Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Plasma Cutter for 1/4 Steel (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five plasma cutters for 1/4 steel compared by clean cut thickness, output current, pilot arc torch, air supply, voltage, certification and warranty term.

Best Plasma Cutter for 1/4 Steel (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1ARCCAPTAIN CUT55Best OverallARCCAPTAIN CUT559.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2TOOLIOM CUT-50 PROBest for 1/4 Steel at 110VTOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Forney 251Best Simple PickForney 2519.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4PRIMEWELD CUT60Longest WarrantyPRIMEWELD CUT609.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Lotos LTP8000Most PowerLotos LTP80009.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Hobart AirForce 12ci Plasma Cutter 120V with Built-In AirHobart AirForce 12ci Plasma Cutter 120V with Built-In AirView on Amazon
  7. 7Hypertherm Powermax 30 Air Plasma Cutter 088096 with Built-InHypertherm Powermax 30 Air Plasma Cutter 088096 with Built-InView on Amazon
  8. 8ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  9. 9LTP5600CD 56A Drag-Cut Built-In Air Plasma Cutter 110V/220VLTP5600CD 56A Drag-Cut Built-In Air Plasma Cutter 110V/220VView on Amazon
  10. 10LOTOS LTP5505D 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter with Rust RemovalLOTOS LTP5505D 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter with Rust RemovalView on Amazon

A steel patch panel waits on the bench, and the edge needs trimming before it fits the frame. The best plasma cutter for 1/4 steel turns that rough edge into a clean line without a pile of grinding discs. We compared five plasma cutters by clean cut thickness, output current, pilot arc torch, air supply, voltage, certification and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall ARCCAPTAIN CUT55: 1/2 inch clean cut, 3/4 inch max cut, FCC and ANSI stated, 1 year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best for 1/4 Steel at 110V TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO: Clean 1/4 inch cut at 110V, ETL certified, LED display, 13.23 lb Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Pick Forney 251: Clean 1/4 inch cut, drag torch, 13 foot torch, 12 month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Longest Warranty PRIMEWELD CUT60: 3 year warranty, 60 amp pilot arc torch, 110/220V with adapter Check price on Amazon
  • Most Power Lotos LTP8000: 80 amp output, 1 inch ideal cut, 60% duty cycle at 80 amps Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

ARCCAPTAIN 55A Plasma Cutter Machine

ARCCAPTAIN 55A Plasma Cutter Machine

ARCCAPTAIN9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 55 amp dual-voltage plasma cutter with a non-touch pilot arc, a 1/2 inch clean cut and a 3/4 inch max cut at 240V, with FCC and ANSI standards stated.

Pros

  • 1/2 inch clean cut and 3/4 inch max cut at 55 amps and 240V
  • Non-touch pilot arc for rusty or dirty metal
  • FCC and ANSI standards are stated
  • 19.8 lb weight with a shoulder strap for moving around the garage

Cons

  • Spec table lists 14.1 ounces against the 19.8 lb in the bullets
  • Title states 120V and 240V while the bullets state 110V and 220V
  • Compressor is sold separately
  • 1 year warranty is shorter than the PRIMEWELD 3 year term
TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

TOOLIOM9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50 amp dual-voltage plasma cutter with a non-touch pilot arc, a clean cut of 1/4 inch at 110V, an LED display and ETL certification.

Pros

  • Clean cut of 1/4 inch at 110V and 5/8 inch at 220V
  • Non-touch pilot arc torch for stainless, alloy and mild steel
  • ETL certified with built-in safety features stated
  • LED display shows air pressure, voltage and current

Cons

  • Spec table lists 21.6 lb against 13.23 lb in the bullets
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Max air pressure differs by voltage: 50 PSI at 110V and 65 PSI at 220V
  • Package dimensions of 17.63 by 13.5 by 11.75 inches need bench room
Forney 251 Easy Weld 20 P Plasma Cutter

Forney 251 Easy Weld 20 P Plasma Cutter

Forney9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable 20 amp plasma cutter that clean cuts up to 1/4 inch, with a drag torch, a built-in regulator and air dryer, and a 12 month warranty.

