Best Impact Wrench for Lifted Trucks (2026): 4 Compared
Four high-torque impact wrenches for lifted trucks, compared by stated torque, drive size, power source, kit contents and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Most Torque KitMilwaukee 2864-22R Kit9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Bare Tool PickMilwaukee 2864-20 Bare9.4/10View on Amazon - 3
Socket-Ready KitSOARFLY 1106 ft-lb Kit9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Air PowerAstro THOR G2 3/4in9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
VEVOR 1 Inch Air Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 6
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 7
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upView on Amazon - 8
Ingersoll Rand 2235TiMAX 1/2"-Drive Air Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 9
AIRCAT 1056-XL 1/2" Nitrocat Composite Compact Impact WrenchView on Amazon
Breaking loose a rusted lug nut on a lifted truck is where torque specs stop being abstract. The best impact wrench for lifted trucks needs the stated muscle to break big fasteners free and the right drive for the sockets you own. This guide compares four high-torque wrenches by what their listings actually state: torque type, drive size, power source, kit contents and warranty.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Most Torque Kit Milwaukee 2864-22R Kit: 1,500 ft-lb nut-busting, 1,200 fastening, 18V kit with battery, charger and case. Check price on Amazon
- Bare Tool Pick Milwaukee 2864-20 Bare: 1,500 ft-lb stated, 3/4 in M18 FUEL bare tool at a stated 6.3 pounds. Check price on Amazon
- Socket-Ready Kit SOARFLY 1106 ft-lb Kit: 1,106 ft-lb breakaway, 21V brushless, 2 batteries, 5 sockets, auto-stop. Check price on Amazon
- Air Power Astro THOR G2 3/4in: 1,700 ft-lb nut-busting (bullets), 3/4 in pneumatic at 6.8 CFM. Check price on Amazon
The picks

1/2" Cordless Impact Wrench 1106Ft-Lbs (1500N.m)
A 21V brushless 1/2-inch cordless kit stating 1,106 ft-lb breakaway torque, with 2 batteries, 5 sockets and auto-stop in reverse.
Pros
- 1,106 ft-lb (1500N·m) breakaway torque stated
- 2x 4.0Ah batteries, charger, 5 sockets and case included
- Auto-stop in reverse stated
- Brushless motor with 3-speed control stated
Cons
- 1/2-inch drive, the smallest here
- No warranty term stated
- No safety certification stated
- Tool weight not stated

Milwaukee 2864-22R 18V Brushless 3/4'' High-Torque
An 18V 3/4-inch cordless kit stating 1,200 ft-lb fastening and 1,500 ft-lb nut-busting torque, with battery, charger and case.
Pros
- 1,500 ft-lb nut-busting and 1,200 ft-lb fastening stated
- Kit includes battery, multi-voltage charger and case
- Friction ring with thru-hole design stated
- 4 custom performance profiles and LED lights stated
Cons
- Spec table weight of 15.7 lb reads as the kit, not the tool
- Warranty field states 'Manufacturer Warranty' with no term
- No safety certification stated
- Heaviest stated weight here

FUEL Cordless High Torque 3/4" Impact Wrench
A 3/4-inch M18 FUEL cordless bare tool stating 1,500 ft-lb of torque at a stated 6.3 pounds.
Pros
- 1,500 ft-lb stated, the highest single figure here
- 6.3-pound stated weight, the lightest tool here
- ONEKEY stated
- Powder-coated steel and rubber construction stated
Cons
- Bare tool: no battery or charger stated
- Torque type (fastening vs nut-busting) not stated
- No warranty term stated
- No safety certification stated

Astro Tools 1896 ONYX 3/4" "THOR" G2 Impact Wrench
A 3/4-inch pneumatic impact wrench stating 1,100 ft-lb max torque (1,700 nut-busting in the bullets) at 6.8 CFM.
