Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Tool Bag for Power Tools (2026): 5 Picks

Five tool bags compared for carrying power tools, ranked by what each listing states.

Best Tool Bag for Power Tools (2026): 5 Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Ounic 18 in Tool BagTop pickOunic 18 in Tool Bag9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Amazon Basics 16 in BagMost pocketsAmazon Basics 16 in Bag9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3AWP 15 in Tool BagWater resistantAWP 15 in Tool Bag9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4DEWALT Tool BagDEWALT Tool BagView on Amazon
  5. 5HAUTMEC 3-Piece Large Tool Bag SetHAUTMEC 3-Piece Large Tool Bag SetView on Amazon
  6. 6Coreflex 12-Inch Heavy Duty Tool BagCoreflex 12-Inch Heavy Duty Tool BagView on Amazon

The brake job starts and the drill, the impact driver and the grinder are scattered across the bench, the creeper and the toolbox. The best tool bag for power tools keeps the whole kit together: one bag that swallows the drill and the driver, sorts the bits and blades, and carries it all to the car or the job site. This guide compares five bags on size, pockets, material and water resistance.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Top pick Ounic 18 in Tool Bag: 16 pockets and a hard waterproof base for drills and grinders. Check price on Amazon
  • Most pockets Amazon Basics 16 in Bag: 26 pockets with a wide opening for small tools. Check price on Amazon
  • Water resistant AWP 15 in Tool Bag: 600 denier water resistant polyester with a spring-loaded opening. Check price on Amazon

The picks

18 Inch Heavy Duty Tool Bag

18 Inch Heavy Duty Tool Bag

Ounic9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18 in tool bag with 16 pockets, a waterproof hard bottom and a shoulder strap.

Pros

  • 16 pockets, 8 inside and 8 outside
  • Hard waterproof molded base
  • Shoulder strap and padded handle
  • 2600 cubic inches stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Bullets say 30kg, table says 66 lb
  • No safety certification stated
  • 18.5 x 9 x 12.2 in needs bench or floor space
Amazon Basics Durable Wear-Resistant Tool Storage

Amazon Basics Durable Wear-Resistant Tool Storage

Amazon Basics9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16 in tool bag with 26 pockets, Oxford cloth and a wide opening.

Pros

  • 26 pockets, 10 internal and 16 external
  • Wide opening for easy access
  • Bar tacking at stress points
  • Padded handles and adjustable strap

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Not water resistant
  • 1.8 lb empty
  • No safety certification stated
AWP Tool Bags, Premium Tool Bag, Black

AWP Tool Bags, Premium Tool Bag, Black

AWP9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15 in tool bag in 600 denier polyester with a spring-loaded opening and 3 external pockets.

Pros

  • Water resistant 600 denier polyester
  • Spring-loaded wide opening
  • 100 lb max load stated
  • Utility pouch 3-pack included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Only 4 compartments stated
  • 12.8 oz stated weight
  • No safety certification stated
Milwaukee Heavy Duty (FUEL Tool Bag). Fits

Milwaukee Heavy Duty (FUEL Tool Bag). Fits

Milwaukee9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A ballistic nylon tool bag sized for 1 to 2 Milwaukee FUEL tool kits.

Pros

  • Ballistic nylon with heavy duty stitching
  • Fits 1 to 2 FUEL tool kits
  • 13 liter capacity stated
  • Zipper access

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Triangular shape, not for extremely large tools
  • Not water resistant
  • No safety certification stated
Dewalt 15" Medium Heavy Duty Contractor Tool Bag

Dewalt 15" Medium Heavy Duty Contractor Tool Bag

DEWALT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15 in heavy duty nylon contractor bag with 6 external pockets and plastic skids.

Pros

  • 6 external pockets
  • Plastic skids on the bottom
  • Accommodates tools up to 16 in
  • Zippered heavy duty nylon

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Bullets say 15 x 9 x 11 in, table says 10.75 x 10.75 x 16.75 in
  • Table weight of 4 oz is implausible
  • No safety certification stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Size Pockets Material Water resistance Warranty
Ounic 18 in Tool Bag 9.6/10 18.5 x 9 x 12.2 in 16 Oxford cloth Water resistant Not stated
Amazon Basics 16 in Bag 9.6/10 15.9 x 8.3 x 9.1 in 26 Polyester Not water resistant Not stated
AWP 15 in Tool Bag 9.6/10 15 x 2.5 x 8 in 4 600 denier polyester Water resistant Not stated
Milwaukee FUEL Tool Bag 9.6/10 13 x 8 x 10 in 1 Ballistic nylon Not water resistant Not stated
DEWALT 15 in Tool Bag 9.5/10 15 x 9 x 11 in 6 external Nylon Water repellent Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. No listing here states a warranty term or a safety certification.

How we scored them

Each bag is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. No bag earns warranty points because none states a warranty term, and none earns safety points because none states a safety certification. The Ounic scores highest for its pocket count, hard base and stated capacity.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Ounic 18 in Tool Bag 9.6 30 21 21 n/a 0
Amazon Basics 16 in Bag 9.6 29 20 21 n/a 0
AWP 15 in Tool Bag 9.6 28 20 21 n/a 0
Milwaukee FUEL Tool Bag 9.6 28 21 19 n/a 0
DEWALT 15 in Tool Bag 9.5 28 20 19 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read 5 tool bag listings. All stated size and pocket counts, and 3 stated some form of water resistance. None stated a warranty term, and 2 listings contradicted themselves: the DEWALT on size and weight, the Ounic on capacity units. Treat any single figure with care and trust the title and bullets over the spec table.

