Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Pliers Set (2026): 5 Sets for the Home Garage

Five pliers sets for the home garage, compared by jaw types, steel, grip comfort, storage and warranty, and scored from what each listing states.

Best Pliers Set (2026): 5 Sets for the Home Garage
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1IRWIN GrooveLock 8-PcBest OverallIRWIN GrooveLock 8-Pc9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2DURATECH 8-Piece SetBest for Big JobsDURATECH 8-Piece Set9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3WORKPRO 7-Piece SetBest Compact KitWORKPRO 7-Piece Set9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Amazon Basics 4-PieceBest Starter SetAmazon Basics 4-Piece9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5CRAFTSMAN Pliers SetCRAFTSMAN Pliers SetView on Amazon
  6. 6HURRICANE 7-Piece Pliers SetHURRICANE 7-Piece Pliers SetView on Amazon

The brake job was nearly done when a cotter pin on the caliper bracket refused to budge. The needle nose pliers in the drawer slipped off the pin, the slip joint pair was too short to reach, and the whole afternoon stalled over one bent piece of wire. That is the job that sells a best pliers set: the right jaws, the right reach, and cutting edges that shear wire instead of mashing it.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall IRWIN GrooveLock 8-Pc: GrooveLock press-and-slide jaws, 8 tools from 6 to 12 inches, lifetime guarantee, kitbag. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Big Jobs DURATECH 8-Piece Set: Three groove joint sizes to 12 in plus wrench, linesman, long nose, slip joint, diagonal. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Compact Kit WORKPRO 7-Piece Set: Seven drop-forged pieces with comfort grips at 12 ounces for a light grab-and-go kit. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Starter Set Amazon Basics 4-Piece: Four core pliers with hardened edges and ANSI-rated construction for home maintenance. Check price on Amazon

The picks

IRWIN Tools VISE-GRIP GrooveLock Pliers Set

IRWIN Tools VISE-GRIP GrooveLock Pliers Set

IRWIN9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8-piece set with 8, 10 and 12 inch GrooveLock pliers, a 10 inch adjustable wrench, 8 inch long nose, 8 inch linesman, 6 inch diagonal and 6 inch slip joint pliers, plus a kitbag. The set states a 7-pound weight with its kitbag and a Full Lifetime Guarantee.

Pros

  • Press-and-slide button adjusts the lower jaw quickly
  • Ratcheting GrooveLock holds adjustment from open to workpiece
  • ProTouch anti-pinch grips reduce hand fatigue
  • IRWIN lifetime guarantee on the listing

Cons

  • Heaviest kit here at 7 lb
  • Induction-hardened cutting edges not stated
  • Machined jaws not stated
  • Warranty description text trails off mid-sentence
DURATECH 8-Piece Pliers Set with Rolling Pouch

DURATECH 8-Piece Pliers Set with Rolling Pouch

DURATECH9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8-piece set with 12, 10 and 8 inch groove joint pliers, an 8 inch adjustable wrench, 8 inch linesman, 6 inch long nose, 6 inch slip joint and 6 inch diagonal pliers, in a rolling pouch.

Pros

  • Three groove joint sizes, 8 to 12 inches
  • Cr-V and Cr-Ni steel, chrome plated for rust resistance
  • Oxford rolling pouch keeps the set together
  • 1-3/8 to 2-3/8 in straight jaws on the groove joint pliers

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Weighs 3.29 kg
  • No safety listing stated
  • Grip feel varies by tool: metal, steel or TPR by piece
Amazon Basics Pliers Set

Amazon Basics Pliers Set

Amazon Basics9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-piece set with 8 inch slip joint, 8 inch long needle nose, 8 inch lineman and 7 inch diagonal pliers, with induction-hardened cutting edges, and the listing states the cutters meet or exceed ANSI specifications.

