Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Screwdriver Set for Mechanics (2026): 5 Sets Compared

We compared five screwdriver sets for mechanics on stated piece count, drive types, magnetic tips, handles and storage, and ranked them by Shop Score.

Best Screwdriver Set for Mechanics (2026): 5 Sets Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1SWANLAKE 118-Piece SetBest OverallSWANLAKE 118-Piece Set9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2HORUSDY 6-Piece SetBest for Daily UseHORUSDY 6-Piece Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Amartisan 43-Piece SetBest for PrecisionAmartisan 43-Piece Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4ROTATION 6-Piece SetBest Basic SetROTATION 6-Piece Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Milwaukee 12-Piece SetBest Brand PickMilwaukee 12-Piece Set9.5/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Amartisan 10-Piece Magnetic Screwdrivers Set 5 Phillips and 5Amartisan 10-Piece Magnetic Screwdrivers Set 5 Phillips and 5View on Amazon
  7. 7CRAFTSMAN Ratcheting ScrewdriverCRAFTSMAN Ratcheting ScrewdriverView on Amazon
  8. 8CRAFTSMAN Screwdriver SetCRAFTSMAN Screwdriver SetView on Amazon
  9. 9WORKPRO 10-Piece Magnetic Screwdriver Set with PouchWORKPRO 10-Piece Magnetic Screwdriver Set with PouchView on Amazon
  10. 10MIXPOWER 25 Piece Torx Bit and Socket SetMIXPOWER 25 Piece Torx Bit and Socket SetView on Amazon

Halfway through a brake job, the caliper bracket is off but a chewed rotor shield screw will not budge, and the hunt for the best screwdriver set for mechanics starts right there at the toolbox. The right set for a home garage covers the common Phillips and flat sizes with magnetic tips, adds the oddball drives for interior trim and electronics, and lives somewhere you can actually find it. We compared five sets on stated piece count, drive types, tip and handle features, storage and warranty, and ranked them below. Every figure below comes from the Amazon listings, not from our own measurements.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall SWANLAKE 118-Piece Set: 118-piece kit with racking and auto repair among its stated uses. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Daily Use HORUSDY 6-Piece Set: Pound-thru 6-piece set with stated sizes and a wall rack. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Precision Amartisan 43-Piece Set: 43 pieces, five drive types and 6 precision drivers in a case. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Basic Set ROTATION 6-Piece Set: 6-piece CR-V set with magnetic tips and cushion grips. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Brand Pick Milwaukee 12-Piece Set: 12 tri-lobe drivers with anti-roll collars and ID markings. Check price on Amazon

The picks

118-Piece Magnetic Screwdriver Set with Plastic

118-Piece Magnetic Screwdriver Set with Plastic

SWANLAKE GARDEN TOOLS9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the home mechanic who wants one big kit for auto repair and assembly, with racking that keeps 118 pieces sorted. Skip it if you only ever reach for the same few drivers.

Pros

  • 118 pieces covering screwdrivers, hex keys, nut drivers, bits and a ratcheting driver
  • Plastic racking keeps the whole kit organized in the garage
  • Magnetic tips plus a magnetizer/demagnetizer in the box
  • Auto repair stated among the recommended uses

Cons

  • The spec table lists Unit Count as 117 against the 118-piece title
  • The listing states no individual drive sizes beyond the kit breakdown
  • The sheer piece count means more small parts to keep track of
  • No warranty term is stated
HORUSDY 6-Pieces Magnetic Screwdriver Set

HORUSDY 6-Pieces Magnetic Screwdriver Set

HORUSDY9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For mechanics who use the same six drivers daily and want pound-thru blades plus a wall rack. Skip it if you need Torx, hex or precision drivers.

Pros

  • Pound-thru blades stated to withstand hammering
  • Stated sizes: slotted 5.5, 6.5 and 8 mm; Phillips PH1, PH2, PH3
  • Hexagon rotating cap accepts a wrench for extra torque
  • Wall-mounting rack included for storage

Cons

  • Only 6 drivers, so oddball fasteners need another set
  • No precision drivers for small electronics fasteners
  • 2.1 pounds is the heaviest stated weight of the two 6-piece sets
  • No warranty term is stated
Magnetic Screwdrivers Set with Case

Magnetic Screwdrivers Set with Case

Amartisan9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the mechanic who also fixes electronics and small fasteners, with five drive types and precision drivers in a case. Skip it if the spec-table contradictions bother you.