Pros

  • Clean cut up to 1/4 inch on mild steel, stainless and aluminum
  • Drag torch technology for smooth cuts in direct contact with the metal
  • Built-in regulator and air dryer, with only 1.5 CFM of air needed
  • 13 foot cutting torch and 8 foot ground clamp included

Cons

  • Spec table lists Material as Plastic while the bullets state an all-metal case
  • No certification is stated
  • Aluminum clean cut is limited to 3/16 inch
  • Air compressor is not included
CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60 Torch Plasma

CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60 Torch Plasma

PRIMEWELD9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60 amp dual-voltage plasma cutter with a non-touch pilot arc PT60 torch, a 60% duty cycle at 60 amps and a 3 year warranty.

Pros

  • 60 amp output with a non-touch pilot arc PT60 torch
  • 60% duty cycle at 60 amps
  • 3 year warranty, the longest term stated here
  • Continuous pilot arc cuts expanded, rusted and painted metals

Cons

  • No cut thickness is stated, so it cannot be confirmed for 1/4 steel
  • No weight is stated
  • No certification is stated
  • Only dimensions of 20 by 11 by 19 inches are stated in the spec table
Lotos LTP8000 80 A Plasma Cutter with Pilot ARC

Lotos LTP8000 80 A Plasma Cutter with Pilot ARC

LOTOS9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 80 amp plasma cutter with a non-touch pilot arc, a 1 inch ideal cut and a 1 1/2 inch maximum cut, for stainless, alloy and mild steel.

Pros

  • 80 amp output, the highest stated here
  • 1 inch ideal cut and 1 1/2 inch maximum cut
  • Non-touch pilot arc cuts rough, painted and rusty surfaces
  • 2T/4T operation for long cuts without holding the trigger

Cons

  • Spec table contradicts the title on output, cut thickness and voltage
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No certification is stated
  • 38 lb weight is the heaviest stated here

Other tools worth a look

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Clean Cut Max Cut Output Voltage Warranty
ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 9.7/10 1/2 inch at 240V 3/4 inch at 240V 55A 120/240V 1 Year
TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO 9.6/10 1/4 inch at 110V 3/4 inch at 220V 50A 110/220V Not stated
Forney 251 9.5/10 1/4 inch Not stated 20A 120V 12 month warranty
PRIMEWELD CUT60 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated 60A 110/220V 3 Year Warranty
Lotos LTP8000 9.4/10 1 inch 1 1/2 inch 80A 210~250V Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 25 October 2026. Two listings state a certification and three state a warranty term.

How the points were given

Each cutter is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. For a plasma cutter, performance means clean cut thickness and output current, and safety means a stated ETL, FCC or ANSI listing. Two listings state a certification: the TOOLIOM states ETL and the ARCCAPTAIN states FCC and ANSI. Three state a warranty term: PRIMEWELD at 3 years, Forney at 12 months and ARCCAPTAIN at 1 year.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 9.7 30 21 21 7 2
TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO 9.6 30 21 21 7 0
Forney 251 9.5 28 20 20 0 3
PRIMEWELD CUT60 9.4 24 19 19 0 4
Lotos LTP8000 9.4 29 18 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read five plasma cutter listings. All five state an output current and a voltage, four state a clean cut thickness, and three state a warranty term, but only two state a certification. One listing states no cut thickness at all, and one contradicts itself between its title, bullets and spec table. The picks below sort those claims out, trusting the title and bullets over the spec table wherever they disagree.

Buying guide: the best plasma cutter for 1/4 steel

Clean cut versus max cut

Clean cut is the thickness the maker says the cutter slices neatly, and max cut is the thickest it severs at all. For 1/4 steel, look for a stated clean cut at or above 1/4 inch: the TOOLIOM states 1/4 inch at 110V and 5/8 inch at 220V, the Forney states up to 1/4 inch, the ARCCAPTAIN states 1/2 inch at 240V, and the Lotos states an ideal cut of 1 inch. The PRIMEWELD states no cut thickness, so its 60 amp output cannot be tied to 1/4 steel from the listing alone. A plasma cutter vs mig welder comparison helps if you are still choosing between cutting and joining metal.

Pilot arc and drag tips

Four of these cutters state a non-touch pilot arc, which starts the arc without touching the metal and keeps cutting over rusty, painted or expanded metal. The TOOLIOM, the ARCCAPTAIN, the PRIMEWELD and the Lotos all state a pilot arc torch, while the Forney uses drag torch technology that runs the tip in direct contact with the metal. A pilot arc suits rough stock and expanded metal, while a drag tip suits steady straight cuts on clean sheet. The Lotos and the ARCCAPTAIN also state 2T/4T operation, which lets go of the trigger during a long cut.

