Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Adjustable Wrench Set (2026)

Five adjustable wrench sets for garage work, compared by sizes, steel, finish, jaw capacity, comfort and what each listing actually states.

Best Adjustable Wrench Set (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1IRWIN Vise-Grip 4-PieceBest OverallIRWIN Vise-Grip 4-Piece9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WORKPRO 5-Piece SetBest 5-Piece SetWORKPRO 5-Piece Set9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Amazon Basics 4-PieceBest Comfort GripAmazon Basics 4-Piece9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4CRAFTSMAN 3-PieceBest Wide JawsCRAFTSMAN 3-Piece9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5WORKPRO 4-Piece Adjustable Wrench SetWORKPRO 4-Piece Adjustable Wrench SetView on Amazon
  6. 6SHALL 3-Piece Adjustable Wrench SetSHALL 3-Piece Adjustable Wrench SetView on Amazon
  7. 7Adjustable Wrench Set Wrenches Sets: 4-Piece 6Adjustable Wrench Set Wrenches Sets: 4-Piece 6View on Amazon
  8. 8WORKPRO 4-Piece Wide Jaw Adjustable Wrench SetWORKPRO 4-Piece Wide Jaw Adjustable Wrench SetView on Amazon
  9. 93-Piece Adjustable Wrench Set3-Piece Adjustable Wrench SetView on Amazon

A brake caliper bolt rounds off the moment you grab it with the wrong wrench, and a quick pad swap turns into an afternoon of frustration. Every home garage needs adjustables that actually fit, so this guide compares the best adjustable wrench set options for garage work: five sets scored on what their listings state about sizes, steel, finish and warranty.

An adjustable wrench will never replace a full socket set, but it covers the fasteners your fixed wrenches skip, and it rides in the toolbox for roadside fixes. The five sets below run from three to five wrenches, and the difference between them comes down to the details the listings bother to state.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall IRWIN Vise-Grip 4-Piece: Four wrenches, 6 to 12 in, ProTouch grips, machined jaws, tray, full lifetime guarantee. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 5-Piece Set WORKPRO 5-Piece Set: Five wrenches, 4 to 12 in, stated jaw capacity per wrench, metric and SAE scales. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Comfort Grip Amazon Basics 4-Piece: Soft-grip handles, tapered wide jaws, inch and metric scales, 6 to 12 in. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Wide Jaws CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece: All-steel 3-piece set, wide jaws, large markings, meets or exceeds ASME specs. Check price on Amazon

The picks

IRWIN Vise-Grip Adjustable Wrench Set, SAE/MM

IRWIN Vise-Grip Adjustable Wrench Set, SAE/MM

IRWIN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-piece SAE and metric adjustable wrench set in 6, 8, 10 and 12 inch sizes, with ProTouch grips, machined jaws, a plastic organizer tray, ANSI specifications and a full lifetime guarantee.

Pros

  • ProTouch grips cushion the handle and, per the listing, reduce hand fatigue on long jobs
  • Machined jaws for maximum gripping strength on stubborn fasteners
  • Full lifetime guarantee on defects in material and workmanship, the only stated warranty here
  • Plastic organizer tray keeps the four sizes sorted in a drawer

Cons

  • Jaw capacity figures are not stated for any of the four wrenches
  • No 4 inch wrench in the set for small fasteners
  • The listed set weight is 2.4 pounds
  • Finish is stated only in the spec table, not in the title or bullets
WORKPRO 5 PCS Adjustable Wrench Set, 4", 6", 8"

WORKPRO 5 PCS Adjustable Wrench Set, 4", 6", 8"

WORKPRO9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-piece adjustable wrench set in 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 inch sizes, in heat-treated, drop-forged chrome vanadium steel with a black oxide finish, engraved metric and SAE scales, and a stated jaw capacity for every wrench.

Pros

  • Five wrenches from 4 to 12 inch, the widest size range in this roundup
  • A jaw capacity is stated for each wrench, from 3/4 inch to 1-1/2 inch
  • Metric and SAE scales are engraved on every wrench in the set
  • Heat-treated, drop-forged chrome vanadium steel with a corrosion-resistant finish

Cons

  • The spec table says chrome plated and blue; the title and bullets say black oxide
  • No warranty term is stated anywhere on the listing
  • No storage case, tray or roll is included with the set
  • No set weight is stated on the listing
Amazon Basics 4-Piece Wide Jaw Adjustable Wrench

Amazon Basics 4-Piece Wide Jaw Adjustable Wrench

Amazon Basics9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-piece wide jaw adjustable wrench set in 6, 8, 10 and 12 inch sizes (150 to 300 mm), in drop-forged, heat-treated chrome vanadium steel with bi-color soft-grip handles and inch and metric scales.

