Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Tool Chest Table Top (2026): 5 Chests for the Bench

Five table top tool chests for garage workbenches, compared by drawer count, width, locks, ball bearing slides and stated capacity.

Best Tool Chest Table Top (2026): 5 Chests for the Bench
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1S.Walt 9-Drawer ChestBest OverallS.Walt 9-Drawer Chest9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Winado 5-Drawer ChestBest CapacityWinado 5-Drawer Chest9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Workington 26in ChestBest Wide ChestWorkington 26in Chest9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Workington 20in ChestBest Portable 4-DrawerWorkington 20in Chest9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5CRAFTSMAN 3-DrawerBest Simple ChestCRAFTSMAN 3-Drawer9.5/10View on Amazon

Tools scattered across a workbench slow every job down. A table top chest puts wrenches, sockets and screwdrivers in drawers right where the work happens, without giving up floor space to a roller cabinet. This guide covers the best tool chest table top options for a garage bench, comparing drawer count, width and locks from the listings.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall S.Walt 9-Drawer Chest: 9 drawers plus a deep top compartment, auto-locking and EVA liners. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Capacity Winado 5-Drawer Chest: 5 drawers and a top tray with a 330 pound capacity and a key lock. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Wide Chest Workington 26in Chest: 26 inch wide chest with 3 drawers, a cam lock and non-slip liners. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable 4-Drawer Workington 20in Chest: 4 drawers in 22 gauge steel with ball bearing slides and a double latch. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Chest CRAFTSMAN 3-Drawer: 3 drawer steel chest with a locking latch and a flip-up handle. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

24 Inch Portable Steel Tool Box with 9 Drawers

24 Inch Portable Steel Tool Box with 9 Drawers

S.Walt9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The S.Walt chest is the biggest organizer here: 9 drawers across a 6-layer layout plus a deep top storage compartment, with an auto-locking design, dual ball-bearing slides and fitted EVA liners. The powder-coated steel body adds splash protection from a tight-fitting lid, and side handles move it between bench and job.

Pros

  • 9 drawers plus a deep top storage compartment
  • Auto-locking design with a front lock and lock hole
  • Dual ball-bearing slides with fitted EVA liners
  • Powder-coated steel body with splash protection from a tight lid

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety listing is stated in the listing
  • No load capacity is stated in the listing
  • 31 pounds is heavy for a chest that moves often
24" Metal Portable Tool Box with 5 Drawers

24" Metal Portable Tool Box with 5 Drawers

Winado9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The Winado chest pairs 5 drawers with a top storage tray, a 330 pound maximum load capacity and a steel safety lock with a key. Drawer dimensions are stated in detail, with the first 4 drawers at 1.57 inches high and the 5th at 3.30 inches, and ball bearing runners keep every drawer moving smoothly.

Pros

  • 5 drawers plus a top storage tray
  • 330 pound maximum load capacity stated
  • Steel safety lock with a locking key
  • Ball bearing runners with lined tiers

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety listing is stated in the listing
  • Weight stated as 11 kg while capacity is stated in pounds
  • Top tray adds height at 15.2 inches overall
Workington Industrial 3 Drawers Portable Metal

Workington Industrial 3 Drawers Portable Metal

Workington9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The Workington 26 inch chest is the widest here at 26.3 inches, with 3 drawers, a central cam lock, non-slip drawer liners and two comfortable side handles. The alloy steel body carries a powder coated finish, and ball bearing slides open and close every drawer smoothly.

Pros

  • 26.3 inch width, the widest here
  • Central cam lock for extra security
  • Non-slip drawer liners stop tools rolling
  • Two side handles for carrying

Cons

  • Only 3 drawers for a 26.3 inch wide chest
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety listing is stated in the listing
  • No load capacity is stated in the listing
Workington Portable Metal Tool Chest with 4

Workington Portable Metal Tool Chest with 4

Workington9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The Workington 20 inch chest is a compact 4 drawer portable chest in 22 gauge steel with a comfortable top handle, a full-length piano hinge and a double latch system with a padlock. All ball bearing drawer slides open and close the drawers smoothly, and the black shining powder coating finish resists wear.

Pros

  • 4 drawers in a compact 20.5 inch width
  • 22 gauge steel body, durable and sturdy
  • Double latch system with a padlock
  • All ball bearing drawer slides

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety listing is stated in the listing
  • No load capacity is stated in the listing
  • 22 gauge steel is thinner than the heavier chests here
Craftsman 3-Drawer Metal Portable Chest Toolbox

Craftsman 3-Drawer Metal Portable Chest Toolbox

CRAFTSMAN9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

The CRAFTSMAN chest is a simple 3 drawer steel portable chest with a locking latch for added security and a flip-up handle for fast, easy carrying. Sturdy latches keep the unit closed while in transit, and the steel construction protects gear in rough environments.

