3/8 vs 1/4 Cordless Ratchet: Which One Should You Buy?
A 3/8 in. drive covers the mid-size sockets most garages use, a 1/4 in. drive suits tight spots, and the DEWALT DCF520B swaps between both with interchangeable anvils.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Extended 18V Cordless Electric Ratchet Wrench Set 3/8" Drive9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
3/8" Cordless Ratchet Wrench for Dewalt 20V Battery9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
FULLYEA Cordless Electric Ratchet Wrench Set9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Milwaukee 2457-20 M12 Cordless 3/8" Sub-Compact 35 ft-Lbs 250View on Amazon - 5
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31View on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a 3/8 in. drive if your socket set is mostly 10 to 17mm and your jobs are oil changes, brake jobs and general engine-bay work. Choose a 1/4 in. drive if you spend your time in tight spots on smaller fasteners and want the slimmest head. If you cannot decide, the DEWALT DCF520B swaps between 3/8 in., 1/4 in. square drive and 1/4 in. hex anvils, so it covers both sides.
This 3/8 vs 1/4 cordless ratchet guide starts with a familiar job: the valve cover is back on and now there are bolts to run down, one after another, and doing it by hand gets old fast. A cordless ratchet turns that into trigger work, and the drive size decides which sockets it can spin. This 3/8 vs 1/4 cordless ratchet comparison scores all three listings on what each one states.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Brushless 1/4 in. & 3/8 in.
A 20V MAX XR brushless sealed-head ratchet with interchangeable 3/8 and 1/4 in. anvils, 50 ft-lbs of max torque and up to 450 rpm, sold as a tool only.
Pros
- Interchangeable 3/8 in. and 1/4 in. square drive plus 1/4 in. hex anvil
- 50 ft-lbs of max torque, the highest stated here
- Up to 450 rpm, the highest stated no-load speed here
- Sealed head with trigger lock and built-in LED
Cons
- Tool only: 20V MAX batteries sold separately
- No weight or length stated
- No warranty term stated
- No battery capacity or runtime stated

KIMO Cordless Electric Ratchet Wrench Set
A 12V cordless ratchet kit with 40 ft-lbs of torque, 0 to 400 rpm variable speed, two 2.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, 7 sockets and a 1/4 in. adapter.
Pros
- Two 12V 2.0Ah batteries, fast charger and 7 sockets in the box
- 0 to 400 rpm variable speed trigger for control
- Chrome vanadium steel head, low-profile for tight spaces
- LED light and real-time battery gauge
Cons
- Spec table says pneumatic while title and bullets say cordless electric
- Weight stated as 2.2 lb in bullets and 1.7 lb in the spec table
- Filed on the 1/4 side but the drive head is 3/8 in. with a 1/4 adapter
- No warranty term stated

VESSEL 400ER3 Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet
A slim USB-C rechargeable cordless ratchet made in Japan, with 60 N-m of stated torque, 400 rpm and a 0.25 to 3/8 in. socket adapter included.
Pros
- Slim design with 60 gears for fine movement in narrow spaces
- USB-C rechargeable
- Made in Japan, chrome molybdenum steel ratchet
- 302 g stated weight
Cons
- No battery capacity or runtime stated
- No variable speed stated
- No warranty term stated
- No stated certifications or safety features
More options to compare
Milwaukee 2457-20 M12 Cordless 3/8" Sub-Compact 35 ft-Lbs 250Check price on Amazon
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31Check price on Amazon
Side by side
| DEWALT DCF520B | KIMO 3302 | VESSEL 400ER3 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Drive | Interchangeable 3/8 and 1/4 in. square drive, 1/4 in. hex | 3/8 in. drive head with 1/4 in. adapter | 1/4 in. drive, adapter to 3/8 in. included |
| Max torque | 50 ft-lb | 40 ft-lb | 60 N-m stated |
| No-load speed | Up to 450 rpm | 0 to 400 rpm, variable | 400 rpm |
| Voltage | 20V, tool only (batteries sold separately) | 12V, two batteries and charger included | USB-C rechargeable (capacity not stated) |
| Weight | Not stated | 2.2 lb with battery (bullets); 1.7 lb (spec table) | 302 g |
| Head | Sealed head, forward and reverse switch | Low-profile head, chrome vanadium steel | Slim body, 60 gears |
| Extras | Brushless motor, LED, trigger lock | LED, battery gauge, 7 sockets | Made in Japan, elastomer handle |
| Verdict | Top pick | Runner-up | Slim pick |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026.
