Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Conductance vs Load Battery Tester: Which One Should You Buy?

Conductance vs load battery tester: electronic conductance readings against load-based analysis, with three listing examples compared.

Conductance vs Load Battery Tester: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Midtronics PBT‑100 12V Automotive Conductance Battery TesterMidtronics PBT‑100 12V Automotive Conductance Battery Tester9.4/10View on Amazon
  2. 2ANCEL BA101 Car Battery TesterANCEL BA101 Car Battery Tester9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3TOPDON BT200 Car Battery TesterTOPDON BT200 Car Battery Tester9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4TOPDON BT600 Plus Car Battery TesterTOPDON BT600 Plus Car Battery TesterView on Amazon
  5. 5Midtronics PBT300 Battery Charging Starting System TesterMidtronics PBT300 Battery Charging Starting System TesterView on Amazon
  6. 6FNIRSI HRM-10 Precision Voltage Internal Resistance BatteryFNIRSI HRM-10 Precision Voltage Internal Resistance BatteryView on Amazon
  7. 7TOPDC 100A Battery Load TesterTOPDC 100A Battery Load TesterView on Amazon
  8. 8ANCEL BT410 12V 24V Car Battery Tester for Lead-Acid &ANCEL BT410 12V 24V Car Battery Tester for Lead-Acid &View on Amazon
  9. 9BT906 Car Battery Tester 6V 12V 24VBT906 Car Battery Tester 6V 12V 24VView on Amazon

Verdict: Choose a conductance tester if you want a quick electronic read on a 12V flooded battery with no interpretation needed. Choose a load-style analyzer if you work on 24V systems, AGM or lithium batteries, or want cranking and charging data too.

The short verdict: pick a conductance tester if you want a quick electronic read on a 12V flooded battery with no interpretation needed; pick a load-style analyzer if you work on 24V systems, AGM batteries, or want cranking and charging data too; lithium is listed only on the ANCEL example. Conductance vs load battery tester comes down to how the answer is found: conductance sends a small signal through the battery and reads the response, while a load tester draws current and watches how the voltage holds up. The three listings below show both sides in practice.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

ANCEL BT310 Battery Tester 12V 24V

ANCEL BT310 Battery Tester 12V 24V

ANCEL9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V and 24V battery analyzer covering 100 to 2000 CCA with SOH, SOC and internal resistance readings, five clear outcomes and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 100 to 2000 CCA on 12V and 24V systems
  • Six battery types including lithium-ion
  • SOH, SOC, CCA and internal resistance readings
  • Five plain outcomes on a 128x64 backlit LCD

Cons

  • More setup per reading than a conductance check
  • No weight or dimensions stated
  • Accuracy figure is a maker claim
  • Overkill if you only check 12V flooded batteries
Midtronics PBT‑100 12V Automotive Conductance

Midtronics PBT‑100 12V Automotive Conductance

Midtronics9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A conductance battery tester for 12V flooded batteries from 200 to 850 CCA with a voltmeter mode and a 1 year warranty.

Pros

  • Conductance reading with no interpretation needed
  • Voltmeter mode for starter and charging checks
  • 1 year warranty on material and workmanship
  • OEM specification met

Cons

  • Flooded batteries only
  • 200 to 850 CCA ceiling
  • 12V only, no 24V or 6V
  • No SOH, SOC or stored readings
Car Battery Tester 6V 12V 24V VDIAGTOOL BT500

Car Battery Tester 6V 12V 24V VDIAGTOOL BT500

VDIAGTOOL9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6V, 12V and 24V battery analyzer covering 5 to 3000 CCA with cranking and charging analysis in a 6.45 inch body.

Pros

  • 5 to 3000 CCA, the widest range here
  • 6V, 12V and 24V coverage
  • Cranking and charging system analysis
  • 12 languages on the display

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No certifications stated
  • Excludes lithium and deep-cycle batteries
  • Accuracy figure is a maker claim

More options to compare

Side by side

Midtronics PBT-100 (conductance) ANCEL BT310 (load) VDIAGTOOL BT500 (load)
Side Conductance Load battery tester Load battery tester
CCA range 200-850 100-2000 5-3000
Voltage 12V 12V, 24V 6V, 12V, 24V
Battery types Flooded Flooded, AGM (flat plate + spiral), GEL, EFB, Lithium-Ion Flooded, AGM, GEL, EFB (no lithium)
Readings CCA, voltmeter mode SOH, SOC, CCA, internal resistance SOH, SOC, voltage, resistance
Display Digital 128×64 backlit LCD Clear display (no figure)
Cable Not stated 800mm (31.5 in) Not stated
Protection Not stated 4-way 5-in-1
Certifications OEM CE, RoHS, UL Not stated
Warranty 1 yr 1-year Not stated
Weight 8.32 oz Not stated Not stated
Size 11.4 x 4.8 x 3.5 in Not stated 6.45 x 3.35 x 0.96 in

Example figures are manufacturer rated, as stated on each listing. A figure from one listing describes that listing only; it is not a claim about every tester of that type.

