Best Cordless Impact Wrench (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Cordless impact wrenches compared by torque, drive, speeds, kit contents and warranty, from a complete kit to bare tools.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallDEWALT DCF900P19.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best KitAVID POWER ACIW3019.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Dual DriveCloudDream Ratchet-79.4/10View on Amazon - 4
MILWAUKEE'S Mid-Torque Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 5
FUEL Cordless High Torque 3/4" Impact Wrench with ONEKEYView on Amazon - 6
Ingersoll Rand W5133 3/8" Drive Cordless Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 7
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 8
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upView on Amazon
A lug nut that will not move, a rusted bolt under a truck, and a wheel change in a driveway all need the same thing: leverage without a cord in the way. This guide compares the best cordless impact wrench picks by torque, drive, speeds, kit contents and warranty, using only what each listing states.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall DEWALT DCF900P1: 1030 ft-lbs fastening and 1400 ft-lbs breakaway torque, 4-mode kit Check price on Amazon
- Best Kit AVID POWER ACIW301: 332 ft-lbs kit with battery, charger, 4 sockets and bag Check price on Amazon
- Best Dual Drive CloudDream Ratchet-7: 369 ft-lbs with 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch drives, no battery Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

AVID POWER Cordless Impact Wrench/Gun Kit 1/2 inch
A 20 volt cordless impact wrench kit with 332 ft-lbs of torque, 2 speeds, a 2.0 Ah battery, 4 sockets, a charger and a tool bag for tire changes and lug nut removal.
Pros
- 332 ft-lbs of torque from a brushless motor
- 2 speeds at 0-1900/2600 RPM with an LED light
- Brake Stop function so a nut does not fall off easily in reverse
- Kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery, charger, 4 sockets and a tool bag
Cons
- Torque is lower than the other full-data picks here
- Speed is not adjustable in reverse rotation, per the listing note
- Battery is 2.0 Ah, smaller than the 4Ah or higher battery recommended for another pick
- No warranty term is stated

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Impact Wrench (DCF900P1)
A 20V MAX 1/2 in high-torque impact wrench with 1,030 ft-lb of fastening and 1,400 ft-lb of breakaway torque, sold with battery, charger and bag.
Pros
- Separates fastening (1,030 ft-lb) from breakaway (1,400 ft-lb) torque
- 4 speed modes and precision wrench control against overtightening
- Battery, charger and kit bag included
- 3 year limited warranty
Cons
- Heavy for a cordless tool; the kit listing gives 11 lb
- Far more torque than car lug nuts need
- Easy to overtighten in the top mode
- No safety listing stated

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Impact Wrench
A high-torque 20V cordless 1/2-inch impact wrench delivering 1,030 ft-lbs fastening torque and 1,400 ft-lbs breakaway torque with 4 speed modes and a hog ring anvil.
Pros
- 1,030 ft-lbs max fastening torque and 1,400 ft-lbs max breakaway torque
- 4-mode speed settings with variable speed trigger and Precision Wrench control
- Battery guard shock-absorbing connection to reduce battery wear
- 3-year limited warranty covering materials and workmanship
Cons
- Bare tool: 20V battery and charger sold separately
- 6.4 lb bare tool weight without battery pack
- 8.43 inches long, bulkier in tight engine bays than compact models
- No safety listing stated on the Amazon listing

1/2" Cordless Impact Wrench Compatible with DeWalt
A cordless impact wrench with 369 ft-lbs of torque, a dual 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch drive, and a hog ring anvil, sold without a battery.
Pros
- 369 ft-lbs of torque from a brushless motor
- Dual drive: 1/2 inch square drive and 1/4 inch hex chuck
- Hog ring anvil for sockets and accessories
- LED light and an ergonomic handle
Cons
- No battery is included, and the listing recommends a 4Ah or higher battery
- Title says 2-speed while a bullet says 3 speed modes, so speed count is unclear
- Spec table gives 21 volts while compatibility is with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries
- No warranty term is stated

