Ratchet vs Torque Wrench: Which Turns, Which Measures
Ratchet vs torque wrench: the NEIKO and DISEN ratchets against the TEKTON and KJE torque wrenches, on stated swing, range, accuracy and certificates.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
VEVOR 3/8" Drive Impact Socket Set9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
toolant 13-Piece 1/2" Torque Wrench Set9.8/10View on Amazon - 3
VEVOR Adjustable Torque Wrench 1/2 Inch Drive9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
LEXIVON Inch Pound Torque Wrench 1/4-Inch DriveView on Amazon - 5
Seesii Torque Wrench Set 1/4" 3/8" 1/2" Drive ±3% HighView on Amazon - 6
PRIDE&CRAFT 3/8 Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchView on Amazon - 7
Amazon Basics 1/4-Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchView on Amazon - 8
Amazon Basics 3/8-inch Drive Click Torque Wrench RatchetView on Amazon - 9
Ingersoll Rand 170G 3/8" Drive Air Ratchet Wrench Features upView on Amazon
Verdict: A ratchet and a torque wrench are not rivals for the same job: the ratchet turns fasteners fast, and the torque wrench turns them to a number. Choose the torque side (TEKTON for one certified wrench, KJE for three drives in a box) when a specification exists, head bolts, lug nuts, spark plugs. Choose the ratchet side (DISEN for 12 metric sizes with a lifetime warranty, NEIKO for the tightest swing) for everything before and after that final measured pull. Most benches end up owning both, in that order.
A ratchet vs torque wrench question usually starts with a stripped thread or a wheel that felt loose, and it ends with the same answer: the tools split the work at the moment torque matters. The two ratchets here state tooth counts and swing arcs; the two torque wrenches state ranges, accuracy and calibration certificates. We compared the four listings on what each publishes, using only their stated figures.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

TEKTON 3/8 Inch Drive Micrometer Torque Wrench
The TEKTON 3/8 inch drive micrometer torque wrench, 10 to 100 ft-lb, dual-direction with a serialized certificate of calibration.
Pros
- 10 to 100 ft-lb range
- Serialized calibration certificate
- 90-tooth head, 4-degree swing
- Laser-marked single-unit scale
Cons
- Bullets say ±3%, table says ±4%
- Table lists clockwise only
- One drive size in the box
- No warranty term stated

KJE 3PCS Torque Wrench Set
The KJE 3-piece torque wrench set, with 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch drive click wrenches covering 20-240 in.lb to 10-170 ft.lb.
Pros
- Three drives in one set
- Widest range here, to 170 ft.lb
- Click plus vibration feedback
- Extension bars included
Cons
- ±3% claim is set-wide
- No warranty term stated
- Aluminum handles, lighter build
- Black and gold finish only

DISEN 6PCS 90 Teeth Ratchet Wrench Double Box End
The DISEN 6-piece double box end flex head ratchet wrench set, 90 teeth with a 4 degree swing across 12 metric sizes, in an organizer.
Pros
- 12 metric sizes in 6 wrenches
- Flex heads rotate 180 degrees
- 90 teeth, 4 degree swing
- Lifetime warranty stated
Cons
- Metric only, no SAE
- No torque measurement at all
- Box ends only, no sockets
- Organizer adds bulk

