Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best 120V Garage Heater (2026)

Four 120V garage heaters compared by mounting, heat settings, safety listings and warranty, for a workable shop all winter.

Best 120V Garage Heater (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1BEYOND HEAT UHQTV5MBest OverallBEYOND HEAT UHQTV5M9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2DEWALT DXH165Best PortableDEWALT DXH1659.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Shinic Remote HeaterBest with RemoteShinic Remote Heater9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Shinic 2-Pack HeaterBest 2-PackShinic 2-Pack Heater9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5DR. INFRARED HEATER Portable Infrared Indoor and OutdoorDR. INFRARED HEATER Portable Infrared Indoor and OutdoorView on Amazon
  6. 6DR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopDR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopView on Amazon
  7. 7NewAir NGH160GA00NewAir NGH160GA00View on Amazon
  8. 8Shinic 120V Electric Garage HeaterShinic 120V Electric Garage HeaterView on Amazon
  9. 9Shinic 2-Pack 120V Electric Garage HeaterShinic 2-Pack 120V Electric Garage HeaterView on Amazon
  10. 10Diesel Heater 8KW 12V/24V/110V/120VDiesel Heater 8KW 12V/24V/110V/120VView on Amazon

A January brake job in an unheated garage is the kind of cold that gets into your hands and stays there, stiffening fingers just when you need them nimble for small fasteners. The best 120v garage heater takes the edge off without an electrician or a new circuit: it plugs into the outlet you already have and throws heat where the work happens. This guide compares four 1500-watt models by mounting, heat settings, safety listings and warranty, so the shop stays workable all winter.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall BEYOND HEAT UHQTV5M: 1500W radiant ceiling mount with dual quartz tubes, halogen light and ETL approval. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable DEWALT DXH165: 5,630 BTU forced-air cabinet with a 25 to 95-degree thermostat and 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best with Remote Shinic Remote Heater: ETL-listed ceiling mount with 5 settings and remote control. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 2-Pack Shinic 2-Pack Heater: Two 1500W ceiling-mount units with halogen work lights. Check price on Amazon

The picks

BEYOND HEAT Electric Garage Heater 120V

BEYOND HEAT Electric Garage Heater 120V

BEYOND HEAT9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1500W radiant ceiling-mount heater from BEYOND HEAT with dual quartz tubes, two heat settings on a pull string, a halogen light and 90-degree adjustable tilt. ETL approval, overheat protection, a metal safety grille and a 3-prong grounded plug cover the safety side, and the 24-inch housing suits a single work bay.

Pros

  • Dual quartz tubes with 2 heat settings on a simple pull string
  • Halogen light runs with or without the heat
  • ETL approval with overheat protection and a metal safety grille
  • Ceiling mount keeps the floor clear for the job

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Ceiling mount only, with no portable or wall option
  • Pull-string control means reaching up to adjust it
  • Indoor use only per the spec table
Shinic Remote Control 120V Electric Garage Heater

Shinic Remote Control 120V Electric Garage Heater

shinic9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1500W overhead radiant quartz heater with a built-in halogen work light, 90° tilting bracket, remote control and ETL listing.

Pros

  • Dual heat settings at 750W and 1500W with radiant quartz tubes
  • Built-in halogen work light illuminates workbench areas
  • Ceiling and wall mounting bracket with 90° angle adjustment
  • ETL Listed with overheat auto-off and 3-prong grounded plug

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists heat output as 95 °F rather than wattage
  • Remote control does not include batteries
  • Radiant heat warms direct line-of-sight rather than whole room air
DEWALT Forced Air Electric Construction Heater

DEWALT Forced Air Electric Construction Heater

DEWALT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1,500W forced-air portable heater from DEWALT putting out 5,630 BTU, with a 25 to 95-degree thermostat, recessed controls and an LED fault indicator. It covers a stated 150 sq ft, weighs 15.3 pounds, and carries a 1 year limited warranty, the only stated warranty of the four.