Pros

  • Bi-color soft-grip handles cushion long sessions at the bench
  • Wide jaws with a slim head and tapered profile reach tight fasteners
  • Inch and metric scales are printed on each wrench
  • Drop-forged, heat-treated chrome vanadium steel with a corrosion-resistant finish

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • Jaw capacities are not stated for any wrench
  • No 4 inch wrench in the set for small fasteners
  • The set weighs 1.93 kg, listed without a per-wrench breakdown
WORKPRO 4-Piece Adjustable Wrench Set, 6"-12"

WORKPRO 4-Piece Adjustable Wrench Set, 6"-12"

WORKPRO9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-piece adjustable wrench set in 6, 8, 10 and 12 inch sizes, in forged, heat-treated carbon steel with a chrome plated finish, SAE and metric scales, I-beam construction and a 4-sided jaw design.

Pros

  • Forged carbon steel with heat treatment for durability
  • SAE and metric scales on each wrench
  • Four-sided jaw design grips more of the fastener
  • Rugged I-beam handle construction resists flex under load

Cons

  • The spec table says Cr-V steel and black oxide; the title and bullets say carbon steel and chrome plated
  • The spec table lists an 'Optional Quantity' of 5 while the set holds 4 wrenches
  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • Jaw capacities are not stated per wrench
CRAFTSMAN Adjustable Wrench Set

CRAFTSMAN Adjustable Wrench Set

CRAFTSMAN9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-piece all-steel adjustable wrench set with a full polish chrome finish, large size markings and wide opening jaws, listed as meeting or exceeding ASME specifications.

Pros

  • Listed as meeting or exceeding ASME specifications
  • Full polish chrome finish resists corrosion
  • Large markings make size identification quick
  • Wide opening jaws fit larger fasteners

Cons

  • The three wrench sizes are not stated on the listing
  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • Only three wrenches, the smallest set in this roundup
  • Jaw capacities are not stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Pieces Sizes Material Finish Scales Warranty
IRWIN Vise-Grip 4-Piece 9.6/10 4 6, 8, 10, 12 in Chrome vanadium Powder coated SAE and metric Full Lifetime Guarantee
WORKPRO 5-Piece Set 9.5/10 5 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 in Chrome vanadium Black oxide Metric and SAE Not stated
Amazon Basics 4-Piece 9.5/10 4 6, 8, 10, 12 in (150 to 300 mm) Cr-V steel Corrosion-resistant Inch and metric Not stated
WORKPRO 4-Piece Set 9.4/10 4 6, 8, 10, 12 in Carbon steel Chrome plated SAE and metric Not stated
CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece 9.4/10 3 Not stated Alloy steel Full polish chrome Metric and SAE Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each wrench set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The IRWIN and Craftsman sets score above zero on safety because their listings cite ANSI and ASME specifications; the other three state no safety listing and score zero there. Only the IRWIN set states a warranty term, a full lifetime guarantee, so the rest score zero on warranty.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
IRWIN Vise-Grip 4-Piece 9.6 29 21 20 2 5
WORKPRO 5-Piece Set 9.5 32 22 21 0 0
Amazon Basics 4-Piece 9.5 29 21 21 0 0
WORKPRO 4-Piece Set 9.4 28 20 20 0 0
CRAFTSMAN 3-Piece 9.4 24 19 19 2 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Five listings, five sets of three to five wrenches, all spanning 6 inch to 12 inch, with the 5-piece set adding a 4 inch. Three of the five state forged or drop-forged construction. Two cite industry specifications: ASME on the Craftsman set and ANSI on the IRWIN set. Only one listing, IRWIN, states a warranty term, a full lifetime guarantee.

Two listings, both WORKPRO, contradict their own spec tables on material and finish, while the Amazon Basics listing is the most consistent of the five. Jaw capacity per wrench is stated only on the WORKPRO 5-piece set; the others give a single figure or none. Grips are the other split: three sets describe comfort handles, and two say nothing about the grip at all.

How to choose the best adjustable wrench set

Set range: which sizes you get

Every set here covers 6 inch to 12 inch, and the WORKPRO 5-piece adds a 4 inch for small fasteners. If your work is mostly brake and suspension hardware, the standard four-size spread is enough; if you also turn small fasteners on mowers and bicycles, the 5-piece set earns its place. For how adjustables fit beside fixed wrenches, see our open end vs box end wrench comparison.

