Best Quality Bench Top Drill Press (2026)
Four benchtop drill presses compared by swing, speed range, chuck and warranty, from an 8-inch 5-speed belt drive to a 12-inch variable speed with digital readout.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Jet JWDP-12Jet JWDP-129.8/10View on Amazon - 2
Woodskil DP-8Woodskil DP-89.5/10View on Amazon - 3
WEN DP1263VWEN DP1263V9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
VEVOR 10 Inch Benchtop Drill Press 3.2 Amp Tabletop BenchView on Amazon - 5
VEVOR 10 in Benchtop Drill PressView on Amazon - 6
BUCKTOOL 10-Inch Drill Press 6.2 Amp 3/4 HP Bench Drill PressView on Amazon - 7
VEVOR 12 in Benchtop Drill PressView on Amazon - 8
VEVOR Magnetic Drill Press 1400 W 2810 lbf Power Portable MagView on Amazon - 9
VEVOR Mag Drill PressView on Amazon
A drill press turns shaky hand drilling into straight, repeatable holes: the table holds the work, the quill drives the bit straight, and the speed dial matches the bit to the material. The best quality bench top drill press combines a useful speed range with a solid cast iron build and a warranty that backs it. These four run 8 to 12 inches of swing with speeds from 530 to 3,200 RPM, and the two 12-inch machines share the same stated 85-pound weight.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Jet JWDP-12 Jet JWDP-12: 12-inch swing, 530-3,100 RPM variable speed, 6.2-amp motor, 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
- Woodskil DP-8 Woodskil DP-8: 8-inch 5-speed belt drive, cast iron table, 2-year limited warranty Check price on Amazon
- WEN DP1263V WEN DP1263V: 12-inch swing, 580-3,100 RPM variable speed, 6.2-amp motor, cast iron build Check price on Amazon
The picks

JET 12" Benchtop Drill Press, Variable Speed
12-inch benchtop drill press with lever speed change from 530 to 3,100 RPM, digital readout, cast iron build and a 5-year warranty.
Pros
- Speed lever changes RPM while the motor runs, no belt touching
- Digital readout shows actual spindle RPM
- 12-inch swing with 3-1/8-inch travel and 5/8-inch keyed chuck
- 5-year JET warranty stated
Cons
- 85 lb and must be bolted to a bench or stand
- Spec table contradicts the title on HP, RPM and weight: trust the title
- Drill bits and bench-mounting bolts not included
- Dedicated 15A circuit recommended

WOODSKIL 8-Inch Benchtop Drill Press
8-inch benchtop drill press with a 5-speed belt drive, cast iron table and base, and a 2-year limited warranty.
Pros
- 5-speed belt drive with stated 750 to 3200 RPM steps
- Cast iron table and base stated
- 45-degree beveling table with height adjustment
- 2-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- 8-inch swing, the smallest capacity here
- 2-inch spindle stroke, the shortest here
- Belt changes instead of variable speed
- No stated weight

WEN 12-Inch Benchtop Drill Press
12-inch benchtop drill press with 580 to 3,100 RPM variable speed, 6.2-amp motor, cast iron build.
Pros
- 12-inch swing with 3-1/8-inch travel and 5/8-inch keyed chuck
- 580 to 3,100 RPM variable speed with digital readout
- 6.2-amp motor, the most amps here
- Depth stop and roller extension stated
Cons
- 85 lb like the JET, needs a stout bench
- No stated safety switch feature
- 0.63-inch drilling capacity, close to the 0.5-inch others
- 16.8 by 13.5 by 36.6 inches, the widest footprint

VEVOR 10-Inch Benchtop Drill Press, 5 Amp
10-inch benchtop drill press with 530 to 3,140 RPM variable speed, X-laser guide and a stated 56.4 pounds.
