Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best OBD2 Memory Saver (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five obd2 memory savers compared by display, protection, power source and warranty, for preserving vehicle settings during a battery swap.

Best OBD2 Memory Saver (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1LUTIFIX BT30 CableTop PickLUTIFIX BT30 Cable9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2MR CARTOOL B80 CableBest Runner-UpMR CARTOOL B80 Cable9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3EZRED MS4000 SaverBest Self-ContainedEZRED MS4000 Saver9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Autel MaxiBAS BTMSBest for ConfirmationAutel MaxiBAS BTMS9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Clore Automotive SOLAR ESA30 OBD II Memory Saver ConnectorClore Automotive SOLAR ESA30 OBD II Memory Saver ConnectorView on Amazon
  6. 6Tune SaverTune SaverView on Amazon

Swapping a car battery should be a simple job, until the radio presets vanish, the clock resets and the car forgets the settings it had learned. A best obd2 memory saver keeps a small supply of power flowing to the vehicle electronics while the main battery is out, so those settings survive the swap.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Top Pick LUTIFIX BT30 Cable: Voltage and current display, triple protection, 3A fuse, 3 years warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Runner-Up MR CARTOOL B80 Cable: Same display and protection set, with auto leakage detection and 24-months warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Self-Contained EZRED MS4000 Saver: Built-in 12 volt, 4.5 amp hour battery with charger function and breaker. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Confirmation Autel MaxiBAS BTMS: Voltage meter, reverse polarity protection and green LED connection lights. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

Car Memory Saver Cable, OBD II Vehicle ECU

Car Memory Saver Cable, OBD II Vehicle ECU

LUTIFIX9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OBD memory saver cable with voltage and current display, triple protection, a 3A fuse and preliminary leakage detection for battery swaps.

Pros

  • Voltage and current display at the same time, for depleted battery checks
  • Over-voltage, over-current and reverse polarity protection with a 3A fuse
  • Preliminary leakage detection by watching current while fuses are pulled
  • 3 years warranty, the longest stated term here

Cons

  • No cable length is stated in the listing
  • Leakage detection is preliminary only, per the listing
  • Spare battery is not included, per the listing steps
  • No color or size beyond the cable design is stated
MR CARTOOL OBD2 Car Memory Saver Cable

MR CARTOOL OBD2 Car Memory Saver Cable

MR CARTOOL9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OBD memory saver cable with real-time voltage and current display, triple protection, a 3A fuse and auto leakage detection.

Pros

  • Real-time voltage and current display during replacement
  • Triple protection with a reinforced 3A fast-blow fuse
  • Auto leakage detection by pulling fuses while watching current
  • 24-months warranty stated in the listing

Cons

  • No cable length is stated in the listing
  • Leakage detection is preliminary only, per the listing
  • Spare battery is not included, per the listing steps
  • No display size is stated in the listing
Autel OBD2 Memory Saver for Car Battery

Autel OBD2 Memory Saver for Car Battery

Autel9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OBD2 memory saver with a 16 pin connection, built-in voltage meter, reverse polarity protection and LED indicators for 12V vehicles.

Pros

  • 16 pin OBD2 connection for stable power regardless of ignition status
  • Built-in voltage meter that also detects reverse polarity
  • Two LEDs light green on a successful connection
  • 5.9FT long thickened copper wire with strong bite alligator clips

Cons

  • No current display is stated, only a voltage meter
  • No working voltage range is stated in the listing
  • Spare 12V backup battery is not included, per the listing steps
  • Model name varies in the listing: MaxiBAS BTMS and MaxiBTMS both appear
EZRED MS4000 Automotive Memory Saver With Built

EZRED MS4000 Automotive Memory Saver With Built

EZRED9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A self-contained memory saver and charger with a built-in 12 volt battery, a direct wired OBDII connector and a 4 amp circuit breaker.

