Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Jump Starter for First Car (2026): 5 Compared

Five jump starters for a first car compared by peak amps, engine ratings, battery capacity, protections and warranty terms.

Best Jump Starter for First Car (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Soulor CY20Top PickSoulor CY209.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2GOOLOO GT6000Most PowerGOOLOO GT60009.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3AUXITO J102Best ValueAUXITO J1029.7/10View on Amazon
  4. 4GEHOPOW A9Most CompactGEHOPOW A99.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5BooKoo Q6Best ScreenBooKoo Q69.6/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Autowit Super Capacitor Jump StarterAutowit Super Capacitor Jump StarterView on Amazon
  7. 710000A Jump Starter10000A Jump StarterView on Amazon
  8. 8TEMOLA Portable Car Jump Starter with Air CompressorTEMOLA Portable Car Jump Starter with Air CompressorView on Amazon
  9. 9MEGAWISE 2500A 12V Jump Starter for 8.0L Gas/6.5L DieselMEGAWISE 2500A 12V Jump Starter for 8.0L Gas/6.5L DieselView on Amazon
  10. 10Stanley J5C09D 1200 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120 PSIStanley J5C09D 1200 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120 PSIView on Amazon

A dead battery is the first real job most new drivers face, usually in a parking lot, at night, in the rain. The best jump starter for first car is the one a beginner can clamp on without fear: clear engine ratings, named safety protections, and a warranty that shows the maker stands behind it. We compared five jump boxes by peak amps, engine ratings, battery capacity, protections and warranty, using only what each Amazon listing publishes.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Jump Starter Battery Jumper Starter Portable Car

Jump Starter Battery Jumper Starter Portable Car

Soulor9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5000A jump box rated to 10.0L gas and 10.0L diesel, with a 2-year warranty, insulated gloves and a 2.0-inch smart display.

Pros

  • Rated to 10.0L gas and 10.0L diesel, the broadest engine coverage here
  • 2 year warranty backed by 24/7 customer support
  • 14-in-1 safety protections with insulated gloves in the box
  • 2.0-inch smart LCD shows remaining power and output in real time

Cons

  • 8000mAh is the smallest stated battery capacity here
  • 1.9 lb, heavier than the GEHOPOW at 1.7 lb
  • Forced start function needs reading the manual first
  • Compass and service card add bulk a first car may not need
AUXITO Jump Starter, 5000A Car Battery Jump

AUXITO Jump Starter, 5000A Car Battery Jump

AUXITO9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5000A jump box rated to 8.5L gas and 8.0L diesel, with a 2000LM panel light, a 2-year manufacturer warranty and 10 protections.

Pros

  • 5000A peak with 8.5L gas and 8.0L diesel ratings
  • 2000LM LED panel light with four modes, a hook and a magnet
  • 2 year manufacturer warranty
  • 50 starts per charge and 1000+ charge cycles stated

Cons

  • 4.7 x 7.91 x 3.9 in, the bulkiest box here
  • The spec table lists amperage as 5000 milliamps against the 5000A title; we trust the title
  • 12000mAh is less than the GOOLOO and BooKoo capacities
  • Recharge every three months is recommended when unused
GOOLOO GT6000 Jump Starter 6000A 12V with 100W

GOOLOO GT6000 Jump Starter 6000A 12V with 100W

GOOLOO9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6000A jump box rated to all gas and 12L diesel, with 27000mAh, 100W fast charging and a 3.2-inch display.

Pros

  • 6000A peak, the joint highest here, rated to all gas and 12L diesel
  • 27000mAh is the largest stated battery capacity here
  • 100W bi-directional fast charge, 0 to 100% in 1.4 hours stated
  • 3.2-inch LED display shows status and readiness

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 24-month standby means recharging every couple of years at most
  • 100W charging needs the included car charger to hit the stated speed
  • The largest capacity also means the longest recharge
BOOKOO 4000A 12V Car Battery Jump Starter 16000mAh

BOOKOO 4000A 12V Car Battery Jump Starter 16000mAh

BooKoo9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4000A jump box rated to 8.0L gas and 7.0L diesel, with a smart screen, a waterproof shell and a compact 1.6 lb body.

Pros

  • 1.6 lb and 2.95 x 6.5 x 1.26 in, easy to keep in a small car
  • 1.3 x 0.6 in smart screen shows the battery intuitively
  • Waterproof, dustproof and shockproof shell with an EVA carry case
  • 16000mAh with USB QC 3.0 PD 18W and a 3-mode LED flashlight

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated; the warranty field names no term
  • 4000A is the lowest peak here
  • Up to 20 starts per charge, fewer than the AUXITO and Soulor
  • Engine rating tops out at 8.0L gas and 7.0L diesel
12v Jump Starter for 10.0L Gas/8.0L Diesel

12v Jump Starter for 10.0L Gas/8.0L Diesel

GEHOPOW9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6000A jump box rated to 10.0L gas and 8.0L diesel, with an IP66 waterproof rating in a 1.7 lb, phone-sized body.

Pros

  • 6000A peak with 10.0L gas and 8.0L diesel ratings
  • IP66 waterproof and dustproof for rainy-day use
  • 7.0 x 3.5 x 1.6 in and 1.7 lb, phone-sized
  • USB output plus a 3-mode LED flashlight with a red SOS light

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No battery capacity is stated
  • The listing states fewer specs than the other four
  • No display or screen is stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Jump Starter Peak Amps Engine Rating Battery Warranty
Soulor CY20 5000A 10.0L gas / 10.0L diesel 8000mAh 2 years
AUXITO J102 5000A 8.5L gas / 8.0L diesel 12000mAh 2 years
GOOLOO GT6000 6000A All gas / 12L diesel 27000mAh Not stated
BooKoo Q6 4000A 8.0L gas / 7.0L diesel 16000mAh Not stated
GEHOPOW A9 6000A 10.0L gas / 8.0L diesel Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. Peak amps and engine ratings are the maker’s figures.