Pros
- 1,700 ft-lb nut-busting stated in bullets, highest here
- 3/4-inch drive in a 6.85-inch body stated
- 1.5-2X less air stated vs most 3/4-inch impacts
- Hi-flow fittings with 1/4-inch NPT adapter included
Cons
- Pneumatic: needs shop air, not cordless
- 1,100 vs 1,700 ft-lb figures need the bullets to decode
- No warranty term stated
- No safety certification stated
More options to compare
VEVOR 1 Inch Air Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 2235TiMAX 1/2"-Drive Air Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
AIRCAT 1056-XL 1/2" Nitrocat Composite Compact Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Shop Score | Drive | Stated torque | Power source | Stated weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee 2864-22R Kit | 9.5/10 | 3/4 in | 1,500 nut-busting / 1,200 fastening | 18V cordless | 15.7 lb | Not stated |
| Milwaukee 2864-20 Bare | 9.4/10 | 3/4 in | 1,500 | M18 cordless | 6.3 lb | Not stated |
| SOARFLY 1106 ft-lb Kit | 9.5/10 | 1/2 in | 1,106 breakaway | 21V cordless | Not stated | Not stated |
| Astro THOR G2 3/4in | 9.4/10 | 3/4 in | 1,100 max (1,700 nut-busting) | Pneumatic | 2.64 kg | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
Each wrench is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A stated safety feature earns partial safety credit; no listing here states a full safety certification.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOARFLY 1106 ft-lb Kit | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| Milwaukee 2864-22R Kit | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Milwaukee 2864-20 Bare | 9.4 | 30 | 21 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
| Astro THOR G2 3/4in | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We read four impact wrench listings. Stated torque runs 1,100 to 1,700 ft-lb, mixing max, fastening and nut-busting figures, so compare like with like. Three are cordless and one is pneumatic; three state 3/4-inch drive and one states 1/2-inch. Two are full kits with batteries and chargers, one is a bare tool, and the air tool needs a compressor. Only the 2864-22R mentions a warranty, and it gives no term.
Buying guide: best impact wrench for lifted trucks
Working torque vs breakaway
Listings mix working (fastening) torque and breakaway (nut-busting) torque. The 2864-22R states both: 1,200 fastening and 1,500 nut-busting. The SOARFLY states 1,106 breakaway; the Astro states 1,100 max with 1,700 nut-busting in the bullets; the 2864-20 states 1,500 without saying which. Match the figure types before comparing.
Drive size
Three state 3/4-inch drive: both Milwaukees and the Astro. The SOARFLY is 1/2-inch, and its kit includes 5 sockets from 17 to 24 mm, so it is socket-ready out of the box.
Cordless or air
Three run cordless: 21V, M18 and 18V. The Astro is pneumatic at 6.8 CFM with 3/8-inch NPT fittings (1/4-inch adapter included), so it needs shop air the listing does not include.
Kit or bare tool
The SOARFLY kit includes 2 batteries, a charger, 5 sockets and a case; the 2864-22R kit includes a battery, a multi-voltage charger and a case. The 2864-20 is a bare tool: no battery or charger is stated.
For the air pick, see the best air compressor for impact wrench to size the compressor it needs.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Battery platform: what you already own
Three of the four are cordless, and they sit on three different battery systems. The SOARFLY runs on its own 21V platform and the kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries with a fast charger, so it is complete out of the box. The Milwaukee 2864-20 is an M18 bare tool: the listing states no battery and no charger, so it only makes sense if you already own M18 batteries. The Milwaukee 2864-22R is a kit that includes one 48-11-1850R battery pack, a 48-59-1812 multi-voltage charger and a blow-molded case. If you own no batteries at all, the SOARFLY kit and the 22R kit are the two that state everything you need; the bare 20 needs an M18 battery you already own.
Air supply for the pneumatic pick
The Astro THOR G2 is the only pneumatic pick, and its listing is specific about what it needs. It states 6.8 CFM with a 3/8-inch NPT inlet, and a 1/4-inch NPT adapter is included in the box. The listing calls for a 3/8-inch minimum hose size with 1/2-inch recommended, hi-flow fittings required, and mentions an 80-gallon tank with 1/2-inch hoses as the setup it beats. It also claims 1.5 to 2 times less air volume to reach peak potential than most 3/4-inch air impacts. If your compressor and hose already meet the 6.8 CFM and 3/8-inch figures, the Astro is the listed fit; if not, the three cordless picks need no shop air at all.