Pros

  • Built-in 12 volt, 4.5 amp hour sealed lead acid battery included
  • Also charges batteries, not just a cable pass-through
  • Direct wired OBDII connector plugs into the vehicle port
  • 4 amp circuit breaker protection stated

Cons

  • No display is stated in the listing
  • No cable length is stated in the listing
  • Heaviest approach here as a self-contained unit at 1.9 Pounds
  • No current reading or leakage detection is stated
NYTKL OBD2 Car Memory Saver Protection Connector

NYTKL OBD2 Car Memory Saver Protection Connector

NYTKL9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OBD2 memory saver connector with red and blue display screens, PVC cables, alligator clips and a 119.4 cm extended cable.

Pros

  • Red screen shows voltage and blue screen shows current, reading zero under no-load
  • PVC cables with insulation for long term performance
  • 119.4 cm extended cable with 3.1 inches long clips
  • Compatible with sedans, SUVs, and trucks, per the listing

Cons

  • No specific protection type or fuse is named in the listing
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • Adapter size differs: bullets say 3.5 x 1.5 inches, spec table says 3.1x1.8 inches
  • No working voltage range or alarm is stated in the listing

Other tools worth a look

Compare the best obd2 memory saver picks

Model Shop Score Display Protection Power source Warranty
LUTIFIX BT30 Cable 9.7/10 Voltage and current Over-voltage, over-current, reverse polarity, 3A fuse Spare 12V battery 3 years
MR CARTOOL B80 Cable 9.7/10 Voltage and current Triple protection, 3A fuse Spare 12V battery 24-months
Autel MaxiBAS BTMS 9.6/10 Voltage meter, LED Reverse polarity protection 12V backup battery 1 Year
EZRED MS4000 Saver 9.5/10 Not stated 4 amp circuit breaker Built-in 12 volt battery Not stated
NYTKL OBD2 Protector 9.5/10 Voltage and current screens Power protection stated Replacement battery Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 30 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How the points were given

Each saver is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Safety here means stated electrical protection such as reverse polarity protection, over-voltage and over-current protection, a fuse or a circuit breaker. Three listings state a concrete warranty term: 1 Year on the Autel pick, 24-months on the MR CARTOOL pick and 3 years on the LUTIFIX pick. The EZRED listing states a Limited One Year Warranty without a concrete term, so it scores zero on warranty here, and the NYTKL pick states none.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
LUTIFIX BT30 Cable 9.7 30 21 21 8 4
MR CARTOOL B80 Cable 9.7 29 21 21 8 3
Autel MaxiBAS BTMS 9.6 29 21 20 8 3
EZRED MS4000 Saver 9.5 28 20 20 7 0
NYTKL OBD2 Protector 9.5 27 20 20 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read 5 listings. All 5 work on 12V vehicles, 4 use a spare battery connected through alligator clips, and only the EZRED pick carries its own built-in battery. Voltage and current displays appear on 3 listings, reverse polarity protection on 3 listings, and a fuse or breaker on 3 listings. Warranty terms run from 1 Year to 3 years where stated, and one listing contradicts itself on adapter size, called out in its review below.

Buying guide: choosing an obd2 memory saver

Display: voltage, current, or neither

A display shows whether the spare battery has enough voltage before the old battery comes out. The LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL picks display voltage and current at the same time, and the current reading also supports preliminary leakage detection by watching the current while fuses are pulled in turn. The Autel pick has a built-in voltage meter with LED lights that light green on a successful connection, while the NYTKL pick uses a red screen for voltage and a blue screen for current. The EZRED pick states no display, so it suits a driver who trusts the built-in battery and breaker instead of a readout.

Protection: polarity, voltage and current

Protection is what stands between a wrong clip and damaged electronics. The Autel pick stops the flow of electrons when reverse polarity is detected, and the LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL picks add over-voltage and over-current protection with a 3A fuse, plus power-off protection when voltage exceeds 16V. The EZRED pick is protected by a 4 amp circuit breaker. The NYTKL pick states power protection in general terms, without naming a fuse or a specific protection type, so it scores lower on safety here.

