Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Portable Plasma Cutter (2026)

Five portable plasma cutters compared by amps, cut capacity, duty cycle and weight, from a 12.57-pound 55A unit to a 6-in-1 multiprocess machine.

Best Portable Plasma Cutter (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Arccaptain CUT55Best OverallArccaptain CUT559.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2PUWU CT-418PROBest Multi-ProcessPUWU CT-418PRO9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Silatu STC550PMost Portable 55ASilatu STC550P9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4DNYKER CUT50Best Value 50ADNYKER CUT509.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Lotos LTP5505DBest Clean CutLotos LTP5505D9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 650A Plasma Cutter Machine50A Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  7. 7ARCCAPTAIN 55A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN 55A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  8. 8Reboot Plasma CutterReboot Plasma CutterView on Amazon
  9. 9ARCCAPTAIN 60A Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN 60A Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon
  10. 10ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter MachineView on Amazon

Cutting steel with a plasma cutter is faster and cleaner than an angle grinder for most garage and farm jobs, and a portable unit runs on the power your shop already has. The best portable plasma cutter balances amps, cut capacity and weight: enough cutting power for the steel you actually cut, light enough to carry to the work. These five run 50 to 55 amps, weigh 12.57 to 25.5 pounds, and all list dual-voltage input.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Arccaptain CUT55: 55A with 3/4-inch max cut, 60% duty cycle, FCC and ANSI stated, and a 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Multi-Process PUWU CT-418PRO: 6-in-1 combo: 200A MIG/TIG/Stick plus 50A plasma cutting, dual voltage, 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Portable 55A Silatu STC550P: 55A at 12.57 pounds with 7/10-inch max cut, dual display and a 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Value 50A DNYKER CUT50: 50A dual voltage at 13 pounds, pilot arc, stated overheat and overcurrent protection. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Clean Cut Lotos LTP5505D: 55A pilot arc, 5/8-inch clean cut, rust removal mode, front-panel pressure gauge. Check price on Amazon

The picks

ARCCAPTAIN Plasma Cutter Machine, 55A

ARCCAPTAIN Plasma Cutter Machine, 55A

ARCCAPTAIN9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

55A dual-voltage plasma cutter with 3/4-inch max cut, 60% duty cycle, FCC and ANSI stated, and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3/4 inch maximum cut and 1/2 inch clean cut stated, the thickest here
  • 60% duty cycle, the only stated duty cycle of the five
  • FCC and ANSI certifications stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 19.8 lb, heavier than the 55A SILATU
  • Spec table says 10 pounds against the bullets' 19.8
  • Compressor bought separately
  • No stated post-flow time
Plasma Cutter Welder Combo 6 in 1 Welding Machine

Plasma Cutter Welder Combo 6 in 1 Welding Machine

PUWU9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

6-in-1 multiprocess machine: 200A MIG/TIG/Stick plus 50A plasma cutting, dual voltage, with a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • Six processes in one: MIG, flux core, HF TIG, Stick, plasma cut, spool gun compatible
  • 200A MIG/TIG/Stick with cellulose electrode support
  • 5/8-inch maximum and 1/2-inch clean cut stated at 220V
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 25.5 lb, the heaviest pick and least portable
  • 50A cut, below the 55A single-process machines
  • No certifications stated
  • Spool gun not included
SILATU 55A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU 55A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

55A dual-voltage plasma cutter at 12.57 pounds with 7/10-inch max cut, dual display and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12.57 lb, the lightest 55A pick here
  • 7/10-inch maximum and 9/16-inch clean cut stated
  • Dual digital display with air pressure monitoring
  • 1-year warranty with lifetime technical support stated

Cons

  • No certifications stated
  • Requires a 40A circuit breaker per the listing
  • Compressor purchased separately
  • Air sensor is a monitor, not a regulator
Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage

Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage

DNYKER9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

50A dual-voltage plasma cutter at 13 pounds with non-touch pilot arc and stated overheat and overcurrent protection.