Pros

  • 43 pieces with five drive types: Phillips, slotted, Torx, hex, Pozidriv
  • 6 precision drivers with 360 degree rotating caps
  • Magnetizer/demagnetizer plus magnetic bit holder included
  • Storage case included for carrying the kit

Cons

  • The spec table lists 34 pcs against the 43-piece title
  • The spec table lists S2 steel while bullets claim 6150 chromium vanadium
  • The recommended use is listed as computers, not automotive
  • No warranty term is stated
6PC Magnetic Tip Screwdriver Set

6PC Magnetic Tip Screwdriver Set

ROTATION9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For a basic grab-and-go set of common Phillips and flat sizes with magnetic tips. Skip it if you need storage beyond a paper box.

Pros

  • Heat-treated CR-V shafts with magnetic, blackened tips
  • Cushion-grip non-slip handles; handle slot adds leverage
  • Common sizes: Phillips and flat #1, #2, #3
  • Compact paper box, environmentally friendly packaging

Cons

  • The title repeats '3 Phillips and 3 Flat' twice
  • The listed dimensions read like a single driver, not the set
  • No storage case or rack, just a paper box
  • No warranty term is stated
Milwaukee Set of 12 Tri-Lobe Screwdrivers

Milwaukee Set of 12 Tri-Lobe Screwdrivers

Milwaukee9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For the Milwaukee loyalist who values anti-roll handles and visible markings. Skip it if you want stated drive sizes before buying.

Pros

  • 12 tri-lobe screwdrivers with anti-roll 3-sided collars
  • Permanent visible ID markings for quick identification
  • Set of 12 covers more sizes than the 6-piece sets
  • Brand with wide availability of matching tools

Cons

  • The spec table lists Number of Items as 1 against the set-of-12 title
  • The listing states no drive types, sizes or tip features
  • No storage case or rack is stated
  • No warranty term is stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Screwdriver Set Shop Score Pieces Drive types Tips Storage
SWANLAKE 118-Piece Set 9.7/10 118 Screwdriver, hex, nut driver, bits Magnetic Plastic racking
HORUSDY 6-Piece Set 9.6/10 6 Slotted, Phillips Magnetic Wall-mounting rack
Amartisan 43-Piece Set 9.6/10 43 (spec table: 34) Phillips, slotted, Torx, hex, Pozidriv Magnetic; magnetizer included Storage case
ROTATION 6-Piece Set 9.6/10 6 Phillips, flat Magnetic Paper box
Milwaukee 12-Piece Set 9.5/10 12 Tri-lobe Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shop Score weighs performance (stated piece count, drive coverage and tip features), build, value, safety and warranty. For screwdriver sets, safety would mean stated certifications or insulated handles for electrical work; none of the five listings states either, so no safety points were given. None of the five listings states a warranty term either, so warranty scores are zero across the board. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
SWANLAKE 118-Piece Set 9.7 32 20 22 n/a 0
HORUSDY 6-Piece Set 9.6 29 21 21 n/a 0
Amartisan 43-Piece Set 9.6 30 19 20 n/a 0
ROTATION 6-Piece Set 9.6 28 20 20 n/a 0
Milwaukee 12-Piece Set 9.5 27 20 18 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

We read five screwdriver set listings. Piece counts run from 6 to 118, and every set builds its shafts from some form of chrome vanadium steel. Three sets state magnetic tips, two include a magnetizer or demagnetizer, and four include a box, racking or rack for storage. Three listings contradict themselves between the title and the spec table: Amartisan’s piece count and steel grade, Milwaukee’s item count, and SWANLAKE’s unit count. The sections below trust the titles and bullets over the spec tables.

Buying guide: the best screwdriver set for mechanics

Piece count vs the jobs you do

Start with the jobs on your calendar. If most weekends mean oil changes, brake jobs and tire rotations, the common Phillips and flat sizes do the heavy lifting, and a 6-piece set like ROTATION or HORUSDY covers Phillips and flat #1 through #3 or PH1 to PH3 with slotted 5.5, 6.5 and 8 mm. When the job list grows to interior trim, small engine parts and home electronics, the Amartisan 43-piece earns its keep with 8 conventional drivers, 6 precision drivers and 25 bits. The SWANLAKE 118-piece is the everything drawer: 23 screwdrivers, 8 precision drivers, 16 hex keys, 8 nut drivers, a 60-in-1 ratcheting screwdriver and a 60-piece bit set. Bigger is not automatically better; every extra piece is another slot to keep sorted, which is why the sets with racking or a case score well on storage.