Pros

  • Meets or exceeds ANSI specifications
  • Induction-hardened cutting edges
  • Machined jaws for a strong hold
  • Non-slip handles for extended use

Cons

  • Only 4 pieces, the smallest set here
  • No storage pouch or case stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Plastic handles, not dipped or TPR
WORKPRO 7-Piece Pliers Set

WORKPRO 7-Piece Pliers Set

WORKPRO9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-piece drop-forged set with groove joint, long nose, slip joint, linesman and diagonal pliers, with double-dipped comfort grips.

Pros

  • Drop-forged, heat-treated steel body
  • Precision-machined, induction-hardened cutting edges
  • Double-dipped ergonomic non-slip grips
  • Lowest weight here at 12 ounces

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No storage pouch stated
  • No safety listing stated
  • Marketed for DIY and home use, not daily shop work
WORKPRO Pliers Set, 5-Piece Premium Cr-V Pliers

WORKPRO Pliers Set, 5-Piece Premium Cr-V Pliers

WORKPRO9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-piece Cr-V set with 6 inch long nose, 6 inch diagonal, 8 inch groove joint, 6 inch slip joint and 7 inch linesman pliers, plus a storage pouch.

Pros

  • Heat-treated, blackened Cr-V steel
  • Hardened cutting edges with fine polishing against corrosion
  • Bi-material anti-slip handles
  • Storage pouch included

Cons

  • Listing contradicts the diagonal size: bullets say 6 inch, spec table says 7.5 inch
  • No warranty term stated
  • Grease-coated from the box: wipe clean before first use
  • No safety listing stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Pieces Construction Grip Storage Warranty
IRWIN GrooveLock 8-Pc 8 Ratcheting GrooveLock ProTouch anti-pinch Kitbag Lifetime guarantee
DURATECH 8-Piece Set 8 Cr-V/Cr-Ni, chrome plated TPR Oxford rolling pouch Not stated
Amazon Basics 4-Piece 4 Carbon steel Plastic, non-slip Not stated Not stated
WORKPRO 7-Piece Set 7 Drop-forged carbon steel Double-dipped, non-slip Not stated Not stated
WORKPRO 5-Piece Cr-V 5 Heat-treated Cr-V, blackened Bi-material, anti-slip Storage pouch Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of these listings states a UL, ETL or CSA listing, so most score zero on safety. One states an ANSI standard, and one backs the set with a lifetime guarantee.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
IRWIN GrooveLock 8-Pc 9.5 30 22 19 0 3
DURATECH 8-Piece Set 9.5 30 22 21 0 0
Amazon Basics 4-Piece 9.4 26 19 20 3 0
WORKPRO 7-Piece Set 9.4 28 20 21 0 0
WORKPRO 5-Piece Cr-V 9.4 27 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read five pliers set listings. Three ship with a pouch, bag or kitbag; two leave storage to you. Only one states a safety standard, and only one states a warranty term. Piece counts run from four to eight, and long nose, slip joint, linesman and diagonal pliers appear in all five sets. No set here states a UL, ETL or CSA listing, so the safety score rests on the one stated ANSI standard.

How to choose the best pliers set

A pliers set is a bundle of compromises: jaw types, steel, grip comfort and storage all pull against each other. Start from the jobs on your bench, not the piece count. The five sets below run from four to eight pieces, so compare what is actually in each kit, not just the number on the box.

Match the jaw types to your jobs

Groove joint pliers grip pipes and large nuts, long nose reaches into tight spots, slip joint adjusts across medium hardware, linesman handles wire and connectors, and diagonal cutters trim wire and zip ties. A set covering all five handles most garage jobs without a second trip to the toolbox.

Check the steel and the edges

Look for drop-forged or heat-treated steel and hardened cutting edges that the listing actually names. Chrome-vanadium and chrome-nickel steels resist wear, and chrome or blackened finishes add the corrosion protection the maker states. Fine polishing on the cutting edges, mentioned by one maker here, helps the tool resist rust between jobs. Where the listing is silent, assume nothing.

