Best Dash Cam External Battery Pack (2026)
Five dash cam battery packs compared by capacity, parking runtime, charge time and warranty, for parking mode without draining the car battery.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best Overall70mai BL96NNX9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best for BlackVueBlackvue B-130A9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Long ParkingTHINKWARE iVolt Xtra9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best UniversalBlackboxMyCar PowerCell 89.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best CompactTHINKWARE iVolt Mini9.4/10View on Amazon
A parked car still needs a witness, and a dash cam that dies with the ignition misses the hit-and-run that happens overnight. This guide to the best dash cam external battery pack compares five packs by capacity, parking runtime, charge time and warranty, so a driver can keep parking mode running without draining the car battery.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall 70mai BL96NNX: 96Wh LiFePO4 with 60-minute charging and 2,000-cycle cells Check price on Amazon
- Best for BlackVue Blackvue B-130A: App monitoring and temperature protection for BlackVue cams Check price on Amazon
- Best Long Parking THINKWARE iVolt Xtra: 27 hours plus 960 hours in Energy Saving Mode Check price on Amazon
- Best Universal BlackboxMyCar PowerCell 8: Works with most brands, with app and USB outlet Check price on Amazon
- Best Compact THINKWARE iVolt Mini: Slim under-seat pack with 45-minute recharge Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

70mai Dash Cam Battery Pack BL96NNX
A 96Wh LiFePO4 pack with XT30 and Type-C outputs, a 60-minute hardwired charge and up to 30 hours of parking mode.
Pros
- 96Wh LiFePO4 cells keep 70% capacity after more than 2,000 charging cycles
- Full charge in 60 minutes through a hardwired fuse box connection
- XT30 output simulates car battery signals for most dash cam models
- Fuse box charging cable included, with a 3.3m Type-C cable
Cons
- Hardwired fuse box connection required; no cigarette lighter charging stated
- No app monitoring is stated in the listing
- No temperature cutoff figure is stated in the listing
- 30-hour figure assumes a typical 3W dash cam

Blackvue Dash Cam Battery Pack B-130A,12V/24V
A 96Wh pack made for BlackVue dash cams, with app monitoring, temperature protection and a 50-minute hardwired charge.
Pros
- 96Wh capacity gives up to 30 hours for a single-channel cam
- Full charge in 50 minutes hardwired at 9A, or about 90 minutes from a cigarette lighter at 5A
- App shows charge percentage and remaining parking mode time
- Stops charging above 80°C and resumes below 70°C
Cons
- Designed specifically for BlackVue dash cams, so other brands may not pair
- Dual-channel runtime drops to approximately 15 to 20 hours
- Cloud monitoring needs a cloud-connected dash cam
- Only a 1-year warranty term is stated here

THINKWARE iVolt Xtra External Dash Cam Battery
A 96Wh LiFePO4 pack with up to 27 hours of parking mode and a 960-hour Energy Saving Mode, for Thinkware dash cams.
Pros
- 96Wh capacity with up to 27 hours of parking mode
- Energy Saving Mode runs up to 960 hours, or 40 days
- Full charge in 50 minutes fast charging, or 90 minutes regular
- LiFePO4 chemistry with PCM protection against overcharge and over-discharge
Cons
- Hardwiring cable is required and sold separately
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- Made for Thinkware dash cams, so other brands are not covered
- No app monitoring is stated in the listing

BlackboxMyCar PowerCell 8 Dash Cam Battery Pack
A 96Wh pack with app monitoring, a 50-minute hardwired charge and cables for most dash cam brands.
Pros
- 96Wh capacity, 25% more power than the Cellink NEO
- Full charge in as little as 50 minutes hardwired
- App shows remaining capacity and charging time, with settings control
- Cigarette lighter cable, hardwiring cable and 5V USB 3.0 outlet included
Cons
- No warranty term is clearly stated; the warranty field reads only '1'
- USB port may not activate parking mode on all models; output cables are recommended
- Some dash cam models may require splicing wires for full functionality
- No safety protection feature is stated in the listing