Jaw capacity and scales

Jaw capacity tells you the largest fastener each wrench opens around, and the WORKPRO 5-piece is the only set here that states it per wrench, from 3/4 inch on the 4 inch wrench to 1-1/2 inch on the 12 inch wrench, each with a metric equivalent. All five sets carry SAE and metric scales, so check the scale before you set the jaw and you will not guess at the fit. A set that states neither is asking you to trust the photos, and you should not.

Steel and finish

Four of the five sets state chrome vanadium or carbon steel, and the Craftsman set states alloy steel; three describe the steel as forged or drop-forged, which is the construction detail that matters most for a wrench that takes leverage. Finishes run from black oxide to chrome plated to a corrosion-resistant coating, and four of the five claim a corrosion-resistant finish. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table: both WORKPRO listings contradict their own tables on material and finish, and the title and bullets are the safer read.

Handles and adjustment

The adjustment is the same idea everywhere: a worm gear drives a sliding jaw, and the listings that describe it call it a precision-machined slide jaw and worm gear. What differs is the handle: soft-grip covers on the Amazon Basics set, ProTouch grips on the IRWIN set, contoured rubber covers on the WORKPRO 5-piece, and polished chrome over all steel on the Craftsman set. If you turn wrenches for hours at a stretch, the grip matters as much as the steel, and a slim head with tapered jaws reaches fasteners that a fat head cannot.

Warranty and stated standards

Only the IRWIN set states a warranty, a full lifetime guarantee on defects in material and workmanship. The Craftsman set cites ASME specifications and the IRWIN set cites ANSI specifications; the other three cite no standard at all. A stated standard or warranty is the closest thing to accountability a listing offers, so weigh them when the steel looks similar. A set with no stated warranty is not a bad set, it is just a set whose maker wrote less down.

Reading the listing like a mechanic

Two of these listings contradict their own spec tables, and both are WORKPRO sets: one table says Cr-V steel and black oxide where the title and bullets say carbon steel and chrome plated, and the other says chrome plated and blue where the title and bullets say black oxide. The title and bullets are written for the buyer; the spec table is often filled in by a template. When the two disagree, believe the title and bullets, and mark the listing down for making you choose.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the SAE and metric scales on each wrench before the first job, so the jaw setting matches the fastener.
  • Hang the set by the hook holes or lay it flat in a drawer; the IRWIN set includes a plastic tray that keeps the four sizes sorted.
  • The largest wrench in each set has a 12 inch handle, so clear enough bench space for the handle to swing free.
  • Keep the slide jaw and worm gear free of grit so the adjustment stays smooth between jobs.
  • Seat the jaws square on the fastener before you pull; an adjustable wrench grips on two flat faces, and a crooked seat is what rounds bolts.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an adjustable wrench?

An adjustable wrench is a hand tool with one fixed jaw and one sliding jaw that opens and closes to fit different fastener sizes, so one wrench covers a range instead of a single size. The sets here span 4 inch to 12 inch across three to five wrenches, which is why they live in almost every home toolbox.

How does an adjustable wrench work?

A knurled wheel, the worm gear, moves the sliding jaw along the handle. You open the jaws, seat them squarely on the fastener, then snug the wheel so both jaws grip before you pull. Several listings here describe the mechanism as a precision-machined slide jaw and worm gear, which is the part to keep clean.

How do you fix a stiff adjustable wrench?

Clear grit from the slide jaw and worm gear area, then work the adjustment open and closed until it moves freely; most stiffness comes from debris in the mechanism. If the jaws slip under load or the wheel no longer holds its setting, the wrench is worn out. Only the IRWIN set here states a warranty, a full lifetime guarantee.

What size adjustable wrench should I buy?

Match the set to your fasteners. The sets here run from 4 inch to 12 inch, and the WORKPRO 5-piece states jaw capacities from 3/4 inch to 1-1/2 inch across its five wrenches, so compare the stated sizes in the table above before you decide. A 4-piece set in 6 to 12 inch covers most garage work; add the 5-piece set when small fasteners are a regular part of your week.

Related: the best wrench set for beginners, the ratchet vs torque wrench comparison and our engine and shop equipment hub. Also see our open end vs box end wrench. Also see our best ratchet wrench set for beginners. Also see our best hex key set. Also see our socket set vs mechanic tool set. Also see our best tool cabinets for small garage. Also see our best tool chest for beginners. Also see our steel vs aluminum tool chest. Also see our best tool cart for home mechanics. Also see our best tool bag for mobile mechanic. Also see our roll up vs rolling tool bag. Also see our oil filter cutter vs oil filter wrench. Also see our best wrench set for motorcycles. Also see our best torque wrench for cylinder heads. Also see our best torque wrench for trucks. Also see our best dead blow hammer. Also see our best bench vise for auto shop. Also see our best bench vise for metal fabrication.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…