Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Tool Cart (2026)

Five rolling tool carts compared by capacity, storage layout, wheels, build, weight and warranty, for the home garage and workshop.

Best Tool Cart (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1VEVOR Utility CartBest OverallVEVOR Utility Cart9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WORKPRO 28-Inch CartBest with DrawersWORKPRO 28-Inch Cart9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Pro-Lift Tool CartBest Lockable TopPro-Lift Tool Cart9.6/10View on Amazon

A brake job spreads tools across the bench, the floor and the top of the parts washer, and the socket you need is always the one that rolled away. A best tool cart keeps the whole kit on one rolling shelf, so wrenches, parts and rags ride to the car and back. This guide compares five tool carts by capacity, storage, build, weight, wheels and warranty, using only what each listing states.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall VEVOR Utility Cart: 550 lbs capacity, pegboard with 6 hooks, 2-tier trays, lockable casters. Check price on Amazon
  • Best with Drawers WORKPRO 28-Inch Cart: 400 lbs capacity, 2 drawers with lock, ball-bearing slides, side shelves. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Lockable Top Pro-Lift Tool Cart: 350 lbs capacity, 2 drawers, lockable sliding top, alloy steel build. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

VEVOR Utility Cart, 550 lbs Capacity

VEVOR Utility Cart, 550 lbs Capacity

VEVOR9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-tier utility cart with a 550 pound capacity, a pegboard with 6 hooks, deep trays and 5-inch lockable casters, in polypropylene.

Pros

  • 550 pound capacity, highest here
  • Pegboard with 6 metal hooks
  • Top shelf 200 pounds, bottom 400 pounds
  • 5-inch lockable casters with brakes

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No safety listing stated
  • No locking drawers
  • Plastic build, not steel
WORKPRO Premium 28" 2-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart

WORKPRO Premium 28" 2-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart

WORKPRO9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 28-inch rolling tool cart in thick steel with a 400 pound capacity, 2 locking drawers, side shelves and a removable tray.

Pros

  • 2 drawers with lock and ball-bearing slides
  • 2 side organizer shelves for screwdrivers
  • Removable 2nd tray for more storage
  • 4-inch larger rubber casters

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No safety listing stated
  • No caster brakes stated
  • Heavier than the VEVOR at 60 pounds
Pro-Lift Rolling Tool Cart Box

Pro-Lift Rolling Tool Cart Box

Pro-LifT9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rolling tool cart in alloy steel with a 350 pound capacity, 2 drawers, a lockable sliding top and a 90-day limited warranty.

Pros

  • Lockable sliding top for secure storage
  • 90-day limited manufacturer warranty
  • 2 spacious tool drawers
  • Alloy steel build, 350 pound capacity

Cons

  • No safety listing stated
  • No ball-bearing slides stated
  • Lowest capacity of the full-data picks at 350 pounds
  • No stated caster brakes
MaxWorks Heavy Duty 2‑Shelf Service Cart 500 lb

MaxWorks Heavy Duty 2‑Shelf Service Cart 500 lb

MaxWorks9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A commercial-duty polypropylene utility cart with a 500 lb capacity, two deep trays, 5-inch non-marring casters and built-in handle storage.

Pros

  • 500 lb load capacity handles heavy equipment and parts
  • Polypropylene material resists rust, stains, scratches and dents
  • 5-inch non-marring swivel casters roll smoothly
  • Includes a 90-day manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • Listing spec table states 3 wheels while title specifies casters
  • Dimensions conflict between 40 by 17 inches and 30 by 16 inches
  • Two open trays with no enclosed or lockable storage
  • Plastic frame offers less rigidity than steel under point loads
Olympia Tools 85-188 Pack-N-Roll Folding

Olympia Tools 85-188 Pack-N-Roll Folding

Olympia Tools9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A collapsible 3-tier service cart with an aluminum frame that folds down to 8 inches and weighs 4.4 pounds.

Pros

  • Folds down to 8 inches for compact storage against garage walls
  • Weighs only 4.4 pounds for effortless lifting and transport
  • Secure locking mechanism prevents accidental folding while in use
  • 3 collapsible shelves keep hand tools and maintenance items organized

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated (listing only provides an email address)
  • 150 lb capacity is much lower than rigid plastic shop carts
  • Wheel diameter is not stated in the listing
  • No safety certification stated

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Capacity Storage Material Weight Wheels Warranty
VEVOR Utility Cart 9.7/10 550 pounds 2-tier trays, pegboard, 6 hooks Polypropylene 44.1 pounds 5-inch casters, 2 with brakes Not stated
WORKPRO 28-Inch Cart 9.7/10 400 pounds 2 drawers, 2 side shelves, removable tray Alloy steel 60 pounds 4-inch rubber casters Not stated
Pro-Lift Tool Cart 9.6/10 350 pounds 2 drawers, storage compartment Alloy steel 67.1 pounds 4 swivel wheels 90 days limited
MaxWorks Service Cart 9.5/10 500 pounds 2-shelf, deep trays Polypropylene Not stated 5-inch non-marring casters Not stated
Olympia Pack-N-Roll 9.4/10 150 pounds Folding collapsible Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 29 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How the points were given

Each cart is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the five states a safety listing, so all five score zero on safety, and only one states a warranty term, the Pro-Lift with 90 days.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
VEVOR Utility Cart 9.7 32 22 21 n/a 0
WORKPRO 28-Inch Cart 9.7 30 22 21 n/a 0
Pro-Lift Tool Cart 9.6 27 21 20 n/a 1

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read five tool cart listings. Three give full details, while two give a title only. Capacities run 150 pounds to 550 pounds, and three of the five state four wheels. Two have drawers with locks, one adds a pegboard with 6 hooks, and one folds flat for storage. Only one states a warranty term.

