Metric vs SAE Socket Set: Which One Should You Buy?
Metric vs SAE socket sets compared by sizing, drive, ratchet and warranty, with four examples from the listings: two metric sets and two SAE sets.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
CRAFTSMAN 230 Pcs Mechanics Tool Set9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
CASOMAN 3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set9.8/10View on Amazon - 3
VEVOR 3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set9.8/10View on Amazon - 4
63-Piece Metric 1/4" Drive Socket Set & Nut Driver SetView on Amazon - 5
OEMTOOLS 22233 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesView on Amazon - 6
OEMTOOLS 22418 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesView on Amazon - 7
1/2 29PC Socket Set ShallowView on Amazon - 8
GEARWRENCH 39 Piece 1/2" Dr Standard/Deep Impact MetricView on Amazon
Verdict: Pick the metric side if the fasteners you touch most are metric, which covers most modern cars and imports. Pick SAE if you work on older American vehicles and equipment with inch-fraction fasteners. If you do both, the DEWALT example below is a 108-piece kit whose listing mixes SAE and metric sockets.
The metric vs sae socket set question is really a fastener question: metric sockets fit millimeter fasteners, SAE sockets fit inch-fraction fasteners, and the wrong size rounds the corners. The four examples below split two and two: a 4 to 14 mm and an 8 to 19 mm metric set against a 108-piece SAE kit and an 11-piece SAE set. This comparison covers what separates the two standards, then the four examples from the listings.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

CRAFTSMAN Mechanics Tool Set, SAE, 1/4 Inch Drive
An 11-piece 1/4 in drive SAE set with a 90-tooth ratchet, 5-degree arc swing, 6-point sockets, full polish chrome and a full lifetime warranty.
Pros
- 90-tooth ratchet, 5-degree arc swing
- Full lifetime warranty stated
- Low-profile head for tight spaces
- 6-point sockets, full polish chrome
Cons
- Only 11 pieces
- Spec table calls the material type polycarbonate
- 1/4 in drive only
- No storage case detail stated

DURATECH 3/8" Drive Socket Set
Ten 3/8 in drive 6-point metric sockets from 8 to 19 mm in heat-treated chrome vanadium steel on a plastic storage rail, sockets only.
Pros
- Heat-treated chrome vanadium steel
- 6-point design against round-off
- 8 to 19 mm automotive range
- Storage rail with 360-degree rotating head
Cons
- Skips 9 and 18 mm
- No ratchet in the box
- No warranty term stated
- Sockets only, no case

DEWALT Mechanics Tools Kit and Socket Set
A 108-piece 1/4 in and 3/8 in drive mechanics kit titled SAE, whose listing also names metric sockets and leaves most details unstated.
Pros
- 108 pieces, the biggest kit here
- 1/4 in and 3/8 in drives
- Lists SAE 5/32 to 11/32 and metric 4 to 11 mm
- DEWALT mechanics kit
Cons
- Bullets are empty; a thin listing
- Title says SAE but components include metric
- Item weight reads 8 ounces for 108 pieces
- No warranty term stated

