Best Cordless Ratchet for Brake Jobs (2026): 5 Picks
Five 3/8-inch cordless ratchets for brake jobs compared by stated torque, speed and battery setup, ranked by Shop Score.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Highest torqueShieldPro 20V Ratchet9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Anvil versatilityCRAFTSMAN V20 Ratchet9.4/10View on Amazon - 3
Featherweight pickMilwaukee M12 2567-209.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Kit with batteryMilwaukee M12 2457-21p9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
Full kit pickVEVOR Cordless Ratchet9.4/10View on Amazon - 6
VESSEL 400ER3 Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet CordlessView on Amazon - 7
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31View on Amazon
A brake job is mostly fasteners: caliper bolts, bracket bolts and guide pins, over and over. Best cordless ratchet for brake jobs means enough torque to spin them off, enough speed to make it quick, and a battery setup that does not quit mid-job. The five 3/8-inch ratchets below state 33 to 45 ft-lb of torque, and three of the five include batteries in the box. Here they are ranked by Shop Score, with what each listing actually states.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Highest torque ShieldPro 20V Ratchet: 45 ft-lb and 400 RPM with two 20V batteries and a full socket kit. Check price on Amazon
- Anvil versatility CRAFTSMAN V20 Ratchet: Swaps between 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in anvils; 40 ft-lb, battery sold separately. Check price on Amazon
- Featherweight pick Milwaukee M12 2567-20: Brushless 3/8 in ratchet at 1.8 lb, tool only. Check price on Amazon
- Kit with battery Milwaukee M12 2457-21p: M12 3/8 in ratchet kit with a 12V battery included. Check price on Amazon
- Full kit pick VEVOR Cordless Ratchet: 33 ft-lb kit with two batteries, sockets, adapter and extension bar. Check price on Amazon
The picks

20V Cordless Ratchet Wrench Set
A 20V cordless 3/8-inch ratchet kit with 45 ft-lb of torque, 400 RPM and two batteries.
Pros
- 45 ft-lb max torque, the highest stated here
- 400 RPM, the highest stated speed here
- Two 20V 2.0Ah batteries and a fast charger included
- Complete kit: sockets, extensions, adapter and case
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No weight stated
- Listing says the motor normally produces sparks when running
- No safety feature is stated

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Ratchet Wrench
A 20V cordless ratchet with 40 ft-lb of torque and interchangeable 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch anvils, battery not included.
Pros
- Interchangeable 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch anvils, stated
- 40 ft-lb max torque at 300 RPM, stated
- Oil-resistant housing, stated
- 2.7 lb with in-line battery design for tight spaces, stated
Cons
- Battery not included: tool only
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety feature is stated
- The 15% faster than Ryobi claim is the maker's own comparison

Milwaukee M12 12-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless
A brushless M12 3/8-inch high-speed cordless ratchet, tool only, at 1.8 pounds.
Pros
- Brushless motor, stated in the title
- 1.8 lb, the lowest stated weight here
- 35 ft-lb torque, stated in the spec table
- 10.8-inch length, stated
Cons
- Tool only: no battery included
- Spec table says 220 volts against the 12-volt title: trust the title
- No RPM figure is stated, only high speed
- No warranty term is stated

Milwaukee 2457-21p M12 Cordless 3/8" Lithium-ion
An M12 3/8-inch cordless ratchet kit with 35 ft-lb of torque and a 12V battery included.
Pros
- 12V battery included in the kit
- 35 ft-lb torque, stated
- 4.13-pound stated weight with 13.5 x 9.1 x 4.1 inch package, stated
- Ships with all relevant accessories per the bullets
Cons
- No RPM figure is stated
- Thin listing: bullets say little beyond box contents
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety feature is stated