THINKWARE iVolt Mini Hardwired External Battery
A slim LiFePO4 pack with a 45-minute recharge and up to 20 hours of parking mode, made to fit under a seat.
Pros
- Full recharge in 45 minutes while driving
- Up to 20 hours for one channel, or 16 hours with a rear cam
- Hardwire input cable, output cable and 3 fuse taps included
- Slim 6.51 by 5.17 by 1.45 inches, fits under a seat
Cons
- No mAh capacity is stated in the listing
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- Works with Thinkware dash cams, so other brands are not covered
- Lowest parking runtime here at 20 hours
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Capacity | Parking mode | Full charge | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70mai BL96NNX | 9.7/10 | 96Wh / 7500mAh | 30 hours | 60 minutes | 18-Month |
| Blackvue B-130A | 9.7/10 | 96Wh / 7500mAh | 30 hours | 50 minutes | 1 Years |
| THINKWARE iVolt Xtra | 9.5/10 | 96Wh / 7500mAh | 27 hours | 50 minutes | Not stated |
| BlackboxMyCar PowerCell 8 | 9.5/10 | 96Wh / 7500mAh | Not stated | 50 minutes | Not stated |
| THINKWARE iVolt Mini | 9.4/10 | Not stated | 20 hours | 45 minutes | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 4 November 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
Each pack is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Safety here means a stated protection circuit or temperature cutoff, and two packs state none. Two packs state a warranty term, and three state none.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70mai BL96NNX | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 3 |
| Blackvue B-130A | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| THINKWARE iVolt Xtra | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 18 | 7 | 0 |
| BlackboxMyCar PowerCell 8 | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| THINKWARE iVolt Mini | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
Four of the five packs state 96Wh and 7500mAh, while the iVolt Mini states no capacity at all. Charge times cluster around 50 to 60 minutes hardwired, with the Mini quickest at 45 minutes. Only two listings state a clear warranty term.
How to choose the best dash cam external battery pack
Match the pack to the cam
BlackVue and Thinkware packs are built for their own brands, while the PowerCell 8 lists most brands. Check the listing’s compatibility list before ordering, since some models need spliced wires for full parking mode, and the PowerCell listing warns the USB port may not work for all models.
Read the runtime the way you park
Single-channel runtimes run from 20 hours to 30 hours here, and dual-channel figures run lower, as the Blackvue and Mini listings show. Energy Saving Mode stretches the Xtra to 960 hours for long airport stays. Match the figure to the parking stretch, not the headline number.
Charging and wiring
Hardwired charging fills most packs in 50 to 60 minutes, while the Mini fills in 45 minutes. The Xtra needs a hardwiring cable bought separately, and the Mini includes fuse taps. For more dash cam external battery pack options, browse the diagnostics and electrical hub.
Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Check the pack’s size against the mounting spot: the Mini measures 6.51 by 5.17 by 1.45 inches and fits under a seat.
- Confirm the charging route before ordering: the Xtra needs a hardwiring cable bought separately, while the Mini includes fuse taps.
- Keep the car battery out of the loop: every pack here powers parking mode without draining it.
- Check the warranty field: only two listings state a clear term.
FAQ: garage tools
Will an external battery pack drain my car battery?
No, these packs power parking mode from their own cells, so the car battery is not drained.
How long does parking mode last on these packs?
From 20 hours on the Mini to 30 hours on the 70mai and Blackvue packs for a single channel, with lower figures for dual channels.
Do I need a hardwiring kit?
The Xtra requires a hardwiring cable bought separately, while the Mini includes one with fuse taps, and the PowerCell 8 includes a spliced kit for Thinkware cams.
Which pack works with my dash cam brand?
BlackVue and Thinkware packs are built for their own brands, while the PowerCell 8 lists most major brands and the 70mai pack suits most models.
Related: best 4k dash cam, best front and rear dash cam, best dash cam for car and the dash cams hub. Also see every diagnostics and electrical guide.