Pros
- 530 to 3,140 RPM variable speed with digital readout
- X-laser guide for positioning
- 0-45 degree tilting worktable with height adjustment
- 56.4 lb, the lightest stated weight here
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- 10-inch swing, between the 8 and 12-inch picks
- 1/2-inch chuck against the 5/8-inch 12-inch machines
- No stated safety switch feature
More options to compare
VEVOR 10 Inch Benchtop Drill Press 3.2 Amp Tabletop BenchCheck price on Amazon
VEVOR 10 in Benchtop Drill PressCheck price on Amazon
BUCKTOOL 10-Inch Drill Press 6.2 Amp 3/4 HP Bench Drill PressCheck price on Amazon
VEVOR 12 in Benchtop Drill PressCheck price on Amazon
VEVOR Magnetic Drill Press 1400 W 2810 lbf Power Portable MagCheck price on Amazon
VEVOR Mag Drill PressCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Drill press | Swing | Speed range | Chuck | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jet JWDP-12 | 88 | 530 to 3,100 RPM | 5/8 in keyed | 85 lb | 5 years |
| Woodskil DP-8 | 63 | 750 to 3,200 RPM, 5-speed | 1/2 in keyed | Not stated | 2 years |
| WEN DP1263V | 61 | 580 to 3,100 RPM | 5/8 in keyed | 85 lb | 2 years |
| VEVOR 1016BVS | 58 | 530 to 3,140 RPM | 1/2 in | 56.4 lb | Not stated |
20 October 2026
How we scored them
Each drill press is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jet JWDP-12 | 9.8 | 33 | 22 | 20 | 8 | 5 |
| Woodskil DP-8 | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| WEN DP1263V | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| VEVOR 1016BVS | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
Speed control splits the group. The JET and VEVOR list variable speed from 530 to 3,100 RPM and 530 to 3,140 RPM respectively, each with a digital readout, and the WEN lists 580 to 3,100 RPM with a digital speed readout. The JET’s headline feature is changing speed with a lever while the motor runs, no belt touching. The Woodskil is the belt machine: a mechanical 5-speed with stated steps of 750, 1100, 1500, 2100 and 3200 RPM.
Swing and travel decide capacity. The JET and WEN list 12-inch swing with 3-1/8-inch spindle travel. The VEVOR lists 10-inch swing. The Woodskil lists 8-inch swing with 2-inch spindle stroke. Chuck capacity runs 5/8 inch on the JET and WEN against 1/2 inch on the VEVOR and Woodskil. Drilling capacity is stated as 0.5 inches in metal on three listings, with the WEN stating 0.63 inches in wood and metal.
Build and weight track together. The JET lists a 10 by 16-1/8 inch cast iron base and a 9-1/2 by 9-1/2 inch cast iron table at 85 pounds, and the WEN lists cast iron construction at 85 pounds. The VEVOR lists reinforced metal at 56.4 pounds. The Woodskil lists heavy-duty cast iron table and base with no stated weight. The JET must be bolted to a bench or stand: the listing states it.
How to pick the best quality bench top drill press
Start with swing. Twelve inches covers furniture, cabinet and hobby work with room to spare: both 12-inch picks state 3-1/8-inch travel and 5/8-inch chucks. Ten inches suits general home projects, and 8 inches suits small parts on a crowded bench. The lasers help placement on all four: the JET lists two XACTA lasers with an LED light, the VEVOR lists an X-laser guide, and the WEN and Woodskil list class IIIA 2.5mW lasers.
Then weigh the warranty. The JET states a 5-year warranty, defaulting to 2 years for commercial or industrial use. The WEN states no specific warranty term, and the Woodskil states a 2-year limited warranty. The VEVOR states no warranty term. For a machine that lasts decades, the stated term is the tiebreaker it is here.
