Best Mini 1/4 Inch Cordless Ratchet (2026)
Four cordless ratchets compared by drive size, torque, speed, battery, kit contents and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best Two-Tool KitACDelco ARW1209-K99.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Best WarrantyMakita XRW01Z9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
M12 FUEL RatchetMilwaukee 2566-209.4/10View on Amazon - 4
40-Piece KitAOBEN 1/4 Ratchet Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
A bolt buried behind an exhaust manifold, a fastener tucked under a dashboard and a nut that only a slim head can reach all ask for the same tool: a small ratchet that spins fasteners without a swing. The best mini 1/4 inch cordless ratchet is that tool, a compact cordless ratchet that turns small fasteners in tight spaces where a full-size ratchet cannot swing. This guide compares four cordless ratchets by drive size, torque, speed, battery and warranty, and two of the four arrive with only a title to judge them by.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.
Quick picks
- Best Two-Tool Kit ACDelco ARW1209-K9: Both 3/8 in and 1/4 in ratchets with a 12V 2.0 Ah battery, charger and canvas bag. Check price on Amazon
- Best Warranty Makita XRW01Z: 3-year limited warranty with interchangeable 3/8 in and 1/4 in anvils and 0-800 RPM. Check price on Amazon
- M12 FUEL Ratchet Milwaukee 2566-20: Brushless M12 FUEL 1/4 in ratchet, tool only, for owners of M12 batteries. Check price on Amazon
- 40-Piece Kit AOBEN 1/4 Ratchet Kit: 40 ft-lb ratchet with a 40-piece set, 2 batteries and a charger in one box. Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

ACDelco G12 Series 12V Cordless Ratchet Combo Kit
A 12V cordless ratchet combo kit with a 3/8 in ratchet at 45 ft-lbs and a 1/4 in ratchet at 30 ft-lbs, one 2.0 Ah battery, a fast charger and a canvas bag.
Pros
- Two ratchets in one kit: 3/8 in and 1/4 in
- 1/4 in ratchet gives 30 ft-lbs at 240 RPM
- Manual hand torque up to 100 ft-lbs for stubborn bolts
- Battery, fast charger and canvas bag included
Cons
- Only one 2.0 Ah battery shared by both tools
- Warranty term of 1 yr only
- 3/8 in ratchet runs at 170 RPM, slower than the 1/4 in model
- Canvas bag holds the kit, with no hard case stated

Makita XRW01Z 18V LXT® Lithium-Ion Cordless 3/8"
An 18V LXT cordless ratchet, tool only, with interchangeable 3/8 in and 1/4 in anvils, 35 ft-lbs of max torque and variable speed from 0-800 RPM.
Pros
- Interchangeable 3/8 in and 1/4 in anvils
- 35 ft-lbs of max torque
- Variable speed from 0-800 RPM
- 3-year limited warranty
Cons
- Tool only, with no battery or charger
- No LED work light stated
- No bag or case stated
- No stated torque for the 1/4 in anvil alone

Milwaukee 2566-20 M12 FUEL Brushless Lithium-Ion
An M12 FUEL brushless 1/4 in cordless high-speed ratchet running at 450 RPM with a powder-coated finish, sold as a bare tool.
Pros
- 450 RPM high-speed ratcheting
- Brushless M12 FUEL motor
- Compact at 1.93 lb
- Powder-coated finish resists wear
Cons
- No torque figure stated on the listing
- Tool only: M12 battery sold separately
- Weight reads 1.93 lb in bullets, 1.8 in table
- No warranty term stated

