Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Garage Cabinet for Power Tools (2026)

5 rolling cabinets and tool chests for power tools, compared on storage, power, casters, locks and build.

Best Garage Cabinet for Power Tools (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1BIG RED 72in ChestBest OverallBIG RED 72in Chest9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2HPDMC 72in Tool ChestBest WorkbenchHPDMC 72in Tool Chest9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3GREATMEET CabinetBest CompactGREATMEET Cabinet9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Yizosh 71in CabinetBest Tall CabinetYizosh 71in Cabinet9.5/10View on Amazon

A brake job leaves sockets, wrenches and a drill scattered across the workbench, and the next morning the right socket is nowhere to be found. That is the job the best garage cabinet for power tools is built for: a locked cabinet that holds drills, drivers and chargers where you can reach them, and keeps the bench clear for the next job. This guide compares cabinets by storage, power, casters, locks and build, using what each listing states.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall BIG RED 72in Chest: 72 in chest with 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet, a pegboard and a built-in power strip with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Workbench HPDMC 72in Tool Chest: 72 in rolling workbench with 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet, a pegboard and a power strip. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Compact GREATMEET Cabinet: 26 in rolling cabinet with a lockable double door, an adjustable shelf, 6 hooks and 2.36-inch swivel casters. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Tall Cabinet Yizosh 71in Cabinet: 71 in locking cabinet with 4 adjustable shelves rated at 180 lbs per shelf. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

BIG RED Heavy-Duty Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet

BIG RED Heavy-Duty Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet

BIG RED9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 72 in rolling tool chest with 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet, a pegboard and a built-in power strip.

Pros

  • 11 drawers in 5 sizes plus 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet and a pegboard
  • Built-in power strip with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports for charging batteries
  • 18-inch deep wood top for a work surface
  • Soft-close drawer buffer and ball bearing slides

Cons

  • No lock is stated for the drawers or the cabinet
  • 376.2 pounds, so moving it takes planning
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Red and black finish only in this listing
HPDMC 72-inch Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet Mobile

HPDMC 72-inch Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet Mobile

HPDMC9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 72 in rolling tool chest and workbench with 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet, a pegboard and a power strip.

Pros

  • 11 drawers in 5 sizes plus 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet and a pegboard
  • Built-in power strip with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports for charging batteries
  • 18-inch deep wood top for a work surface
  • Soft-close drawer buffer and ball bearing slides

Cons

  • 425.0 pounds, the heaviest pick here
  • No lock is stated for the drawers or the cabinet
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Grey only in this listing
GREATMEET Garage Storage Cabinet with Wheels

GREATMEET Garage Storage Cabinet with Wheels

GREATMEET9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 26 in rolling cabinet with lockable double doors, an adjustable shelf, 6 hooks and a push handle.

Pros

  • Lockable double doors with 2 keys keep tools and dust out
  • Adjustable shelf plus 6 side hooks for hand tools
  • Four 2.36-inch swivel casters and a push handle for easy moves
  • Anti-tip kit for wall anchoring and a raised-edge top

Cons

  • 26 in wide, so it holds less than the 72 in chests
  • No power strip is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No shelf load limit is stated
Yizosh Metal Garage Storage Cabinet with Locking

Yizosh Metal Garage Storage Cabinet with Locking

Yizosh9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 71-inch tall rolling carbon steel cabinet featuring four adjustable shelves, key-lock double doors and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 71-inch height provides five interior storage compartments
  • Four adjustable shelves rated at 180 pounds per shelf in bullets
  • Two locking double doors with 180-degree opening and keys included
  • 2-year quality assurance warranty stated on the listing

Cons

  • No independent safety listing stated on the listing
  • Assembly required with knock-down flat-pack construction
  • Spec table contradicts bullets regarding 180-pound total versus per-shelf capacity
  • Overall unit weight is not stated on the listing
Yizosh Metal Garage Storage Cabinet, 2 Doors

Yizosh Metal Garage Storage Cabinet, 2 Doors

Yizosh9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 71 in tall black steel storage cabinet with 2 doors that open 180 degrees, 5 adjustable shelves rated 180 lb each, a key lock with two keys, and a wall mount anchor in the box.

Pros

  • Five adjustable shelves rated 180 lb each by the listing
  • Key lock with two keys for keeping tools and files under lock
  • Anti-tipping feature listed; wall mount anchor included
  • Two-year quality assurance stated by the maker

Cons

  • Knock-down structure means you assemble it before the first job
  • Spec table contradicts the shelf count: 5 shelves vs 3 racks, 6 compartments and 6 levels
  • Weight capacity wording is loose: 180 lb per shelf in bullets vs 180 pounds with no qualifier in the spec table
  • Item weight stated as 36.8 kg only; no lb figure given

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Storage Power Casters Lock Weight
BIG RED 72in Chest 9.6/10 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, 2-door cabinet, pegboard 4 outlets, 2 USB ports Four 5-inch casters, 2 lockable Not stated 376.2 pounds
HPDMC 72in Tool Chest 9.6/10 11 drawers, 3 upper cabinets, 2-door cabinet, pegboard 4 outlets, 2 USB ports Four 5-inch casters, 2 lockable Not stated 425.0 pounds
GREATMEET Cabinet 9.5/10 Adjustable shelf, 6 hooks Not stated Four 2.36-inch swivel casters Lockable double doors, 2 keys 30.2 pounds
Yizosh 71in Cabinet 9.5/10 4 adjustable shelves Not stated Not stated Lock, 2 keys Not stated
Yizosh Tall Cabinet 9.5/10 5 shelves, 2 doors Not stated Not stated Lockable Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 5 November 2026.