VEVOR Cordless Ratchet Wrench, 3/8 inch Drive
A 12V cordless 3/8-inch ratchet set with 33 ft-lb of torque, 240 RPM and two batteries.
Pros
- Two 2.0Ah batteries and a charger included
- 240 RPM with forward and reverse switch, stated
- Short head with extended neck for tight spots, stated
- Built-in LED light, stated
Cons
- 33 ft-lb is the lowest stated torque here
- 4.9-pound stated weight is the heaviest here
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety feature is stated
More options to compare
VESSEL 400ER3 Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet CordlessCheck price on Amazon
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31Check price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Peak torque | Speed | Battery | Weight | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ShieldPro 20V Ratchet | 45 ft-lb | 400 RPM | 2x 20V 2.0Ah included | Not stated | Top pick |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Ratchet | 40 ft-lb | 300 RPM | Not included | 2.7 lb | Anvil versatility |
| Milwaukee M12 2567-20 | 35 ft-lb | High speed (stated) | Not included | 1.8 lb | Featherweight pick |
| Milwaukee M12 2457-21p | 35 ft-lb | Not stated | 12V included | 4.13 lb | Kit with battery |
| VEVOR Cordless Ratchet | 33 ft-lb | 240 RPM | 2x 2.0Ah included | 4.9 lb | Full kit pick |
20 October 2026
How we scored them
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ShieldPro 20V Ratchet | 9.5 | 32 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Ratchet | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Milwaukee M12 2567-20 | 9.4 | 28 | 21 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
| Milwaukee M12 2457-21p | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| VEVOR Cordless Ratchet | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Best cordless ratchet for brake jobs: what the listings tell you
Torque is the headline number, and the stated range here runs from 33 ft-lb on the VEVOR to 45 ft-lb on the ShieldPro, with the CRAFTSMAN at 40 and both Milwaukees at 35. Speed runs from 240 RPM on the VEVOR to 400 RPM on the ShieldPro, with the CRAFTSMAN at 300; the Milwaukee 2567-20 claims high speed with no RPM figure, and the 2457-21p states none at all. All five are 3/8-inch drive, and the CRAFTSMAN adds interchangeable 1/4 and 1/2 inch anvils.
Batteries split the group. The ShieldPro and VEVOR include two batteries each with a charger, and the Milwaukee 2457-21p includes one 12V battery. The Milwaukee 2567-20 and the CRAFTSMAN are tool-only: no battery in the box. Voltage splits 20V (ShieldPro, CRAFTSMAN) against 12V (both Milwaukees, VEVOR); our 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison covers that choice in depth.
Two listings need a careful read. The Milwaukee 2567-20 spec table says 220 volts while its title says 12-volt; per this site’s rules the title wins. The ShieldPro bullets say it is normal for its motor to produce sparks when running, which is worth knowing before using it around brake cleaner. None of the five listings states a warranty term or a safety feature.
Buying guide: a cordless ratchet for brake jobs
Match the torque to the fastener. The listings here top out at 45 ft-lb, which covers spinning caliper and bracket bolts; for final tightening, use a torque wrench to the vehicle manual’s spec. A cordless ratchet is a speed tool, not a breaker bar: break stuck fasteners loose by hand first, then let the ratchet run them.
Count the batteries. A brake job with four corners can outlast one small pack, so the two-battery kits (ShieldPro, VEVOR) have a real edge, and the single-battery Milwaukee kit sits in the middle. If you already own batteries on a platform, a tool-only pick like the 2567-20 or the CRAFTSMAN makes sense; if not, budget for the battery separately.
Think about reach. The VEVOR lists a short head with an extended neck for tight spots, the CRAFTSMAN an in-line battery design for confined areas, and the 2567-20 a 10.8-inch length at 1.8 pounds. Wheel wells are tight, so a compact head and a light tool matter as much as torque. For the air-powered alternative, an air ratchet needs a compressor but never a battery swap.
Speed, trigger control and lights
Speed separates the listings: the ShieldPro states 400 RPM, the CRAFTSMAN 300 RPM with a variable-speed trigger, and the VEVOR 240 RPM. Neither Milwaukee listing states an RPM figure. Faster rotation runs long bolts down quicker, and the variable-speed trigger on the CRAFTSMAN lets you match speed to the task, which helps when starting a bolt by feel. Three listings state a built-in LED work light (ShieldPro, VEVOR, CRAFTSMAN); neither Milwaukee does. Wheel wells are dark, so a stated light is a genuine advantage where the listing includes one.
Anvils, sockets and what is in the box
Every pick here is a 3/8-inch drive, but only the CRAFTSMAN goes further: interchangeable 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2-inch anvils that swap quickly, per the listing. The ShieldPro is the full kit: 17 pieces with 10 sockets from 10 to 17 mm, 3, 6 and 10-inch extension bars, a 3/8-to-1/4-inch adapter, two batteries, a fast charger and a tool case. The VEVOR includes assorted sockets, an adapter and an extension bar alongside its two batteries and charger. The CRAFTSMAN and both Milwaukees are tool-only or bare, so bring your own sockets. The VEVOR is the only listing to state a forward and reverse switch explicitly.
What the listings leave out
No listing here states a warranty term, a charge time or a water-resistance rating, so buy on the stated specs. The Milwaukee 2567-20 spec table lists 220 volts against a 12-volt title; treat the title’s 12V as the intended figure. The 2457-21p was first listed in 2018 and ships as a kit with one battery, while the 2567-20 is the bare tool. And the buying-guide basics still apply: break stuck fasteners loose by hand, use a torque wrench for final tightening, and keep a charged spare pack for a four-corner job.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Power: 20V (ShieldPro, CRAFTSMAN) vs 12V (both Milwaukees, VEVOR); match the tool to the batteries you own.
- Batteries: the 2567-20 and the CRAFTSMAN are tool-only, so confirm you have a charged pack before the job.
- Weight: stated weights run from 1.8 lb (Milwaukee 2567-20) to 4.9 lb (VEVOR); the ShieldPro states none.
- Kit: sockets are included with the ShieldPro (10 to 17 mm) and the VEVOR; the others need your own set.
- First job: the ShieldPro listing notes its motor normally produces sparks; keep it away from brake cleaner and solvents.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 45 ft-lb enough for a brake job?
For spinning fasteners, yes: the listings here top out at 45 ft-lb, which covers caliper bolts and guide pins. A cordless ratchet is a speed tool, so break stuck fasteners loose by hand and use a torque wrench for final tightening to the vehicle manual’s spec.
Do I need to buy a battery separately?
It depends on the pick. The ShieldPro and VEVOR include two batteries with a charger, and the Milwaukee 2457-21p includes one 12V battery. The Milwaukee 2567-20 and the CRAFTSMAN are tool-only.
Why 3/8-inch drive for brake jobs?
All five picks are 3/8-inch drive, which matches the sockets most brake hardware takes. The CRAFTSMAN goes further with interchangeable 1/4 and 1/2 inch anvils for odd fasteners.
Can a cordless ratchet break loose rusted caliper bolts?
That is not what the listings promise: they rate max torque from 33 to 45 ft-lb for driving fasteners. Break rusted bolts loose with a hand tool first, then run them with the ratchet.
Cordless or air ratchet for brake work?
Cordless wins on convenience with no hose to drag around the car. Our air ratchet vs cordless ratchet comparison lays out the trade-offs if you already own a compressor.
Related: the best brake bleeder kit, our 12V vs 20V cordless ratchet comparison and the air ratchet vs cordless ratchet guide.