What comes in the box
Kit contents separate these four. The SOARFLY kit states the most: the wrench, two 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, five sockets from 17 to 24 mm, an extension bar and a durable carrying case. The Milwaukee 2864-22R kit states the wrench, one 48-11-1850R battery, a 48-59-1812 multi-voltage charger and a blow-molded case, but no sockets. The Milwaukee 2864-20 is a bare tool with no battery, charger, case or sockets stated. The Astro states the wrench and a 1/4-inch NPT adapter only. Count what you would still need to buy: with the SOARFLY you can pull lug nuts the day it arrives, with the 22R you need sockets, with the bare 20 you need a battery and sockets, and with the Astro you need the air supply plus sockets.
Size, weight and handling
Stated lengths run from 6.85 inches on the Astro to 8.59 inches on both Milwaukees. The 2864-20 bare tool states 6.3 pounds; the 22R spec table states 15.7 pounds for the kit as packed. The Astro keeps the short length of the maker’s 1/2-inch THOR impacts but carries a 3/4-inch drive, per the listing. Handling features differ by listing: the Astro states a textured THOR hammer handle and a linear throttle adjustment trigger, the SOARFLY states 3 adjustable speed settings with a variable speed trigger, and the 22R states 4 custom performance profiles. Under a lifted truck, where you reach up at awkward angles, the shorter tool and a stated grip matter more than on a bench.
Speed control and lighting
All three cordless listings state some form of control and light. The SOARFLY states 3 speed settings, a variable trigger and forward/reverse with an auto-stop function in reverse that keeps loosened nuts from flying off, plus a built-in LED light that stays on for seconds after the trigger is released. The 22R states 4 custom performance profiles and LED lights. The 2864-20 states none of these beyond the brushless motor. The Astro, being pneumatic, states a linear throttle trigger instead of electronic profiles. None of the listings states a decibel figure, so noise comparisons are not possible from the listings.
Motors and charging
Two listings state brushless motors directly. The SOARFLY states an advanced brushless motor with up to 30 percent higher efficiency than traditional motors, plus protection against overcharge, overheating and overload in its battery design. The 2864-22R title states brushless. The 2864-20 listing states quick charging: it recharges in just 3 hours. The Astro states its latest motor and large air passageways in the handle and trigger as the reason for its 1,100 ft-lb max and 1,700 ft-lb nut-busting figures. No listing states a battery cycle count or a charge time for the SOARFLY or the 22R, so those two figures are not comparable from the listings.
Garage Fit Check
- Power: three are cordless (21V, M18, 18V); the Astro needs shop air at 6.8 CFM with 3/8-inch NPT fittings.
- Drive: 3/4-inch on three; 1/2-inch on the SOARFLY, whose kit includes 5 sockets from 17 to 24 mm.
- Weight: 6.3 lb stated for the 2864-20 bare tool; the 22R spec table states 15.7 lb for the kit.
- Torque type: compare fastening with fastening and nut-busting with nut-busting, not max against breakaway.
- Paperwork: no listing states a concrete warranty term.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which states the most torque?
The Astro bullets state 1,700 ft-lb nut-busting (1,100 max). The Milwaukees state 1,500: nut-busting on the 22R, unspecified type on the 20. The SOARFLY states 1,106 breakaway.
Which are cordless?
The SOARFLY (21V), the 2864-20 (M18) and the 2864-22R (18V). The Astro THOR G2 is pneumatic.
What drive sizes are stated?
3/4-inch on both Milwaukees and the Astro; 1/2-inch on the SOARFLY.
Do any include batteries?
The SOARFLY kit includes 2 4.0Ah batteries and a charger; the 2864-22R kit includes a battery, a multi-voltage charger and a case. The 2864-20 is a bare tool with no battery or charger stated.
Which state a warranty term?
None. The 2864-22R spec table mentions “Manufacturer Warranty” with no term; the other three state nothing about warranty.
Related guides
See the best cordless impact wrench for lug nuts and the lug wrench vs impact wrench comparison. Also see our cordless tools hub.



