Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Extension Cord Reel (2026): 5 Reels Compared

Five extension cord reels for the garage, compared by cord length, gauge, outlets, rewind style, safety listings and warranty terms.

Best Extension Cord Reel (2026): 5 Reels Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Link2Home 60 Ft Cord ReelBest OverallLink2Home 60 Ft Cord Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable ReelBest RetractableDEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Masterplug 60ft Cord ReelBest 60-Ft ReelMasterplug 60ft Cord Reel9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4DEWENWILS Hand-Wind ReelBest Bare ReelDEWENWILS Hand-Wind Reel9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Amazon Basics Extension Cord ReelAmazon Basics Extension Cord ReelView on Amazon
  6. 6SURAIELEC 65FT Extension Cord Reel with 4 OutletsSURAIELEC 65FT Extension Cord Reel with 4 OutletsView on Amazon

You are halfway through a brake job and the work light cord will not reach the far side of the garage, so you drag a tangled extension cord across the floor and hope nobody trips on it. The best extension cord reel fixes that: it keeps the cord wound, ready to pull out and easy to put away. We compared five reels by cord length, gauge, outlets, rewind style and what each listing actually states about safety and warranty.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Link2Home 60 Ft Cord Reel: 60 ft 14 AWG SJTW cord, 4 grounded 120V outlets, CSA certified and a 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best Retractable DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Reel: 50 ft 14AWG SJTOW auto-retract at 13A/1625W, 180-degree swivel mount Check price on Amazon
  • Best 60-Ft Reel Masterplug 60ft Cord Reel: 60 ft 14AWG at 13A/1200W with 4 shuttered outlets, power switch and overload breaker Check price on Amazon
  • Best Bare Reel DEWENWILS Hand-Wind Reel: Hand-wind open reel for your own cord up to 100 ft of 16 gauge, ETL listed, 10A breaker Check price on Amazon

The picks

Link2Home 60 Ft. Extension Cord Reel

Link2Home 60 Ft. Extension Cord Reel

Link2Home9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60 ft 14 AWG SJTW reel with 4 grounded 120V outlets, a circuit breaker, CSA certification and a 3-year warranty, in a metal housing with an easy-grip handle.

Pros

  • 60 ft 14 AWG SJTW cord with 4 grounded 120V outlets
  • CSA certified with a built-in circuit breaker
  • 3-year warranty, the only stated term here
  • Cord locking system and illuminated on/off switch

Cons

  • Spec table says 25 ft and 16 AWG, contradicting the 60 ft 14 AWG title and bullets; we trust the title
  • Spec table lists the auto-locking system as N/A though the bullets describe a cord lock
  • 8.6 lb to carry around the shop
  • No amperage rating stated
DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Extension Cord Reel

DEWENWILS9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50 ft 14AWG SJTOW auto-retractable reel rated 13A/125V/1625W, with 3 lighted outlets, a 13A breaker, UL certification and a 180-degree swivel wall/ceiling bracket.

Pros

  • 50 ft 14AWG SJTOW cord, rated 13A/125V/1625W
  • Automatic retraction with ratcheting lock at any length
  • 180-degree swivel bracket for wall or ceiling mount
  • Certified to UL with a 13A circuit breaker

Cons

  • Indoor or dry-location use only, per the listing
  • Polypropylene housing, not metal
  • Spec table dimensions are clearly wrong; ignored
  • No warranty term stated
Masterplug 60ft Cord Reel

Masterplug 60ft Cord Reel

Masterplug9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60 ft 14AWG reel rated 13A/120V/1200W with 4 shuttered outlets, an integrated power switch, LED indicator and a safety overload circuit breaker.

Pros

  • 60 ft 14AWG cord rated 13A and 1200W
  • 4 shuttered outlets with LED indicator and power switch
  • Safety overload circuit breaker with reset
  • Wind handle and cord guide for tangle-free winding

Cons

  • No UL, ETL or CSA listing stated
  • Warranty description is just '5' with no unit; treated as not stated
  • Spec table lists 10A input current against 13A amperage
  • 3.91 kg to carry around the shop
DEWENWILS Extension Cord Storage Reel

DEWENWILS Extension Cord Storage Reel

DEWENWILS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An open hand-wind reel you load with your own cord (up to 100 ft of 16 gauge), with 4 grounded outlets rated 10A/125V/1250W, a 10A breaker and ETL listing.

Pros

  • Takes your own cord: up to 100 ft of 16, 80 ft of 14 or 50 ft of 12 gauge
  • 4 grounded outlets rated 10A/125V/1250W
  • ETL listed with a 10A circuit breaker
  • Metal stand with vertical, space-saving design

Cons

  • No cord included; you supply and wind it
  • 10A rating is the lowest of the powered picks
  • No warranty term stated
  • Outlets only at the reel; no lead-in cord stated
Bayco KW-130 Cord Storage Reel with Center Spin

Bayco KW-130 Cord Storage Reel with Center Spin

BAYCO9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13-inch plastic storage reel with a center spin handle that holds up to 150 ft of 16/3 cord; no outlets, no cord, no electrical parts.