Pros

  • 5,630 BTU with 150 sq ft of stated coverage, the only coverage figure here
  • Thermostat from 25 to 95 degrees cycles the element to hold temperature
  • Recessed controls protect switches and knobs on the job
  • 1 year limited warranty, the only stated warranty here

Cons

  • No safety certification or overheat protection is stated
  • Title says 1.65 kW while the listing also says 1,500 watts
  • Spec table says radiant element against a forced-air heating method
  • 15.3 pounds, the heaviest of the four
Shinic 2-Pack 120V Electric Garage

Shinic 2-Pack 120V Electric Garage

shinic9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-pack of 120V, 1,500/750 W radiant quartz ceiling heaters with built-in halogen work lights and 90 degree adjustment.

Pros

  • ETL listed
  • Plugs into 120V outlets
  • Radiant heat warms you at the bench, plus a work light
  • 90 degree adjustable, two heaters in the box

Cons

  • About 5,100 BTU each: spot heat, not whole-garage heat
  • Two units need two separate circuits
  • No warranty term stated
  • Halogen bulb gets hot

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Power Mounting Heat settings Safety Warranty
BEYOND HEAT UHQTV5M 1500W Ceiling mount 2 ETL, overheat protection Not stated
DEWALT DXH165 1,500W Floor mount 1 Not stated 1 year limited
Shinic Remote Heater 1500W/750W Ceiling mount 5 ETL Listed Not stated
Shinic 2-Pack Heater 1500W/750W Ceiling mount 5 Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 9 October 2026. Three of the four are ceiling-mount radiant quartz units and one is a portable forced-air cabinet. Two carry an ETL listing, one states a 1-year warranty, and the rest state no warranty term. The two Shinic picks share a thin listing with title-only specs, which their reviews note, and the DEWALT listing contradicts itself on power and heating method, which its review calls out.

How we scored them

Each heater is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Performance weighs the stated power and heating method, build weighs materials and construction, value weighs what the listing gives for the class, safety weighs stated protections and certifications, and warranty weighs the stated term. The weights are on our How We Pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BEYOND HEAT UHQTV5M 9.6 29 20 20 7 0
DEWALT DXH165 9.5 30 21 19 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read four heater listings. Three are ceiling-mount radiant quartz units around 1500 watts, and one is a portable forced-air cabinet. Two state ETL approval, three state a halogen work light, and only one states a warranty term. Only the portable DEWALT states a coverage figure, at 150 sq ft, and only it states a thermostat range. Two listings, both Shinic, give title-only specs with no dimensions, weight or amperage, which is why their product cards stay short.

Buying guide: the best 120v garage heater for a home shop

Ceiling mount or portable

Three of these four bolt to the ceiling and stay there, which keeps the floor clear for creepers, tool chests and the car itself. The BEYOND HEAT and both Shinic units hang overhead with a 90-degree adjustable tilt, so you aim the heat at the work bay. The DEWALT is the outlier: a portable forced-air cabinet that moves to the job, whether that is the bench, the driveway or a corner of the shop. Pick ceiling mount when the garage layout is settled, and portable when the work moves around. Some shops end up with both: a ceiling unit over the main bay and a portable for the driveway or the far corner.

Heat settings and controls

Controls range from basic to convenient. The BEYOND HEAT runs two heat settings off a pull string, simple and hard to break. The DEWALT uses a 25 to 95-degree thermostat that cycles the element to hold the set temperature, the closest thing here to set-and-forget. Both Shinic units offer 5 heat and light settings, and the remote-control Shinic adds a remote plus an indicator light so you can adjust from the workbench. More settings help in shoulder seasons when full blast is too much. The 750W low on the Shinic units is also the polite choice when the heater shares a circuit with other small loads.

Radiant or forced air

The three ceiling mounts are radiant quartz heaters: they warm people and objects in their path directly, like sun through a window, without stirring the air. The DEWALT is forced air: a fan pushes warmed air into the room, which spreads heat more evenly but also stirs up dust. In a dusty shop with grinding and sanding, radiant keeps the dust where it is; in a clean finished garage, forced air evens out cold corners faster.

Safety listings

The BEYOND HEAT carries ETL approval with overheat protection and a metal safety grille over the quartz tubes, the fullest safety statement here. The remote-control Shinic is ETL Listed. The DEWALT states no certification or overheat protection in its listing, only a thermostat and an LED fault indicator. Whatever you pick, keep the manual’s clearances from anything combustible and never drape anything over a heater.

