Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best MIG Welder for Small Garage (2026): 4 Picks

Four MIG welders for a small garage compared by output, processes, max steel thickness, weight, duty cycle and warranty, all running on 110V.

Best MIG Welder for Small Garage (2026): 4 Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1SEESII MIG-135Best OverallSEESII MIG-1359.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2AWT MIG-140-USBest 140A PickAWT MIG-140-US9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3WELDPRO MIG160Most VersatileWELDPRO MIG1609.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4AWT MIG-140-PRO-USBest Portable 3-in-1AWT MIG-140-PRO-US9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5AZZUNO 3 in 1 MIG Welder 110VAZZUNO 3 in 1 MIG Welder 110VView on Amazon
  6. 6GNI Multiprocess Portable MINI WelderGNI Multiprocess Portable MINI WelderView on Amazon
  7. 7Bestarc 145A MIG WelderBestarc 145A MIG WelderView on Amazon
  8. 8145A MIG Welder145A MIG WelderView on Amazon
  9. 9YESWELDER 135A MIG WelderYESWELDER 135A MIG WelderView on Amazon
  10. 10ARCCAPTAIN 130A Flux Core Welder MIG Welder 110V Gasless MIGARCCAPTAIN 130A Flux Core Welder MIG Welder 110V Gasless MIGView on Amazon

The job is a rusted trailer fender on a Saturday, and the garage is a single bay with one 110V outlet to spare. A big 220V machine has no place here, but a compact MIG welder does. The best mig welder for small garage work runs on 110V, handles flux-core wire so there is no gas bottle to store, and is light enough to carry to the driveway. This guide compares four by the figures their listings publish: output amps, processes, max steel thickness, weight, duty cycle and warranty. None of the four needs a gas bottle, which is half the battle in a small shop: flux-core wire feeds from a small spool inside the machine, and the lightest pick here lists 7.7 lb, easy to carry to the driveway with the included shoulder strap.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall SEESII MIG-135: 135A 3-in-1 at 7.7 lb with a 2-year warranty and a complete starter kit. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 140A Pick AWT MIG-140-US: 140A synergic 2-in-1 at 9 lb with a 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Versatile WELDPRO MIG160: 160A 6-in-1 with dual voltage, job memory and a full accessory kit. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable 3-in-1 AWT MIG-140-PRO-US: 140A 3-in-1 with Lift TIG at a listed 10 lb. Check price on Amazon

The picks

SEESII 135A MIG Welder 110V

SEESII 135A MIG Welder 110V

Seesii9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 135A 110V 3-in-1 welder (gasless flux MIG, stick, Lift TIG) at a listed 7.7 lb with a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 135A output, welds up to 5/16 in mild steel
  • Lightest here at a listed 7.7 lb
  • 2-year manufacturer warranty stated
  • Complete starter kit: torch, clamp, wire, tips

Cons

  • No duty cycle figure stated
  • Lift TIG torch not included
  • Spec table lists 13.37 lb against the 7.7 lb bullets
  • Spec table claims lithium-ion batteries on a 110V welder
AWT MIG Welder 140A, 2 in 1 Welding Machine,Welder

AWT MIG Welder 140A, 2 in 1 Welding Machine,Welder

AWT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 140A 110V synergic 2-in-1 welder (flux MIG, stick) at a listed 9 lb with a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 140A synergic 2-in-1 with manual MIG mode
  • Listed 9 lb with handle and shoulder strap
  • VRD plus over-current and overheating protection
  • 2-year warranty stated in the spec table

Cons

  • Spec table lists 15.12 lb against the 9 lb bullets
  • Max 5/32 in steel, thinner than the 5/16 in picks
  • 2 lb wire roll is small for big projects
  • No TIG process
WELDPRO 160A MIG Welder 110V/220V

WELDPRO 160A MIG Welder 110V/220V

W Weldpro9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 160A dual-voltage 6-in-1 multi-process welder with job memory and a complete accessory kit.

Pros

  • 160A with six processes including spot weld mode
  • 110V/220V dual voltage with auto detection
  • Job memory stores 15 parameter sets
  • Complete kit: torch, auto-darkening helmet, tips, rolls

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Heaviest here at a listed 23.4 lb
  • Spec table claims gas-powered on an electric welder
  • Foot pedal for TIG sold separately
AWT 140A Flux Core MIG Welder/Stick/Lift TIG 3

AWT 140A Flux Core MIG Welder/Stick/Lift TIG 3

AWT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 140A 110V synergic 3-in-1 welder (flux MIG, stick, Lift TIG) at a listed 10 lb.

Pros

  • 140A 3-in-1 with Lift TIG added
  • Synergic control with manual MIG mode
  • Listed 10 lb with handle and shoulder strap
  • VRD plus over-current and overheating protection

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Spec table lists 9 lb and 17.16 lb against the 10 lb bullets
  • Max 5/32 in steel, thinner than the 5/16 in picks
  • TIG torch details not stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Output Processes Max steel Weight (listed) Duty cycle Warranty
SEESII MIG-135 135A Flux MIG / Stick / Lift TIG 5/16 in 7.7 lb Not stated 2-year manufacturer
AWT MIG-140-US 140A Flux MIG / Stick 5/32 in (4mm) 9 lb 60% 2-year
WELDPRO MIG160 160A 6-in-1 multi-process 8mm (5/16 in) 23.4 lb 60% at 160A (220V) Not stated
AWT MIG-140-PRO-US 140A Flux MIG / Stick / Lift TIG 5/32 in (4mm) 10 lb 60% Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026. Weights are as listed; two listings give conflicting weight figures, noted in the reviews.