Drive types: Phillips, slotted, Torx, hex and Pozidriv

Cars mix fastener drives more than most people expect. The Amartisan set is the only one here that states all five common drives: Phillips, slotted, Torx, hex and Pozidriv. HORUSDY and ROTATION stick to the two classics, Phillips and slotted, with HORUSDY stating its sizes outright (slotted 5.5, 6.5 and 8 mm; Phillips PH1, PH2 and PH3) and ROTATION stating Phillips and flat #1, #2 and #3. SWANLAKE covers hex and nut driving with 16 hex keys and 8 nut drivers alongside its screwdrivers. Milwaukee’s listing states tri-lobe handles but no drive sizes at all, so match it to your fasteners before buying. When a set skips a drive you need, a socket set vs mechanic tool set comparison helps fill the gaps.

Magnetic tips and the magnetizer

A magnetic tip is the difference between a screw seated on the first try and one lost behind the fender liner. ROTATION, HORUSDY and SWANLAKE all state magnetic tips; HORUSDY pairs them with a black finish blade, and ROTATION adds a blackening treatment the listing says reduces cam-out. Amartisan goes further with a dedicated magnetizer/demagnetizer tool that converts any blade into a magnetic retriever, plus a magnetic bit holder for its 25 bits. If you drop fasteners often, a magnetic pickup tool for mechanics belongs in the drawer next to the drivers.

Handles: grip, caps and collars

Handles decide how a driver feels at the end of a long job. ROTATION and HORUSDY use cushion-grip handles, with HORUSDY adding an ergonomic TPR handle with a button, and Amartisan and SWANLAKE use PP+TPR non-slip handles. ROTATION’s handle slot accepts another screwdriver for added leverage, and HORUSDY’s hexagon rotating cap accepts a wrench for more torque or fingertips for precise turning. Amartisan’s precision drivers have 360 degree rotating caps for smooth work on micro screws. Milwaukee takes a different path with tri-lobe handles and a 3-sided anti-roll collar so the driver stays where you set it on the fender.

Storage: case, racking or wall mount

A set you cannot find is a set you do not own. SWANLAKE includes plastic racking that keeps screwdrivers, bits and magnetic tools within reach, and HORUSDY includes a wall-mounting rack for its 6 drivers. Amartisan packs its 43 pieces in a dedicated storage box for carrying, while ROTATION ships in a compact paper box that is environmentally friendly but offers no sorting. Milwaukee’s listing states no storage at all. If the drawer is already chaos, our tool storage guides cover boxes, racks and wall systems that fit a home garage.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the stated drive sizes against your fasteners before the first job: HORUSDY lists slotted 5.5, 6.5 and 8 mm with Phillips PH1 to PH3; ROTATION lists Phillips and flat #1 to #3.
  • Confirm a magnetic tip holds a screw before carrying one over an open engine bay.
  • Give the big kits a home: SWANLAKE’s racking sorts 118 pieces, the Amartisan box carries 43, and the HORUSDY wall rack holds 6.
  • Only the HORUSDY listing states a pound-thru blade made for hammering; do not strike the other handles.
  • None of the five listings states insulated handles, so keep every set away from live circuits.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many pieces does a mechanic need in a screwdriver set?

The listings here run from 6 to 118 pieces. A 6-piece set covers the common Phillips and flat sizes; the 43-piece adds precision drivers and bits for small fasteners; the 118-piece adds hex keys, nut drivers and a ratcheting driver for the widest coverage.

What do the PH1, PH2 and PH3 markings mean?

They are Phillips head sizes stated on the HORUSDY set, which also states slotted 5.5, 6.5 and 8 mm; ROTATION states the same range as Phillips and flat #1, #2 and #3. Using the marked size keeps the tip seated in the screw head.

Are magnetic tips useful for mechanics?

Three of the five listings state magnetic tips (ROTATION, HORUSDY and SWANLAKE), and Amartisan includes a magnetizer/demagnetizer. A magnetic tip holds the screw on the driver over an engine bay or inside a dash.

Do any of these sets state a warranty?

No. None of the five listings states a warranty term, so every warranty score here is zero.

Can I hit a screwdriver with a hammer?

Only the HORUSDY listing states a pound-thru blade designed to withstand hammering. The other four listings do not state hammer-rated blades, so do not strike them.

Related: the socket set vs mechanic tool set comparison, the best magnetic pickup tool for mechanics and our tool storage hub.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.