Pros

  • 13 lb with a carry handle, light for the price class
  • Non-touch pilot arc with high-frequency start
  • Overheat, overcurrent, overload and overvoltage protection stated
  • 60 to 70 PSI recommended air pressure stated

Cons

  • 50A with thinner stated cuts than the 55A picks
  • No warranty term stated
  • Spec table says 19.51 pounds against the bullets' 13
  • No certifications stated
LOTOS LTP5505D 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

LOTOS LTP5505D 55A Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

LOTOS9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

55A dual-voltage plasma cutter with 5/8-inch clean cut, rust removal mode and a front-panel pressure gauge.

Pros

  • 55A with a 5/8-inch clean cut stated
  • Rust removal mode plus non-touch pilot arc
  • Front-panel pressure gauge for on-the-bench adjustment
  • 16 lb with automatic 110V/220V sensing

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No certifications stated
  • No duty cycle stated
  • Thinnest stated spec sheet of the 55A picks

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Plasma cutter Amps Cut capacity Voltage Weight Warranty
Arccaptain CUT55 55A 3/4 in max, 1/2 in clean 120V/240V 19.8 lb 2 years
PUWU CT-418PRO 50A cut, 200A MIG 5/8 in max, 1/2 in clean 110V/220V 25.5 lb 2 years
Silatu STC550P 55A 7/10 in max, 9/16 in clean 110V/220V 12.57 lb 1 year
DNYKER CUT50 50A 4/8 in max 110V/220V 13 lb Not stated
Lotos LTP5505D 55A 5/8 in clean 110V/220V 16 lb Not stated

20 October 2026

How we scored them

Each cutter is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Arccaptain CUT55 9.7 33 21 20 8 3
PUWU CT-418PRO 9.6 32 20 22 0 3
Silatu STC550P 9.5 32 21 20 0 2
DNYKER CUT50 9.5 28 19 19 7 0
Lotos LTP5505D 9.4 30 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Amps and cut capacity track together. The three 55-amp machines state the thickest cuts: the ARCCAPTAIN lists 3/4 inch maximum at 55 amps and 240 volts, the SILATU lists 7/10 inch maximum at 55 amps and 220 volts, and the LOTOS lists a 5/8-inch clean cut. The two 50-amp machines state less: the DNYKER lists a maximum of 4/8 inch at 220 volts, and the PUWU lists a 5/8-inch maximum and 1/2-inch clean cut at 220 volts. Clean cut is always thinner than maximum cut, and the listings state both, so compare clean cut to clean cut.

Air pressure is the spec buyers forget. The ARCCAPTAIN states 75 PSI at maximum cut and 60 PSI at clean cut, with a recommended compressor value of 60 PSI at 5.3 CFM. The DNYKER recommends 60 to 70 PSI. The SILATU recommends 70 PSI and states the air compressor is purchased separately. The LOTOS has a front-panel pressure gauge and a pre-fitted NPT 1/4-inch plug. None of the five includes a compressor, so budget one separately; our air compressor filter for plasma cutting guide covers that side.

Weight and voltage decide portability. The SILATU is the lightest at 12.57 pounds, the DNYKER lists 13 pounds in the bullets (its spec table says 19.51 pounds: trust the bullets), the LOTOS lists 16 pounds, the ARCCAPTAIN lists 19.8 pounds in the bullets (its spec table says 10 pounds: trust the bullets), and the PUWU lists 25.5 pounds. Dual voltage is stated on all five: 110V/220V on four, 120V/240V on the ARCCAPTAIN. A 240-volt unit needs a properly installed circuit: use a licensed electrician, not a DIY adapter.

How to pick the best portable plasma cutter

Start with the steel. If your work is 1/2-inch plate and under, every pick here covers it on clean cut; if you cut 3/4-inch stock, only the ARCCAPTAIN’s stated 3/4-inch maximum reaches it. Duty cycle matters for long cuts: the ARCCAPTAIN states 60 percent, the only stated duty cycle of the five, so long continuous cuts favor it.

