Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Large Tool Bag (2026): Picks for Home Garages

Large tool bags from 16 to 24 inches, compared by pockets, material, water resistance and warranty for the home garage.

Best Large Tool Bag (2026): Picks for Home Garages
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Carhartt 30-Pocket BagBest OverallCarhartt 30-Pocket Bag9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Fastech 22in Wide MouthBest for Wet SitesFastech 22in Wide Mouth9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3CLC 1111 Gear BagBest for Bulky GearCLC 1111 Gear Bag9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Fastech 22in Heavy DutyBest Max LoadFastech 22in Heavy Duty9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Airaj 2-Pack Tool BagsBest 2-PackAiraj 2-Pack Tool Bags9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK XL Tool BagCRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK XL Tool BagView on Amazon
  7. 7HAUTMEC 3-Piece Large Tool Bag SetHAUTMEC 3-Piece Large Tool Bag SetView on Amazon
  8. 8Klein Tools 5140 Canvas Zipper BagKlein Tools 5140 Canvas Zipper BagView on Amazon
  9. 9Klein Tools 5141 Zipper Tool BagKlein Tools 5141 Zipper Tool BagView on Amazon
  10. 10BLACK+DECKER Tool Tote Bag for Matrix SystemBLACK+DECKER Tool Tote Bag for Matrix SystemView on Amazon

A brake job turns into a scavenger hunt when every wrench lives in a different corner of the garage. The fix is one big bag that swallows the whole kit. We compared the contenders on size, pockets, material, water resistance and warranty to find the best large tool bag for a working home garage.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Carhartt 30-Pocket Bag: 30 pockets and an internal metal frame in a 1200-denier shell Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Wet Sites Fastech 22in Wide Mouth: 22 in with a waterproof molded base and 15 compartments Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Bulky Gear CLC 1111 Gear Bag: 24 in gear bag with a 30-day warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best Max Load Fastech 22in Heavy Duty: 22 in, waterproof coating, 16 sorting pockets, 100 kg max Check price on Amazon
  • Best 2-Pack Airaj 2-Pack Tool Bags: Two bags, 16 and 18 in, in one set Check price on Amazon

The picks

Carhartt Utility Large Tool Bag Carhartt Brown

Carhartt Utility Large Tool Bag Carhartt Brown

Carhartt9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16 in, 30-pocket bag with an internal metal frame, 1200-denier shell and Rain Defender water repellency.

Pros

  • 30 pockets, 20 exterior and 10 interior, keep every tool in a dedicated spot
  • Internal metal frame holds the bag open and upright while you work
  • 1200-denier polyester with Duravax base and Rain Defender sheds light rain
  • Main compartment fits a cordless drill, with dual handles plus a removable padded shoulder strap

Cons

  • Bullets mention a 26-pocket bag while the title claims 30 pockets, which conflicts
  • Spec table lists 17 pockets and 8.5 in height against the 30-pocket, 16 in bullets
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 8-pound max load trails the 100 kg and 80-pound listings
FASTECH 22-inch Wide Mouth Tool Bag with Water

FASTECH 22-inch Wide Mouth Tool Bag with Water

FASTECH9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 22 in wide-mouth bag with a waterproof molded base, 15 compartments and 22-liter capacity.

Pros

  • Waterproof molded base stands up to harsh, wet job sites
  • 15 compartments and 22-liter capacity swallow a full kit
  • 1680 double-layer Oxford cloth resists wear, scratches and tears
  • Thickened handle plus adjustable shoulder strap with metal buckle

Cons

  • Spec table lists Size 15 Inch against the 22 in title and bullets
  • Bullets give 22L x 14H x 11W while the spec table swaps width and height
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 80-pound max load trails the 100 kg listing
CLC Custom Leathercraft 1111 24 in. All Purpose

CLC Custom Leathercraft 1111 24 in. All Purpose

Custom Leathercraft9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 24 in all-purpose gear bag with 7 outside pockets, rubber feet and a 30-day warranty.

Pros

  • 24 in length fits air hoses, kneepads, power tools and extension cords
  • 30-day warranty is the only stated warranty in this roundup
  • Abrasion-resistant rubber feet protect the base
  • Reinforced padded handles for comfortable carrying

Cons

  • Only 7 outside pockets, the fewest listed
  • Not water resistant
  • Bullets give 24 L x 12 W x 12 H while the spec table lists 24 x 11 x 11
  • 10-pound max load is modest for a 24-liter bag
FASTECH 22in Heavy Duty Bottom Tools Bag With Wide

FASTECH 22in Heavy Duty Bottom Tools Bag With Wide

FASTECH9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 22 in heavy-duty bag with waterproof coating, 16 sorting pockets and a bimetallic zipper.

Pros

  • Waterproof coating stands up to water and long use
  • 8 internal plus 8 external sorting pockets organize the kit
  • 1680 double-layer Oxford cloth resists wear, scratches and tears
  • 100 kg max load is the highest stated

Cons

  • Bullets give 22L x 14H x 11W while the spec table swaps width and height
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Dark blue only, with no color choice listed
  • Fewer pockets than the 30-pocket and 15-compartment listings
AIRAJ 2 Pack Large Tool Bag,16" & 18"Wide Mouth

AIRAJ 2 Pack Large Tool Bag,16" & 18"Wide Mouth

AIRAJ9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Two bags, 16 and 18 in, in one set, with multiple pockets and a wipe-clean surface.

