Best Foldable Tool Cart (2026): 5 Picks Compared
5 folding tool carts compared by capacity, shelf load, folded size, wheels and frame for garage, workshop and home use.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallWORKPRO 3-Tier Cart9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best Large CartOlympia Pack N Roll XL9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Lightweight CartYITAHOME 3-Tier Cart9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Compact FoldVEVOR Foldable Cart9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Folding Service CartView on Amazon - 6
Olympia Tools 85-188 Pack-N-Roll Folding Collapsible ServiceView on Amazon - 7
52-Inch Rolling Tool CartView on Amazon - 8
Pro-Lift Rolling Tool Cart BoxView on Amazon - 9
Ironton 30in. 5-Drawer Mechanic's Tool CartView on Amazon
A brake job spreads tools across every flat surface in the garage: sockets on the workbench, wrenches on the fender, the drain pan underfoot. A cart that rolls to the car and folds flat against the wall when the job is done keeps that mess in one place, and that is the job of the best foldable tool cart.
This guide compares 5 folding carts by capacity, shelf load, folded size, wheels and frame, so you can match a cart to the work you do most.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall WORKPRO 3-Tier Cart: 450 pound capacity, pegboard with hooks, and a 6.7 inch fold. Check price on Amazon
- Best Large Cart Olympia Pack N Roll XL: 300 pound capacity with pneumatic tires and an 8 inch fold. Check price on Amazon
- Best Lightweight Cart YITAHOME 3-Tier Cart: 15.8 pounds with no assembly and a 42 by 15 by 7 inch fold. Check price on Amazon
- Best Compact Fold VEVOR Foldable Cart: Folds to 6.69 inches wide with 55 pounds per shelf. Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

WORKPRO Heavy Duty 3-Tier Utility Cart
A 3-tier folding cart with a 450 pound total capacity, a built-in pegboard with hooks, 4-inch swivel casters and a fold that packs down to 6.7 inches thick.
Pros
- 450 pound total capacity with 150 pounds per shelf
- Built-in pegboard with 1/4-inch holes and hooks for small tools and cords
- Folds to 6.7 inches thick and stands on its own when folded
- 4-inch swivel casters with two locking brakes
Cons
- 29.8 pounds, the heaviest cart here
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated
- Indoor use only per the listing

Olympia Tools 85-189 Pack N Roll Collapsible
A 3-shelf collapsible service cart with a 300 pound capacity, pneumatic tires and a fold that packs down to 8 inches.
Pros
- 300 pound capacity across 3 collapsible shelves
- Folds down to 8 inches for storage
- Secure locking mechanism so the cart does not collapse
- Pneumatic tires for indoor and outdoor use
Cons
- No per-shelf load is stated
- No wheel size is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated

YITAHOME 3-Tier Folding Utility Cart with Wheels
A 3-tier folding cart with a 240 pound capacity, 80 pounds per tier, 3-inch swivel casters and no assembly required.
Pros
- No assembly required, just unfold it out of the box
- 80 pounds per tier on a 240 pound total capacity
- Folds to 42 inches by 15 inches by 7 inches
- Thermoplastic rubber caster wrap for quieter rolling
Cons
- Shelf size figures differ between the bullets and the spec table
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated
- 3-inch casters, smaller than the 4-inch casters on the WORKPRO cart

VEVOR Foldable Utility Service Cart
A 3-shelf foldable cart with a 165 pound capacity, 55 pounds per shelf, 3-inch swivel casters and a fold that packs down to 6.69 inches wide.
Pros
- Folds to 6.69 inches wide for trunk or closet storage
- 55 pounds per shelf on a 165 pound total capacity
- 3-inch swivel casters with two braked casters
- Immediate usage upon opening, no complicated assembly
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated
- Outdoor use only per the listing
- No pegboard or hooks stated for small tools