How we scored them

The Shop Score weighs performance (peak amps, engine ratings, battery capacity), build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Safety points go to stated protections: the Soulor lists 14-in-1 protections, the AUXITO and GOOLOO list 10, the BooKoo lists eight named ones, and the GEHOPOW states IP66. Warranty points go only to the Soulor and AUXITO, which state 2-year terms.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Soulor CY20 9.7 32 21 21 9 3
AUXITO J102 9.7 32 21 20 8 3
GOOLOO GT6000 9.7 33 22 20 8 0
BooKoo Q6 9.6 29 20 20 8 0
GEHOPOW A9 9.5 29 19 20 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Buying guide: the best jump starter for first car

Match the engine rating to the car

Engine ratings are stated as gas and diesel liters. The GOOLOO covers all gas and 12L diesel, the Soulor 10.0L gas and 10.0L diesel, the GEHOPOW 10.0L gas and 8.0L diesel, the AUXITO 8.5L gas and 8.0L diesel, and the BooKoo 8.0L gas and 7.0L diesel. A first car is usually a small gas engine, so all five cover it, but the margin matters if the car gets traded up. Our jump starter sizing guide walks through matching ratings to engines.

Protections matter more for beginners

Reverse polarity and spark-proof clamps are the difference between a safe jump and a fried battery. The Soulor lists 14-in-1 protections and includes insulated gloves, the AUXITO lists 10 intelligent protections, the GOOLOO lists 10 kinds of protection, and the BooKoo names eight from short circuit to over-temperature. The GEHOPOW leans on its IP66 rating instead. For a first car, pick a box whose protections are spelled out.

Keep it charged or it is a brick

Jump boxes lose charge sitting in a glovebox. The Soulor and GOOLOO state 24-month standby, the AUXITO recommends charging every three months when unused, and the BooKoo asks for a full charge before first use. A maintainer on the car battery between drives helps too; see our best battery charger maintainer picks. The GOOLOO recharges at the stated 100W speed, 0 to 100% in 1.4 hours stated.

Size, weight and the extras

All five fit a glovebox, from the GEHOPOW at 7.0 x 3.5 x 1.6 in and 1.7 lb to the AUXITO at 4.7 x 7.91 x 3.9 in. Every pick doubles as a power bank and a flashlight, and the AUXITO adds a 2000LM panel light with a hook and magnet for night work. The Soulor adds a compass and gloves; the GOOLOO adds a 15V/10A port for 12V DC devices like tire inflators.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the engine rating against the car: all five cover a small gas engine, with margins up to 12L diesel.
  • Charge it before the first drive: the BooKoo asks for a full charge first, and the AUXITO wants topping up every three months unused.
  • Store it where you can reach it: glovebox or trunk organizer, not under the spare tire.
  • Read the clamp protections once: reverse polarity and spark-proof matter most for a first jump.

What to check before your first jump start

Charge it fully first. The AUXITO listing says to make sure it is 100 percent fully charged before first use, and to recharge every three months if it sits unused. The GOOLOO and Soulor both state a 24-month standby time, so they hold charge far longer than older packs, but a top-up before a long trip is still cheap insurance. The Soulor’s 2-inch LCD and the GOOLOO’s 3.2-inch LED display show remaining power at a glance.

Match the peak amps to your engine. The BooKoo states 4000A for up to 8.0L gas and 7.0L diesel, the AUXITO states 5000A for 8.5L gas and 8.0L diesel, the Soulor states 5000A for 10L gas and 10L diesel, the GEHOPOW states 6000A for 10L gas and 8L diesel, and the GOOLOO states 6000A for all gas and up to 12L diesel. A first car is usually a small sedan, so any of the five covers it; the higher ratings only matter if you later jump a truck or SUV.

Use the smart clamps correctly. The BooKoo states 8 protections including reverse polarity and spark-proof, the AUXITO states 10 intelligent protections, the Soulor states 14-in-1 with insulated gloves included, and the GOOLOO states 10 kinds of protection. Connect red to positive and black to negative, wait for the indicator, and never touch the clamps together. The protections are a backup, not a substitute for reading the manual once.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size jump starter does a first car need?

A small gas engine needs far less than these boxes offer. The BooKoo at 4000A covers 8.0L gas, and every pick here covers more, so pick on protections and warranty instead.

How many jumps does one charge give?

The AUXITO states up to 50 starts, the Soulor up to 40, and the BooKoo up to 20 on a single charge. The GOOLOO and GEHOPOW state no figure.

Can a jump starter charge a phone?

Yes. All five have USB output: the BooKoo lists USB QC 3.0 PD 18W, the GOOLOO lists 100W bi-directional charging, and the others list USB ports for phones and tablets.

Which of these state a warranty?

The Soulor states a 2 year warranty and the AUXITO a 2 year manufacturer warranty. The other three state no warranty term.

Are these safe for a beginner to use?

The listings say so: the Soulor lists 14-in-1 protections and includes insulated gloves, and the AUXITO, GOOLOO and BooKoo all list multiple named protections. Read the manual before the first use.

Related: the best jump starter roundup, our best battery charger maintainer picks and our diagnostics and electrical hub.

More buying guides