T5 vs T8 Shop Light: Which One Should You Buy?
T5 and T8 shop lights compared on brightness, beam, linking, build and warranty, with three examples from the listings and a verdict on which side fits your garage.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
hykolity 2FT 150W LED Linear High Bay Shop Light9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
160W UFO LED High Bay Light9.8/10View on Amazon - 3
JESLED LED Shop Lights 4FT9.8/10View on Amazon - 4
Barrina T5 LED Shop Light 2FTView on Amazon - 5
Barrina T5 4FT LED Shop LightView on Amazon - 6
Barrina LED T5 Shop LightView on Amazon - 7
Barrina T5 LED Shop Light 4FTView on Amazon - 8
ALUSSO 10 Pack 4FT LED T5 Shop LightsView on Amazon - 9
hykolity 6 Pack T5 LED Shop Lights 4FTView on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a T5 light if you want low-power, linkable light over a workbench or under a cabinet on a plug-in cord. Choose a T8 shop light if you want the highest stated output for a whole garage, or a single plug-in fixture with a stated safety listing and a long warranty.
A brake job runs long after sunset, and the workbench lamp you have leaves the far end of the bench in shadow. That is the moment shop lighting stops being background and starts deciding how well the job goes. The t5 vs t8 shop light question comes down to output, beam, linking and pack size, and this comparison walks through both sides with 3 examples from the listings.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Barrina T8 LED Shop Lights 4FT, 40W 5500LM 5000K
A 4-foot T8 LED shop light with 5500 lumens at 40W and 5000K daylight white, a V-shape aluminum clear cover, a 270-degree beam angle and dual-row LED chips with up to 240 LEDs per light, linkable to 6 in a series.
Pros
- 5500 lumens per light, at a minimum of 138 lumens per watt stated
- 270-degree beam with dual-row chips and up to 240 LEDs per light
- 10 lights with cords, connectors, hardwiring and a manual in the box
- 3 year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- 40W per light, the highest draw of the three examples
- Only 5 power cords for 10 lights, so linked runs share cords
- No safety listing stated on the listing
- Link limit of 6 in a series, below the T5 link of up to 8

Designers Fountain 2-Lights Shop Light Fixture
A 4-foot T8 LED hanging ceiling fixture with two T8 LED tubes included, 3600 lumens at 28 watts and 4000K bright white light, in aluminum with a white enamel finish, UL listed and suitable for use in damp locations.
Pros
- UL listed and suitable for use in damp locations
- 5 year manufacturer warranty stated
- Aluminum construction with a white enamel finish
- Two T8 LED tubes included, with hassle-free bulb replacement stated
Cons
- Dimensions read two ways: 48 W x 6 D x 2.5 H inches in the bullets against 48.0 x 4.0 x 3.0 inches in the spec table
- 1 fixture in the box, against the multi-light packs in this comparison
- Cord length of 6 inches, so the outlet must sit close by
- 3600 lumens, below the Barrina T8 example at 5500 lumens

Barrina T5 4FT LED Shop Light, 2200lm
A 4-foot T5 LED shop light with more than 2200 lumens at 20W and 5000K daylight white, linkable to up to 8 tube lights with seamless connectors or 20-inch connector cords, with snap joints and mounting screws for plug-and-play hanging.
Pros
- More than 2200 lumens at 20W low power consumption
- Links up to 8 tube lights with seamless connectors or 20-inch connector cords
- Plug and play: snap joints to hang it, plug in to light it
- 6 fixtures with 6 power cords with on/off switches in the box
Cons
- No warranty term stated on the listing
- No safety listing stated on the listing
- Second generation connector caution: new and old products need the new male-female connector cables
- More than 2200 lumens, below the T8 examples at 3600 and 5500 lumens
Other tools worth a look
Barrina T5 LED Shop Light 2FTCheck price on Amazon
Barrina T5 4FT LED Shop LightCheck price on Amazon
Barrina LED T5 Shop LightCheck price on Amazon
Barrina T5 LED Shop Light 4FTCheck price on Amazon
ALUSSO 10 Pack 4FT LED T5 Shop LightsCheck price on Amazon
hykolity 6 Pack T5 LED Shop Lights 4FTCheck price on Amazon
T5 vs T8 shop light side by side
| Factor | Barrina T8 4FT 10-Pack | Designers Fountain T8 | Barrina T5 4FT 6-Pack |
|---|---|---|---|
| Length | 4 feet | 48 inches | 4 feet |
| Output | 5500 lumens | 3600 lumens | More than 2200 lumens |
| Power | 40W | 28 watts | 20W |
| Color | 5000K daylight white | 4000K bright white | 5000K daylight white |
| Beam | 270-degree beam, dual-row chips | Not stated | Not stated |
| Link | Up to 6 in a series | Not stated | Up to 8 tube lights |
| Pack | 10 lights, 5 cords | 1 fixture, two tubes | 6 fixtures, 6 cords |
| Warranty | 3 year manufacturer | 5 year manufacturer | Not stated |
| Shop Score | 68 | 67 | 54 |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 2 November 2026.