AOBEN 1/4-Inch Cordless Ratchet Wrench
A 12V 1/4 in cordless ratchet kit with 40 ft-lbs and 280 RPM, 40 pieces including sockets and bits, two batteries, extensions and a spring rod.
Pros
- 40-piece kit with sockets, bits and extensions
- 40 ft-lbs through a compact 1/4 in head
- Two 2000mAh batteries with LED gauge
- Spring rod and universal joint for odd angles
Cons
- Spec table lists 45 N m against 40 ft-lbs in title
- 280 RPM, the slowest here
- 1/4 in drive limits socket choice
- No warranty term stated
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Drive | Torque | Speed | Battery | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACDelco ARW1209-K9 | 9.5/10 | 1/4 in and 3/8 in | 30 ft-lbs (1/4 in), 45 ft-lbs (3/8 in) | 240 RPM (1/4 in), 170 RPM (3/8 in) | 12V 2.0 Ah | Not stated | 1 yr |
| Makita XRW01Z | 9.5/10 | 3/8 in and 1/4 in | 35 ft-lbs | 0-800 RPM | Tool only (no battery) | 2.0 lb | 3-year limited |
| Milwaukee 2566-20 | 9.4/10 | 1/4 in | Not stated | Not stated | Tool only (no battery) | Not stated | Not stated |
| AOBEN 1/4 Ratchet Kit | 9.4/10 | 1/4 in | 40 ft-lb | Not stated | 2 batteries | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are as published on each listing. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
Each ratchet is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights the site publishes on its How We Pick page. No listing here states a UL, ETL or CSA listing, so every ratchet scores zero on safety. Two listings give only a title, so those two score below the full-data picks wherever the listing stays silent.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACDelco ARW1209-K9 | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| Makita XRW01Z | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
This guide covers four cordless ratchet listings. Three state a torque figure, two state a speed, two state a battery and one states a weight. Two carry a warranty with a clear term. Two listings give only a title, with no bullets and no spec table, so the torque, speed and warranty for those two stay unstated.
Buying guide: best mini 1/4 inch cordless ratchet
Drive size
Drive size is the square that takes the socket, and it sets the size of the fasteners the ratchet suits. The ACDelco kit includes both a 3/8 in ratchet and a 1/4 in ratchet, and the Makita swaps between 3/8 in and 1/4 in anvils on one tool, while the Milwaukee and the AOBEN are 1/4 in only. A 1/4 in drive suits precision interior fasteners, and the ACDelco listing pairs its 3/8 in ratchet with heavy-duty engine components. The 3/8 vs 1/4 cordless ratchet comparison covers the two sizes in more depth.
Torque and speed
Torque is the turning force, and speed is how fast the head spins with no load. The ACDelco 1/4 in ratchet gives 30 ft-lbs at 240 RPM and its 3/8 in ratchet gives 45 ft-lbs at 170 RPM, while the Makita gives 35 ft-lbs of max torque with variable speed from 0-800 RPM. Both ACDelco tools also handle manual hand torque up to 100 ft-lbs for breaking loose stubborn bolts. The AOBEN title states 40 ft-lb and the Milwaukee title states no torque figure at all, so those two cannot be ranked on turning force from the listing alone.
Battery or tool only
Two of these listings ship a battery and two do not, and the split matters more than any other line in the guide. The ACDelco kit includes one interchangeable 2.0 Ah battery on the 12V G12 platform, a fast charger and a heavy-duty canvas bag, while the AOBEN kit includes 2 batteries and a charger. The Makita is tool only on the 18V LXT platform and the Milwaukee is tool only on the M12 FUEL platform, so each of those two needs a matching battery before the first job. The 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison covers the voltage split in more depth.
Head and handle
A mini ratchet earns its keep in narrow spaces, so the head shape and the handle matter as much as the torque figure. The ACDelco listing describes an ultra-slim head and a low-profile body for narrow engine bays, chassis areas and deep mechanical compartments, plus a variable speed metal paddle trigger, a built-in LED work light and an ergonomic soft-grip handle that minimizes vibration and fatigue. The Makita adds an electric brake and works as a manual ratchet when the motor is not engaged. The Milwaukee and AOBEN listings state nothing about the head or the handle, so those two cannot be judged on fit from the listing alone.
Warranty
Warranty terms are stated for two of the four ratchets and silent for the other two. The ACDelco carries a 1 yr warranty on material and workmanship, and the Makita carries a 3-year limited warranty. The Milwaukee and AOBEN listings state no warranty at all, so a buyer who wants a stated term should weigh that silence against the kit contents.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Space: the ACDelco listing describes an ultra-slim head and a low-profile body for narrow engine bays, while the Makita measures 14.69 in long as listed, so measure the bay or the compartment before choosing.
- Power: the ACDelco runs on the 12V G12 platform and the Makita on the 18V LXT platform, while the Milwaukee and AOBEN titles state no voltage, so check the platform before buying a bare tool.
- Storage: the ACDelco kit packs into a heavy-duty canvas bag, while the other kits list no bag, so a shelf or a tool bag keeps the ratchet, sockets and charger together.
- Before the first job, check the drive size and the battery: the Makita and the Milwaukee are tool only, so a matching battery is needed, and the ACDelco kit includes both a 3/8 in and a 1/4 in ratchet in one bag.
- Weight: the Makita lists 2.0 lb, while the other listings state no weight, so pick the tool that suits work overhead by the stated figure alone.
FAQ: garage tools
What does 1/4 inch mean on a cordless ratchet?
It is the drive size, the square that takes the socket. A 1/4 in drive suits small fasteners and precision interior work, while a 3/8 in drive suits larger fasteners and heavy-duty engine components. The ACDelco kit includes both sizes, and the Makita swaps between 3/8 in and 1/4 in anvils on one tool.
How much torque do these ratchets give?
The ACDelco 1/4 in ratchet gives 30 ft-lbs and its 3/8 in ratchet gives 45 ft-lbs, with manual hand torque up to 100 ft-lbs for breaking loose stubborn bolts. The Makita gives 35 ft-lbs of max torque, and the AOBEN title states 40 ft-lb. The Milwaukee listing states no torque figure at all.
Do these ratchets come with a battery?
The ACDelco kit includes one interchangeable 2.0 Ah battery and a fast charger, and the AOBEN kit includes 2 batteries and a charger. The Makita and the Milwaukee are tool only, so each needs a matching battery before the first job.
What is the difference between the 1/4 inch and 3/8 inch drive?
The 1/4 in drive takes smaller sockets for precision fasteners, and the 3/8 in drive takes larger sockets for heavier work. The ACDelco listing pairs its 1/4 in ratchet with precision interior fasteners and its 3/8 in ratchet with heavy-duty engine components, and the Makita covers both sizes with interchangeable anvils.
What warranty do these ratchets carry?
The ACDelco carries a 1 yr warranty on material and workmanship, and the Makita carries a 3-year limited warranty. The Milwaukee and AOBEN listings state no warranty at all, so a buyer who wants a stated term should weigh that silence against the kit contents.
Related: the cordless tools hub, the 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison and the 3/8 vs 1/4 cordless ratchet comparison.