Power source: built-in battery or spare battery

Most picks here need a spare battery: the Autel, LUTIFIX, MR CARTOOL and NYTKL picks all connect alligator clips to a separate 12V battery, then plug into the vehicle OBD port. The EZRED pick is different, with a 12 volt, 4.5 amp hour sealed lead acid battery included inside the unit, plus a charger function, so no spare battery is needed. A built-in battery suits a driver who swaps a battery rarely, while a cable pick suits a driver who already keeps a spare battery on hand.

Working range and alarms

Working range decides whether the saver stays quiet or sounds an alarm during the swap. The LUTIFIX pick states an operating voltage range of 10~14V, with an alarm when voltage is below 10V or above 14V, and the MR CARTOOL pick states 10-14V with audible alarms at the same limits. Both also state power-off protection above 16V. The Autel and NYTKL listings state no working range, so a driver comparing on this point has only the two cable picks with stated ranges.

During the swap: what the listings warn

The listings agree on one caution: keep the vehicle powered off and do not switch on electrical devices during the swap. The Autel listing warns against opening a door, turning on lights, starting the vehicle or touching the hitch during replacement, and the LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL listings give the same warning about doors, lights and appliances. Follow the included manual for the pick in hand, since the exact warning wording differs by listing.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Power: confirm a spare 12V battery is on hand for the cable picks, or use the built-in battery on the EZRED pick.
  • Display: check whether the pick shows voltage, current or both before the old battery comes out.
  • Protection: confirm reverse polarity protection and a fuse or breaker are stated, as on the Autel, LUTIFIX, MR CARTOOL and EZRED picks.
  • Storage: the cable picks pack down to a cable and clips, while the EZRED pick is a self-contained unit with its own battery.
  • Warranty: note the stated term before buying, from 1 Year to 3 years where stated.

FAQ: garage tools

What is a battery memory saver?

A battery memory saver supplies power to vehicle electronics through the OBD port while the main battery is disconnected, so radio presets, ECU adaptations, clock settings and keyless entry settings are preserved during the swap.

How does an obd2 memory saver work?

The cable picks connect alligator clips to a spare 12V battery and plug into the vehicle OBD port, holding power to the electronics while the old battery is removed and the new one is fitted. The EZRED pick does the same job from its built-in 12 volt, 4.5 amp hour battery.

Does a battery saver work with the ignition off?

The Autel listing states its saver works regardless of the vehicle ignition status, and the LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL listings state the vehicle power switch must remain off throughout the swap. Keep doors, lights and appliances off during replacement, as all three listings warn.

What happens if the clips are connected backwards?

Reverse polarity protection is stated on the Autel, LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL picks: the Autel pick stops the flow of electrons when the positive clamp is placed on the negative terminal, and the cable picks add fuse and power-off protection. The NYTKL and EZRED listings do not state reverse polarity protection in the same terms.

Can a memory saver detect a battery drain?

The LUTIFIX and MR CARTOOL picks state preliminary leakage detection: with the saver connected, pulling fuses in turn while watching the current reading shows a sudden drop on a draining circuit. Both listings note that further diagnosis needs other tools.

Related: the best obd2 scanner for diesel trucks, the best car battery charger, our diagnostics and electrical hub and our best automotive multimeter for car audio.

More buying guides

Diagnostics and Electrical ·

Best Ac Recharge Kit with Stop Leak (2026)

5 AC recharge kits with stop leak compared by cans, refrigerant type, gauge and hose, from a 5-can R134a kit to a 24-inch hose…

Diagnostics and Electrical ·

Best Vacuum Gauge with Valve (2026)

Four vacuum gauges and kits compared by range, dial, mount, case and warranty, from a glycerin-filled CARBO with ASME Grade A accuracy to a…