Best Shop Vacuum for Small Garage (2026): 5 Compared
Five shop vacuums for a small garage, compared on stated tank size, power, weight, hose reach and warranty, from handheld to wall-mount.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallKÄRCHER WD 39.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Smallest FootprintCRAFTSMAN Bucket9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Most PowerShop-Vac 5 Gal9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Longest HoseGiraffe Grandstorm9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
Best HandheldCRAFTSMAN V209.3/10View on Amazon - 6
Shop-Vac 1.5 Gallon 2.0 Peak HP Wet/Dry VacuumView on Amazon - 7
STANLEY 3 Gallon Wet Dry VacuumView on Amazon - 8
DEWALT Shop Vacuum 6 Gal 4 HP Poly Wet/Dry Vacuum with BlowerView on Amazon - 9
DEWALT 10 Gallon Poly Wet Dry VacuumView on Amazon - 10
STANLEY 10 Gallon Wet Dry VacuumView on Amazon
A small garage fills with dust, sawdust, and the grit tracked in on tires, and a shop vacuum is the tool that keeps it usable. The best shop vacuum for small garage balances suction with storage: a big tank holds more but eats floor space, while a wall-mount or bucket-top design disappears when the job is done. We compared five on what each listing states: tank size, power, weight, hose reach and warranty. Tanks run 9.6 oz to 5 gallons, weights 4.5 to 60.2 lb, and four of the five listings state a warranty term; the scores below reflect all of it.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall KÄRCHER WD 3: 4.5 gal, blower function, 68 dB, with 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Smallest Footprint CRAFTSMAN Bucket: 4.5 lb powerhead on a bucket, with 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Most Power Shop-Vac 5 Gal: 5.5 peak HP, wall-mount, with 14 attachments. Check price on Amazon
- Longest Hose Giraffe Grandstorm: 30 ft retractable hose, wall-mounted, 6 nozzles. Check price on Amazon
- Best Handheld CRAFTSMAN V20: Cordless 45 CFM spot cleaner, 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
The picks

KÄRCHER Shop Vacuum WD 3, 4.5 Gal, 2.8 Peak HP
A 4.5-gallon corded wet/dry vacuum with 2.8 peak HP, blower function and 26 ft reach, at 10.8 lb with a 2-year warranty. The 26 ft of combined hose and cable reach covers a small garage from one outlet.
Pros
- 68 dB, the lowest stated noise here
- Blower function plus wet/dry pickup
- 10.8 lb on casters, easy to move
- 2-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- 6.5 ft hose is short for a garage
- 2.8 peak HP is less than the Shop-Vac's claim
- No wall-mount option stated
- Fleece bags are an ongoing cost

CRAFTSMAN CMXEVBE17678 1.75 Peak HP Wet Dry Shop
A 1.75 peak HP wet/dry powerhead that turns a 5-gallon bucket into a shop vacuum, with blower port and 3-year warranty; bucket not included. It turns a bucket you already own into a vacuum with a blower port.
Pros
- 4.5 lb powerhead, the lowest weight here
- Blower port for driveways and crevices
- 3-year limited warranty stated
- Adds no footprint beyond the bucket
Cons
- 5-gallon bucket sold separately
- 4 ft hose is the least reach here
- 76 dB, the loudest stated here
- 1.75 peak HP is the lowest power claim

Shop-Vac 5 Gal 5.5 HP Wet/Dry Vacuum, Wall Mount
A 5-gallon corded wet/dry vacuum with 5.5 peak HP, wall-mount bracket, two hoses and 14 attachments, at 15 lb. The wall bracket and 14 attachments make it a complete garage station.
Pros
- 5.5 peak HP, the highest power claim here
- Wall-mount bracket frees the floor
- Two hoses, 18 ft and 7 ft, plus 14 attachments
- 15 lb, portable for the capacity
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Hoses cannot be joined, per the listing
- Must stay wall-mounted during use, per the listing
- 1200W draw needs a solid circuit