How we scored them

Each welder is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Stated safety features like VRD and over-current protection earn safety points; a stated warranty term earns warranty points.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
SEESII MIG-135 9.6 29 20 21 5 3
AWT MIG-140-US 9.5 28 19 20 5 3
WELDPRO MIG160 9.5 33 21 19 7 0
AWT MIG-140-PRO-US 9.5 29 19 19 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

All four listings state 110V operation, and three state a 60% duty cycle. Two state a 2-year warranty term; two state no warranty term at all. The two AWT listings contradict themselves on weight between bullets and spec table, and the WELDPRO and SEESII spec tables each carry a field that contradicts the electric welder in the title; the reviews call these out.

Buying guide: the best mig welder for small garage

110V or dual voltage

All four run on 110V, which plugs into a standard garage outlet. The WELDPRO also runs on 220V with automatic dual-voltage detection, but a 220V circuit in a small garage is a job for a licensed electrician, not a DIY weekend. If your garage has only 110V, all four work; the dual-voltage pick only earns its keep if the 220V outlet already exists. See 110V vs 220V welder for the full comparison.

How thick a welder can weld

The listings state max mild steel thickness: 5/32 in (4mm) for both AWT machines, 5/16 in for the SEESII and 8mm (5/16 in) for the WELDPRO. Match that to your work: exhaust pipe and sheet metal need far less than a trailer frame. The SEESII lists a 30A to 135A range, useful for thin work at the low end.

Amps and thickness track together but are not the whole story: the 135A SEESII lists the same 5/16 in capacity as the 160A WELDPRO, while the 140A AWT machines list 5/32 in. Duty cycle decides how long you can stay at those maximums. For patch panels, exhaust hangers and brackets, any of the four has headroom; for a trailer frame or receiver hitch, favor the 5/16 in picks.

Duty cycle

Three listings state a 60% duty cycle: 6 minutes of welding in every 10 before the machine needs to cool. The SEESII listing states no duty cycle figure. For patch panels and short beads, 60% is plenty; for long continuous beads on thick steel, it is the limit to respect.

Gasless flux core

All four run flux-core wire with no gas bottle, which is exactly what a small garage wants: no cylinder to store, secure and refill. The AWT machines take .030 and .035 in flux wire on a 2 lb roll; the SEESII includes a 1 lb spool of .030 in wire in the box. See best flux core welder for beginners for more gasless options.

Weight and size

The SEESII lists 7.7 lb and the AWT 2-in-1 lists 9 lb, both with a handle or shoulder strap for carrying to the work. The WELDPRO lists 23.4 lb at 16.26 by 6.89 by 12.09 in, the biggest here by far. In a single-bay garage, a welder that hangs on the wall or rides on a shelf beats one that needs floor space.

Safety features

Look for what the listings state: VRD (voltage reduction device) on the AWT machines and the WELDPRO, over-current and overheating protection on all four, and an IP21S rating on the WELDPRO. A welding helmet is non-negotiable; the WELDPRO kit includes an auto-darkening helmet in the box. See the best welding helmet for beginners.

Synergic vs manual MIG

Synergic control sets the voltage and wire speed from the wire diameter you select: both AWT machines and the WELDPRO list it, with .030 and .035 in flux wire on the AWT machines. For a beginner, that means acceptable beads without dialing in settings. The WELDPRO also lists a manual MIG mode with independent current and voltage control plus adjustable inductance, which matters once you can read a puddle. The SEESII lists no synergic mode, only a 30A to 135A output range. If this is your first welder, synergic saves frustration; if it is your third, manual control is the feature you will miss.

What comes in the box

Small-garage welding has hidden startup costs, so the kit matters. The WELDPRO box is the most complete here: MB-14K MIG torch, auto-darkening helmet, chipping hammer, 8 contact tips, dual drive rolls, electrode holder, ground clamp and gas hose. The SEESII includes the welder, MIG torch, ground clamp, a 1 lb spool of flux core wire, brush and contact tips, enough to strike an arc within minutes of unboxing. The AWT listings say machines and accessories are included without detailing them, so assume the basics and budget for tips and wire. Whatever you buy, add a helmet if the box lacks one.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Confirm a 110V outlet with room on the circuit; the WELDPRO’s 220V mode needs an electrician-installed circuit.
  • Measure the shelf or wall spot: the WELDPRO is 16.26 in long, the AWT 2-in-1 is 6.7 by 11.4 by 5.9 in and the AWT 3-in-1 is 6.8 by 12.2 by 5.9 in.
  • Flux-core wire means no gas bottle to store; the SEESII includes a 1 lb spool to start.
  • Ventilate the garage when welding; flux-core smoke needs airflow, not a closed single bay.
  • Keep a fire extinguisher within reach and clear the area of flammables before striking an arc.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I run a MIG welder on a standard 110V outlet?

Yes for these four: all list 110V operation. The WELDPRO also runs on 220V, but that circuit must be installed by a licensed electrician.

What thickness can a 140A welder handle?

The AWT listings state up to 5/32 in (4mm) mild steel at 140A. The 135A SEESII states up to 5/16 in, and the 160A WELDPRO states up to 8mm (5/16 in).

Do I need gas for MIG welding?

Not with these machines: all four run gasless flux-core wire, so there is no bottle to buy or store. The tradeoff is more spatter and smoke than gas-shielded MIG.

What is duty cycle?

The share of a 10-minute period the welder can run at its rated output before it must cool. Three listings here state 60%; the SEESII listing states no figure.

Is Lift TIG worth having?

For clean, precise work on thin material, yes, and the AWT 3-in-1, WELDPRO and SEESII all list Lift TIG. Note the SEESII listing says the TIG torch is not included, and the WELDPRO offers a foot pedal separately.

Related: the best MIG welder for home garage, the best MIG welder for beginners, MIG vs stick welder and the best welding helmet for beginners.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…