NEIKO 3/8 Inch Ratchet Wrench
The NEIKO 3/8 inch ratchet wrench, a 100-tooth reversible ratchet with a 3.6 degree swing, quick release and an 8 inch chrome vanadium handle.
Pros
- 100 teeth, 3.6 degree swing
- Quick release socket button
- Chrome vanadium, polished
- One-finger direction switch
Cons
- One ratchet, one drive size
- No torque measurement
- No warranty term stated
- Sockets not included
More options to compare
LEXIVON Inch Pound Torque Wrench 1/4-Inch DriveCheck price on Amazon
Seesii Torque Wrench Set 1/4" 3/8" 1/2" Drive ±3% HighCheck price on Amazon
PRIDE&CRAFT 3/8 Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Amazon Basics 1/4-Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Amazon Basics 3/8-inch Drive Click Torque Wrench RatchetCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 170G 3/8" Drive Air Ratchet Wrench Features upCheck price on Amazon
Ratchet vs torque wrench: side by side
| Feature | NEIKO 100-Tooth Ratchet | DISEN Flex Head Set | TEKTON Micrometer | KJE 3-Piece Set |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Job | Turns sockets | Turns box ends | Measures torque | Measures torque |
| Sizes or range | 3/8 inch drive | 12 metric sizes | 10 to 100 ft-lb | 20-240 in.lb to 170 ft.lb |
| Swing | 3.6 degrees | 4 degrees | 4 degrees | 72-tooth heads |
| Accuracy | Not stated | Not stated | ±3% bullets, ±4% table | ±3% claimed |
| Certificate | None | None | Serialized, ISO | Traceable, per wrench |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. The ratchets state no accuracy because they measure nothing.
What each tool actually does
The ratchet’s job is motion: a gear and pawl that drive a socket or box end in one direction and slip back in the other, so a fastener moves without regripping. Its figures are teeth and swing: 100 teeth and 3.6 degrees on the NEIKO, 90 teeth and 4 degrees on the DISEN. The torque wrench’s job is the stop: a mechanism that clicks at a preset value, 10 to 100 ft-lb on the TEKTON, three ranges up to 170 ft-lb across the KJE set, so tightening ends at the specification instead of at a guess.
Accuracy and certificates
Only the torque side can be accurate or inaccurate, and the listings show why certificates matter. The TEKTON ships a serialized certificate stating the actual calibration accuracy for your wrench, calibrated to the ISO standard; its own fields still disagree, ±3% in the bullets against within ±4% in the spec table, and the certificate is the document that settles it. The KJE set claims ±3% across three wrenches with a traceable certificate for each. The ratchets make no such claims, and need none.
Range and coverage
Coverage runs opposite ways. The ratchet side covers sizes: 12 metric sizes across six DISEN wrenches, one 3/8 inch drive on the NEIKO that takes your existing sockets. The torque side covers values: a single 10 to 100 ft-lb band on the TEKTON, or the KJE’s spread from 20-240 in.lb for small fasteners to 10-170 ft-lb for lug nuts. Buy ratchet coverage for the fasteners you meet, torque coverage for the specifications you must hit. Our torque wrench for car maintenance list goes deeper on the torque side.
The four listings
How we scored them
The Garage Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For these tools, safety means a stated calibration you can trust a tightening to: the TEKTON’s serialized certificate scores highest, the KJE’s traceable certificates next, and the ratchets score zero there because they certify nothing. Warranty inverts the table: only the DISEN states one, a lifetime warranty with free replacement, so the torque pair score zero on that field despite their certificates.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TEKTON Micrometer Torque | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 19 | 9 | 0 |
| KJE 3-Piece Torque Set | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| DISEN Flex Head Ratchet Set | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 4 |
| NEIKO 100-Tooth Ratchet | 9.3 | 27 | 20 | 16 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Which should you choose?
Choose a torque wrench first if your work has specifications: the TEKTON for a single certified 3/8 inch wrench in the common band, the KJE set if you also need inch-pound small work and 1/2 in lug range. Choose the ratchets for the turning around it: the DISEN set if your fasteners are metric and you value the lifetime warranty, the NEIKO if one fine-swing 3/8 inch ratchet for tight spaces is the gap in your box. The ratchet wrench set for beginners list starts the ratchet side simpler.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Run fasteners down with the ratchet, then make the final pull with the torque wrench; never break a tight fastener loose with a torque wrench.
- Store a click torque wrench at the bottom of its scale, the standard care step that keeps its calibration honest.
- Match drive sizes before the job: the KJE’s three drives cover what the single TEKTON and NEIKO cannot.
- Keep the calibration certificate with the wrench; it is the wrench’s accuracy record.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a ratchet instead of a torque wrench?
For running fasteners down, yes; for final tightening to a specification, no. Nothing on the NEIKO or DISEN measures torque, so the final pull needs the TEKTON or a KJE wrench set to its value.
What torque range covers most car work?
On these listings, the TEKTON’s 10 to 100 ft-lb covers the common band in 3/8 inch drive, and the KJE set extends it both ways: 20-240 in.lb below and 10-170 ft.lb in 1/2 in drive above.
How accurate are the torque wrenches here?
The KJE claims ±3% across the set. The TEKTON’s bullets say ±3% while its spec table says within ±4%; its serialized certificate states the actual figure for the individual wrench.
Which ratchet works in the tightest space?
The NEIKO, on stated figures: 100 teeth and a 3.6 degree swing, against the DISEN’s 90 teeth and 4 degrees, though the DISEN’s flex heads rotate 180 degrees for angled access.
Related guides
See every tool storage guide.
More picks: browse torque wrenches for cylinder heads, torque wrenches for trucks and socket sets for home garages.