Pros

  • Two bags in one set: 16 and 18 in for daily kit and overflow
  • Multiple pockets and compartments keep tools organized
  • Wipe-clean surface needs only a damp cloth
  • Lightweight and easy to carry at home or on the go

Cons

  • Not water resistant
  • Spec table lists 17L x 9W x 2.2H against the 16 and 18 in title
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 2.6-pound max load is the lowest stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Bag Shop Score Size Pockets Material Water resistance Max load Warranty
Carhartt 30-Pocket Bag 9.6/10 16 in 30 1200-denier polyester Water repellent 8 pounds Not stated
Fastech 22in Wide Mouth 9.6/10 22 in 15 compartments 1680 Oxford cloth Waterproof 80 pounds Not stated
CLC 1111 Gear Bag 9.5/10 24 in 7 outside pockets Rubber Not water resistant 10 pounds 30 days
Fastech 22in Heavy Duty 9.5/10 22 in 16 pockets 1680 Oxford cloth Waterproof 100 kg Not stated
Airaj 2-Pack Tool Bags 9.4/10 16 and 18 in Not stated Oxford cloth Not water resistant 2.6 pounds Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each bag is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the listings states a safety certification, so every bag scores zero on safety, and only the CLC listing states a warranty term.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Carhartt 30-Pocket Bag 9.6 30 21 19 n/a 0
Fastech 22in Wide Mouth 9.6 29 21 19 n/a 0
CLC 1111 Gear Bag 9.5 27 18 18 n/a 2
Fastech 22in Heavy Duty 9.5 28 20 19 n/a 0
Airaj 2-Pack Tool Bags 9.4 26 16 20 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

The listings span 16 in to 24 in. Water resistance runs from a waterproof coating and a molded waterproof base to listings that state no water resistance at all. Pocket counts run from 7 outside pockets to 30, and only the CLC 1111 listing states a warranty term: 30 days. Several listings contradict their own spec tables on dimensions, and the Carhartt bullets name both 30 pockets and a 26-pocket bag.

Buying guide: the best large tool bag for your garage

Size and pockets

A 16 in bag rides in a trunk without complaint; a 24 in bag swallows air hoses and extension cords. Count the pockets against your kit: 30 small pockets beat one big compartment when you reach for the same screwdriver all day. The AIRAJ set gives you two bags, 16 and 18 in, so the daily kit and the overflow each get a home. If the pockets are not enough, a tool bag organizer insert adds structure to a plain compartment.

Material and water resistance

1680 double-layer Oxford cloth shrugs off abrasion, and 1200-denier polyester with a Duravax base does the same with less weight. A waterproof coating or a molded waterproof base keeps tools dry on a wet driveway, but two of these listings state no water resistance at all, so check before you leave a bag out in the rain. Rubber feet, like the ones on the CLC 1111, keep the base off wet concrete.

Carry options

Thickened handles matter when the bag is loaded, and a padded, adjustable shoulder strap saves your grip on the walk across the site. The Carhartt bag adds dual webbing haul handles plus a removable padded strap, and both FASTECH bags include an adjustable shoulder strap. Metal buckles and bimetallic zippers are the details that survive daily use.

Watch for listing contradictions

Two FASTECH listings give 22L x 14H x 11W in the bullets and swap two of those numbers in the spec table, so trust the bullets. The CLC bullets say 24 L x 12 W x 12 H while its spec table lists 24 by 11 by 11. The Carhartt bullets claim 30 pockets but also mention a 26-pocket bag, so go with the 30-pocket figure the title states.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure your longest tool: a 24 in bag fits air hoses and extension cords, a 16 in bag fits a cordless drill.
  • Check the water rating: a waterproof coating and a molded base shed rain, while the AIRAJ and CLC listings state no water resistance.
  • Count pockets against your kit: 30 pockets suit a full trade kit, 7 outside pockets suit a short list of hand tools.
  • Confirm the max load on the listing: 100 kg, 80 pounds, 10 pounds, 8 pounds and 2.6 pounds are stated across the shortlist.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size tool bag should I get?

Match the bag to the longest tool you carry: 24 in fits air hoses and extension cords, while 16 in fits a cordless drill and hand tools. If you carry a full kit, more pockets beat more inches.

Are these tool bags waterproof?

The two FASTECH bags list a waterproof coating or a molded waterproof base, and the Carhartt lists water-repellent Rain Defender. The AIRAJ and CLC listings state they are not water resistant.

How many pockets do I need?

It depends on the kit: the Carhartt lists 30 pockets for a full trade load, the FASTECH bags list 16 pockets or 15 compartments, and the CLC lists 7 outside pockets.

Do any of these bags have a warranty?

Only the CLC 1111 listing states a warranty: 30 days. The other listings state no warranty term.

Can one bag hold power tools?

The Carhartt main compartment is listed as large enough for a cordless drill, and the 24 in CLC bag is made for air hoses, kneepads and power tools. Check the max load on the listing: 8 pounds for the Carhartt, 10 pounds for the CLC.

What is the best way to clean a tool bag?

The AIRAJ listing says its surface wipes clean with a damp cloth. The other listings give no cleaning instructions, so check the material on the listing before you scrub.

Related: our tool storage hub, the best tool bag organizer and the rolling tool bag vs tool cart. Also see our best rolling tool bag. Also see our best tool bag for mechanics. Also see our best tool bag for power tools. Also see our best sling tool bag. Also see our best zippered tool bag. Also see our best small tool bag. Also see our tool backpack vs tool bag.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.