Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Cordless Drill for Auto Mechanics (2026): 5 Picks

Five cordless drills for auto mechanics compared on torque, clutch settings, speed, batteries and kit contents.

Best Cordless Drill for Auto Mechanics (2026): 5 Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1B+D 100-Pc Drill KitBest OverallB+D 100-Pc Drill Kit9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2B+D LD120VA DrillAlso StrongB+D LD120VA Drill9.4/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Rivlox 20V Drill KitMost TorqueRivlox 20V Drill Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4FADAKWALT 20V DrillValue 20VFADAKWALT 20V Drill9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5DEKOPRO 12V 238-Pc KitToolbox KitDEKOPRO 12V 238-Pc Kit9.3/10View on Amazon
  6. 6BLACK+DECKER 8V MAX Cordless Drill/DriverBLACK+DECKER 8V MAX Cordless Drill/DriverView on Amazon
  7. 7Cordless Drill SetCordless Drill SetView on Amazon

The best cordless drill for auto mechanics is not the one with the biggest battery or the most bits: it is the one that fits in the engine bay, drives screws without stripping them and comes with the bits the job actually needs. The five drills here are all battery powered, 12V or 20V, with torque ratings from 30 N.m to 35 N.m or 300 in-lb where stated, clutch settings from 21+1 to 24 positions, and kits from 30 to 238 pieces.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall B+D 100-Pc Drill Kit: 100-piece 20V kit with 24-position clutch, 2 speeds and a 2 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Also Strong B+D LD120VA Drill: 300 in-lb with 24-position clutch, 30-piece bit set and 2 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Torque Rivlox 20V Drill Kit: 35 N.m with 21+1 clutch, two 2.0Ah batteries and 34 accessories. Check price on Amazon
  • Value 20V FADAKWALT 20V Drill: 30 N.m with 21+1 clutch, keyless chuck, LED and bits kit. Check price on Amazon
  • Toolbox Kit DEKOPRO 12V 238-Pc Kit: 238-piece 12V kit with drawer case and type-C charger. Check price on Amazon

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill

BLACK+DECKER9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V MAX cordless drill driver kit with a 100-piece bit set and sockets, 24-position clutch, 2 speeds, 1.5Ah POWERCONNECT battery and a stated 2 year warranty.

Pros

  • 100-piece kit with bits and sockets
  • 24-position clutch for control
  • 2 speeds, up to 1700 rpm stated
  • 2 year warranty stated

Cons

  • Torque figure is contradictory, not counted
  • Speed lines contradict: 650 vs 1700 rpm
  • One 1.5Ah battery only
  • 6.1 lb kit weight
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill

BLACK+DECKER9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V MAX cordless drill driver with 300 in-lb torque, a 24-position clutch, 2 speeds to 750 rpm, a 1.5Ah battery and a 30-piece bit set, with a stated 2 year warranty.

Pros

  • 300 in-lb torque stated
  • 24-position clutch for control
  • 30-piece bit set with nut drivers
  • 2 year warranty stated

Cons

  • One 1.5Ah battery only
  • 750 rpm maximum speed
  • 10mm chuck, no larger stated
  • Basic drill type per listing
20V Cordless Drill Set,Electric Power Drill

20V Cordless Drill Set,Electric Power Drill

Rivlox9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V cordless drill with 35 N.m torque, 21+1 clutch settings, 2 speeds to 1800 rpm, two 2.0Ah batteries, 34 accessories and a built-in LED.

Pros

  • 35 N.m torque, the highest stated here
  • Two 2.0Ah batteries included
  • 21+1 clutch settings with 2 speeds
  • Built-in LED and 34 accessories

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety listing is stated
  • Plastic body per spec table
  • 10mm drilling capacity stated for wood and metal
FADAKWALT Cordless Drill Set

FADAKWALT Cordless Drill Set

FADAKWALT9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V cordless drill with 30 N.m torque, 21+1 clutch settings, a 3/8-inch keyless chuck, 650 rpm, an LED light and a driver bits kit.

Pros

  • 30 N.m torque stated in bullets
  • 21+1 clutch settings
  • 3/8-inch keyless chuck stated
  • LED light and bits kit included

Cons

  • 650 rpm maximum speed
  • Spec table contradicts torque as 30 in-lb
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Plastic body per spec table
Tool Kit Box Drill Set:DEKOPRO Home Mechanic

Tool Kit Box Drill Set:DEKOPRO Home Mechanic

DEKOPRO9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 238-piece home mechanic toolbox with a 12V cordless drill, 1.5Ah battery, 800 rpm, type-C charger, hand tools and a drawer storage case.

Pros

  • 238-piece kit with drill and hand tools
  • Drawer storage case with organizer
  • Type-C charger stated
  • 1.5 hour full charge stated

Cons

  • 12V, the lowest voltage here
  • 800 rpm single speed stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 15.9 lb kit weight

More options to compare

Compare the drills

Model Score Voltage Torque Clutch Speed Batteries Warranty
B+D 100-Pc Drill Kit 9.5/10 20V Not stated 24 positions 1700 rpm One 1.5Ah 2 year
B+D LD120VA Drill 9.4/10 20V 300 in-lb 24 positions 750 rpm One 1.5Ah 2 year
Rivlox 20V Drill Kit 9.4/10 20V 35 N.m 21+1 1800 rpm Two 2.0Ah Not stated
FADAKWALT 20V Drill 9.4/10 20V 30 N.m 21+1 650 rpm One 1.5Ah Not stated
DEKOPRO 12V 238-Pc Kit 9.3/10 12V Not stated Not stated 800 rpm One 1.5Ah Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, the table shows both.