Buying guide: best tool bag for power tools

Size for drills and drivers

Measure the longest tool first. The DEWALT accommodates tools up to 16 in, the Amazon Basics opens 15.9 in long, and the Ounic is 18.5 in long with a wide mouth for dropping in drills. The Milwaukee closes into a triangular shape, so it is not suitable for extremely large tools.

Pockets sort the small stuff

Power tools ride in the main compartment; bits, blades and drivers want pockets. The Amazon Basics lists 26 pockets, the Ounic 16, the DEWALT 6 external, the AWP 4 compartments and the Milwaukee 1. More pockets means less digging.

Water resistance matters in a garage

Garages are damp. The AWP is stated water resistant in 600 denier polyester, the Ounic water resistant with a hard waterproof base, and the DEWALT water repellent. The Amazon Basics and the Milwaukee state not water resistant.

Check the contradictions

The DEWALT bullets say 15 x 9 x 11 in while the table says 10.75 x 10.75 x 16.75 in, and the table’s 4 oz weight is implausible for a 15 in bag; trust the bullets. The Ounic bullets say 30kg capacity while the table says 66 lb; both are stated, so plan for the lower figure.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Materials: what the bag is made of

The fabric decides how the bag ages. The Amazon Basics uses Oxford cloth in black and grey polyester with heavy-duty stitching and bar tacking at all stress points, at a stated 1.8 lb. The Milwaukee uses ballistic nylon with heavy-duty stitching at 16 oz. The AWP uses rugged 600 denier polyester with reinforced stitching throughout wear areas at 12.8 oz. The DEWALT uses heavy duty nylon with a zippered closer. The Ounic is the most built-up: a five-layer synthetic Oxford cloth with a rigid PE plastic board and dual waterproof layers, stated water-resistant and tear-resistant against punctures, mud and water. Heavier fabric and reinforced stitching cost weight but survive the truck bed; the Ounic five-layer build is the extreme end here.

How you carry it: handles, straps and buckles

A loaded bag is heavy, so the carry system matters. The Amazon Basics has padded web carrying handles plus an adjustable shoulder strap. The Ounic has a shoulder strap and a soft padded handle, with a staggered metal buckle that opens the bag while you are still wearing it, which the listing says relieves hand fatigue and shoulder pressure. The Milwaukee has a strap ring, but the shoulder strap is not included, so budget one separately if you want it. The AWP and DEWALT listings state no strap detail beyond the tote handles. If the bag rides between the truck and the job site daily, the padded strap and buckle details are worth more than another pocket.

Load ratings: read them carefully

The stated load figures need a skeptical eye. The Ounic bullets claim 30kg while the spec table says 66 lb; both are stated, so plan for the lower figure, as the contradictions section notes. The AWP states a 100 pound maximum weight recommendation. The Milwaukee states 7 kg. The Amazon Basics states 1 kg, which is plainly low for a 16 in bag of tools, and the DEWALT states 90 kg, which is plainly high. Treat the middle of the pack as the honest range and the outliers as listing noise: the AWP 100 lb and Ounic 66 lb figures are the ones to plan around.

Closure and shape quirks

Each bag opens differently. The Milwaukee closes into a triangular shape, and its own listing warns it is not suitable for extremely large tools; it also has a zipper access. The AWP uses a spring-loaded opening that the listing says gives wide-open access with a quick and secure closure. The DEWALT has a zippered closer. The Ounic has a wide mouth opening with a staggered metal buckle for dropping in drills and pulling them out fast. The Amazon Basics has a wide opening for easy access. The triangular Milwaukee is the one to think about: it fits the stated FUEL tool kits, but a bulky grinder may not sit well in it.

Dimensions that decide the fit

The tape measure settles it. The Ounic is the biggest at 18.5 x 9 x 12.2 in with a stated 2600 cubic inches of capacity. The Amazon Basics is 15.9 x 8.3 x 9.1 in. The DEWALT bullets say 15 x 9 x 11 in against a table reading of 10.75 x 10.75 x 16.75 in; trust the bullets. The Milwaukee is 13 x 8 x 10 in with a stated 13 liter capacity. The AWP is the odd one: 15 x 2.5 x 8 in, a narrow tote that suits hand tools in a row rather than bulky power tools. Match the bag to the longest tool: the DEWALT accommodates tools up to 16 in, and the Ounic wide mouth takes drills and grinders.

Garage Fit Check

  • The Ounic at 18.5 in long needs bench or floor space; the rest fit a shelf or a cabinet.
  • No listing here states a warranty term: confirm it with the seller before ordering.
  • Match the bag to the kit: the Milwaukee is sized for FUEL tools, the others are general.
  • Keep the bag off a wet slab: only the Ounic has a hard waterproof base.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which bag has the most pockets?

The Amazon Basics, with 26 pockets: 10 internal and 16 external.

Which bags are water resistant?

The AWP and the Ounic are stated water resistant, and the DEWALT water repellent. The Amazon Basics and the Milwaukee state not water resistant.

Which bag fits a drill and a grinder?

The Ounic at 18.5 in with a wide mouth and 16 pockets is the roomiest here. The DEWALT accommodates tools up to 16 in.

Do any of these state a warranty?

No. None of the five listings states a warranty term.

Related: our best tool storage for small garage, our pegboard vs slatwall garage storage comparison and our best overhead garage storage rack roundup. Also see our tool storage hub.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.