12v vs 20v Cordless Ratchet: Which One Should You Buy?
Three cordless ratchets compared: the 20v ShieldPro leads on stated torque and speed, the 12v Milwaukee on warranty and platform, and the AOBEN on kit value.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
KIMO 3/8 Cordless Electric Ratchet Wrench9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
3/8" Cordless Ratchet Wrench for Dewalt 20V Battery9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Ratchet9.5/10View on Amazon
Verdict: Pick a 12v cordless ratchet if you want the most compact tool for tight engine bays, and the Milwaukee example here adds a 5-year warranty and the M12 battery platform. Pick a 20v cordless ratchet if you want the highest stated torque and speed in this group: the ShieldPro example lists 45 ft-lbs and 400 RPM with two batteries in the box.
12v vs 20v cordless ratchet is a question of access against output. Both sides here use 3/8 in drives and suit the same jobs, spinning fasteners where a hand ratchet is slow and an impact wrench will not fit. The 12v examples are built around compact battery platforms like the Milwaukee M12 system, while the 20v example trades size for more stated torque and a second battery. We compared the three examples by torque, speed, battery, kit contents and warranty.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
| # | Product | Shop Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Milwaukee 2457-21 3/8 Inch Cordless M12 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | AOBEN 3/8" 12V Power Electric Ratchet Wrench Set | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | 20V Electric Ratchet Wrench Set | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Milwaukee 2457-21 3/8 Inch Cordless M12
A 12V M12 cordless ratchet with 35 ft-lbs of torque at 250 RPM, a narrow profile head for confined spaces, one 1.5 Ah battery, charger and bag, backed by a 5 Year Limited Warranty.
Pros
- 5 Year Limited Warranty, the longest stated here
- Narrow profile head for confined work areas
- Shares batteries with other Milwaukee M12 devices
- Variable speed trigger for precise control
Cons
- No sockets included in the box
- Only one 1.5 Ah battery included
- Lowest stated torque here at 35 ft-lbs
- No dimensions beyond the tool itself for the head profile claim

AOBEN 3/8" 12V Power Electric Ratchet Wrench Set
A 12V cordless ratchet set with 280 RPM, LED work light, one 2000 mAh battery, charger, 6 sockets, adapter, extension bar and carry case, backed by a 12 month warranty.
Pros
- 280 RPM with variable-speed trigger
- LED work light plus side battery indicators
- Full starter kit: sockets, adapter, extension, case
- Rear switch placement guards against accidental starts
Cons
- Torque contradiction: 40 ft-lbs in bullets, 35 ft-lb in spec table
- Only a 12 month warranty
- Single 2000 mAh battery
- Least established brand of the three

20V Electric Ratchet Wrench Set
A 20V cordless ratchet kit with 45 ft-lbs of torque at 400 RPM, two 2.0 Ah batteries, a fast charger, 10 sockets, three extension bars, an adapter, LED light and tool case.
Pros
- 45 ft-lbs, the highest stated torque here
- 400 RPM, the highest stated speed here
- Two 2.0 Ah batteries and a fast charger included
- 10 sockets, three extensions and an adapter in the box
Cons
- No warranty stated in the listing
- No weight or dimensions stated
- No stated battery platform beyond its own
- Yellow finish will show shop grime
Side by side
| Ratchet | HQ Score | Side | Torque | Speed | Battery | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee 2457-21 | 9.5/10 | 12v | 35 ft-lbs | 250 RPM | 1.5 Ah | 5 years |
| ShieldPro 20V | 9.3/10 | 20v | 45 ft-lbs | 400 RPM | 2x 2.0 Ah | Not stated |
| AOBEN 12V | 9.3/10 | 12v | 40 ft-lbs (bullets), 35 ft-lb (spec table) | 280 RPM | 2000 mAh | 12 months |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 18 October 2026.
12v vs 20v cordless ratchet: torque and speed compared
The 20v example leads on both stated figures: the ShieldPro lists 45 ft-lbs of torque and 400 RPM. The 12v side is close but lower: the AOBEN lists 40 ft-lbs in its bullets and 280 RPM with a variable-speed trigger, while the Milwaukee lists 35 ft-lbs at 250 RPM. One caution on the AOBEN: its spec table says 35 ft-lb, which contradicts the 40 ft-lbs in its bullets, so treat its torque as unclear until the listing is fixed. Do not read the 20v lead as a universal rule about voltage, though: these are three specific listings, and another maker’s 12v ratchet could state different figures.
Battery and runtime
All three run on lithium-ion packs, but the configurations differ. The Milwaukee example includes one 1.5 Ah M12 battery and a charger, and it works with other Milwaukee M12 devices, which matters if you already own the platform. The AOBEN includes one 2000 mAh battery and a charger. The ShieldPro includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a fast charger, so you can work on one pack while the other charges. None of the listings states a runtime figure, so runtime is a question of pack size and how hard you run the tool, not something we can rank from the listings.