What T5 and T8 mean in these listings
The listings do not state tube diameter figures, so this comparison sticks to what they do state: output, beam, power, linking and pack. The T5 example is a 4-foot LED fixture sold as a 6-pack. The T8 examples are 4-foot LED fixtures too: a 10-pack and a single fixture with two tubes. The tube label alone does not decide brightness: the stated lumens do.
Brightness and beam
Output is where the examples split most clearly. The T5 example gives more than 2200 lumens at 20W and 5000K daylight white. The Barrina T8 example gives 5500 lumens at 40W and 5000K daylight white, at a minimum of 138 lumens per watt stated, with a 270-degree beam angle from dual-row LED chips and up to 240 LEDs per light. The Designers Fountain T8 example gives 3600 lumens at 28 watts and 4000K bright white light. Both sides state lumens clearly, so the comparison can say the T8 examples state the higher figures, with the Barrina T8 stating the highest of the three.
Beam shape matters over a bench too. The Barrina T8 states a wide 270-degree beam meant to light dark corners evenly. Neither the T5 listing nor the Designers Fountain listing states a beam angle.
Linking and installation
Linking is where the T5 example leads on count. The T5 example links up to 8 tube lights together with seamless connectors or 20-inch connector cords, and it hangs with snap joints and mounting screws: plug in and go. The Barrina T8 example links up to 6 lights in a series with 48-inch connecting cables, and it installs by hardwiring or by power cord with an on/off switch. The Designers Fountain example does not state linking: it is a plug-in hanging fixture with mounting hardware and a 6-inch cord, and the listing states hassle-free bulb replacement.
One caution travels with the T5 pack: connecting new and old products needs the new male-female connector cables. For hardwired installs, use a licensed electrician.
Build, safety listings and warranty
Build and paperwork split the T8 side itself. The Barrina T8 carries a V-shape aluminum clear cover and a 3 year manufacturer warranty, with no safety listing stated. The Designers Fountain fixture carries an aluminum build with a white enamel finish, a UL listing, suitability for damp locations, and a 5 year manufacturer warranty. The T5 listing states neither a safety listing nor a warranty term.
Choose a T5 if
- You want low-power light over a bench or under a cabinet
- You want to link a run of lights on plug-in cords
- You want a 6-pack with a cord and switch per light
Choose a T8 shop light if
- You want the highest stated output for a whole garage
- You want a single fixture with a stated safety listing
- You want a long stated warranty on the fixture
Example lights
For more choices, see the best LED garage lights for low ceiling and the linear vs high bay LED shop light guide.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- A workbench or cabinet run suits the T5 fixture, which the listing names for under cabinet use.
- A large garage needing linked runs suits the T5 link of up to 8 or the Barrina T8 link of up to 6 in a series.
- A damp location suits the Designers Fountain fixture, which is UL listed and suitable for use in damp locations.
- Check the cord plan before the first job: the Barrina T8 box holds 5 power cords for 10 lights, so linked runs share cords.
FAQ: garage tools
Can T5 and T8 lights link together?
Not as far as the listings state. The T5 example links up to 8 tube lights with its own connectors, and the Barrina T8 example links up to 6 lights in a series with its own cables.
Do these lights need hardwiring?
No, except as an option on one example. The T5 example is plug and play with a power cord and switch, and the Barrina T8 example installs by hardwiring or by power cord with an on/off switch. The Designers Fountain example is a plug-in fixture. For hardwired installs, use a licensed electrician.
Which example gives the highest output?
The Barrina T8 example, at 5500 lumens. The Designers Fountain example states 3600 lumens, and the T5 example states more than 2200 lumens.
What color temperature do the examples use?
The T5 example and the Barrina T8 example both state 5000K daylight white. The Designers Fountain example states 4000K bright white light.
Are the tubes included?
The Designers Fountain example includes two T8 LED tubes. The Barrina examples are sold as complete fixtures, with no separate tube listed in the box.
Related: the best LED garage lights for low ceiling, the linear vs high bay LED shop light guide and our garage upgrades hub.



