Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Clamp Meter for Car Electrical (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five clamp meters for car electrical work, compared by AC/DC current, counts, NCV detection, CAT rating and warranty, ranked by Shop Score.

Best Clamp Meter for Car Electrical (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1KAIWEETS HT206DBest OverallKAIWEETS HT206D9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2FNIRSI DMC-100Best for DC CurrentFNIRSI DMC-1009.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Klein Tools CL120Best KitKlein Tools CL1209.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4AstroAI CM2K0RBest Simple PickAstroAI CM2K0R9.4/10View on Amazon

A car that cranks slow on a cold morning or a battery that goes flat overnight points at the charging system, and the fastest way to narrow it down is to measure current without breaking the circuit. That is the job for the best clamp meter for car electrical work: a meter that clamps around one wire and reads the current flowing through it, with leads for voltage and the rest of the checks a car asks for. This guide compares five meters by AC/DC current, counts, NCV detection, safety rating and warranty.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall KAIWEETS HT206D: True-RMS AC/DC current and voltage, 6000 counts and CAT III 600V. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for DC Current FNIRSI DMC-100: 600A AC/DC current, 2 in TFT display, graph recording, rechargeable. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Kit Klein Tools CL120: Auto-ranging 400 Amp AC clamp with case, leads and 3 AAA batteries. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Pick AstroAI CM2K0R: 2000 counts, CAT III 600V, NCV alarms and a flashlight. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

KAIWEETS HT206D Digital Clamp Meter T-RMS 6000

KAIWEETS HT206D Digital Clamp Meter T-RMS 6000

KAIWEETS9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A True-RMS clamp meter with 6000 counts that reads AC/DC current and voltage plus temperature, with LowZ, a low pass filter, NCV and a CAT III 600V rating.

Pros

  • Reads AC/DC current and voltage, plus temperature
  • True-RMS with LowZ and a low pass filter
  • IEC 61010-1, CAT III 600V, double insulation
  • 36 months product service stated

Cons

  • No carrying case or bag stated
  • No graph recording or data storage stated
  • 6000 counts, below the FNIRSI listing
  • Battery type and count not stated
FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter 9999 Counts TRMS

FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter 9999 Counts TRMS

FNIRSI9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A TRMS clamp meter with a 2 in TFT display and real-time curve recording that reads AC/DC current up to 600A, with a rechargeable battery and NCV detection.

Pros

  • AC/DC current up to 600A with TRMS
  • Real-time curve recording with 8 sets of live data and 30 sets of history
  • 2 in TFT display with 10-level brightness and dark and light themes
  • Rechargeable 1500mAh battery with Type-C charging

Cons

  • Title says 9999 counts, bullets say 10000 counts
  • Dimensions differ between the spec table and the Size field
  • No safety standard stated
  • No warranty term stated
Klein Tools CL120 Digital Clamp Meter

Klein Tools CL120 Digital Clamp Meter

KLEIN TOOLS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 400 Amp AC auto-ranging clamp meter with AC/DC voltage, resistance and continuity through the leads, NCV in the jaw, a backlit display and a full kit of case, leads and batteries.

Pros

  • Auto-ranging 400 Amp AC clamp with NCV in the jaw
  • Backlit LCD with Max and Data Hold
  • Leads with CAT III/CAT IV safety caps included
  • Carrying case, leads and 3 AAA batteries included

Cons

  • Clamp reads AC current only, not DC current
  • No count figure stated
  • No warranty term stated, maker website only
  • Magnetic hanger is optional, not included
AstroAI Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter 2000 Counts

AstroAI Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter 2000 Counts

AstroAI9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2000 count auto-ranging clamp meter with AC/DC voltage, AC current, capacitance, resistance and continuity, NCV with sound and light alarms, a backlit screen and a flashlight.

Pros

  • Auto-ranging 2000 count meter
  • NCV with sound and light alarms
  • Backlit screen, flashlight and continuity buzzer
  • CAT III 600V safety standard stated

Cons

  • Cannot read DC current
  • 2000 counts, the lowest stated here
  • No warranty term stated
  • No carrying case stated
ANENG Digital Clamp Meter,Multimeter Tester,4000

ANENG Digital Clamp Meter,Multimeter Tester,4000

ANENG9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4000 count clamp meter with AC current, AC/DC voltage, capacitance, resistance, diode and frequency checks, NCV detection and double open jaws for wire up to 1.42 in.

Pros

  • 4000 counts with AC/DC voltage and frequency
  • Double open jaws take wire up to 1.42 in
  • NCV detection switched from any range
  • Full kit: leads, clips, probes, bag and 2 AAA batteries

Cons

  • Clamp reads AC current only, not DC current
  • No safety standard stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Spec table size and weight figures do not line up with a handheld meter

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Counts Current Voltage NCV Safety Warranty
KAIWEETS HT206D 9.7/10 6000 AC/DC AC/DC Yes IEC 61010-1, CAT III 600V 36 months service
FNIRSI DMC-100 9.6/10 9999 title, 10000 bullets AC/DC to 600A AC/DC Yes Not stated Not stated
Klein Tools CL120 9.5/10 Not stated 400 Amp AC AC/DC Yes CAT III/CAT IV caps Not stated
AstroAI CM2K0R 9.4/10 2000 AC only AC/DC Yes CAT III 600V Not stated
ANENG ST181 9.3/10 4000 AC only AC/DC Yes Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 5 November 2026.