Giraffe Tools Grandstorm Garage Vacuum Cleaner
A wall-mounted 4.5-gallon wet/dry vacuum with a 30 ft retractable hose, 20 KPA suction and 6 nozzles, at 60.2 lb. The retractable hose and wall mount suit a dedicated detailing bay.
Pros
- 30 ft retractable hose, the longest reach here
- Wall-mounted machine and attachments
- 6 nozzles for detailing and surfaces
- 24-month warranty in the bullets
Cons
- 60.2 lb, needs a team lift per the listing
- Warranty contradicts: 24 months vs 1 year in spec table
- No noise figure is stated
- Biggest footprint commitment here

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Hand Vacuum
A handheld cordless vacuum with 45 CFM and 2-stage filtration; battery and charger sold separately, with a 3-year warranty. It is the quick-grab tool for interiors and workbenches, not whole garages.
Pros
- Cordless grab-and-go for spot cleanups
- 45 CFM with 2-stage filtration, per the listing
- 3-year limited warranty stated
- Crevice tool with on-board storage
Cons
- Battery and charger sold separately
- 9.6 oz bowl is tiny for garage work
- Dry pickup only, per the design
- 69 dB for a handheld is loud
More options to compare
Shop-Vac 1.5 Gallon 2.0 Peak HP Wet/Dry VacuumCheck price on Amazon
STANLEY 3 Gallon Wet Dry VacuumCheck price on Amazon
DEWALT Shop Vacuum 6 Gal 4 HP Poly Wet/Dry Vacuum with BlowerCheck price on Amazon
DEWALT 10 Gallon Poly Wet Dry VacuumCheck price on Amazon
STANLEY 10 Gallon Wet Dry VacuumCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Tank | Power | Weight (listed) | Hose | Warranty (stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KÄRCHER WD 3 | 4.5 gal | 2.8 HP peak | 10.8 lb | 6.5 ft | 2 year limited |
| CRAFTSMAN Bucket | 5 gal bucket | 1.75 HP peak | 4.5 lb | 4 ft | 3 Year Limited |
| Shop-Vac 5 Gal | 5 gal | 5.5 HP peak | 15 lb | 18 ft + 7 ft | Not stated |
| Giraffe Grandstorm | 4.5 gal | 20 KPA | 60.2 lb | 30 ft retractable | 24-Month |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 | 9.6 oz | 45 CFM | Not stated | Handheld | 3 Year Limited |
Figures are manufacturer stated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026. A figure from one listing describes that listing only.
How we scored them
Each vacuum is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Performance weighs suction and tank size against the small-garage use case: enough power for dust and debris, in a footprint that does not take over the garage. None of the five listings claims a safety certification, so every vacuum scores zero on that criterion; the ranking comes from the other four. Warranty only scores where the listing states a concrete term.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KÄRCHER WD 3 | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| CRAFTSMAN Bucket | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| Shop-Vac 5 Gal | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Giraffe Grandstorm | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 16 | 0 | 2 |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 | 9.3 | 23 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
Tank sizes run from a 9.6 oz dust bowl on the handheld CRAFTSMAN V20 to 5 gallons on the Shop-Vac and the CRAFTSMAN bucket head, with 4.5 gallons on the Kärcher and Giraffe. For a small garage, 4.5 to 5 gallons is the practical range: big enough for a full cleanup without emptying mid-job, small enough to store. The 9.6 oz handheld bowl is for spot work, not garage cleanups.
Power is stated in incompatible units, so read within each listing. The Shop-Vac claims 5.5 peak HP, the Kärcher 2.8 peak HP, the CRAFTSMAN bucket head 1.75 peak HP, the Giraffe 20 KPA of suction, and the V20 handheld 45 CFM. Peak horsepower is a marketing figure, not sustained power; the listings state no sustained wattage worth comparing except in the spec tables. Do not rank the vacuums on these figures alone. What the figures do tell you is class: the canister vacuums are in a different league from the handheld, and the 20 KPA on the Giraffe is a suction figure, not a power figure, so it answers a different question.
Weight and storage separate the small-garage picks from the rest. The CRAFTSMAN bucket head weighs 4.5 lb and rides on a 5-gallon bucket you supply; the Kärcher weighs 10.8 lb with casters; the Shop-Vac weighs 15 lb and wall-mounts; the Giraffe weighs 60.2 lb and, per the listing, needs a team lift, which is a lot of vacuum for a small garage. The V20 handheld’s weight is not stated. Wall-mount designs, the Shop-Vac and Giraffe, free the floor entirely.
