Tire Plug Kit vs Tire Sealant: Which One Should You Buy?
When a plug kit beats tire sealant for a flat, how each fix works, and four plug kits compared by pieces, tools and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Air Hose Fittings 1/4 Inch NPT Brass Quick Connect Coupler9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Stealth Air Compressor 2 Gallon9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
LUMITECO 2 Pack Heavy Duty Air Chuck Set-1/4 Inch Female NPT9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
CKAuto 36 pcs Universal Tire Repair Kit with Plugs Heavy DutyView on Amazon - 5
KT-340View on Amazon - 6
Heavy Duty Tire Plug KitView on Amazon - 7
40 PCS Quick Fix Screw-in Tire Plug Kit with 2 Tubes ofView on Amazon - 8
ETENWOLF Flat Tire Repair Kit with Plugs 16 PcsView on Amazon - 9
Tire Repair Kit with PlugsView on Amazon
A nail in the tread on a quiet drive leaves you with two roadside choices. For tire plug kit vs tire sealant, the short answer is this: a plug kit is a physical repair, strings and tools that fill the puncture from the outside, while a sealant is a liquid poured into the tire that seals from the inside. A plug kit gives you a repair you can see and check; a sealant skips the tools but leaves liquid inside the tire. The kits below are all plug kits, ranked on their stated pieces, tools and warranty.
More options to compare
CKAuto 36 pcs Universal Tire Repair Kit with Plugs Heavy DutyCheck price on Amazon
KT-340Check price on Amazon
Heavy Duty Tire Plug KitCheck price on Amazon
40 PCS Quick Fix Screw-in Tire Plug Kit with 2 Tubes ofCheck price on Amazon
ETENWOLF Flat Tire Repair Kit with Plugs 16 PcsCheck price on Amazon
Tire Repair Kit with PlugsCheck price on Amazon
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Tire plug kit vs tire sealant: what each one does
A tire plug kit works from the outside: a rasp cleans the puncture, an insert tool pushes a string plug into the hole, and the plug bonds in place. Every kit here follows that pattern, with T-handle or pistol-grip tools and string plugs. A tire sealant works from the inside: liquid poured through the valve stem coats the inner tire and seals the leak as air escapes. Sealant needs no reamer or plug tools and no hole-finding, but it leaves liquid inside the tire, and it does nothing for a gash or sidewall damage.
The gear: plug kits ranked
All four listings cover tubeless tires on cars, trucks, motorcycles, ATVs and more. Ranked by stated pieces, tools and warranty:
| Kit | Pieces | Plugs | Case | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slime 2040-A Plug Kit | 11 | 8 strings + rubber cement | Not stated | 5.92 oz | 1 year manufacturer |
| Boulder Tools Plug Kit | Not stated | 30 self-vulcanizing | Hard storage case | 2.6 lb | Not stated |
| Tooluxe 50002L Kit | 35 | 30 strings, 4 in | Blow mold case | 2.3 lb | Not stated |
| AUTOWN 68pc Kit | 68 | Not stated | Storage case | 1.39 lb | Not stated |
Slime 2040-A Plug Kit. The only kit here with a stated warranty: 1 year manufacturer. Its 11 pieces include a pistol-grip reamer and plugger, 3 heavy-duty strings, 5 extra long strings and a tube of rubber cement with Plug Bond. At 5.92 ounces it is the lowest-weight kit here. Who it’s for: a driver who wants a compact kit with a warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a hard storage case, which the listing does not state.
Boulder Tools Plug Kit. The fullest toolbox of the four: 30 self-vulcanizing tire plugs plus a tire pressure gauge, pliers, utility knife, valve core tool, replacement valve cores, valve caps, valve extenders, lubricant and Allen keys in a hard storage case. It weighs 2.6 pounds in a 12 by 2.25 by 8 inch case. No warranty term is stated. Who it’s for: a driver who wants valve tools and a gauge in the same case. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty.
Tooluxe 50002L Kit. A 35-piece kit with 30 four-inch string plugs, a T-handle insert tool, a spiral probe, 2 hex keys and sealing lubricant in a blow mold case. The listing states hardened steel tools and no need to remove the tire from the rim. It weighs 2.3 pounds. Who it’s for: a driver who wants the most plugs per kit for repeated repairs. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty.
AUTOWN 68pc Kit. A 68-piece set with T-handle and spiral probe tools in a portable storage case, at 1.39 pounds and 11.81 by 7.88 by 2.36 inches. The listing is thin on the exact plug count, so treat the 68 pieces as the whole set, not 68 plugs. No warranty term is stated. Who it’s for: a driver who wants the biggest piece count for the money. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a detailed parts list.
Plug or sealant: which to carry
Carry a plug kit if you want a physical repair you can inspect; you will still need an air source to reinflate the tire afterward. Carry sealant if you want the quickest roadside fix and accept liquid in the tire. Some drivers carry both, using the plug kit for punctures and sealant as a backup. Whichever you choose, check the kit before a trip: none of the listings states a shelf life for strings or cement, so replace anything that looks past its best. That tradeoff is the whole tire plug kit vs tire sealant question in one line.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
What the listings do not state
No listing here states a plug diameter or a maximum puncture size, so match the kit to the puncture you find, not to a figure. Three of the four state no warranty term; only the Slime states 1 year manufacturer. None of the four is a sealant product, so sealant sizes and shelf life are outside what these listings cover. The AUTOWN lists 68 pieces without breaking out the plug count, so its value rests on the set as a whole rather than the plugs alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a plug kit fix any flat tire?
All four listings describe puncture repair on tubeless tires on cars, trucks, motorcycles, ATVs and more. None describes sidewall repair.
Does a plug kit need the tire removed?
The Tooluxe listing states no need to remove the tire from the rim. The other listings do not address it.
How many repairs does one kit cover?
The Tooluxe includes 30 string plugs and the Boulder 30 self-vulcanizing plugs. The AUTOWN is a 68-piece set, and the Slime includes 8 strings plus rubber cement.
Plug kit or sealant for a roadside flat?
A plug kit is a physical repair with tools you can inspect; a sealant is a liquid poured into the tire. The listings here cover plug kits only.
Which kit states a warranty?
Only the Slime, with a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The other three state no warranty term.
Related: the portable tire inflator for road trips, the cordless vs corded tire inflator comparison and the tire changer vs wheel balancer guide.