How the points were given

Each meter is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. A stated safety standard earns safety points, and a stated warranty term earns warranty points; where the listing states neither, those points stay at zero.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
KAIWEETS HT206D 9.7 29 21 20 8 3
FNIRSI DMC-100 9.6 33 22 21 0 0
Klein Tools CL120 9.5 24 20 19 7 0
AstroAI CM2K0R 9.4 24 19 19 7 0
ANENG ST181 9.3 23 18 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Five listings were read. All five state NCV detection. Two state AC/DC current through the clamp, while the other three state AC current only. One states a warranty term, and three state a safety standard. Two listings contradict themselves: the FNIRSI listing states 9999 counts in the title and 10000 in the bullets, with dimensions that differ between the spec table and the Size field, and the ANENG spec table lists a size and weight that do not line up with the handheld meter the bullets describe.

Buying guide: the best clamp meter for car electrical

AC current or DC current

Car circuits run on DC power, so a clamp that reads DC current covers more car jobs. The KAIWEETS and FNIRSI listings state AC/DC current through the clamp, while the Klein, AstroAI and ANENG listings state AC current only.

Counts

The listings state 2000, 4000, 6000 and 9999 counts, with the FNIRSI bullets stating 10000. The Klein listing states no count figure. Treat the FNIRSI figure with care, since the title and the bullets disagree.

NCV and leads

All five meters state NCV detection for a quick check that voltage is present without touching a wire. Voltage measurement still needs the leads: the FNIRSI listing states voltage measurement must be performed with the leads, and the Klein meter reads voltage, resistance and continuity through the leads.

Safety ratings

Look for a stated rating. CAT III 600V is stated on the AstroAI and KAIWEETS listings, IEC 61010-1 on the KAIWEETS, and CAT III/CAT IV safety caps on the Klein leads. For household circuits, use a licensed electrician.

Batteries and shut-off

Three meters run on AAA batteries: 3 in the Klein box and 2 each in the AstroAI and ANENG kits. The FNIRSI charges over Type-C from a built-in 1500mAh lithium battery. The Klein powers off after 10 minutes and the KAIWEETS after 15 minutes of inactivity.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the jaw fits the wire: the ANENG jaws take wire up to 1.42 in, and the KAIWEETS listing states to clamp around one wire, not the whole power cord.
  • Power: three meters run on AAA batteries, while the FNIRSI charges over Type-C.
  • Storage: the Klein listing includes a carrying case and the ANENG kit includes a storage bag; the other three state no case or bag.
  • Bench space: the Klein, KAIWEETS, AstroAI and FNIRSI listings state lengths from 7.5 in to 8.46 in.
  • Before the first job, confirm the box holds the leads and batteries the listing states.

FAQ: garage tools

Can a clamp meter read DC current on a car?

Two of the five state AC/DC current through the clamp: the KAIWEETS HT206D and the FNIRSI DMC-100. The Klein, AstroAI and ANENG listings state AC current only through the clamp.

What do the counts on a clamp meter mean?

Counts are the figure each listing states: 2000 on the AstroAI, 4000 on the ANENG, 6000 on the KAIWEETS and 9999 in the FNIRSI title against 10000 in its bullets. The Klein listing states no count figure.

Do I still need the leads?

Yes for voltage: the FNIRSI listing states voltage measurement must be performed with the leads, and the Klein meter reads voltage, resistance and continuity through the leads.

What safety rating should a clamp meter have?

Look for a stated rating: CAT III 600V is stated on the AstroAI and KAIWEETS listings, IEC 61010-1 on the KAIWEETS, and CAT III/CAT IV safety caps on the Klein leads. For household circuits, use a licensed electrician.

Which meter is the best clamp meter for car electrical?

The KAIWEETS HT206D ranks first here: it reads AC/DC current and voltage, states a safety standard and 36 months product service. The FNIRSI DMC-100 follows for its 600A AC/DC range and graph recording.

Related: the best automotive multimeter, the best OBD2 scanner for DIY, what OBD2 codes mean, how to choose an OBD2 scanner, the best battery charger maintainer, the best jump starter and our diagnostics and electrical hub.

More buying guides

Diagnostics and Electrical ·

Best Ac Recharge Kit with Stop Leak (2026)

5 AC recharge kits with stop leak compared by cans, refrigerant type, gauge and hose, from a 5-can R134a kit to a 24-inch hose…

Diagnostics and Electrical ·

Best Vacuum Gauge with Valve (2026)

Four vacuum gauges and kits compared by range, dial, mount, case and warranty, from a glycerin-filled CARBO with ASME Grade A accuracy to a…