Count the pieces, then check the storage

More pieces help only if you will use them. A pouch, kitbag or rolling cover keeps a multi-piece set together in a drawer or truck box; without one, the pliers you reach for least end up scattered. The IRWIN set states a kitbag, the DURATECH a premium Oxford rolling pouch with a tailored cover that keeps the pliers from sliding out, and the WORKPRO 5-piece a storage pouch. The WORKPRO 7-piece and Amazon Basics state no storage, so plan a drawer slot before they arrive. A set that lives together gets used together.

Grips, weight and the small details that matter daily

The handles are where a set meets your hand. The IRWIN set states non-slip, anti-pinch ProTouch grips; the WORKPRO 7-piece states double-dipped ergonomic handles; the WORKPRO 5-piece states a bi-material TPR handle; the DURATECH states a soft TPR handle; and the Amazon Basics set states non-slip handles. Weight matters too: the WORKPRO 7-piece states 12 ounces, the IRWIN states 7 pounds with its kitbag, the DURATECH states 3.29 kg, the WORKPRO 5-piece states 1.36 kg, and the Amazon Basics states 1.08 kg. A heavier set usually means more steel in the jaws, but it also means more weight in the truck box. Out of the box, the WORKPRO 5-piece arrives grease-coated under a transparent electrophoretic coating: the maker says to wipe the pliers clean before first use and keep them in a dry location.

Warranty and standards

A stated warranty term and a recognized standard tell you the maker stands behind the listing. The IRWIN set states a Full Lifetime Guarantee against defects in material and workmanship, and the Amazon Basics set states it meets or exceeds ANSI specifications. The other three state no warranty term, so judge them on stated materials alone: drop-forged and heat-treated steel, Cr-V and Cr-Ni steels, chrome plating and hardened cutting edges.

Garage Fit Check

  • The IRWIN kit lists a 6 by 13 inch footprint and a 7 lb weight, so give it a real drawer or shelf, not a crowded corner of the toolbox.
  • A rolling pouch set lives best on a bench or shelf where it can be unrolled flat; the tailored cover keeps the tools from sliding out.
  • Sizes from 6 to 12 inches appear across these sets. Match them to the fasteners and wire you touch most before the first job.
  • Three sets bring a pouch, bag or kitbag; two expect you to find storage of your own.
Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What pliers belong in a basic garage set?

Start with long nose, slip joint, linesman and diagonal pliers, then add groove joint pliers for pipes and large nuts. That combination covers wire work, fasteners and cutting for most home garage jobs. Groove joint pliers come last in priority only because they overlap with an adjustable wrench you may already own.

How do groove joint pliers work?

The lower jaw repositions in the groove to change the jaw opening, which is how one tool grips both small fittings and large nuts. IRWIN’s GrooveLock version adds a press-and-slide button so the jaw moves without fully opening the handles.

Slip joint or groove joint: which should come first?

Slip joint pliers handle everyday medium hardware, while groove joint pliers reach larger pipes and nuts. Most garage sets include both, which is one reason a set beats buying singles.

Do I need a full set or just a few singles?

A set keeps the jaw types matched and costs less per tool, which suits a shared garage drawer. Buy singles only when you already own the rest and need one specific replacement.

How should I store pliers to stop rust?

Keep them dry and together. One listing suggests wiping the tools clean out of the box and storing them in a dry location, since the factory grease coating only protects against rust until first use. A dry drawer beats a damp garage shelf, and a pouch keeps the tools from rattling against each other.

Related: the best wrench set for beginners, the best adjustable wrench set, the best hose clamp pliers for home mechanics, our engine and shop equipment hub and our garage safety notes. Also see our best complete socket set.

More buying guides

Engine and Shop Equipment ·

110V vs 220V Welder: Which Should You Buy?

110v vs 220v welder: two 110v machines and one dual-voltage unit compared on amperage, weight and warranty, so you can match the machine to…