Warranties are concrete on four of the five: 3 years on both CRAFTSMAN listings, 2 years on the Kärcher, and a contradiction on the Giraffe, whose bullets claim 24 months against a 1-year spec-table term. We trust the bullets per the site’s rules. The Shop-Vac listing states no warranty term.
Buying guide: the best shop vacuum for small garage
Tank size vs floor space
A 5-gallon tank holds a full garage cleanup; a 4.5-gallon tank is close behind. But the tank is also the footprint: the Giraffe at 29.5 by 19.7 in and 60.2 lb is the biggest commitment here, while the bucket head adds nothing to the floor beyond the bucket itself. For a one-car garage, the wall-mount Shop-Vac or the bucket head keep the floor clear; for a two-car garage with room to spare, the Kärcher’s 10.8 lb canister on casters rolls where you need it. Emptying matters too: a full 5-gallon tank of debris is heavy, so the smaller tanks empty more often but lift easier.
Wet and dry
Four of the five list wet and dry pickup: the Shop-Vac, the CRAFTSMAN bucket head, the Kärcher and the Giraffe. The V20 handheld is dry only, per its dust-bowl design. A garage sees both: drywall dust and sawdust, plus the occasional spill or wet car. If your garage doubles as a wash bay, wet pickup is not optional.
Hose reach
Hose length runs from 4 ft on the bucket head to 30 ft retractable on the Giraffe, with 6.5 ft on the Kärcher and 18 ft plus 7 ft on the Shop-Vac. The Shop-Vac’s two hoses are for separate use and cannot be joined, per the listing, so pick the hose that fits the job rather than chaining them. In a small garage, a long hose matters more than a big tank: the vacuum stays parked and the hose does the traveling. The Giraffe’s 30 ft retractable hose is the longest reach here, and the retractor keeps it from becoming a trip hazard when the job is done.
Blower function
The CRAFTSMAN bucket head and the Kärcher list a blower port or function, which turns the vacuum into a blower for clearing driveways and drying crevices. The other three listings state no blower function. A blower port is the feature that earns its keep in a garage: blow the dust out, then vacuum what remains.
Noise
Stated noise runs 68 dB on the Kärcher to 76 dB on the bucket head, with 69 dB on the V20 and 70 dB on the Shop-Vac. The Giraffe listing states no noise figure. In an attached garage, the quieter the better for early-morning cleanups; the Kärcher’s 68 dB is the lowest stated here. An 8 dB spread is noticeable: the bucket head at 76 dB wants hearing protection for long sessions, while the Kärcher at 68 dB is conversation-level.
Battery vs corded
The V20 handheld is the only cordless pick, and its battery and charger are sold separately, which the listing states plainly. The other four are corded 120V. Cordless suits quick spot cleanups; a full garage cleanup wants the sustained power of a cord. Factor the battery cost into the V20 before comparing, because a bare tool is not the full price. If you already own V20 batteries, the math changes entirely.
Where it lives when the job is done
Storage is the small-garage question the specs answer directly. The Shop-Vac and Giraffe wall-mount, which frees the floor entirely; the bucket head lives on its bucket in a corner; the Kärcher rolls on casters into whatever gap is free; the handheld hangs on a hook. A vacuum that has no home becomes an obstacle, and in a small garage every obstacle matters. Pick the storage style first and the suction second, because the most powerful vacuum here is the one you will actually put away.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size shop vacuum do I need for a small garage?
A 4.5 to 5-gallon tank covers a small garage without dominating it. The wall-mount and bucket-top designs here keep the floor clear, which matters more than tank size in a tight space.
Can a shop vacuum pick up water?
Four of the five here list wet and dry pickup. The handheld V20 is dry only. Check the listing before buying for wet use.
How loud are these vacuums?
Stated noise runs 68 to 76 dB across the four listings that state it. The Kärcher’s 68 dB is the lowest stated; the Giraffe states no figure.
Which of these state a warranty?
Both CRAFTSMAN listings state 3 years, the Kärcher 2 years, and the Giraffe 24 months in its bullets against 1 year in its spec table. The Shop-Vac states no term.
Do I need the bucket for the CRAFTSMAN powerhead?
Yes. The listing states the 5-gallon bucket is sold separately; the powerhead, hose and filter are what ship.