The halogen light question

Three of the four include a halogen work light alongside the heat, and it is genuinely useful: a ceiling heater doubles as a task light over the engine bay. The BEYOND HEAT runs heat with or without the light, and the Shinic units tie the light into their 5 heat and light settings. Treat the bulb as a wear item and check whether the listing names a replacement before you need one.

Size the heater to the garage

Only the DEWALT states coverage, at 150 sq ft with 5,630 BTU, so it is the only pick you can match to a room size on paper. The ceiling-mount listings state power but no coverage, which means sizing them is guesswork from the listing alone. Our garage heater sizing guide matches BTU to garage size, and insulation, ceiling height and how often the big door opens all move the real answer.

Wiring and circuits

A 1500-watt heater is a hungry guest on a household circuit. The BEYOND HEAT lists 12.5 amps and the DEWALT 13.5 amps, which leaves little room on a standard circuit for anything else with a motor. Give the heater its own circuit when you can, and never share it with a compressor, a welder or a big shop vacuum. If the breaker trips when the heater cycles on, that is the circuit asking for the heater to run alone. Extension cords are a weak link: if you must use one, make it short, thick and rated for the load, and uncoil it fully so heat cannot build up in the coil.

What the warranty tells you

Only the DEWALT states a warranty term here, at 1 year limited, and that says something about the field. The BEYOND HEAT, despite its ETL approval and detailed listing, states no warranty term, and neither Shinic listing does either. A stated warranty is the maker putting a number behind the product, and its absence does not mean the heater will fail, only that you have less recourse if it does. Keep the receipt and the manual either way, and register the product if the maker offers it.

Heater safety

Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a 120V heater warm a two-car garage?

It can take the edge off, but 1500 watts is modest heat for a big uninsulated space. The DEWALT states 150 sq ft of coverage, which is a one-car corner rather than a full two-car shop. For a two-car garage, expect a 120V heater to warm the work bay you stand in, not the whole building, and consider an insulated door before a bigger heater. Heat rises and escapes through the big door fastest, so a ceiling-mount radiant unit aimed down at the bay often feels warmer than a portable unit fighting the whole volume.

Do I need a dedicated circuit for a 1500W heater?

The listings state 12.5 amps on the BEYOND HEAT and 13.5 amps on the DEWALT, which is most of a standard household circuit’s capacity. Do not run the heater on the same circuit as a compressor, a welder or other big-draw tools. If the breaker trips when the heater cycles on, that circuit is telling you it wants the heater alone. Map the garage circuits once, label the panel, and the heater question never comes up again mid-job.

Is a ceiling-mount heater hard to install?

It bolts to the ceiling structure, so you need a solid mounting point and the clearance the manual requires. The BEYOND HEAT measures 24.0 by 12.2 by 3.3 inches, so plan the spot before you lift it overhead. Follow the included instructions and the manual’s clearances; if the wiring or the structure is in doubt, bring in an electrician. A ceiling joist that flexes under the unit or a junction box that is already crowded are both good reasons to pause.

What does ETL listed mean?

It means the product carries an independent safety listing mark. The BEYOND HEAT states ETL approval and the remote-control Shinic states ETL Listed. A listing mark is not a guarantee, but it is the strongest third-party safety statement a heater listing can make.

Can I leave a garage heater running overnight?

The listings do not recommend it, and unattended heat is how shop fires start. The BEYOND HEAT has overheat protection that shuts it off at unsafe temperatures, but that is a last resort, not a plan. Warm the shop before the job, then switch the heater off when you lock up. A simple outlet timer from the hardware store can pre-warm the garage before an early start without leaving heat running all night.

Why do two picks have such thin listings?

The two Shinic heaters also appear in another GarageToolHQ guide, so their product cards keep the shorter text from that guide. Their titles still state the key specs: 120V, 1500W/750W, ceiling mount, radiant quartz, halogen light and 5 settings. They are ranked on the same scores as the other two.

Related: the portable vs wall mounted garage heater, infrared vs convection garage heater and oil filled vs infrared garage heater comparisons, and the garage upgrades hub.

More buying guides