Size and access
Cordless ratchets earn their keep in tight spaces, and the listings lean into that. The Milwaukee example is described as having a narrow profile head for confined work areas and weighs 4.1 pounds at 14.5 x 3.5 x 10.5 inches. The AOBEN lists an LED light on the front of the unit plus side lights that show remaining power, which helps in dark engine bays. The ShieldPro also has a built-in LED light and an ergonomic grip. The other two examples state no dimensions or weight, so we cannot crown a most-compact winner from the listings; the Milwaukee is simply the only one that publishes the numbers.
What is in the box
The kits differ more than the tools. The AOBEN set includes the ratchet, one battery, a charger, 6 sockets, a 1/4 in adapter, a 3 in extension bar, a manual and a carry case. The ShieldPro set includes the ratchet, two 2.0 Ah batteries, a fast charger, 10 sockets (10, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17 mm), 3, 6 and 10 in extension bars, a 3/8 to 1/4 in adapter and a tool case. The Milwaukee example is the leanest box: ratchet, one 1.5 Ah battery, charger and carrying bag, with no sockets included. If you already own sockets, the Milwaukee’s thin box is fine; if you are starting out, the ShieldPro’s 10-socket kit is the most complete.
Warranty
The Milwaukee example states a 5 Year Limited Warranty, the longest stated here by far. The AOBEN states a 12 month manufacturer warranty. The ShieldPro listing states no warranty at all. A warranty is only as good as the maker behind it, but a stated 5-year term against a stated 12 months and nothing stated is a real separator when the tools are otherwise close.
Choose the 12v side if
- You work in tight engine bays and want the compact-platform option.
- You already own Milwaukee M12 batteries and want the tool to share them.
- You value the stated 5-year warranty on the Milwaukee example.
- You want a full starter kit: the AOBEN example includes sockets, adapter and extension.
Choose the 20v side if
- You want the highest stated torque here: 45 ft-lbs on the ShieldPro example.
- You want the highest stated speed: 400 RPM on the ShieldPro example.
- You want two batteries and a fast charger in the box.
- You want the most complete socket kit: 10 sockets and three extension bars.
Reading the listings carefully
Three gaps are worth knowing before you buy. First, the AOBEN torque contradiction: 40 ft-lbs in the bullets against 35 ft-lb in the spec table. When a listing disagrees with itself, the safe move is to treat the figure as unverified, which is what we did in the scoring. Second, none of the three listings states a runtime or a fastener count per charge, so any claim about how long a pack lasts would be guessing; the honest comparison is pack size and pack count, where the ShieldPro’s two 2.0 Ah packs lead. Third, only the Milwaukee example publishes weight and dimensions (4.1 pounds, 14.5 x 3.5 x 10.5 inches), so compactness claims for the other two cannot be checked from the listings. These gaps are normal at this price, but they are why the scores lean on stated, checkable figures.
The 3 examples
How we scored them
Each example is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The Milwaukee leads on warranty and platform, the ShieldPro on stated torque, speed and kit depth, and the AOBEN loses points for the torque contradiction between its bullets and its spec table.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee 2457-21 M12 Cordless Ratchet | 9.5 | 30 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 4 |
| AOBEN 12V Cordless Ratchet Set | 9.3 | 26 | 16 | 16 | 0 | 2 |
| ShieldPro 20V Cordless Ratchet Kit | 9.3 | 29 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a 12v or 20v cordless ratchet better?
Neither voltage wins in general. In this group, the 20v ShieldPro example states the most torque (45 ft-lbs) and speed (400 RPM), while the 12v Milwaukee example offers the longest stated warranty and a compact M12 platform. Pick by the figures and the kit, not the voltage number.
Can a cordless ratchet replace an impact wrench?
No. A ratchet spins fasteners quickly in tight spaces at modest torque; an impact wrench delivers far more torque for lug nuts and rusted bolts. See our best 3/8 cordless impact wrench guide for the heavy work.
How long does the battery last on a cordless ratchet?
Not stated. None of the three listings gives a runtime figure. The ShieldPro includes two 2.0 Ah batteries, the AOBEN one 2000 mAh pack and the Milwaukee one 1.5 Ah pack, so pack count and size are all you can compare.
Do cordless ratchets come with sockets?
Two of these do: the AOBEN includes 6 sockets and the ShieldPro includes 10 sockets plus extension bars and an adapter. The Milwaukee example includes no sockets, just the tool, battery, charger and bag.
What does the Milwaukee 5-year warranty cover?
The listing states a 5 Year Limited Warranty. The exact coverage and exclusions are in the listing and the manual; check them before you buy if warranty length is your deciding factor.
Should I buy into the M12 platform for one ratchet?
It pays off if you will add more M12 tools, since the battery and charger then serve the whole set. For a single ratchet you use occasionally, a kit tool like the ShieldPro with two batteries in the box is the simpler buy. Our best battery platform for mechanics guide compares the platforms.
Related: the best cordless ratchet picks, the best 3/8 socket set, the best air ratchet for shop-air users, and our cordless tools hub.