How the points were given

Each cabinet is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Storage and power earn performance points; steel, slides and casters earn build points; locks, anti-tip kits and over-current protection earn safety points. No listing here states a warranty term, so no pick earns warranty points.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BIG RED 72in Chest 9.6 30 21 20 5 0
HPDMC 72in Tool Chest 9.6 30 21 19 5 0
GREATMEET Cabinet 9.5 28 20 21 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read 5 garage cabinet listings. The 72 in rolling chests share the same drawer and cabinet layout, the GREATMEET is a compact rolling cabinet, and the tall Yizosh cabinets add shelf storage. 2 state a built-in power strip with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports. 1 states a lock with 2 keys, 1 states lockable double doors with 2 keys, and 1 title-only listing states lockable. None states a warranty term.

Buying guide: best garage cabinet for power tools

Storage: drawers, shelves or both

Drawers suit sockets and small tools; shelves suit drills, chargers and boxes. The 2 72 in chests give 11 drawers in 5 sizes plus 3 upper cabinets, a 2-door cabinet and a pegboard. The GREATMEET gives an adjustable shelf and 6 hooks. The tall Yizosh cabinets give shelves only: 4 adjustable shelves on one, 5 shelves on the title-only listing.

Power on the cabinet

A built-in power strip lets batteries charge where the tools live. Both 72 in chests state one with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports and an over-current protection switch. The other 3 cabinets state no power strip, so plan a wall outlet nearby.

Casters and weight

Four 5-inch fixed casters carry the 72 in chests, with 2 lockable on each; the GREATMEET rolls on four 2.36-inch swivel casters. The chests weigh 376.2 and 425.0 pounds, so they stay where you park them once loaded, while the GREATMEET weighs 30.2 pounds and moves with a push handle. The tall Yizosh cabinets state no caster detail and no weight.

Locks and safety

Lockable doors keep tools and dust out and keep curious hands off. The GREATMEET locks its double doors with 2 keys and adds an anti-tip kit for wall anchoring. The tall Yizosh cabinet locks with 2 keys. The 72 in chests state no lock, and none of the 5 listings states a warranty term.

Measure before you buy

The HPDMC chest is listed at 72 in wide and 72 in high, and the BIG RED at 74.4 in wide and 77.6 in high, so check the wall space and the path through the garage door before delivery. The GREATMEET measures 26 in wide, 14 in deep and 31.88 in high including casters, so it fits a compact space. The tall Yizosh cabinets stand 71 in high.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Space: the HPDMC chest measures 72 in wide and the BIG RED 74.4 in wide, so measure the wall run first; the GREATMEET needs 26 in wide and 14 in deep.
  • Power: the 2 72 in chests bring a power strip with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports; the other cabinets need a wall outlet nearby.
  • Storage: 11 drawers and a pegboard on the chests, an adjustable shelf and 6 hooks on the GREATMEET, shelves only on the tall Yizosh cabinets.
  • Locks: lockable doors on the GREATMEET and the tall Yizosh cabinets; no lock is stated on the 72 in chests.
  • Check on arrival: casters, keys and the anti-tip kit on the GREATMEET, and the over-current protection switch on the chests.

FAQ: garage tools

What size garage cabinet do I need for power tools?

Match the cabinet to the tools: 11 drawers and a pegboard suit a full socket and wrench set, while an adjustable shelf and 6 hooks suit drills, chargers and hand tools. Measure the wall space first; the chests here run 72 in wide and more.

Do these cabinets lock?

Some do. The GREATMEET locks its double doors with 2 keys, the tall Yizosh cabinet locks with 2 keys, and the title-only Yizosh listing says lockable. The 2 72 in chests state no lock.

Can I charge tool batteries in the cabinet?

Only the 2 72 in chests state a built-in power strip, with 4 outlets and 2 USB ports and an over-current protection switch. The other cabinets state no power strip, so charge batteries at a wall outlet.

Are the cabinets hard to move?

The chests roll on four 5-inch fixed casters, 2 of which lock, but they weigh 376.2 and 425.0 pounds. The GREATMEET weighs 30.2 pounds and rolls on four 2.36-inch swivel casters with a push handle. The tall Yizosh cabinets state no caster detail.

Do any of these cabinets have a warranty?

No warranty term is stated in any of the 5 listings here.

Related: rolling tool chest vs tool cabinet, best roll around tool chest, best garage storage cabinets for basement and tool storage hub.

More buying guides