How the conductance method works

The conductance method is the electronic approach. The tester sends a small AC signal through the battery and measures how easily the battery conducts it, then converts that reading into a CCA estimate and a good-or-bad decision. No heavy discharge, no heat, no waiting: the Midtronics PBT-100 listing promises an accurate battery decision in seconds with no user interpretation required. It is the quick-check tool, the one you reach for when a car cranks slowly and you want an answer before coffee gets cold.

The Midtronics example is narrow but focused: 200 to 850 CCA on 12V flooded batteries, a voltmeter mode that covers the starter and the charging system, battery-powered operation, 8.32 ounces at 11.4 x 4.8 x 3.5 inches, and a 1 year warranty on material and workmanship. Flooded-only chemistry and the 850 CCA ceiling are its limits; anything bigger, newer or lithium needs a different tool.

How the load method works

The load method is the physical approach: draw current from the battery and watch what the voltage does under the strain. A healthy battery holds its voltage; a weak one sags. The two listings on this side are digital analyzers marketed as load testers that report far more than a pass or fail. The ANCEL BT310 covers 100 to 2000 CCA across 12V and 24V systems and 30Ah to 220Ah batteries, reading SOH, SOC, voltage, current, CCA and internal resistance, then giving one of five outcomes from GOOD BATTERY to BAD CELL-REPLACE on a 128×64 backlit LCD.

The VDIAGTOOL BT500 stretches further: 5 to 3000 CCA on 6V, 12V and 24V batteries, with cranking and charging system analysis, a claimed 99.99% accuracy and 5-in-1 protection against reverse polarity and short circuits, in a 6.45 x 3.35 x 0.96 inch body with 12 languages. Neither listing states a warranty term for the VDIAGTOOL, while the ANCEL carries a 1-year warranty and CE, RoHS and UL marks. Both go well beyond what the conductance example attempts, at the cost of more setup per reading.

Example testers

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ANCEL BT310 9.6 28 20 20 7 3
Midtronics PBT-100 9.4 23 19 18 5 3
VDIAGTOOL BT500 9.4 26 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Conductance vs load battery tester: which side suits which garage

Choose conductance for speed and simplicity on standard cars. The Midtronics PBT-100 example weighs 8.32 ounces, runs on battery power and answers in seconds, which suits quick checks at the counter or in the driveway. Its 200 to 850 CCA range and flooded-only chemistry cover the common 12V car battery, and the voltmeter mode adds starter and charging checks without a second tool.

Choose the load side for coverage. The ANCEL BT310 example spans 100 to 2000 CCA, 12V and 24V, six battery types including lithium-ion, and ten rating standards, with an 800mm (31.5 inch) cable for hard-to-reach batteries. The VDIAGTOOL BT500 example adds 6V motorcycle batteries and a 3000 CCA ceiling. If your garage sees trucks, RVs, boats and ATVs alongside cars, the broader analyzers earn their keep. For the charging side of the diagnosis, see our best battery charger for a dead car battery guide.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between the conductance and load methods?

Conductance sends a small signal through the battery and reads the electrical response; the load method draws current and watches the voltage under strain. The Midtronics listing represents the first, the ANCEL and VDIAGTOOL listings the second.

Can a conductance tester check the alternator?

The Midtronics PBT-100 example includes a voltmeter mode for the starter and the charging system. The ANCEL BT310 and VDIAGTOOL BT500 examples both analyze cranking and charging as part of their routines.

Which tester works on lithium batteries?

The ANCEL BT310 example lists lithium-ion among its six supported battery types. The Midtronics example is flooded-only, and the VDIAGTOOL example excludes lithium and deep-cycle batteries.

Do I need a 24V tester?

Only if you work on 24V systems. The Midtronics example is 12V only, while the ANCEL and VDIAGTOOL examples cover 12V and 24V, and the VDIAGTOOL adds 6V.

How accurate are these testers?

The listings make their own claims: the Midtronics promises an accurate decision in seconds, the ANCEL claims up to 99.98% accuracy and the VDIAGTOOL claims 99.99%. Treat those as maker claims and compare the stated ranges and features instead.

Related: the diagnostics and electrical hub and our best OBD2 scanner for the home mechanic guide.

More buying guides