Olympia Tools 410-007 Pack-N-Roll 150 lbs Folding
A 3-shelf folding service cart with a 150 pound capacity, a secure locking mechanism and a fold that packs down to 8 inches.
Pros
- Folds down to 8 inches for storage
- Secure locking mechanism so the cart does not collapse
- 3 collapsible shelves for tools, equipment and supplies
- Black and red finish for indoor and outdoor use
Cons
- 150 pound capacity, the lowest here
- No per-shelf load is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated
Other tools worth a look
Folding Service CartCheck price on Amazon
Olympia Tools 85-188 Pack-N-Roll Folding Collapsible ServiceCheck price on Amazon
52-Inch Rolling Tool CartCheck price on Amazon
Pro-Lift Rolling Tool Cart BoxCheck price on Amazon
Ironton 30in. 5-Drawer Mechanic's Tool CartCheck price on Amazon
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Capacity | Shelves | Folded size | Wheels | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WORKPRO 3-Tier Cart | 9.7/10 | 450 pounds | 3 | 6.7 inches | 4-inch swivel, two locking brakes | Not stated |
| Olympia Pack N Roll XL | 9.6/10 | 300 pounds | 3 | 8 inches | Swivel, pneumatic tires | Not stated |
| YITAHOME 3-Tier Cart | 9.6/10 | 240 pounds | 3 | 42 inches by 15 inches by 7 inches | 3-inch swivel, two lockable | Not stated |
| VEVOR Foldable Cart | 9.5/10 | 165 pounds | 3 | 6.69 inches wide | 3-inch swivel, two brakes | Not stated |
| Olympia Pack N Roll | 9.5/10 | 150 pounds | 3 | 8 inches | Swivel | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
Each cart is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. None of the listings states a safety listing, so none earns safety points, and none states a clear warranty term, so none earns warranty points. Capacity, shelf load, folded size and build quality separate the carts.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WORKPRO 3-Tier Cart | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| Olympia Pack N Roll XL | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| YITAHOME 3-Tier Cart | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| VEVOR Foldable Cart | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
| Olympia Pack N Roll | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
What the listings tell you
All 5 listings describe a cart with 3 shelves and 4 wheels, and all 5 state a total capacity, from 150 pounds to 450 pounds. All 5 state a folded size, with folded thickness from 6.69 inches to 8 inches. None states a safety listing, and none states a clear warranty term, so check the listing before counting on warranty cover.
How to choose the best foldable tool cart
Capacity and shelf load
Read the per-shelf figure, not just the total. The WORKPRO cart lists 450 pounds in total with 150 pounds per shelf, the YITAHOME cart lists 240 pounds with 80 pounds per tier, and the VEVOR cart lists 165 pounds with 55 pounds per shelf. A tool cart foldable design trades drawer space for a flat fold, so the shelf load decides what can actually ride on each tier.
Folded size and storage
Folded thickness runs from 6.69 inches on the VEVOR cart to 8 inches on the Olympia carts, with the WORKPRO cart at 6.7 inches and the YITAHOME cart folding to 42 inches by 15 inches by 7 inches. The VEVOR and YITAHOME listings both mention fitting the folded cart in a car trunk, which matters when the cart has to travel to a job away from home.
Wheels and brakes
Wheel size shapes how a loaded cart rolls. The WORKPRO cart rides on 4-inch swivel casters with two locking brakes, while the YITAHOME and VEVOR carts use 3-inch swivel casters with two lockable or braked casters each. The Olympia XL cart lists pneumatic tires. The YITAHOME listing names linoleum, tile, terrazzo, wood, smooth concrete and carpet as surfaces its casters handle.
Shelves and organization
Three shelves are standard here, but organization differs. The WORKPRO cart adds a side pegboard with 1/4-inch holes and hooks for small tools and cords, while the YITAHOME cart lists 15 inch by 26 inch shelves and rounded plastic corners. For carts with fixed drawer storage, see the tool cart with drawers guide.
Frame and shelf material
The WORKPRO cart pairs an aluminum alloy frame with reinforced PP shelves, and the YITAHOME cart pairs an aluminum frame with PP trays. The Olympia XL cart lists aluminum and plastic, and the VEVOR cart lists plastic shelves. Aluminum frames keep the cart light for its capacity, while PP trays wipe clean after a dirty job.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Measure the folded cart against the gap where it will live: folded thickness runs from 6.69 inches to 8 inches here.
- Match the per-shelf load to the heaviest shelf: 150 pounds, 80 pounds and 55 pounds on the carts that state a per-shelf figure.
- Lock the brakes before loading: the WORKPRO, YITAHOME and VEVOR carts each list 2 locking or lockable casters.
- Check the open footprint against the work area: the WORKPRO cart measures 29.5 inches by 20.5 inches by 42.5 inches when expanded.
FAQ: garage tools
What capacity should a foldable tool cart have?
Match the cart to the load. Totals here run from 150 pounds to 450 pounds, and per-shelf figures run from 55 pounds to 150 pounds where the listing states one. A cart that hauls a toolbox and a parts bin on each tier needs the higher per-shelf figure, not just the higher total.
How small does a foldable tool cart fold?
Folded thickness here runs from 6.69 inches to 8 inches. The YITAHOME cart folds to 42 inches by 15 inches by 7 inches, and the VEVOR cart folds to 42.24 inches by 6.69 inches by 15.55 inches, so both fit a narrow gap or a car trunk.
Do folding tool carts need assembly?
The YITAHOME listing states no assembly is required, just unfold it out of the box, and the VEVOR listing states immediate usage upon opening without any complicated assembly. The other listings do not state an assembly requirement.
Are the wheels on a foldable tool cart lockable?
On some carts, yes. The WORKPRO cart lists two locking brakes, the YITAHOME cart lists two lockable casters, and the VEVOR cart lists two casters with brakes. The Olympia listings state a secure locking mechanism so the cart does not collapse, but do not state locking casters.
What is a foldable tool cart used for in a garage?
It moves tools, equipment and supplies to the job and folds away after. The listings name garages, workshops, warehouses, offices and homes as places these carts serve, from maintenance work to moving boxes and supplies.
Related: our tool storage hub, the best rolling tool cart, the best mobile tool cart, the tool cart with drawers guide, the best tool cart for small garage, the best mechanic tool cart, detailing cart vs tool cart and rolling tool bag vs tool cart.




