Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Timing Light Under $50 (2026): 5 Picks

Five timing lights under $50 compared: advance dials, RPM ratings, lead length, self-powered operation and warranties.

Best Timing Light Under $50 (2026): 5 Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Innova 3555Top PickInnova 35559.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Innova 3551Runner-UpInnova 35519.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3KAISAL 12VWarranty PickKAISAL 12V9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4OBDMONSTER 12VBudget PickOBDMONSTER 12V9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Performance Tool W80578Self-Powered PickPerformance Tool W805789.3/10View on Amazon

Best timing light under 50 dollars gets you a solid inductive strobe for setting ignition timing on cars, motorcycles, boats and small engines. Every pick here is an inductive light that reads timing off the number one plug wire; they differ in advance features, RPM range, power source and warranty.

The Innova 3555 leads with an advance dial and 0 to 60 degree scale; the Innova 3551 covers most ignition systems to 9,990 RPM; the KAISAL adds a 10-foot lead and 3-year warranty; the Performance Tool is self-powered for magnetos; and the OBDMONSTER is the budget 12V pick. This guide ranks all five on range, features and warranty.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

Innova 3555 Advance Timing Light

Innova 3555 Advance Timing Light

Innova9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An advance timing light with 0 to 60 degree dial, rated to 9,990 RPM, with 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 0-60 degree advance dial
  • Up to 9,990 RPM stated
  • Slim rotating barrel
  • Detachable leads

Cons

  • No safety certification stated
  • 1-year warranty only
  • No digital display
  • 4-cycle stated
Innova 3551 Inductive Timing Light

Innova 3551 Inductive Timing Light

Innova9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An inductive timing light to 9,990 RPM for DIS, conventional and electronic systems, with 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Up to 9,990 RPM stated
  • DIS and electronic compatible
  • Slim rotating barrel
  • Hand guard stated

Cons

  • No advance dial
  • No safety certification stated
  • 1-year warranty only
  • 4-cycle stated
Timing Light Automotive 12V Engine Inductive

Timing Light Automotive 12V Engine Inductive

KAISAL9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V timing light with 10-foot lead, reverse polarity protection and 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3-year warranty stated
  • 10-foot lead stated
  • Reverse polarity protection
  • 2 and 4 stroke stated

Cons

  • RPM figures contradict: 10000rpm title vs 1000RPM bullet
  • Bulb type contradicts: xenon in bullets, halogen in table
  • No advance dial stated
  • No safety certification stated
Pro Ignition Timing Light

Pro Ignition Timing Light

OBDMONSTER9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V LED timing light to 1000 RPM with advance function, for 2 and 4 stroke, with 24-month warranty.

Pros

  • 24-month warranty stated
  • Advance function stated
  • LED light source
  • 2 and 4 stroke stated

Cons

  • 1000 RPM max, lowest here
  • No safety certification stated
  • No lead length stated
  • Basic feature set
Performance Tool W80578 Self-Powered Timing Light

Performance Tool W80578 Self-Powered Timing Light

Performance Tool9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A self-powered timing light on D batteries with xenon bulb, for magnetos, with 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Self-powered, no leads
  • Xenon bulb, daylight readable
  • Magneto compatible stated
  • 13.6 oz, portable

Cons

  • No RPM figure stated
  • No advance dial stated
  • No safety certification stated
  • Needs D batteries

Compare the picks

Light Verdict Max RPM Advance Power Warranty
Innova 3555 Top pick 9,990 0-60 dial 12V leads 1 year
Innova 3551 Runner-up 9,990 Not stated 12V leads 1 year
KAISAL Warranty pick Conflicting Advance function 12V, 10ft lead 3 years
OBDMONSTER Budget pick 1,000 Advance function 12V 24 months
Performance Tool Self-powered pick Not stated Not stated 2x D batteries Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.

20 October 2026

The picks: best timing light under 50

How we scored them

Each light is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. The Innova 3555 leads on its advance dial; the KAISAL leads on warranty at 3 years. None of the five listings states a safety certification, so all score 0 for safety.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Innova 3555 9.5 28 21 20 0 3
Innova 3551 9.5 27 21 20 0 3
KAISAL 12V 9.4 26 20 20 0 3
OBDMONSTER 12V 9.4 23 19 19 0 3
Performance Tool W80578 9.3 24 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

The Innova 3555 states an advance dial for base timing, mechanical advance or retard and electronic advance or retard, with a direct-reading scale from 0 to 60 degrees, a slim rotating barrel and detachable leads, rated to 9,990 RPM. The Innova 3551 states the same 9,990 RPM rating with DIS, conventional, electronic and computer-controlled compatibility, a slim rotating barrel and a protective hand guard, but no advance dial.

The KAISAL states a 12V inductive light with a 10-foot lead, reverse polarity protection and overload protection, for 2 and 4 stroke petrol engines in cars, motorcycles and marine use, with a 3-year warranty. The Performance Tool W80578 is self-powered on 2 D batteries, so no battery leads, with a xenon bulb stated bright in daylight and compatibility with magnetos. The OBDMONSTER states a 12V LED light to 1000 RPM with an advance function and a 24-month warranty.