Pros

  • Holds up to 150 ft of 16/3, 125 ft of 14/3 or 100 ft of 12/3 cord
  • Center spin handle for smooth winding
  • Impact-resistant plastic, 16 oz light
  • Also stores holiday lights, rope and hose

Cons

  • No outlets and no cord included: storage only
  • No circuit breaker or power switch
  • No safety listing stated
  • No warranty term stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Cord Outlets Rating Rewind Safety Warranty
Link2Home 60 Ft Cord Reel 9.6/10 60 ft 14 AWG SJTW (title; spec table differs) 4 grounded 120V Not stated Manual wind, cord lock CSA certified 3-year warranty
DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Reel 9.6/10 50 ft 14AWG SJTOW + 4.5 ft lead-in 3 lighted 13A, 125V, 1625W Automatic, ratcheting lock UL certified Not stated
Masterplug 60ft Cord Reel 9.6/10 60 ft 14AWG 4 shuttered 13A, 120V, 1200W Manual wind, cord guide Overload breaker (no listing) Not stated
DEWENWILS Hand-Wind Reel 9.5/10 Your own cord, up to 100 ft 16 ga 4 grounded 10A, 125V, 1250W Manual crank, bottom lock ETL listed Not stated
Bayco KW-130 Storage Reel 9.3/10 Your own cord, up to 150 ft 16/3 None Not stated Manual center handle Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each reel is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Three of the five state a safety listing (CSA, ETL or UL); the others score on stated safety features or zero where none are stated. Only one states a clear warranty term.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Link2Home 60 Ft Cord Reel 9.6 29 20 20 8 3
DEWENWILS 50FT Retractable Reel 9.6 32 19 20 8 0
Masterplug 60ft Cord Reel 9.6 32 20 21 5 0
DEWENWILS Hand-Wind Reel 9.5 27 21 20 7 0
Bayco KW-130 Storage Reel 9.3 23 19 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read 5 cord reel listings. Three include a cord (two at 60 ft, one at 50 ft); two are reels you load with your own cord. Three state a safety listing, one states a 3-year warranty, and one spec table contradicts its own title on cord length and gauge.

Buying guide: the best extension cord reel

Cord length and gauge

Two picks include a 60 ft 14 AWG cord and one includes a 50 ft 14 AWG cord plus a 4.5 ft lead-in. The two bare reels take your own cord: up to 100 ft of 16 gauge on the DEWENWILS or up to 150 ft of 16/3 on the Bayco. For garage tools, 14 AWG is the working standard in this group; match the cord to the tool and never exceed the reel’s breaker rating.

Outlets

Three reels give you 4 outlets and one gives 3 lighted outlets, so most of the group can run several tools or lights at once. The Bayco has no outlets at all: it is a storage reel, not a power station. If you need power at the reel itself, skip the winder.

Rewind style

The DEWENWILS DL-610 is the only automatic reel: pull to the length you need, and the ratcheting system locks the cord there until you tug to rewind. The rest wind by hand, with a crank, a wind handle or a center spin handle. Automatic is tidier; manual has fewer parts to wear.

Breakers and safety listings

Four of the five have a built-in circuit breaker (10A or 13A) that cuts power on overload and resets with a button. Three carry a stated safety listing: CSA on the Link2Home, ETL on the DEWENWILS hand-wind reel and UL on the retractable DEWENWILS. Check the rating before plugging in a hungry tool: 13A and 1625W on the DL-610, 13A and 1200W on the Masterplug, 10A and 1250W on the DL-615 outlets.

Mounting and storage

Only the DL-610 mounts to a wall or ceiling, on a 180-degree swivel bracket that lets you pull from several directions. The Link2Home lists tabletop use, the DL-615 stands vertical on its metal stand, and the open reels hang on a wall hook or sit on a bench. Pick the mount that matches where the cord lives.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure your farthest job first: two picks include a 60 ft cord, one includes 50 ft plus a 4.5 ft lead-in, and two are bare reels you load yourself.
  • Match the tool to the rating: 13A and 1625W on the DL-610, 13A and 1200W on the Masterplug, 10A and 1250W on the DL-615 outlets.
  • Only the DL-610 mounts to a wall or ceiling on a 180-degree swivel bracket; the Link2Home lists tabletop use and the DL-615 a freestanding vertical stand.
  • The Bayco KW-130 and the DEWENWILS DL-615 are storage reels: no cord or outlets on the Bayco, and you supply the cord on the DEWENWILS (up to 150 ft of 16/3 and 100 ft of 16 gauge respectively).
  • If the breaker trips, every powered reel here resets with a button; keep the total load under the stated amps so it stays on.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do extension cord reels work?

You pull out the length you need and the reel holds it; rewind by crank, wind handle or automatic retract. A built-in breaker watches the load and cuts power if you exceed the stated amps.

How do you put an extension cord on a reel?

On the bare reels, feed the cord end into the wheel and wind: the DEWENWILS DL-615 has a swivel crank handle and a locking mechanism at the bottom, and the Bayco winds with its center spin handle. The three corded reels arrive with the cord already on.

How do you set up a retractable extension cord reel?

Mount the DL-610’s bracket to a wall or ceiling, hang the reel on it and set the adjustable stopper for the length you use most. The 180-degree swivel lets you pull and release from several directions.

What gauge extension cord do I need for garage tools?

The three corded picks here are all 14 AWG: two at 60 ft and one at 50 ft. Match the gauge and the amps to the tool, and never exceed the reel’s breaker rating.

Can a cord reel power a table saw?

The Link2Home listing names drills, table saws, work lights, lawn mowers and snow blowers as typical loads for its 60 ft 14 AWG SJTW cord and 4 grounded 120V outlets. Check your saw’s amps against the reel’s rating first.

Related: the best air compressor hose reel, can you run an air compressor on an extension cord and our garage upgrades hub.

More buying guides