Buying guide: choosing the best tool cart

Capacity

Capacity runs from 150 pounds to 550 pounds here. The VEVOR cart leads with 550 pounds, split as 200 pounds on the top shelf and 400 pounds on the bottom shelf. The MaxWorks cart states 500 pounds, the WORKPRO cart states 400 pounds, and the Pro-Lift cart states 350 pounds. Match the capacity to the heaviest load you plan to roll.

Storage layout

Storage splits three ways here. The VEVOR cart pairs deep trays with a pegboard, 6 metal hooks, a handle tray and a hanging bar, so hand tools hang in sight. The WORKPRO and Pro-Lift carts use drawers: the WORKPRO has 2 drawers with a lock and ball-bearing slides plus 2 side organizer shelves, and the Pro-Lift has 2 drawers under a lockable sliding top. The MaxWorks cart keeps it simple with 2 shelves and deep trays, and the Olympia cart folds flat when the job is done.

Wheels and movement

Wheels decide how the cart behaves on a garage floor. The VEVOR cart rolls on 5-inch PP/PVC lockable casters, with 2 swivel wheels for tight turns, 2 fixed wheels for straight tracking and 2 brake locks to hold firm. The WORKPRO cart uses 4-inch larger rubber casters, the Pro-Lift cart uses 4 swivel wheels, and the MaxWorks cart uses 5-inch non-marring casters. The VEVOR listing says its casters glide over thresholds, cords and cracked concrete without noise or jolting.

Build and materials

Build splits between plastic and steel. The VEVOR and MaxWorks carts use polypropylene, which the VEVOR listing says will not corrode, stain or age in oil, chemicals or sun, and rinses clean in seconds. The WORKPRO and Pro-Lift carts use steel: the WORKPRO uses thick steel with a polished surface, and the Pro-Lift uses alloy steel. The WORKPRO listing adds a soft mat on each layer and a non-slip handle, while the VEVOR listing adds reinforced ribs to prevent sagging.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure the space first: the carts run 14.5 inches deep x 31 inches wide x 33 inches high on the Pro-Lift and 24.02 inches deep x 44.88 inches wide x 33.07 inches high on the VEVOR.
  • Check the capacity: the five run 150 pounds to 550 pounds, so match the cart to the heaviest load you roll.
  • Check the wheels: the VEVOR cart uses 5-inch casters with 2 brake locks, and the WORKPRO cart uses 4-inch rubber casters.
  • Check the storage: the VEVOR cart hangs tools on a pegboard, the WORKPRO and Pro-Lift carts lock tools in drawers, and the Olympia cart folds flat.
  • Check the warranty: only the Pro-Lift listing states one, at 90 days limited.

FAQ: garage tools

What is a tool cart used for?

A tool cart is a rolling shelf for the garage: it carries tools, parts and supplies to the car and back, and keeps them sorted while you work. The VEVOR cart adds a pegboard wall for hanging hand tools, the WORKPRO and Pro-Lift carts add locking drawers, and the Olympia cart folds flat when the job is done.

How much weight can a tool cart hold?

Capacities here run 150 pounds to 550 pounds. The VEVOR cart leads with 550 pounds, the MaxWorks cart states 500 pounds, the WORKPRO cart states 400 pounds, the Pro-Lift cart states 350 pounds, and the Olympia cart states 150 pounds. Match the stated capacity to the heaviest load you plan to roll.

Do tool carts have locking drawers?

Two carts here lock their drawers. The WORKPRO cart has 2 drawers with a lock and smooth ball-bearing slides, and the Pro-Lift cart has 2 drawers under a lockable sliding top. The VEVOR cart has no locking drawers, and instead hangs tools on a pegboard with hooks.

What are tool cart casters?

Casters are the wheels under the cart, and their size and brakes decide how it rolls. The VEVOR cart uses 5-inch PP/PVC lockable casters with 2 brake locks, the WORKPRO cart uses 4-inch larger rubber casters, and the MaxWorks cart uses 5-inch non-marring casters. Check the caster size and the brake count before you buy.

Should I choose a plastic or steel tool cart?

Both builds appear here. The VEVOR and MaxWorks carts use polypropylene, which the VEVOR listing says will not corrode, stain or age in oil, chemicals or sun, and rinses clean in seconds. The WORKPRO and Pro-Lift carts use steel, with the WORKPRO in thick steel and the Pro-Lift in alloy steel. Pick plastic for easy cleaning and steel for a rigid drawer build.

Related: our tool storage hub, the best tool chest with vise, the best assembled tool chest, and the best mobile workbench under 200. Also see our best folding workbench for garage.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Red Tool Chest (2026)

Five red steel tool chests compared by drawer count, detachable sections, wheels, locks, size and weight, for the home garage and workshop.

Tool Storage ·

Best Truck Tool Box Waterproof (2026)

Five waterproof truck tool boxes, from a wheel well unit to a 60 inch aluminum chest, compared on size, material, locks, seals and vehicle…