Air supply and duty cycle

Every plasma cutter here needs compressed air, usually bought separately. The Forney states it needs 1.5 CFM, while the ARCCAPTAIN recommends 60 PSI at 5.3 CFM. The TOOLIOM states a maximum of 50 PSI at 110V and 65 PSI at 220V, with air running 5 to 20 seconds after the cut to cool the torch. Duty cycle tells how long the cutter runs before it must rest: the TOOLIOM and the ARCCAPTAIN each state 60%, the PRIMEWELD states 60% at 60 amps, and the Lotos states 60% at 80 amps and 100% at 50 amps. An air compressor filter regulator combo keeps that supply air clean and dry.

Voltage and the outlet

Voltage decides which outlet the cutter can use. The Forney runs on 120 volts, the TOOLIOM runs on 110V or 220V, the PRIMEWELD runs on 110V or 220V with an adapter, and the ARCCAPTAIN title states 120V or 240V. The Lotos states 210 to 250V, so it needs a high-voltage circuit. For any 240V outlet work, use a licensed electrician rather than wiring the circuit yourself.

Weight and garage space

Weight decides whether the cutter moves to the job or the job comes to the cutter. The TOOLIOM states 13.23 lb, the ARCCAPTAIN states 19.8 lb with a shoulder strap, the Forney states 21.1 lb, and the Lotos states 38 lb. The PRIMEWELD states no weight, and the TOOLIOM spec table disagrees with its own title on weight, listing 21.6 lb against the 13.23 lb in the bullets. A lighter cutter suits work away from the bench, while a heavier one suits a set spot near the compressor. See our best portable plasma cutter guide for more cutters built to move.

After the cut, a welding cart keeps the cutter, torch and clamp in one rolling place.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the outlet first: the Forney runs on 120 volts, while the Lotos states 210 to 250V and needs a high-voltage circuit.
  • For any 240V outlet work, use a licensed electrician rather than wiring the circuit yourself.
  • Plan the air supply: the Forney needs 1.5 CFM and the ARCCAPTAIN recommends 60 PSI at 5.3 CFM, with the compressor sold separately.
  • Measure the bench space against the stated dimensions: the Forney states 15.13 by 8.13 by 12 inches and the PRIMEWELD states 20 by 11 by 19 inches.
  • Store the torch and clamp with the cutter: the Forney includes a 13 foot cutting torch and an 8 foot ground clamp.

FAQ: garage tools

What clean cut thickness do I need for 1/4 steel?

A stated clean cut at or above 1/4 inch covers it. The TOOLIOM states a clean cut of 1/4 inch at 110V, the Forney states a clean cut up to 1/4 inch, the ARCCAPTAIN states a clean cut of 1/2 inch at 240V, and the Lotos states an ideal cut of 1 inch. The PRIMEWELD states no cut thickness, so it cannot be confirmed for 1/4 steel from its listing.

Do I need a 240V outlet for a plasma cutter?

Not for every pick here. The Forney runs on 120 volts and the TOOLIOM runs on 110V or 220V, while the ARCCAPTAIN title states 120V or 240V and the Lotos states 210 to 250V. For any 240V outlet work, use a licensed electrician.

What air supply does a plasma cutter need?

Each cutter here needs compressed air from a separate compressor. The Forney states 1.5 CFM, the ARCCAPTAIN recommends 60 PSI at 5.3 CFM, and the TOOLIOM states a maximum of 50 PSI at 110V and 65 PSI at 220V.

What is a pilot arc?

A pilot arc starts the cutting arc without touching the torch to the metal, which keeps the arc alive over rusty, painted or expanded metal. The TOOLIOM, ARCCAPTAIN, PRIMEWELD and Lotos all state one, while the Forney uses a drag torch that runs the tip in contact with the metal.

Which of these cutters has the longest stated warranty?

The PRIMEWELD states 3 years, the longest term here. The Forney states 12 months and the ARCCAPTAIN states 1 year, while the TOOLIOM and the Lotos state no warranty term.

Related: the best plasma cutter for sheet metal, the best portable plasma cutter, our plasma cutter vs angle grinder comparison, the best welding cart and our engine and shop equipment hub.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

Best Camber Gauge (2026)

5 magnetic and digital camber gauges for home wheel alignment compared on range, body, what comes in the box and warranty.

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

Best Gear Oil By The Gallon (2026)

Four gear oils compared by grade, size, GL class, weight and use, from 1 gallon jugs to 5 gallon pails.