OTLOOMTBT 15-Piece 1/4 Inch Drive Metric Socket
A 15-piece 1/4 in drive metric set with 4 to 14 mm sockets, a 24-tooth ratchet, extension, universal joint and rack, stated for light-duty home tasks only.
Pros
- 4 to 14 mm in 1 mm steps
- Extension, universal joint and drill adapter included
- Open storage rack keeps it together
- Chrome vanadium steel, polished
Cons
- Light-duty only; no high-torque work
- Not for impact drivers or wrenches
- 24-tooth ratchet needs 15-degree swing
- No warranty term stated
More options to compare
63-Piece Metric 1/4" Drive Socket Set & Nut Driver SetCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 22233 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 22418 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesCheck price on Amazon
1/2 29PC Socket Set ShallowCheck price on Amazon
GEARWRENCH 39 Piece 1/2" Dr Standard/Deep Impact MetricCheck price on Amazon
Side by side
| Metric | SAE | Notes | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sizing | Millimeters: 4 to 14 mm and 8 to 19 mm in the examples | Inch fractions; the DEWALT example lists SAE 5/32 to 11/32 | Match the fasteners on your vehicles |
| Drive sizes | 1/4 in and 3/8 in | 1/4 in and 3/8 in | Both drives appear on both sides |
| Socket points | 6-point stated on the DURATECH example | 6-point stated on the CRAFTSMAN example | Both sides state 6-point here |
| Ratchet | 24-tooth, 15-degree increments (OTLOOMTBT example) | 90-tooth, 5-degree arc swing (CRAFTSMAN example) | Finer teeth need less swing room |
| Piece counts | 15 and 10 pieces | 108 and 11 pieces | Per-listing counts, not a side trait |
| Warranty | Not stated on either metric example | Full lifetime warranty on the CRAFTSMAN example | Only the CRAFTSMAN states one |
| Stated limits | Light-duty only; no impact use (OTLOOMTBT example) | Not stated on the SAE examples | Read the listing, not the side |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. A figure from one listing describes that listing only.
The metric side
The two metric examples cover different ranges. The OTLOOMTBT example is a 15-piece 1/4 in drive set with 11 shallow sockets from 4 to 14 mm, a 24-tooth ratchet with 15-degree increments, a 4 in extension, a universal joint, a drill adapter and an open storage rack. The listing states it is for light-duty home tasks only: not for high-torque work, seized or heavily rusted fasteners, impact drivers or impact wrenches, and never with a cheater bar. The DURATECH example is sockets only: ten 3/8 in drive 6-point shallow sockets from 8 to 19 mm (the listing skips 9 and 18 mm) on a plastic storage rail, in heat-treated chrome vanadium steel, with no ratchet in the box.
The SAE side
The two SAE examples could hardly differ more. The DEWALT example is a 108-piece 1/4 in and 3/8 in drive mechanics kit, but its listing is thin: the bullets are empty, the spec table calls the material type vinyl, and the item weight reads 8 ounces for a 108-piece kit. One more wrinkle: the title says SAE, yet the included-components field lists SAE 5/32 to 11/32 sockets and metric 4 to 11 mm sockets. The CRAFTSMAN example is the opposite: an 11-piece 1/4 in drive SAE set with a 90-tooth ratchet stated to deliver a 5-degree arc swing, a low-profile head, 6-point sockets, full polish chrome and a full lifetime warranty, at 1.1 lb. The spec table calls the material type polycarbonate, which likely describes the case rather than the sockets.
Metric vs sae socket set: which to buy
Choose metric if
- The fasteners you meet are mostly metric, as on modern cars and imports
- You want the 4 to 14 mm light-duty set or the 8 to 19 mm 6-point sockets here
- You already own metric wrenches and want sockets to match
Choose SAE if
- You work on older American vehicles and equipment with inch fasteners
- You want the 90-tooth ratchet and full lifetime warranty of the CRAFTSMAN example
- You want one big mixed kit: the DEWALT example lists SAE and metric sockets together
Example socket sets
For more choices, see the best socket set for mechanics, and for impact-rated options, socket set for impact.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a metric socket on an SAE fastener?
Some sizes are close enough to fit, but a loose fit rounds the corners of the fastener, which is exactly what the 6-point design in the DURATECH and CRAFTSMAN examples is meant to prevent. Use the socket that matches the fastener.
Do I need both metric and SAE sets?
It depends on what you work on. The DEWALT example here lists both SAE 5/32 to 11/32 and metric 4 to 11 mm sockets in one 108-piece kit, which is the one-box answer if you truly do both.
What does 6-point mean on a socket?
The socket grips six flats of a hex fastener. The DURATECH listing states its 6-point design applies force on the flats rather than the corners to prevent round-off, and the CRAFTSMAN example also states 6-point sockets.
What do the ratchet tooth counts mean?
More teeth mean a smaller swing arc between clicks. The OTLOOMTBT example states a 24-tooth mechanism with 15-degree increments, while the CRAFTSMAN example states a 90-tooth ratchet with a 5-degree arc swing, which needs less handle room in tight spaces.
Which drive size should I get, 1/4 or 3/8 in?
Both drives appear on both sides here: 1/4 in on the OTLOOMTBT and CRAFTSMAN examples, 3/8 in on the DURATECH example, and both on the DEWALT kit. The 1/4 in drive suits small fasteners and tight spaces; 3/8 in suits general automotive work.
Related: the best socket set for mechanics, socket set for impact, the best torque wrench for home mechanics, how to organize a tool chest, the best socket organizer and our tool storage hub.