Pros

  • Steel construction for rough environments
  • Locking latch for added security
  • Flip-up handle for fast, easy carrying
  • Sturdy latches keep it closed in transit

Cons

  • Only 3 drawers with no stated drawer dimensions
  • Listed as not water resistant
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety listing is stated in the listing

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Drawers Width Capacity Lock Weight
S.Walt 9-Drawer Chest 9.7/10 9 24 inches Not stated Auto-locking, front lock 31 pounds
Winado 5-Drawer Chest 9.6/10 5 + top tray 23.8 inches 330 pounds Key lock 11 kg
Workington 26in Chest 9.6/10 3 26.3 inches Not stated Cam lock 32 pounds
Workington 20in Chest 9.5/10 4 20.5 inches Not stated Double latch, padlock 21.6 pounds
CRAFTSMAN 3-Drawer 9.5/10 3 20.6 inches 5 pounds Locking latch 20.5 pounds

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026.

How the points were given

Each chest is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. No listing here states a safety listing or a warranty term, so safety and warranty score zero across the group and the ranking turns on stated drawer count, width, lock type, slides and capacity.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
S.Walt 9-Drawer Chest 9.7 32 22 21 n/a 0
Winado 5-Drawer Chest 9.6 30 21 21 n/a 0
Workington 26in Chest 9.6 28 21 20 n/a 0
Workington 20in Chest 9.5 27 20 20 n/a 0
CRAFTSMAN 3-Drawer 9.5 26 20 19 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

All five listings describe steel or alloy steel chests for bench or table top use, and four state ball bearing drawer slides for smooth opening. Drawer counts run from 3 to 9, widths from 20.5 to 26.3 inches, and locks range from a simple latch to a key lock, a cam lock and an auto-locking design. Only the Winado listing states a load capacity, at 330 pounds.

How to choose the best tool chest table top

Drawer count and layout

Drawer count decides how finely tools can be sorted. The S.Walt chest offers 9 drawers across a 6-layer layout plus a deep top compartment, which suits a bench covered in sockets, screwdrivers and fasteners. The Winado chest offers 5 drawers and a top tray, with the first 4 drawers at 1.57 inches high and the 5th at 3.30 inches, so tall tools need the deeper drawer. The 3 drawer chests suit a smaller kit, while the 4 drawer Workington chest sits in the middle.

Width against the bench

Width decides whether the chest fits the bench without crowding the work area. The Workington 26 inch chest is the widest here at 26.3 inches, while the Workington 20 inch chest is the narrowest at 20.5 inches, and the S.Walt and Winado chests sit between them at 24 and 23.8 inches. Measure the free bench space first, then leave room beside the chest for the job at hand.

Locks and slides

Locks keep drawers closed when the chest moves. The S.Walt chest uses an auto-locking design plus a front lock and lock hole, the Winado chest uses a steel safety lock with a key, the Workington 26 inch chest uses a central cam lock, the Workington 20 inch chest uses a double latch system with a padlock, and the CRAFTSMAN chest uses a locking latch. Ball bearing slides, stated on four chests here, open and close smoothly even when a drawer is full.

Weight and carrying

Weight matters when the chest moves between the bench and the job. The CRAFTSMAN chest weighs 20.5 pounds with a flip-up handle, the Workington 20 inch chest weighs 21.6 pounds with a top handle, the S.Walt chest weighs 31 pounds with side handles, and the Workington 26 inch chest weighs 32 pounds with two side handles. The Winado chest states its weight as 11 kg with carrying handles on both sides. Pick handles that match how often the chest travels.

Garage Fit Check

  • Bench space: confirm the stated width against the free bench area, since this group spans 20.5 to 26.3 inches wide.
  • Storage: use the stated top tray or top compartment for the tools reached for most, and keep small parts in the lined drawers.
  • Lock check: confirm the stated lock type before the first job, since this group mixes latches, key locks, a cam lock and an auto-locking design.
  • Move check: confirm the stated handles and weight, since the chests here range from 20.5 pounds to 32 pounds plus the 11 kg Winado chest.
Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: garage tools

How many drawers does a table top tool chest need?

It depends on how finely tools must be sorted. The chests here offer 3, 4, 5 and 9 drawers, plus top trays or compartments on the Winado and S.Walt chests. A small kit fits 3 drawers, while a bench covered in sockets, screwdrivers and fasteners suits the 9 drawer layout.

What size tool chest fits on a workbench?

The chests here span 20.5 to 26.3 inches wide, with depths from 8.6 to 12.5 inches. Measure the free bench space first, then pick a width that leaves room beside the chest for the job at hand.

Do table top tool chests lock?

Yes, all five chests here state a lock of some kind. The CRAFTSMAN chest uses a locking latch, the Winado chest uses a steel safety lock with a key, the Workington 20 inch chest uses a double latch with a padlock, the Workington 26 inch chest uses a central cam lock, and the S.Walt chest uses an auto-locking design with a front lock.

Are ball bearing slides worth it?

Four chests here state ball bearing slides, which the listings describe as smooth opening and closing even when drawers are full. The Winado, both Workington chests and the S.Walt chest state ball bearing slides, with the S.Walt chest using dual ball-bearing slide tracks on each drawer.

Can a table top tool chest hold heavy tools?

The Winado listing states a 330 pound maximum load capacity, the highest capacity figure here. Check the stated capacity against the heaviest tools planned, since the other listings state unit weights rather than load capacities.

Related: the tool storage hub, the best complete socket set and the best garage storage cabinets for basement.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Cart (2026)

Five rolling tool carts compared by capacity, storage layout, wheels, build, weight and warranty, for the home garage and workshop.