Then decide whether you want one tool or six. The PUWU is a 6-in-1 multiprocess machine: 200-amp MIG, TIG and Stick plus 50-amp plasma cutting, with cellulose electrode support and a spool gun option. At 25.5 pounds it is the heaviest pick and the least portable, but it replaces a welder and a cutter in one box. For pure cutting, the single-process machines are lighter and simpler.

Warranty and certifications close the gap. The ARCCAPTAIN states FCC and ANSI certifications with a 2-year warranty; the PUWU states a 2-year warranty; the SILATU states a 1-year warranty with lifetime technical support. The DNYKER states overheat, overcurrent, overload and overvoltage protection devices. The LOTOS states no warranty term. See the full engine and shop equipment range for how these fit a shop setup.

Air supply is the second machine you buy. The listings state needs from 60 to 75 PSI: the ARCCAPTAIN states 75 PSI at maximum cut and 60 PSI at clean cut with 5.3 CFM recommended, and the SILATU states the compressor is bought separately. The ARCCAPTAIN presets 60 PSI air pressure and 5 seconds post-flow time, so you only choose voltage and current. Size your compressor to the 5.3 CFM figure before you buy the cutter, or the cutter will wait on the air.

Pilot arc and rust change the job. The LOTOS states pilot arc with a rust removal mode and a 5/8-inch clean cut, so painted or dirty steel cuts without touching the torch to the work. The SILATU states AG60P consumables and the ARCCAPTAIN names the AG60 torch; confirm consumables are easy to find before you commit, since a cheap cutter with rare tips costs more over time. At 12.57 pounds the lightest pick carries anywhere, while the 25.5-pound PUWU wants a cart or a fixed spot in the shop.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Finally, match the machine to your power. All five listings state dual voltage, so a 120-volt outlet runs the lighter cuts and a 240-volt circuit unlocks full output; the 240-volt side needs a properly installed circuit from a licensed electrician. If you only have 120 volts, buy to the clean-cut figure on that voltage, not the maximum.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the air supply first: stated needs run 60 to 75 PSI, and the SILATU states the compressor is bought separately
  • Match voltage to your shop: all five are dual voltage, but 240-volt operation needs a properly installed circuit from a licensed electrician
  • Wear eye protection and ventilate: cutting makes bright arc light, sparks and fumes, and the DNYKER notes internal exhaust windows for heat dissipation
  • Confirm consumable availability: the SILATU states AG60P consumables, the ARCCAPTAIN names the AG60 torch
  • Plan storage for the weight: 12.57 pounds carries anywhere, 25.5 pounds wants a cart or a fixed spot

Frequently Asked Questions

How much PSI does a plasma cutter need?

The listings state 60 to 75 PSI: the ARCCAPTAIN states 75 PSI at maximum cut and 60 PSI at clean cut with 5.3 CFM recommended, the DNYKER recommends 60 to 70 PSI, and the SILATU recommends 70 PSI. The compressor itself is a separate purchase.

Does a plasma cutter need an air compressor?

Yes. Every pick here uses compressed air for cutting, and none includes a compressor. The SILATU states it explicitly: purchase the air compressor separately. Size it to the stated PSI and CFM figures.

What gas does a plasma cutter need?

Compressed air. All five listings describe air plasma cutting; no separate gas bottle is stated for any of them.

Can a plasma cutter cut rusty metal?

The listings say yes for pilot arc machines: the ARCCAPTAIN states clean cuts on rusty, dirty metal, the DNYKER states its pilot arc cuts rusted and painted surfaces, and the LOTOS lists a rust removal mode. The torch does not need to touch the metal.

What is 2T/4T on a plasma cutter?

Trigger modes, stated on the ARCCAPTAIN, SILATU and PUWU. 2T needs continuous trigger pressure; 4T lets you release the trigger after starting, which the listings describe as more comfortable for long cuts.

Related: the best plasma cutter for home use, our best stick welder for farm use and the engine and shop equipment hub.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…