025 to 0.060 in across nine wires. Coin and ramp gauges cover a continuous range: the CTA 3235 spans 0.020 to 0.100 in. Wires are more precise; coins are faster.
What about the electrode springing back?
The PQY listing names the problem and its fix: some electrodes spring back when adjusted, so it suggests using 0.42 mm when the target is 0.44 mm. Expect to check the gap after adjusting, whatever tool you use.
Related: the best torque wrench for spark plugs, the best cordless ratchet for spark plugs, engine stand vs engine hoist and our engine and shop equipment hub.