The five drills

How we scored them

Each drill is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
B+D 100-Pc Drill Kit 9.5 27 20 21 0 2
B+D LD120VA Drill 9.4 27 20 20 0 2
Rivlox 20V Drill Kit 9.4 29 20 21 0 0
FADAKWALT 20V Drill 9.4 28 20 20 0 0
DEKOPRO 12V 238-Pc Kit 9.3 23 19 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Best cordless drill for auto mechanics: buying advice

Torque and clutch settings

Torque is the headline: the Rivlox states 35 N.m, the FADAKWALT 30 N.m in the bullets, and the BLACK+DECKER LD120VA 300 in-lb. The BDC120VA100 kit states no torque in the bullets or title, and its spec table contradicts itself between 150 and 300 in-lb, so no torque figure is counted for it. The clutch matters as much as the torque: the two BLACK+DECKER drills state a 24-position clutch and the Rivlox and FADAKWALT 21+1 settings, which is what keeps screws from stripping in trim panels and interior fasteners. For garage work, a clutch you can dial is worth more than raw torque.

Speed, chuck and batteries

All five are two-speed or single-speed drills with 10mm chucks stated on three of them. The Rivlox states up to 1800 rpm, the BDC120VA100 up to 1700 rpm in the speed line against a 650 rpm maximum line, the LD120VA 750 rpm and the DEKOPRO 800 rpm. Batteries split the field: the Rivlox ships two 2.0Ah batteries, the rest ship one 1.5Ah battery. The BLACK+DECKER drills use the POWERCONNECT system, so one battery fits the maker’s other 20V tools. The DEKOPRO is the only 12V drill here, which is lighter duty than the 20V picks.

Kits and what ships in the box

The kits run from 30 to 238 pieces. The DEKOPRO is a 238-piece home mechanic toolbox with the 12V drill, screwdrivers, wrenches, a hammer and a storage drawer case at a stated 15.9 lb. The BDC120VA100 is a 100-piece kit with the drill, battery, charger and a wide bit assortment. The Rivlox ships 34 accessories with a tough case, the FADAKWALT a driver bits kit with a magnetic flexible shaft and extension bar, and the LD120VA a 30-piece bit set with nut drivers and a magnetic bit tip holder. If you already own bits, the bare drill matters more than the count; if you are starting out, the kit is the value.

Chuck size and drilling capacity

Four drills state a 10mm chuck: the Rivlox, the FADAKWALT (3/8-inch keyless), the LD120VA and the BDC120VA100. That covers the common twist bits and drivers for garage work; the DEKOPRO states no chuck size. Drilling capacity is stated on three: the Rivlox lists 10mm in wood and metal, the BDC120VA100 10mm in wood and 8mm in metal, and the LD120VA 0.39 in in wood. The FADAKWALT bullets name wood, ceramics, plastics and metal as materials without a capacity figure. If you drill metal often, the stated metal capacity is the figure to compare, not the chuck size.

Batteries, charging and platforms

Four drills ship one 1.5Ah lithium-ion battery; only the Rivlox ships two 2.0Ah batteries with a US charger, which is the best battery story here and the reason it also tops the torque ranking. The BLACK+DECKER drills run the POWERCONNECT system, so one battery fits the maker’s other 20V tools, and the LD120VA listing states the battery holds a charge up to 18 months. The DEKOPRO is the charging outlier with a type-C charger and a stated 1.5 hour full charge; its runtime claims of 1 to 3 hours, or 5 to 6 hours for normal household work, are the maker’s figures. For garage use, two batteries beat one: one on the drill, one on the charger.

Size, weight and the warranty line

The LD120VA measures 8.94 x 7.75 x 4 in with a soft grip handle, the compact pick for tight spots like inner fenders. The Rivlox and FADAKWALT both measure 7.5 x 8.5 x 3 in. Kit weights: the BDC120VA100 is 6.1 lb for the 100-piece kit, the DEKOPRO 15.9 lb for the 238-piece drawer case. On warranty, the line is clean: both BLACK+DECKER drills state a 2 year warranty, and the DEKOPRO, FADAKWALT and Rivlox state no warranty term. A stated warranty will not fix a stripped screw, but it tells you which makers put terms behind the tool.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • The DEKOPRO kit is 15.9 lb with the drawer case; plan a bench or shelf spot.
  • The BDC120VA100 kit is 6.1 lb; the drills themselves are compact 10mm-chuck units.
  • Charge every battery before the first use and keep a spare on the charger; the Rivlox ships two 2.0Ah packs.
  • Wear eye protection when drilling metal, and clamp the work before the bit bites.

Frequently Asked Questions

What torque do I need for auto work?

The Rivlox states 35 N.m, the FADAKWALT 30 N.m and the LD120VA 300 in-lb. For screws and trim, the clutch setting matters more than the maximum torque.

Is 12V enough, or do I need 20V?

Four of the five are 20V; the DEKOPRO is 12V with an 800 rpm single speed. For general garage work the 20V drills give the margin.

Which of these state a warranty?

Both BLACK+DECKER drills state a 2 year warranty. The DEKOPRO, FADAKWALT and Rivlox state no warranty term.

Which kit is the most complete?

The DEKOPRO at 238 pieces, a full toolbox with the drill. The BDC120VA100 is a 100-piece drill and bit kit.

Do any of these have an LED light?

The Rivlox and FADAKWALT state a built-in LED for dark spots. The others state none.

Related: 18V vs 20V impact wrench, air ratchet vs cordless ratchet, brushless vs brushed impact wrench and corded vs cordless die grinder.

More buying guides

Cordless Tools ·

Best Impact Driver Under $100 (2026)

Five cordless impact drivers under $100 compared on torque, speed, kit contents and the warranty each listing states.