3/8 vs 1/4 cordless ratchet: drive size first, brand second
Drive size is the socket interface, not a quality grade. A 3/8 in. drive takes the mid-size sockets most home garages reach for first, and the KIMO kit even includes 7 sockets, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17mm, in the box. A 1/4 in. drive takes smaller sockets and usually comes on a slimmer head for crowded engine bays. The listings here blur the line: the DEWALT, filed on the 3/8 side, ships interchangeable 3/8 in. and 1/4 in. square drive anvils plus a 1/4 in. hex anvil, while the KIMO, filed on the 1/4 side, is actually a 3/8 in. drive head with a 1/4 in. adapter in the box. Read the drive line of each listing, not the side label.
Torque and speed
The DEWALT states the highest max torque here at 50 ft-lbs and the highest no-load speed at up to 450 rpm, with a brushless motor doing the work. The KIMO states 40 ft-lbs with a 0 to 400 rpm variable speed trigger, which the listing pitches as control against stripped threads on delicate fasteners. The VESSEL states 60 N-m and 400 rpm with no variable speed stated. None of the three is an impact wrench: a ratchet runs fasteners down and breaks small ones loose, and the listings stay in that lane.
Battery and voltage
The DEWALT runs on 20V MAX batteries and ships as a tool only, so it assumes you already own batteries on the 20V MAX platform. The KIMO runs on 12V and ships the whole kit: two 2.0Ah lithium batteries, a fast charger, and a stated 40-plus minutes of continuous runtime. The VESSEL recharges over USB-C, which is convenient at the bench, but the listing states no battery capacity and no runtime. If the garage shelf already holds 20V MAX batteries, the DEWALT tool-only box is not a penalty; if this is your first cordless ratchet, the KIMO two-battery kit is the complete answer.
Head size and tight spaces
All three listings talk about access. The DEWALT uses a sealed-head design with the forward and reverse switch placed for easy reach. The KIMO lists a low-profile head meant for engine bays, undercarriages and tight wall frames. The VESSEL is the slim specialist: a slim body, 60 gears for fine movement in narrow spaces, and a stated 302 g weight. For crowded modern engine bays, the VESSEL slim build and the KIMO low-profile head are the stated answers; the DEWALT answers with raw torque instead.
Choose a 3/8 in. drive if
- Your sockets are mostly 10 to 17mm and your jobs are oil changes and brake jobs
- You want the highest stated torque here: 50 ft-lbs on the DEWALT
- You already own 20V MAX batteries
Choose a 1/4 in. drive if
- You work in tight spots on smaller fasteners
- You want the slim specialist: the VESSEL with its slim body and 60 gears
- You want a complete first kit: the KIMO two batteries, charger and sockets
Example ratchets
For more choices, see the best cordless ratchet roundup and the 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- The DEWALT DCF520B is tool only: it needs a DEWALT 20V MAX battery you already own.
- The KIMO 3302 kit includes two 12V 2.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, 7 sockets from 10 to 17mm and a 1/4 in. adapter.
- The VESSEL 400ER3 recharges over USB-C; no battery capacity or runtime is stated.
- For tight engine bays, the KIMO lists a low-profile head and the VESSEL lists a slim body with 60 gears.
- Check the drive before the first job: the KIMO head is 3/8 in. with a 1/4 in. adapter included.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a 3/8 or 1/4 cordless ratchet?
Match the drive to your sockets. A 3/8 in. drive covers the 10 to 17mm range most home garages use for oil changes and brake jobs; a 1/4 in. drive suits smaller fasteners and tighter spaces. The DEWALT DCF520B covers both with interchangeable anvils.
How much torque do I need in a cordless ratchet?
The listings here state 40 to 50 ft-lbs on the 3/8 side and 60 N-m on the VESSEL. A cordless ratchet runs fasteners down quickly; for breaking loose stuck bolts, reach for a breaker bar or an impact wrench instead.
Why does the KIMO spec table say pneumatic?
That is a contradiction inside the listing: the title and bullets describe a 12V cordless electric ratchet with batteries and a charger, while the spec table lists the operation mode as pneumatic. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table.
Does the DEWALT DCF520B come with a battery?
No. The listing states tool only and notes compatibility with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries sold separately.
Which ratchet fits the narrowest spaces?
By stated design, the VESSEL 400ER3 with its slim body and 60 gears, or the KIMO 3302 with its low-profile head. The DEWALT sealed head is compact but the listing states no dimensions.
Related: the best cordless ratchet roundup, the 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison, extended reach vs standard cordless ratchet and cordless ratchet vs impact wrench.






