Analog vs Digital Torque Wrench: Which One Should You Buy?
Analog vs digital torque wrench: a screen readout with light and sound alerts, or a dial needle that holds the peak, and how to pick the one that fits your jobs.

On this page
You have the wheels off for a brake job and the caliper bracket bolts need a set torque value before the car goes back on the ground. That is the moment an analog vs digital torque wrench earns its place in the box. A digital wrench shows the value on a screen and warns you with light and sound as you near the target, while a dial wrench shows a needle sweeping across a scale and holds the peak reading for you to check. Either readout type can tighten a fastener to spec when the wrench’s range covers the value; the right pick depends on the jobs you do, the space you work in, and how you like to read a value.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Below: how the two readouts work, what each of the four wrenches in this guide states on its listing, and how to pick between them.
Analog vs digital torque wrench: how the two readouts differ
A digital torque wrench measures the twist and shows it as a number on a screen. The two digital listings in this guide add light and sound: the SOARFLY wrench shows a green light with a slow beep at 80 percent of the target, a yellow light with faster beeps at 90 percent, and a red light with a steady tone at 100 percent, while the coobeast wrench pairs a buzzer with LED alerts and a large screen that stays readable in dark conditions. A dial torque wrench works without a screen: a needle sweeps across a printed scale as you pull, and the driven needle stays at the highest value reached, so you can read the peak after you stop. The NEWTRY dial adds a dual-scale dial with indicators on both sides for clockwise and counterclockwise work, and the WQV dial offers the same peak memory in a slim contoured body made for tight places.
The short version: digital suits a reader who wants a number, a warning before the target, and stored presets; dial suits a reader who wants a simple needle and nothing to switch on or keep batteries in. The table below lines up the two readouts on the points the listings state.
| Digital readout | Dial readout | |
|---|---|---|
| Reading | Numbers on a screen | Needle on a printed scale |
| Warning before the target | Buzzer and LED, or lights and beeps at 80, 90 and 100 percent | Not stated |
| Stored targets | 9 or 10 presets, per listing | Not stated |
| Stored readings | 400 or 500 readings, per listing | Peak memory holds the highest value |
| Range stated | 135 or 220 N.m, per listing | 3 or 10 N.m, per listing |
| Power | 2 AA batteries, per the SOARFLY listing | No battery stated in either dial listing |
The gear in this guide
The four wrenches below run strongest listing first, judged on stated range, accuracy, presets and memory, and the terms each listing states.
SOARFLY 3/8 digital torque wrench set. The widest range in this guide: 0 to 220 N.m or 0 to 162.1 lb.ft, with ±1% accuracy, the highest accuracy stated here. It offers 3 modes, Preset, Peak and Real-Time, 10 presets for jobs such as lug nuts, spark plugs and chassis bolts, and memory for up to 400 readings. The screen shows current torque, preset target, peak value and battery life, and the wrench switches between 5 units with one button. The kit ships with a 3-inch extension bar, 1/4 and 1/2 inch adapters and a carry pouch, with batteries included, and the maker lists recalibration every 12 months or 5,000 cycles at a local tool shop. Weight is listed at 2.2 pounds.
coobeast 3/8 digital torque wrench. A range of 1.5-99.5 Ft-lbs. or 2-135 Nm at ±2% accuracy, with a 72-tooth reversible ratchet head that works clockwise and counterclockwise. It stores 9 preset modes and up to 500 sets of data in peak mode, reads in 5 units, and warns with a buzzer and LED alerts. The set is built from chrome vanadium steel and includes a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter, 3/8 to 1/2 sockets, a 6-inch extension bar and a storage box. The listing states a 1 year warranty.
NEWTRY dial torque wrench. A 1/4 inch drive dial wrench with a range of 1-10 N·m, ±3% accuracy and a 0.1 N·m graduation, with a dual-scale dial that reads clockwise and counterclockwise. Peak memory holds the driven needle at the highest value after the main needle returns to zero. The set includes sockets from 4 to 14 mm, the body is alloy steel with an anti-slip handle, and the wrench weighs 2.5 lbs and measures 12 inches by 1.6 inches by 1.2 inches. A portable tool kit is included for storage and carrying.
WQV dial torque wrench. A 1/4 inch drive dial wrench for small fasteners, with a range of 0.3-3.0 N.m, a division of 0.03 N.m and ±3% accuracy. The 1/4 inch square drive tenon measures 6.3 mm and supports clockwise and counterclockwise work, and peak memory holds the reading for repetitive operations. The body is high-strength alloy steel with a non-slip matte aluminum handle, and a rugged storage case is included. The listing states a slim contoured body for narrow and tight places.
How to pick between analog and digital
Match the range to the job first. The SOARFLY digital states a range up to 220 N.m and names lug nuts, spark plugs and chassis bolts among the jobs for its presets, while the coobeast digital states a range up to 135 Nm. The dial wrenches state 0.3-3.0 N.m and 1-10 N·m, which suit small fasteners and light work. A wrench that cannot reach the value you need is the wrong wrench, whatever the readout.
Check the drive size against the sockets you already own: the digital wrenches here are 3/8 drive, the dial wrenches are 1/4 drive, and both digital kits include adapters for 1/4 and 1/2 inch sockets. If you work in tight places, note the slim contoured body on the WQV dial and the 72-tooth reversible ratchet head on the coobeast digital, which the listing states fits narrow working spaces.
Think about upkeep before you buy. The SOARFLY listing states 2 AA batteries, included, and an automatic shutoff after 5 minutes of inactivity, plus recalibration every 12 months or 5,000 cycles at a local tool shop. The dial listings state no battery and no recalibration interval, and the coobeast listing states a 1 year warranty with after-sales support. Read the manual for the torque values your vehicle calls for, and store the wrench in its case or pouch so the head and scale stay protected.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: garage tools
Can I use a digital torque wrench for lug nuts?
The SOARFLY listing names lug nuts among the jobs for its 10 presets, and its range runs 0 to 220 N.m or 0 to 162.1 lb.ft. Check the torque value your vehicle manual calls for, and confirm it falls inside the range the listing states before you buy.
Do dial torque wrenches need batteries?
Neither dial listing in this guide mentions a battery: the NEWTRY and WQV dials read from a needle on a printed scale, with peak memory holding the highest value. The SOARFLY digital listing states 2 AA batteries, included, with an automatic shutoff after 5 minutes of inactivity.
What does peak mode do on a torque wrench?
Peak mode captures the highest torque applied, which the SOARFLY listing calls out for breakaway checks, and the coobeast listing records the value in peak mode and stores up to 500 sets of data. On the NEWTRY dial, peak memory holds the driven needle at the highest value after the main needle returns to zero; the WQV dial states peak memory for readout and repetitive operations.
How often should a digital torque wrench be recalibrated?
The SOARFLY listing states recalibration every 12 months or 5,000 cycles at a local tool shop. The other listings in this guide state no recalibration interval, so follow the manual that comes with the wrench you buy.
What accuracy do these torque wrenches state?
The SOARFLY digital states ±1% accuracy, the coobeast digital states ±2%, and both dial wrenches state ±3% accuracy. Those are the makers’ stated figures, not measured results.
Related: the best digital torque wrench, the best 3/8 torque wrench, beam vs digital torque wrench and the best torque wrench for brake jobs.