Advance dial vs advance function

Only the Innova 3555 states a physical advance dial: it checks base timing, mechanical advance or retard and electronic advance or retard, with a direct-reading scale from 0 to 60 degrees. The KAISAL and OBDMONSTER state an advance function instead: both claim to detect the knock suppression control system and the vacuum advance angle control system and to change the advance angle as speed changes. The Innova 3551 states it checks for electronic advance and retard but lists no dial, and the Performance Tool states no advance feature at all.

RPM ratings, and one contradiction

Both Innovas state 9,990 RPM with patented skip circuitry, the highest ratings here. The OBDMONSTER states up to 1000rpm. The KAISAL contradicts itself: its title says up to 10000rpm while a bullet says its speed is up to 1000RPM. When a listing disagrees with itself, plan around the lower figure. The Performance Tool states no RPM rating.

Power, leads and clips

Four of the five draw from the vehicle: the OBDMONSTER and KAISAL are 12V lights with battery clips, and the Innovas are battery powered with detachable leads and an inductive pickup. The KAISAL states a 10-foot lead, reverse polarity protection and overload protection, with metal alligator clips covered in insulating plastic. The OBDMONSTER notes red to positive and black to negative. The Performance Tool is the outlier: self-powered on 2 D batteries with no leads at all, which is why it works with magnetos and mowers with no battery to clip to.

Bulbs and daylight use

The OBDMONSTER is the only LED here, with brightness stated as enhanced 58 percent and adjustable. The KAISAL states a high-brightness xenon bulb with a concentrated beam, though its spec table calls the light source halogen; the bullets are the claim to trust. The Performance Tool states a super bright xenon bulb readable in daylight, plus a work light function for dark engine bays. Neither Innova states its bulb type.

Size, weight and handling

Both Innovas are 8 ounces with a slim rotating barrel for aiming at the timing mark; the 3551 adds a protective hand guard for one-hand operation, and the 3555 measures 14.5 by 3 by 10.25 inches against 14.5 by 3.5 by 10 for the 3551. The KAISAL is 0.44 kg at 7.09 by 1.57 by 5.51 inches with an ergonomic handle and a sliding sensor clip. The OBDMONSTER is the smallest at 0.39 kg and 5.2 by 1 by 7.3 inches with a pistol-type handle. The Performance Tool is 13.6 ounces and 12 by 2.6 by 8 inches with a detachable inductive pickup.

Which ignition systems each covers

The Innova 3551 states the widest compatibility: DIS, conventional, electronic and computer-controlled systems, domestic and imports. The Innova 3555 states universal fit for conventional, electronic and computer-controlled systems. The KAISAL and OBDMONSTER state 12V ignition systems on 2 and 4 stroke petrol engines across cars, motorcycles, ATVs, RVs, boats and marine use. The Performance Tool states all gas engines including magnetos, mowers, tractors and snowmobiles, which is the broadest engine list here even though it states no ignition-system detail.

Pickup and hookup

All five use an inductive pickup on the plug wire. The KAISAL and OBDMONSTER state a sliding sensor clip for hooking the high voltage line of the number one cylinder without removing plug wires; the OBDMONSTER adds that the arrow on the clamp must point toward the spark plug. The Innovas state detachable leads with an inductive pickup, and the Performance Tool a detachable inductive pickup. The KAISAL adds insulated alligator clips with strong bite force for the battery connection.

Buying guide: timing light under $50

For advance work, the Innova 3555 is the only one here with a stated advance dial and 0 to 60 degree scale. For maximum RPM rating, both Innovas state 9,990. For lead length, the KAISAL states 10 feet. For magnetos or no-battery operation, the Performance Tool is self-powered. For warranty, the KAISAL states 3 years against 1 year limited on the Innovas and 24 months on the OBDMONSTER; the Performance Tool states no warranty term. Note the OBDMONSTER states 24 months in its bullets but 1 year in its spec table; the bullets win.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which has an advance dial?

The Innova 3555: 0 to 60 degree direct-reading advance scale. The OBDMONSTER states an advance function.

Which covers the most RPM?

Both Innovas state up to 9,990 RPM. The OBDMONSTER states up to 1000 RPM.

Which is self-powered?

The Performance Tool W80578 runs on 2 D batteries with no battery leads, and states magneto compatibility.

Which has the longest warranty?

The KAISAL at 3 years. The OBDMONSTER states 24 months; the others state 1 year.

Which work with 2-stroke engines?

The OBDMONSTER and KAISAL state 2 and 4 stroke petrol engines. The Innovas state 4-cycle.

What is reverse polarity protection?

The KAISAL states it: if you clip red to negative and black to positive by mistake, the light protects itself, the car and the battery instead of taking damage. The OBDMONSTER only notes the correct hookup, red to positive and black to negative.

More buying guides