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 3/8" Compact Impact Wrench
A compact 3/8 in cordless impact wrench delivering up to 250 ft-lbs of nut-busting torque with a 4.8 in head length.
Pros
- Delivers up to 250 ft-lbs of nut-busting torque
- Very compact 4.8 in overall length
- 4-Mode DRIVE CONTROL includes 20 ft-lb auto shut-off mode
- Tri-LED lighting surrounds the 3/8 in anvil
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table contradicts bullets by listing torque as only 20 ft-lb
- Tool weight is not stated in the listing
- Bare tool only, battery and charger not included
Other tools worth a look
MILWAUKEE'S Mid-Torque Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
FUEL Cordless High Torque 3/4" Impact Wrench with ONEKEYCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand W5133 3/8" Drive Cordless Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upCheck price on Amazon
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Drive | Max torque | Speeds | Battery included | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT DCF900P1 | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 1030 ft-lbs fastening, 1400 ft-lbs breakaway | 4-mode | Included | 3 Year Limited Warranty |
| AVID POWER ACIW301 | 9.6/10 | 1/2 inch | 332 ft-lbs | 2 speeds, 0-1900/2600 RPM | 2.0 Ah battery included | Not stated |
| CloudDream Ratchet-7 | 9.4/10 | 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch | 369 ft-lbs | 2-speed in title, 3 speed modes in bullet | Not included | Not stated |
| DEWALT DCF900B | 9.6/10 | 1/2 inch | Not stated | 4-speed | Not included | Not stated |
| Milwaukee M18 FUEL 3/8 | 9.4/10 | 3/8 inch | Not stated | Not stated | No battery, no charger | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
The Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Two picks score on safety, and one states a warranty term, while the title-only picks score low because the listing gives almost no figures. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVID POWER ACIW301 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| CloudDream Ratchet-7 | 9.4 | 30 | 20 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
Three of the five listings state a torque figure, and two give almost no figures beyond the title. Only one listing states a warranty term, and only one kit here states a full set of sockets in the box. Speed counts also need care: one listing calls itself 2-speed in the title and states 3 speed modes in a bullet, so both figures are shown in the table.
Buying guide: best cordless impact wrench
Torque and breakaway
Fastening torque and breakaway torque are different figures, so compare like with like. The DEWALT DCF900P1 listing gives both, at 1030 ft-lbs of max fastening torque and 1400 ft-lbs of max breakaway torque, while the AVID POWER and CloudDream listings give a single max torque figure. A higher figure does not by itself mean a better fit for small fasteners, where control matters more.
Drive size
Drive size decides which sockets fit without an adapter. The AVID POWER and DEWALT DCF900B picks are 1/2 inch, the Milwaukee pick is 3/8 inch, and the CloudDream pick adds a 1/4 inch hex chuck beside its 1/2 inch square drive. Check the drive before buying sockets, since the DCF900P1 listing does not state a drive size.
Speeds and control
More speed settings give finer control, and precision control helps prevent overtightening and fastener run-off on the DEWALT pick. The AVID POWER pick gives 2 speeds at 0-1900/2600 RPM, and its listing notes that speed is not adjustable in reverse rotation. For the CloudDream pick, read both speed figures, since the title and a bullet disagree.
Kit or bare tool
A kit saves a second purchase, while a bare tool only makes sense if a compatible battery is already in the garage. The AVID POWER kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery, charger, 4 sockets and a tool bag, and the DEWALT DCF900P1 kit includes a battery, charger and kit bag. The CloudDream, DCF900B and Milwaukee picks are sold without a battery, so check compatibility first. See lug wrench vs impact wrench for when a hand tool is enough.
Battery platform
Staying on one battery platform keeps chargers and spares simple. The CloudDream pick is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, while the DEWALT picks are 20V MAX and the Milwaukee pick is M18 FUEL. Browse all cordless tools lists before adding a new platform.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Space: the AVID POWER pick is 13.98 inches long and the CloudDream pick is 8.5 inches long, so check clearance around wheels and frames.
- Power: check voltage and battery inclusion, since the CloudDream pick includes no battery and recommends a 4Ah or higher battery.
- Storage: a kit bag is stated for the AVID POWER and DEWALT DCF900P1 picks, while bare tools need their own storage.
- Before the first job: check drive size, socket fit and whether the listing states a torque figure for the fasteners in hand.
FAQ: garage tools
What torque do I need for lug nuts?
That depends on the vehicle and the fastener, and no listing here states a vehicle-specific figure, so check the vehicle manual and match it to a stated torque figure.
Does a cordless impact wrench include a battery?
Not always. The AVID POWER and DEWALT DCF900P1 kits include a battery, while the CloudDream, DCF900B and Milwaukee picks are sold without one.
What does breakaway torque mean?
Breakaway torque is the torque stated for loosening a fastener, as distinct from fastening torque for tightening it. The DEWALT DCF900P1 listing states 1400 ft-lbs of max breakaway torque and 1030 ft-lbs of max fastening torque.
Is a 3/8 inch impact wrench enough for cars?
It depends on the fastener and the stated torque, and the Milwaukee 3/8 inch title states no torque figure, so check the fastener size and the listing before buying.
Why do two listings disagree on speed modes?
Because a listing can state one figure in the title and another in a bullet, as the CloudDream listing does with 2-speed in the title and 3 speed modes in a bullet. Both figures are shown, and the listing leaves the count unclear.
Related: the best air compressor for impact wrench under $500, our cordless tools hub and our garage safety notes.