Check the extras against your bench. The JET includes the 5/8-inch keyed chuck, chuck key, MT2 arbor, drift key, handles and hex wrenches, but states drill bits and bench-mounting bolts are not included. The WEN includes chuck key storage, a depth stop and a table roller extension. The VEVOR includes an accessory set. The Woodskil includes the drill press only. See the full engine and shop equipment range for how a drill press fits a shop setup.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Measure the bench: the 12-inch machines list 85 pounds and 37-inch heights, and the JET must be bolted down
- Plan the circuit: the JET recommends a dedicated 15A circuit for its 5-amp 115V motor
- Match the chuck to your bits: 5/8 inch on the 12-inch machines, 1/2 inch on the 10 and 8-inch ones
- Use the stated speeds: 530 to 3,200 RPM across the group, with digital readouts on three of the four
- Wear eye protection and clamp the work: the listings state lasers and lights, not safety gear
Spindle travel and table details
Travel and table size decide what fits under the chuck. The JET and WEN each state 3-1/8-inch spindle travel, the Woodskil states a 2-inch spindle stroke, and the VEVOR states no travel figure. The JET states a 17-inch maximum spindle-to-table distance with a 2-1/2-inch column, which is the only stated clearance figure of the four. Table sizes: the JET states a 9-1/2 by 9-1/2 inch cast iron table tilting 45 degrees left and right, the WEN states a beveling 9-1/2 by 9-1/2-inch work table, the Woodskil states a cast iron table beveling 45 degrees left and right with free height adjustment, and the VEVOR states a reinforced metal worktable tilting 0 to 45 degrees with height adjustment.
Depth control is stated on three. The JET lists a linear depth scale with depth stop. The WEN lists an adjustable depth stop. The Woodskil states no depth stop. Both the JET and WEN state a table roller extension for supporting long stock. If your work is repetitive holes at a set depth, the stated depth stops on the JET and WEN are the features to weigh.
Lasers, lights and depth readouts
All four state a laser guide, but the implementations differ. The JET lists two XACTA lasers projecting an X-shaped crosshair on the drill point plus an LED light. The VEVOR lists an X-laser guide. The WEN and Woodskil each list a class IIIA 2.5mW laser, with the WEN adding an overhead light. Three of the four state a digital RPM readout: the JET, VEVOR and WEN. The Woodskil has no stated readout, which fits its belt-drive design: the five stated speeds are the settings, not a dial.
Power draw and circuits
The motor figures need reading in pairs. The JET states a 1/2 HP, 115-volt single-phase motor drawing 5 amps, and recommends a dedicated 15-amp circuit. The WEN states a 6.2-amp induction motor, the most amps here. The VEVOR states a 0.8 HP 600W motor at 5 amps. The Woodskil states a 1/3 HP 2.3-amp induction motor. Torque is stated on two: 120 in-lb on the WEN and 53.5 N m on the VEVOR.
The practical read: the WEN’s 6.2 amps is the highest stated draw, the JET’s 15-amp circuit recommendation is the only stated circuit guidance, and the Woodskil’s 2.3 amps is the lightest load. All four state a 115 to 120-volt supply, so the outlet is the same for each.
Frequently Asked Questions
How does a drill press work?
The listings describe the parts: a motor drives a spindle through the speed setting, the quill moves the chuck down through the work, and the table holds and positions the material. The JET adds a linear depth scale with depth stop, and three listings state digital RPM readouts.
Why use a drill press instead of a hand drill?
The listings state the advantages: stable holding, accurate drilling and repeatable depth. The VEVOR states its high-accuracy spindle ensures stable holding, and the JET states the digital readout matches speed to each bit and material.
What size drill press do I need for a bench?
The four here state 8, 10 and 12-inch swings with weights of 56.4 to 85 pounds where stated. The JET states it must be bolted to a bench or stand. Measure the bench and the ceiling height against the stated 37-inch heights before ordering.
How do you change speed on these drill presses?
Three state variable speed: the JET by lever while the motor runs, the VEVOR and WEN with digital readouts. The Woodskil is a mechanical 5-speed with stated steps of 750, 1100, 1500, 2100 and 3200 RPM.
What is included with a benchtop drill press?
It varies: the JET includes chuck, key, arbor, drift key, handles and wrenches but not bits or mounting bolts; the WEN includes chuck key storage, depth stop and roller extension; the VEVOR includes an accessory set; the Woodskil includes the press only.
Related: our best drill press for metal work, the best bench vise for garage and the bench grinder vs angle grinder comparison.




